Books
0 Comments

Rural Indiana has fun?

Baby Daddy Mystery Book Cover Baby Daddy Mystery
Shady Hoosier Detective Agency Series, Book 2
Daisy Pettles
Hot Pants Press, LLC
(30 Nov. 2018)

It's spring in Pawpaw County, Indiana. Everyone has a bad case of hanky-panky pants. Senior sleuths Ruby Jane (RJ) Waskom and Veenie Goens are on the run, chasing down cheating heart jezebels and shaking child support out of deadbeat baby daddies. Love takes a peculiar turn when a prominent local dentist turns up dead, dressed like a scarecrow, on the porch of his father's mistress’s home in Hound Holler. When a gigged body floats up at the White River Boat and Gun Club, Sassy Smith, senior cougar, is arrested for the murder. RJ bemoans that no one in Pawpaw County can keep their pants on or their skirts down as her grown daughter, Joyce, begs for help chasing down her philandering husband. The romantic mysteries come to a surprise head as the senior sleuths outrun shotgun showers to close in on the answers at the Moon Glo Motor Lodge, the Original Home of Hillbilly Hanky Panky. Veenie and RJ have to buy an extra case of Bengay and a buttload of BBs just to keep up with the romantic misadventures in this humorous crime classic.

In HillBilly country there is nothing to do – it seems – but to have sex – with everyone and sometimes anything that comes along. And as the local population is limited and stable, and they can’t be bothered to travel far for entertainment, genes are very limited and very shared! Which is so not a good thing. Everyone is related to everyone else, whether they know it or not.

I enjoyed the storyline of older PIs basically investigating through gossip – which was very easy to entertain. Secrets were very hard to keep in this very inbred community.

And the eccentricities of life in rural Indiana were fascinating, as was the language and what they were prepared to eat. A diet very lacking in fruit, fish and vegetables it seems.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Our furry friends – sometimes with feathers or scales though

Fun idea and I do like the initials – and then there is ASS – Avian S Security

Definitely a fun read this set of stories, with lots of shifter romances of species that really shouldn’t like each other. The Rabbit and the Bear for instance.

Miranda is just so over the top, but her feral rabbit, well don’t encounter them is all I can offer.

This is Eve at her best. But I found that in Books 4/5/6 The premise gets a bit thinner and the stories are less giggly.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Ruby not so red and shiny

Ruby Book Cover Ruby
Ladies of the Night #2
By Taylor Lee
women's adventure fiction. erotic
kindle

Ladies of the Night is “USA Today best-selling author Taylor Lee’s provocative new series. The Ladies are covert agents in a secretive, off the grid security organization. Highly trained fighters, they’re as gorgeous as they are dangerous to the evil men they’re hired to bring to justice. The only thing these formidable women are NOT is “ladies.”

Praise for The Ladies of the Night OMNIBUS Collection…

"Taylor Lee never disappoints! These books are sizzling hot and keep you guessing at every turn. The sexiest special operatives ever!J. John
“Spellbinding international thrillers that will have you on the edge of your seat. Pulse pounding action and steamy romance. A cast of unforgettable characters that will capture your heart.” Action Junkie

WARNING: Romance so HOT it singes the pages. HOT, tough, explicit. Not for the faint at heart.

The Ladies of the Night OMNIBUS Collection includes:

“Sapphire”… Book 1: Sapphire is hired to seduce and capture the leader of a lucrative international human trafficking enterprise. The only thing more challenging than the villain to the fiercely independent Sapphire is her commanding partner.

Ruby”…Book 2: Ruby is a diminutive, red-headed vixen. But don’t let her size fool you. The fierce firebrand is as accomplished with a knife and Glock 19 as she is bringing men to their feet with her womanly wiles.

“Topaz”…Book 3: Topaz is a mixed-race Zoe Saldana look-a-like. As mysterious as her heritage, a hideous incident in Topaz’s troubled past gives her a dangerous connection to the international Cartel leader at the top of the DEA’s most wanted list
“Diamond”…Book 4: Diamond founded Ladies of the Night after she was fired by the third off the grid security firm for not being a “team player”. In a deadly mix of murder, lust and politics, Diamond finds herself faced with losing her company or her heart—or both.
Love Kaylea Cross's heart pounding romantic mystery thrillers? Sylvia Day’s and Maya Banks red hot sexy heroes, feisty heroines and high adrenaline action? Fern Michael’s compelling characters? Grab Ladies of the Night and prepare to be addicted.

The 2nd Ladies of the Night operative – actually the first recruited but 2nd book. With red hair, hence the nickname for the group.

And 5 foot 8 inches is not tall for a woman, only slightly above average height – if 5 foot 6 is ideal then…

This story was reading quite well until suddenly, just like the last 5 minutes of every TV cop programme with just a 45 min (ex adverts slot), the villain is unmasked and all is settled . just like that. No real climax .

So 3 stars for the author not knowing how to end the story, and not really dealing with the romance properly. It would have benefitted from being written from Noah’s point of view occasionally as so many stories are told now.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Gnomes act out

Gnomes of Suburbia Book Cover Gnomes of Suburbia
Nexus Chronicle Book 1
Viola Grace
contemporary fantasy
eXtasy Books
(1 July 2010)

Abby wants a new life, but magic was never on the agenda. Her new neighbours are great, if you like mermaids, werewolves, and medusi. Adapting to her role in the neighbourhood is tricky as it involves pulling magic between dimensions, but the garden gnomes that she animated try to help when they can. The warlock next door is also a problem, every time he gets near her, her power goes berserk. When a stalker joins the crew and tries to end Abby's new career the hard way, her life is danger and .....

         Well this is a very strange suburban area – with funny magic and animated creatures – the gnomes start to wander and as for the flamingos – they form a flock and fly south!

What we have is a Portal. and it is channelling magic                                                                                                                         

Viola Grace writes amusing stories about very strange creatures – see her stories about the Reindeer – with wit and sarcasm and a vivid adult imagination.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Tangled in Dresses

The Tanglewood Wedding Shop Book Cover The Tanglewood Wedding Shop
Lilac Mills
Fiction
Canelo Escape
January 13, 2020
300

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something untrue… Edie has enough on her plate keeping her tyrannical boss happy at Moira’s Wedding Shop. So when society bride Tia begs Edie to design her wedding dress – and keep it a secret from the domineering mother-in-law to be – Edie reluctantly says ‘I will’ to making Tia’s dream come true. If her deception is found out, though, it would mean losing her job… Meanwhile best man James has his eye on Edie and he’s proving ever harder for her to resist. James is upper-crust and Edie’s one unexpected bill away from the breadline – they’re from completely different worlds and there’s no way it can ever work between them… right? A charming, feel-good romance for fans of Daisy James, Holly Martin and Portia MacIntosh.

A wedding shop story with difference.

We are not reading about the shop but the seamstress, who does not own the shop, but makes and designs the gowns – for a pittance due to a mean shop owner.

We have a cute village which emphasises just how remote some of our Welsh ( and Welsh Border) villages can be, lacking the amenities of travel if you don’t have a car, with rare and unreliable buses.

Overall a sweet story within the genre but no real bite and a rather wishy-washy heroine.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com