Books
0 Comments

Who should she go out with?

Mom's Perfect Boyfriend Book Cover Mom's Perfect Boyfriend
Crystal Hemmingway
Romance , Women's Fiction, contemporary, sci-fi
Galbadia Press Independent Book Publishers Association
16 Jul 2019
hardcover

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Maria Semple, a smart romantic comedy about mothers and daughters, told in an addicting, fast-paced style.

Crystal has trouble saying no to her lonely, single mother. For 25 years, it wasn't a problem. But when one small mistake leaves Crystal jilted, homeless, and unemployed, she has to move back in with the person who caused it all: her mother.

Soon Crystal is sucked into her mother's vortex, partying with boomers and hawking homemade marshmallows. Desperate for some independence, she hatches a foolproof plan: get an experimental android to play her mom's "perfect" boyfriend. It's only a matter of time before her mom finds out, and Crystal will never live down the hilarious and disastrous consequences.

A story told through emails, texts, and journal entries, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend is a humorous yet deeply honest portrayal of the complicated friendship between mothers and daughters. Sometimes the people we want to rely upon the least are those who can help us the most.

I thought that this was an interesting story idea and enjoyed the format and way that the story was told. It was light, it was humorous, and you could follow what happened and the anticipated fall-out easily. You could feel empathy for all the characters – yes, all of of them.

Seriously though, at what point does an AI become a human? When does life come into being? There is a set of questions that supposedly, according to our AI friends would tell when an android has reached full understanding and thus can be classed as human. And this book illustrates this conundrum fully – because the religious philosophers would argue that still the android does not have a soul and thus cannot be considered human, even if it has a set of morals and morality and rationality. And emotions.

The concept of an android – or robot – falling in love with a human and vice versa is a trope that sci-fi writers have often used to try and discover a definition of human. Turing famously said that in a conversation between a computer and a human if you cannot tell the difference then both are human. And it is this idea that is taken up in this book.

So a good enjoyable read with a serious philosophical question hidden, if you want to think about it.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com