Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Make India your Home?

Coming Home Book Cover Coming Home
Fern Britton
Womens' Literature, Romance , Women's Fiction, Humour
HarperCollins
February 19, 2018
400

*Preorder the gorgeous new novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton.* When the only place you want to be is home... When Ella's beloved grandmother dies, she comes back to the beautiful Cornish coast to heal her heart. There she finds her home again and discovers a new life, and new love ... But she also opens a treasure trove of secrets. Sennen left Cornwall a young single mum but unable to cope. She left her children, her family and part of her. She's spent the years hiding from her past, hiding from herself. Now it's time to come back. To Cornwall. To face her mistakes. To pray for forgiveness. To hope for a future with her daughter.

I did find this a somewhat sentimental book but was warned before I started by the blurb and for some it will bring on tears.
I did like it though and enjoyed the read but did wonder if Fern had been to India as I have, as saying tuk-tuk rides were expensive is absolutely not true – they are very cheap indeed and can be made even cheaper by sharing and cramming in more people than you could ever imagine!
Certainly, the markets are very cheap but also very unhygienic – vegetables probably would be OK to eat but don’t touch the meat or fish!

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction
0 Comments

Where to go that’s safe?

Home Book Cover Home
Amanda Berriman
literary fiction,
Doubleday
(8 Feb. 2018)

Meet Jesika, aged four and a half. The most extraordinary narrator of 2018.

She lives in a flat with her mother and baby brother and she knows a lot. She knows their flat is high up and the stairs are smelly. She knows she shouldn't draw on the peeling wallpaper or touch the broken window. And she knows she loves her mummy and baby brother Toby.

She does not know that their landlord is threatening to evict them and that Toby’s cough is going to get much worse. Or that Paige, her new best friend, has a secret that will explode their world.

An unusual and disturbing story told from the point of view of a four year old girl as she experiences her life.

She is a very bright little girl but her understanding of events is, of course, limited by her experience, and what her mother has told her. Her life has been difficult as her father abandoned her mother when she was pregnant with their second child and went back to Poland. He doesn’t provide any  support and this leaves them living in a rented flat in a rather unsavoury building. a flat that is damp, lacks reliable reliable heating and maintenance with doors and windows that don’t fit properly and up several flights of stairs. the owner of the flat also is inclined to request services rather than cash for rent from her mother…

Our little heroine has a friend, Paige, and gradually as the friendship between them develops as it also does with their mothers, we begin to work out just what is really happening in Paige’s life.

I was initially unsure about this story as it was tricky reading a story told in the voice of a child – but it was not written in a sentimental manner and indeed her voice was very poignant. i got hooked and found it excellent.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Way to Hell?

Hellbent Book Cover Hellbent
Orphan X
Gregg Hurwitz i
war, spy, action thrillers
Michael Joseph
(22 Feb. 2018)

To some he is Orphan X. Others know him as the Nowhere Man. But to veteran spymaster Jack Johns he will always be a boy named Evan Smoak.

Taken from an orphanage, Evan was raised inside a top secret programme designed to turn him into a deadly weapon. Jack became his instructor, mentor, teacher and guardian. Because for all the dangerous skills he instilled in his young charge, he also cared for Evan like a son. And now Jack needs Evan's help.

The Orphan programme hid dark secrets. Now those with blood on their hands want every trace of it gone. And they will stop at nothing to make sure that Jack and Evan go with it.

With little time remaining, Jack gives Evan his last assignment: to find and protect the programme's last recruit. And to stay alive long enough to uncover the shocking truth .

I was hooked and really had difficulty putting it down to sleep. I just wanted to know what happened next.

This is a taut and fast paced thriller in the guns and action genre where there are lots of weapon and advanced technology talk – and lots of amazing deeds by our hero.

Our hero here is OCD, overcompensates, is emotionally retarded and a trained assassin.

Who is ably assisted by by the gutsy, feisty, screwed up foster girl with a genius IQ and quite some way with computers and programming.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction
0 Comments

I Couldn’t Sleep!

While You Sleep Book Cover While You Sleep
Stephanie Merrit
gothic, psychological, thriller,
HarperCollins
Oct 2018

A pacy, chilling psychological thriller, set to reinvent the genre.

It begins, they say, with a woman screaming…

On a remote Scottish island, the McBride house stands guard over its secrets. A century ago, a young widow and her son died mysteriously there; just last year a local boy, visiting for a dare, disappeared without a trace.

For Zoe Adams, newly arrived from America, the house offers a refuge from her failing marriage. But her peaceful retreat is disrupted by strange and disturbing events: night-time intrusions; unknown voices; a constant sense of being watched.

The locals want her to believe that these incidents are echoes of the McBrides' dark past. Zoe is convinced the danger is closer at hand, and all too real – but can she uncover the truth before she is silenced?

This is a seriously creepy story – ideal to be told by those camping bonfires at night and in haunted house tours by the side of a blazing fire!

Those dreams – and what of the boy? And the bookseller? and…

Whilst the haunted house on a remote Scottish island could be considered a somewhat cliched start to a story with the single and fearless women determined to live in it, the story digresses quickly from the cliche and twists and turns into a guessing game. whilst it still continued to have odd cliched moments, I found the ending great as it just leaves you wondering. A true ghost story where you believe or you don’t but you can’t make a rational explanation for everything – or can you?

Really enjoyed this story and delighted to find a new author.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Looking for Perfection

A Perfect Death Book Cover A Perfect Death
DI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
Avon / HQ
January 22, 2018
448

'Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read.' Woman's Way Magazine Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge. There's no easy way to die... Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task...

A spooky and sinister tale about a murderer who is very individualistic. He is looking to provide the Perfect Death for his victims and each attempt brings him closer to his aim. And each victim is chosen for very specific reasons that make sense to him but not necessarily – at least in the beginning – to the police targetted with his capture.

The setting, Edinburgh, adds to the atmosphere as we start on Arthur’s Mount – which is credited with a lot of spooky happenings.

I  thought the portrayal of the police especially Callanach were good and having read Helen Fields before, I was not disappointed.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com