And add another?

The Plus One Book Cover The Plus One
Sophia Money-Coutts
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
August 9, 2018
384

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a social function or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none Three little words all single ladies dread... Polly Spencer is fine. She's single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she's fine. Even if she's still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend's summer wedding are looking worryingly slim. But it's a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly's determined that over the next 365 days she'll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor 'the one'. She's heard the stories, there's no way she'll succumb to his charms... A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don't miss the hottest book of 2018!

An amusing chick-lit (somewhat) about the girl without the steady boyfriend when all her friends are getting married. She defines herself as a failure as she has neither a long-term partner/romance, nor a ring.

Such a shame. Playing on the insecurities of the 30ish woman who should be in full upward movement in their careers, or at least, not worrying about rings and babies. A genre/storyline that I am beginning to dislike as it reinforces the wrong message.

That said. The writing is competent and the stories clearly culled from the author’s own gossip experience in her own career as a journalist. enough humour and silliness to compensate the faults.

Share This:

All mums together….

The Single Mums' Mansion Book Cover The Single Mums' Mansion
Janet Hoggarth
Women’s Fiction, Family Drama
Aria
October 4, 2018
368

For all fans of Motherland, Allison Pearson and Hurrah for Gin.

Amanda Wilkie unexpectedly finds herself alone with three children under five in a rambling Victorian house in London, after her husband walks leaves them claiming he's just 'lost the love', like one might carelessly lose a glove.

A few months later, Amanda's heavily pregnant friend, Ali, crashes into her kitchen announcing her partner is also about to abscond. Once Ali's baby Grace is born, Amanda encourages them to move in.

When Jacqui, a long-lost friend and fellow single mum, starts dropping by daily, the household is complete.

Getting divorced is no walk in the park, but the three friends refuse to be defined by it. And, as they slowly emerge out of the wreckage like a trio of sequin-clad Gloria Gaynors singing 'I Will Survive', they realise that anything is possible. Even loving again...

A fun book all about the trials that beset women who have suddenly become single mums as their husbands decide that they no longer love them.

So, left alone with lots of young children, they form a self-support group in Amanda’s victorian house in South London, which is only half renovated as her husband left before completing it. With little money, the group find themselves dependent on each other for everything – including support after monster hang-overs and crying jags.

This is a light and fun novel but yet it still manages to highlight the desperate feelings and often poor living conditions of the ‘first’ wife and the emotional toll that having a husband leaving and then acquiring a second family often imparts.

I enjoyed this book even though I have little experience personally of what the characters written about go through, I found that the writing gave me that knowledge and made me very aware of just how awful it must be to be in that situation. A well written book with enough humour not to make it too emotionally draining.

Share This:

Forgotten life in Vegas? You would not be unusual…

Wann Get Lucky? Book Cover Wann Get Lucky?
Lucky O'Toole Vegas Adventure
Deborah Coonts
romance, contemporary, women's fiction, suspense, humour, women sleuths
Deborah Coonts
(13 Feb. 2017)

A young woman plunges from a Las Vegas sightseeing helicopter, landing in the Pirate Lagoon in front of the Treasure Island Hotel in the middle of the 8:30 Pirate Show. Almost everyone writes her off as another Vegas victim. But, Lucky O'Toole, head of customer relations at the Babylon mega casino, smells a rat, though she's got a lot on her plate: the adult film industry's annual awards banquet, a spouse-swapping convention, sex-toy purveyors preying on the pocket-protector crowd attending ElectroniCon... Still Lucky can't resist turning over a few stones.

When a former flame is one of the snakes she uncovers, Lucky is certain the woman's death was no Sin City suicide. To top it all off, Lucky's best friend, Teddie--Las Vegas's finest female impersonator--presses to take their relationship to the next level. Leave it to Lucky to attract a man who looks better in a dress than she does.

Lucky must manage the Babylon's outrageous festivities, solve the crime, and struggle to keep her life and libido from spinning out of control.

This series explains why, despite a strong sense that I really should be a voyeur there for 24 hours, just to gape, mouth open, I don’t ever intend to go to Las Vegas.

The town offends me on so many ways and levels.

The ostentation. The flash and glitter. The incredible waste of water (it’s a desrt – don’t taje water from farmers, and yes, the town wouldn’t exist if they didn’t – but is tat such a bad thing? the catering to addictive tastes – gambling and drinking being only two. And then there is the ridiculous architecture as is exemplified in the hotel that is core to these stories – The Babylon. Although seeing a Mama Duck and her Ducklings wandering through a hotel foyer would be fun. Not to mention the selfishness of the people who go there, as deomstrated in this particular story in the series, where a guest at the hotel, being denied passage in the main body of the airplane for her 3 cats, shuts them in her trunk and puts them in cargo. And then demands that the hotel deals with a. the urine smell on her clothes; b. the urine smell in her trunk; and c. find the cats who had run away! Well, wouldn’t you run from such an owner?

And then there are the Conventions that are held there. Probably because nowhere else would have them, such as the Swingers, and the Adult Film Industry (aka porn) Awards.

All that beside, you read the book mouth agape at this strange world, but also smiling and sometimes giggling at the antics got up to. And how our heroine copes. Note to self, elbows break noses and don’t get bruised knuckles..

I like this series, so far. It is well written. Fun to read. Not heavy and really good for the beach or garden.

And PS., the cellulite for bums and thighs treatment is also used in burns scars treatment, at a lower intensity – as i know from personal experience. It helps loosen up the skin..

 

Share This:

Just what is History’s Truth?

An Argumentation of Historians Book Cover An Argumentation of Historians
The Chronicles of St Mary's Series Book 9
Jodi Taylor
Historians, action and adventure, sci-fi
Accent Press Ltd
February 22, 2018
320

They say you shouldn't push your luck. Max, obviously, gives her own luck a massive shove every day - and it's only a matter of time until luck pushes back...

When I found out that some more books had continued – what I had thought was the end of – the Chronicles of St Mary’s, I immediately bought them.

This is one of my favourite series as I love history – and even took it for A levels. and here much of what you read in the story is historically very accurate, you just have a number of people involved in these events by accident through time travel. Or as St Mary’s prefers to call it – viewing history in contemporary time.

Stories about Alexander The Great are many – he did so much in such a very short time, and thus must have been an amazing person, and I can quite see why anyone would want to go and see him for themselves. And to see one of the fabled cities of the Old World before destruction and a fabled Library too…

But as always things don’t go according to plan for Max and her compatriots. And Jodi Taylor’s imagination is let loose on just what can go wrong when a city is burning, and there are lots of drunken people about, and soldiers celebrating a win, and…

Note to author: please explain more about Roman manages to keep his pod working and even gets more bought and people paid.

Great fun and good suspense. Well written stories.

Share This:

How much can we know when young?

EVERYTHING I KNOW ABOUT LOVE
DOLLY. ALDERTON
friendship, women's fiction, relationships, family
Penguin
Feb 2019

ith courageous honesty, Alderton documents the highs and the lows - the sex, the drugs, the nightmare landlords, the heartaches and the humiliations. Deeply funny, sometimes shocking, and admirably open-hearted and optimistic' Daily Telegraph

'A sensitive, astute and funny account of growing up millennial' Observer

'Alderton proves a razor-sharp observer of the shifting dynamics of long term female friendship' Mail on Sunday

'The book we will thrust into our friends' hands . . . that will help heal a broken heart. Alderton's wise words can resonate with women of all ages. She feels like a best friend and your older sister all rolled into one and her pages wrap around you like a warm hug' Evening Standard

'I loved its truth, self awareness, humour and most of all, its heart spilling generosity' Sophie Dahl

'Steeped in furiously funny accounts of one-night stands, ill-advised late-night taxi journeys up the M1, grubby flat-shares and the beauty of female friendships, as Alderton joyfully booze-cruises her way through her twenties' Metro

'It's so full of life and laughs - I gobbled up this book. Alderton has built something beautiful and true out of many fragments of daftness' Amy Liptrot

A memoir rather than an autobiography, based on truth and articles and columns previously published.

An insight (for me) into the world of the millenials and their lives as renters and users of dating apps and drinking especially.

We drank as students, of course we did, and there were some drugs about too, but I married young and so never really experienced a long period of post-uni dating. We did share though, even after marriage as we just couldn’t afford our flat without ‘lodgers’, so we turned a 2 bed flat into a 3 bed and lived without much of a lounge except when we all sat together to watch TV on one guy’s bed-sofa. As I stopped being a post-grad and started earning money our flat-mates gradually moved out – the last with a bit of a push!

This book was brutally truthful. a real soul baring of life as lived by Dolly. Her life’s highs and lows. Love and loss. And it cannot help but affect the reader.

I suspect we all recognise something of ourselves (especially women) in Dolly and it certainly made me think about myself and my behaviours and how they did or did not match up.

And thanks for the recipes, Dolly. I intend to make the ice-cream and a variant on the apple pizza one day – not the marzipan though as this would be just too sweet for our taste.

Share This: