The Plus One Book Cover The Plus One
Sophia Money-Coutts
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
August 9, 2018
384

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a social function or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none Three little words all single ladies dread... Polly Spencer is fine. She's single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she's fine. Even if she's still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend's summer wedding are looking worryingly slim. But it's a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly's determined that over the next 365 days she'll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor 'the one'. She's heard the stories, there's no way she'll succumb to his charms... A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don't miss the hottest book of 2018!

An amusing chick-lit (somewhat) about the girl without the steady boyfriend when all her friends are getting married. She defines herself as a failure as she has neither a long-term partner/romance, nor a ring.

Such a shame. Playing on the insecurities of the 30ish woman who should be in full upward movement in their careers, or at least, not worrying about rings and babies. A genre/storyline that I am beginning to dislike as it reinforces the wrong message.

That said. The writing is competent and the stories clearly culled from the author’s own gossip experience in her own career as a journalist. enough humour and silliness to compensate the faults.

Share This:


Author

tigger10

There are currently no comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com