Way to Hell?

Hellbent Book Cover Hellbent
Orphan X
Gregg Hurwitz i
war, spy, action thrillers
Michael Joseph
(22 Feb. 2018)

To some he is Orphan X. Others know him as the Nowhere Man. But to veteran spymaster Jack Johns he will always be a boy named Evan Smoak.

Taken from an orphanage, Evan was raised inside a top secret programme designed to turn him into a deadly weapon. Jack became his instructor, mentor, teacher and guardian. Because for all the dangerous skills he instilled in his young charge, he also cared for Evan like a son. And now Jack needs Evan's help.

The Orphan programme hid dark secrets. Now those with blood on their hands want every trace of it gone. And they will stop at nothing to make sure that Jack and Evan go with it.

With little time remaining, Jack gives Evan his last assignment: to find and protect the programme's last recruit. And to stay alive long enough to uncover the shocking truth .

I was hooked and really had difficulty putting it down to sleep. I just wanted to know what happened next.

This is a taut and fast paced thriller in the guns and action genre where there are lots of weapon and advanced technology talk – and lots of amazing deeds by our hero.

Our hero here is OCD, overcompensates, is emotionally retarded and a trained assassin.

Who is ably assisted by by the gutsy, feisty, screwed up foster girl with a genius IQ and quite some way with computers and programming.

Share This:

I Couldn’t Sleep!

While You Sleep Book Cover While You Sleep
Stephanie Merrit
gothic, psychological, thriller,
HarperCollins
Oct 2018

A pacy, chilling psychological thriller, set to reinvent the genre.

It begins, they say, with a woman screaming…

On a remote Scottish island, the McBride house stands guard over its secrets. A century ago, a young widow and her son died mysteriously there; just last year a local boy, visiting for a dare, disappeared without a trace.

For Zoe Adams, newly arrived from America, the house offers a refuge from her failing marriage. But her peaceful retreat is disrupted by strange and disturbing events: night-time intrusions; unknown voices; a constant sense of being watched.

The locals want her to believe that these incidents are echoes of the McBrides' dark past. Zoe is convinced the danger is closer at hand, and all too real – but can she uncover the truth before she is silenced?

This is a seriously creepy story – ideal to be told by those camping bonfires at night and in haunted house tours by the side of a blazing fire!

Those dreams – and what of the boy? And the bookseller? and…

Whilst the haunted house on a remote Scottish island could be considered a somewhat cliched start to a story with the single and fearless women determined to live in it, the story digresses quickly from the cliche and twists and turns into a guessing game. whilst it still continued to have odd cliched moments, I found the ending great as it just leaves you wondering. A true ghost story where you believe or you don’t but you can’t make a rational explanation for everything – or can you?

Really enjoyed this story and delighted to find a new author.

Share This:

Looking for Perfection

A Perfect Death Book Cover A Perfect Death
DI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
Avon / HQ
January 22, 2018
448

'Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read.' Woman's Way Magazine Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge. There's no easy way to die... Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task...

A spooky and sinister tale about a murderer who is very individualistic. He is looking to provide the Perfect Death for his victims and each attempt brings him closer to his aim. And each victim is chosen for very specific reasons that make sense to him but not necessarily – at least in the beginning – to the police targetted with his capture.

The setting, Edinburgh, adds to the atmosphere as we start on Arthur’s Mount – which is credited with a lot of spooky happenings.

I  thought the portrayal of the police especially Callanach were good and having read Helen Fields before, I was not disappointed.

Share This:

What lies under…

What Lies Beneath Book Cover What Lies Beneath
Cassie McGraw #1
David Archer
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
Lone Stone Publishing
(23 Nov. 2017)

Fresh out of high school and off to college, Cassie thought she had the world by its tail, and then she met Mike. Tall, handsome and a police detective to boot, he swept her off her feet and into a whirlwind relationship that led to an engagement ring. But things aren't always as they seem, and Cassie comes to discover that Mike has a dark side. When she learns just how dark it can be, she comes face-to-face with the greatest forward she could imagine, and it leaves her burned and scarred for the rest of her life. Cassie isn't one to wallow in misery. She takes her experiences and a degree in psychology and sets out to help other women avoid the kind of thing that happened to her, but then one of her clients comes to her in desperation. Her abusive husband has kidnapped her daughter, and it's up to Cassie to find the girl before it's too late. Of course, then the only trick is how to survive.

Here David archer tried a different format and a different type of hero – a heroine.

This is the story of Cassie who uses her dreadful injury for good.

Having been a burns victim myself, and also being female, I got Cassie but not her portrayal. for my mind, Archer cannot successfully write for a female character and certainly not her true reaction to such an injury.

Yes, she will have spent time in therapy – a year he says, physical and psychological, but I know myself, from a lesser injury that a year  is not long enough. The therapy, physical at any rate takes much longer.

I also found that he contradicts himself saying initially that they couldn’t graft and then he says that they did.

So my theory of this author stands. He can’t write a female character that I can believe in. (Nb I have read a complete series of his with a male hero).

Share This:

Now is born the Angel – or not

Angel Unborn Book Cover Angel Unborn
Deadly Sins #1
Andris Bear
#AndrisBear ,#angel , #DeadlySins ,#Demon&Devils , #JezebelPress ,#paranormalromance , #psychic ,#ScienceFiction , #timetravel ,#urbanfantasy

Preferably not.

The author attempts a snarky female heroine, but fails to pull it off convincingly.

The storyline is derivative of others – see angel blood – saviour of the universe and so on…

 

Share This: