Sunshine and the Summer is here?

Sunshine at the Comfort Food Café Book Cover Sunshine at the Comfort Food Café
Comfort Food Cafe #2
Debbie Johnson
Women’s Fiction, humour, contemporary
HarperImpulse
March 8, 2018
400

Return to the Comfort Food Cafe this spring for sunshine, smiles and plenty of truly scrumptious lemon drizzle cake. Perched on a windswept cliff on the stunning Dorset coast at what feels like the edge of the world, the cafe and its warm-hearted community are a haven for lost souls who happen to wander by with a heavy heart and a story to tell. Serving up the most delicious cream teas; beautifully baked breads, and carefully crafted cupcakes, there's nothing a cup of tea and a delicious treat won't fix. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship, and security - a place like no other; a place that offers friendship as a daily special, and where a hearty welcome is always on the menu. So make yourself at home, catch up on the gossip with old friends, meet new ones and fall in love at the Comfort Food Cafe.

Here we journey into the world of Willow and learn why her hair is dyed pink, and why she keeps a journal.

This is a poignant story, sympathetically written with an empathetic look at how life is with someone with Alzheimer’s or indeed any form of dementia.

Willow is the owner of the most desirable dog in the village – at least according to all other dogs – and lives in a cottage on Frank’s farm with her mother.

Her 3 older siblings are scattered but she stayed home and now finds she can’t really leave her delightful, free-spirited mother due to her dementia. And so we learn about the constraints and emotional heartache that come with such circumstances.

 

Share This:

SteamPunk rocks…

Corsets and Cogs Book Cover Corsets and Cogs
various
steampunk, fantasy. anthologies
Bathory Gate Press
(26 Mar. 2018)
Kindle

elcome to the world as it never was...

Enter landscapes awash in steam-powered machinery, Victorian style, and mysterious magic shrouded in the fog of a city night.

Join 25 New York Times, USA Today, and bestselling speculative fiction authors as they dive into alternate universes of tinkers, mad scientists, and space-faring soldiers, as well as leviathans, vampires, and demons--along with the cloaked lords and corseted ladies haunting pages of these alternative histories.

This limited-time anthology features tales of whimsy and wonder rife with gaslamp masquerades, steam-driven dirigibles, clockwork landscapes, gadgets and gears, and more.

What I like about SteamPunk stories is that clockwork rules.

The devices are semi-magical using this thing called aether which is harvested by air-ships. Aether was considered to be a Greek Deity but in most it is a source of magical power which is very dangerous to handle and to collect, and thus is very valuable – hence pirates.

The women in these stories – at least the ones I read and have been ‘directed’ towards are always daring, fighting ‘Victorian’ convention and feisty. All this despite wearing Victorian costumes and corsets! Not sure why the corsets except that is the convention.

So the women are not meek and mild but well educated and undertaking jobs that convention says are not their usual employment opportunities.

So there are 24 stories – short – and novella length – within this book and I have read the first 4: and the 1st three are definitely 4 star, not so sure about number 4 – maybe 3.5?

Of Love and Leviathans

Margo Bond Collins

The Lady Fugitive

Rebekah R Ganiere

Damn the Consequences

Erin Hayes

Frog Prince

Melanie Karsak

Share This:

Don’t read – it’s gone

Read and Gone Book Cover Read and Gone
Haunted Library
Allison Brook
female sleuths, mystery, crime fiction
Crooked Lane Books
(27 Sept. 2018)

Twenty million dollars’ worth of missing gems bring Carrie Singleton’s long-lost and larcenous dad back into her life and it’s up to Carrie to clear his name.

A devoted dad is as precious as diamonds, but Carrie Singleton wouldn’t know since her dad Jim’s been on the lam most of her life. In an unusual family reunion, she finds Jim breaking into her cottage in the middle of the night. The fun really starts when he begs her to help him recover his half of a twenty-million-dollar gem heist he pulled off with the local jeweler, Benton Parr. When she refuses, Jim takes off again.

Carrie finds her father again behind bars for the recent murder of Benton Parr. Who made the connection? Unbeknownst to her, Carrie’s boyfriend Dylan, an insurance investigator, has been searching for the gems. Determined to find the jewels herself, she starts examining every facet of Parr’s life. She turns up a treasure trove of suspects, one of whom bashes her on the head as she’s searching the victim’s country cabin.

Retreating to the quiet confines of the library where she works, Carrie watches as Smokey Joe, the resident cat, paws at a hole in the wall. Is he after the library’s ghost Evelyn, or something shinier? The second charming Haunted Library mystery by Allison Brook, Read and Gone will be a delight for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Leslie Meier.

I thought that this book lacked both humour and pace.

I had hoped from the mention of a Haunted Library that it would be more ghostly and not less – this ghost was very tame – as were all the characters. I should have realised what ‘charming’ meant in the book’s description…

A book too cosy for me as I only managed 26% and got bored. Sorry Alison.

Share This:

When you’re trying not to kill….

Leine Basso the Assassin Book Cover Leine Basso the Assassin
Leine Basso #3 books
DV Berkom
adventure, action, thriller
Duct Tape Press
July 31, 2015
272

When a former assassin's daughter is abducted, she's drawn into the twisted game of a serial killer who may be a grisly remnant from her past. What happens when a reality show turns deadly? Determined to leave her old life behind, retired assassin Leine Basso accepts a job working security at one of television's most popular reality shows, Serial Date. When a contestant is found dead in the prop closet, it appears the killer is one of the 'bachelors' on the show- an ex-con billed as a serial killer- but the detective in charge of the case isn't so sure. When Leine's estranged daughter is abducted by a man claiming to be the real killer, she's forced to rely on old skills to find her, and must come to terms with who she really is. She soon realizes the murderer may be a grisly remnant from her past and she'll need to use all of her cunning to stop him... ...and rescue her daughter. "If you like fast-paced action, great lead characters, and don't mind a few F-bombs and the occasional gore, DV Berkom is the author for you." BloodWrites "Serial Date has everything a mystery/thriller needs to be successful, fast-paced and action packed, strong and memorable characters and a story that will grab you from beginning to end..." Confessions of a Reader "Why should you read it? In a nutshell it's a fast-paced, non-linear story with some creepy elements mashed together with a splash of romance and dark humour. What's not to like?" Indie eBooks

 
I like DV Berkom’s writing and bought this set having read her previous series about Kate Jones – a PI.

Now Leine is trying very hard to leave her previous life behind – and not to kill people – but is constantly being thwarted. By  her ex-boss. By Russian gangsters. By psychopaths. And so it goes. She is a little rusty and her skills are not quite what they were, but she remembers her Krav Magma and can even teach it. She remembers how to shoot cleanly. But she does seem to forget one thing – author note this – she might clean her gun but she forgets to clean off any cartridges/bullets left in the gun and she doesn’t wear nitrile gloves – when loading.  Big oops these days.

That aside.

I enjoyed the book set but do feel that she has really run her course of stories and won’t purchase any more.

  1. Serial Date

2. Bad Traffick

3. The Body Market

Share This:

Bad Boys Rock…

Deadly Match Book Cover Deadly Match
Bad Boy Incorporated #3
Eve Langlais
Fiction
Eve Langlais
February 28, 2018
198

The third new title in the popular Bad Boy Inc. series. When a retired assassin decides to go looking for love, he decides to trust the pros at a dating service and ends up finding a Deadly Match.

Oh these sexy assassins and fancy being called ‘Charming Reaper’ by your parents even if they are family names.

Bad Boy Inc rocks as do its employees – they are trained to be assassins and spies but not by a Govt and therefore they are not bound by any code of ethics – unless it is their own. But they don’t kill children.

Fun and flirty book.

Share This: