book review/Books/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
1 Comment

A Foggy Day?

The Fog Book Cover The Fog
A Berry Springs Novel #3
Amanda McKinney
Adult, Mystery, Romance
December 4th 2018
kindle

Synopsis:

Former Marine turned ballistics expert, Wesley Cross is known around town for two things, his rugged good-looks and cocky attitude—

until he finds his ex-girlfriend lying in a puddle of blood in his basement. The scene screams setup, but the discovery of a rare gem and a puzzling autopsy suggests the murder goes much deeper than that. Wesley will do whatever it takes to clear his name, including calling in a notoriously headstrong—and sexy—scientist.

While most little girls were playing dress up, Gwyneth Reece was digging in the dirt collecting bugs. Now one of the top forensic entomologists in the country, Gwen reluctantly accepts a job from a pushy cowboy and travels to the small, Southern town of Berry Springs. Heavy storms are brewing, and when she’s forced to check into the creepiest hotel she’s ever seen, she instantly regrets her decision to help out the former Marine.

Following up on a tip, Wesley heads to the Half Moon Hotel but quickly realizes his visit was not by chance. The killer lured him there, and suddenly everyone from the uptight bellman to the wealthy couple just passing through town become suspect. Bodies begin to disappear, and Wesley knows the killer will do anything to get to him…. including hurting the woman who’s kept his head spinning since he first laid eyes on her.


 

I really wanted this book to be longer.
It was very enjoyable but slight specially on the psychological suspense which I felt could have been ramped up.
I liked Gwen and her career and reading about the work of a forensic entomologist and feel that she deserves her own series – all about her cases. But I was not that sympathetic to Wes and the gun culture that pervaded this novel. I realise that it is probably truthful to the setting but….
Although I did feel that Wes could have been explored more as a character – his angst over his past career, his nightmares etc.
Overall, I felt that the storyline skimmed lightly over areas that I would like to have heard more about to give the story more depth.
Bobbi is worth her own story too.
I haven’t read much of this author so I don’t know if this is typical of her work or if the points above have already been dealt with in previous books. It does seem from the series though, that Berry Springs is a bad place to live – nasty things keep happening…
But for me, the lack of them in this book made the story a 3.75 * (4) rather than the potential 4.5.
Purchase:
AUTHOR BIO:
Award-winning author of sexy murder mysteries, Amanda McKinney wrote her debut novel, LETHAL LEGACY, after walking away from her career to become a writer and stay-at-home mom. Her books include the BERRY SPRINGS SERIES and the BLACK ROSE MYSTERY SERIES, with many more to come. Set in small, Southern towns, Amanda’s books are page-turning whodunits peppered with steamy romance. Amanda is a member of Romance Writers of America, International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime, and lives in Arkansas with her handsome husband, two beautiful boys, and three obnoxious dogs. Visit her website atwww.amandamckinneyauthor.com
Author links:

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Faceless and buried altars

Lies Sleeping: Book Cover Lies Sleeping:
Rivers of London #7
Ben Aaronovitch
urban fantasy, police procedural, contemporary
Gollancz
November 15, 2018
320

Martin Chorley, aka the Faceless Man, wanted for multiple counts of murder, fraud and crimes against humanity, has been unmasked and is on the run. Peter Grant, Detective Constable and apprentice wizard, now plays a key role in an unprecedented joint operation to bring Chorley to justice. But even as the unwieldy might of the Metropolitan Police bears down on its foe, Peter uncovers clues that Chorley, far from being finished, is executing the final stages of a long term plan. A plan that has its roots in London's two thousand bloody years of history, and could literally bring the city to its knees. To save his beloved city Peter's going to need help from his former best friend and colleague - Lesley May - who brutally betrayed him and everything he thought she believed in. And, far worse, he might even have to come to terms with the malevolent supernatural killer and agent of chaos known as Mr Punch . . .

We are back in London for this story and in form. The story takes us back to Lesley and the Faceless Man, what they are planning, and explains why.

Our favourite characters are maturing, as are their magical abilities and the talking foxes make a re-appearance with Abigail, who is proving to be more of a natural magician than anyone could have predicted. And I love the explanation of why the foxes talk – and especially  talk to Abigail.

I always very much like the way the history of London, especially the City, is incorporated into these stories. London was built on many ‘magical’ sites of worship from its early founding, and these places become integral to this modern explanation of London and its byeways, special sites, and hidden mysteries.

Indeed, many pagans and historians believe that London may well have had stone circles and standing stones that are now buried beneath the landscape and buildings, as well as religious sites for many religions, and St Paul’s Cathedral did indeed get built over an earlier pagan temple. So truth provides the foundation for great fantasy.

 

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

The mystery of the Battenberg cake

The Mystery of Three Quarters Book Cover The Mystery of Three Quarters
Hercule Poirot (New)
Sophie Hannah, Agatha Christie,
Poirot, detective, suspense, mystery
HarperCollins
August 20, 2018
400

The world's most beloved detective, Hercule Poirot - the legendary star of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and most recently The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket--returns in a stylish, diabolically clever mystery set in 1930's London. Returning home after lunch one day, Hercule Poirot finds an angry woman waiting outside his front door. She demands to know why Poirot has sent her a letter accusing her of the murder of Barnabas Pandy, a man she has neither heard of nor ever met. Poirot has also never heard of a Barnabas Pandy, and has accused nobody of murder. Shaken, he goes inside, only to find that he has a visitor waiting for him -- a man who also claims also to have received a letter from Poirot that morning, accusing him of the murder of Barnabas Pandy... Poirot wonders how many more letters of this sort have been sent in his name. Who sent them, and why? More importantly, who is Barnabas Pandy, is he dead, and, if so, was he murdered? And can Poirot find out the answers without putting more lives in danger?

The opening chapters of this book are so vivid that in my ind’s eye I see it happening.

I see David Suchet bustling and hear him deliver the words. I see his very special walk – such a distinctive gait – and take off his hat and coat.

It is perhaps because i have seen Suchet’s TV performance portrayal so often that he comes to mind, but still my imagination visualises him throughout the story as the character of Hercule Poirot. The mannerisms he used are mentioned in the story and sonthe echoes remain.

I cannot say the same of the chapters ‘written’ by the detective. He slips back into the background even though he is half the book.

I found the story very entertaining – better in my mind than the original stories even though they are intended to ‘copy’ her style. More amusing and more accessible. I still didn’t get the answer though – as just in the original Christie books there are masses of red herrings to mislead you!

Oh and the Windowpane cake is really a Battenberg so a very well known recipe, so little chance of it being stolen.

I suspect that without David Suchet the story would not have been so appealing but as he is one of my favourite actors…

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

The Jewel and the Blade

Ruby Callaway Box Set Book Cover Ruby Callaway Box Set
Ruby Callaway - complete series
DN Erikson
New Adult, Urban Fantasy
Independently published
(14 May 2018)

All three Ruby Callaway novels and all four side stories together for the first time—1,100+ pages of snarky urban fantasy perfect for fans of Kate Daniels and The Dresden Files.

It all started with a death: her own.

Ruby Callaway is the most feared supernatural bounty hunter in the world. But even Ruby has limits. And, after two centuries, she might have finally met her match.

Spanning over two hundred years, from her origin story in 1812 (Bone Realm) to her battle against the corporate monolith MagiTekk in the near-future (Lightning Blade), Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection is not your typical urban fantasy.

But, then, Ruby isn't your typical bounty hunter.

Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection contains all three full-length novels in The Ruby Callaway Trilogy: Lightning BladeShadow Flare, and Blood River. It also includes all four of Ruby's side adventures fleshing out her two century backstory, previously only available to subscribers of D.N. Erikson's newsletter. These include two novellas: Bone Realm and Going Home, and two side stories: "Silver Tempest" and "Kentucky Clear."

There are 7 books in this series about Ruby – and her magic blade. And they can be bought as a complete collection.

3 books and 4 novellas – It is important to read them in the correct order as indicated by the author, as the novellas supply background and details about the characters and their interactions for the longer stories. They give you the history and timeline.

I thought that book 1 took quite some time to make sense until I realised that it was set in the very far dystopian future and that there is a time loop playing out; and that the novellas gave you the correct timeline against this time loop.

Cleverly written once you got the hang of it! I enjoyed the stories and found Ruby to be the type of heroine I enjoy reading about – she takes no prisoners..

Overall 4 stars but some of the storylines were a little weak, but still  well worth reading.

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

And what is your vice?

BLOOD VICE
Blood Vice #1 (of 6)
ANGELA ROQUET
New Adult, Urban Fantasy, witches and wizards, werewolves, vampires
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(24 May 2017)

Detective Jenna Skye bombs her first week on the St. Louis County Police Department's Vice Squad when she's bitten by a vampire in a supernatural brothel. Her day only gets worse from there. She wakes up in the morgue and discovers that her partner is dead. Before the sun rises, she realizes she is too. Jenna vows to continue their investigation until justice is served, but a werewolf squatter, an unexpected visit from her estranged sister, and a nosy FBI agent stand in her way. Not to mention her fresh aversion to sunlight and a thirst for something a little stiffer than revenge.

An interesting twist on the mix of werewolves and vampires but somehow I didn’t quite invest enough in the characters to read the next book in the series.

Which is a shame as I like the author normally.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com