Books/book review/Fantasy/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Baking with Magic

Fairytale Ambrosia Book Cover Fairytale Ambrosia
(The Knead to Know Series) #1
Liz Schulte
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(27 Jan. 2016)

Maggie Edwards can’t sleep, eat, or die—but, she can bake. However, just before the Halloween grand opening of her bakery, a pesky reporter witnesses an accident in her kitchen and gets a little too close to the truth. If she can’t convince him to keep quiet, not only will she lose her chance at happiness, but they both could lose their lives. Fairytale Ambrosia: When your professional life is going well, fate has a way of ruining everything else. At least, that’s what’s happening to Maggie Edwards. While her bakery is taking off without a hitch, her personal life is going up in flames. Her best friend needs Maggie more than ever, a demon is out for her blood, and Boone keeps having visions of a magical woman kidnapping people in their sleep. Maggie has to hurry up and figure out how to balance her human friends with her very supernatural life before someone pays the ultimate price.

Also reviewing Psyche Souffle #3 in the series.

So we learn from this series that half-vampires don’t eat blood but black
souls, preferably those of demons. They love to bake but can’t taste anything  and don’t need to eat anything in the food line. Hmm.    

I quite liked these stories but found them too short and that everything was resolved too easily. there was not enough suspense.

Very light.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour
0 Comments

On the Lam (B)

Baby Daddy Mystery Book Cover Baby Daddy Mystery
Shady Hoosier Mystery #2
Daisy Pettles
mystery, murder, humour, detective
Hot Pants Press, LLC (30 Nov. 2018)
December 15, 2018

It's spring in Pawpaw County, Indiana. Everyone has a bad case of hanky-panky pants. Senior sleuths Ruby Jane (RJ) Waskom and Veenie Goens are on the run, chasing down cheating heart jezebels and shaking child support out of deadbeat baby daddies. Love takes a peculiar turn when a prominent local dentist turns up dead, dressed like a scarecrow, on the porch of his father's mistress’s home in Hound Holler. When a gigged body floats up at the White River Boat and Gun Club, Sassy Smith, senior cougar, is arrested for the murder. RJ bemoans that no one in Pawpaw County can keep their pants on or their skirts down as her grown daughter, Joyce, begs for help chasing down her philandering husband. The romantic mysteries come to a surprise head as the senior sleuths outrun shotgun showers to close in on the answers at the Moon Glo Motor Lodge, the Original Home of Hillbilly Hanky Panky. Veenie and RJ have to buy an extra case of Bengay and a buttload of BBs just to keep up with the romantic misadventures in this humorous crime classic.

I found the language in this story really interesting – and very funny. Very idiomatic of these rural US areas.

The story was full of all sorts interesting phrases and sayings and one of my favourite was about Children and Genetics:

God is blind and baking a cake with whatever is left over in the larder – the ingredients are OK but proportions are off. This explained a lot about this town and its surroundings.

Too much nooky and who knew the father of any child was – they didn’t like to travel far for their entertainment and thus some very mixed genes – which often led to some seriously weird people and behaviours.

An enjoyable romp through rural Indiana. And loved having ‘grandmas’ as the best detectives around – usaully through gossip.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Travel the Hippie Trail

Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop Book Cover Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop
Rebecca Raisin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
April 23, 2019
384

A swanky job as a Michelin-Starred Sous Chef, a loving husband and future children scheduled for exactly January 2021. That’s until she comes home one day to find her husband’s pre-packed bag and a confession that he's had an affair. Heartbroken and devastated, Rosie drowns her sorrows in a glass (or three) of wine, only to discover the following morning that she has spontaneously invested in a bright pink campervan to facilitate her grand plans to travel the country. Now, Rosie is about to embark on the trip of a lifetime, and the chance to change her life! With Poppy, her new-found travelling tea shop in tow, nothing could go wrong, could it…? A laugh-out-loud novel of love, friendship and adventure! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.

This is a sweet romantic story of what happens when someone decides they need a complete change of lifestyle, because the last one sucked – fiances having affairs and so on.

So what do they do? but buy, on impulse an old Campervan/Mobile Teashop? which works because Rosie likes to bake cakes and make ‘comfort’ food. Rosie then takes this van on the Hippie trail, following the various festivals around the country. And trying to make sense of her new lifestyle with an electronic friend.

Cozy and warming, but little about the real unsustainability of living out of a van – even if you manage to find a really nice one, all year round. Apart from having to park up for the winter, they are seriously cold – I’ve stayed in them.. And trying to make ends meet – well…

But still a romantic idea as in following the Gypsies O!

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/Romance/cats
0 Comments

Such a cute kitten

No Kitten Around: Book Cover No Kitten Around:
A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count)
Rj Blain
Fiction contemporary, urban, humour, romance
Pen & Page Publishing
October 30, 2018
266

Warning: This novel contains excessive humor, action, excitement, adventure, magic, romance, and bodies. Proceed with caution. The last thing Reed Matthews needs in his life is a kitten, but when an orphaned tabby suckers him into becoming her caretaker, he's in for the ride of his life. Add in an angel determined to meddle in his affairs, a devil with an agenda, and a bucketful of bad omens, and he'll count himself fortunate if he survives the clash between heaven, hell, and his ex. In this anything goes romp, there's no kitten around: if Reed wants to survive and regain control of his life, his only hope lies in the hands of an elf and his ex, a woman he's sworn to never see again.

How do cats sucker us? Well, they have these cute eyes? and soft silky fur and they purr. And then we do anything for them… well

And then we need some swords, an elf – yes think very fast and deadly with a blade – angels without heads (how creepy is that?) and demons and…

You get the idea. Lots of different species and fighting and funny bits. RJ Blain likes cats – in fcat she writes a newsletter from her cats – the sneaky kitty critics regularly and they tell us readers just what is going on – with a side order of snark.

Share This:

Books/book review/humour
0 Comments

How to make money – a naughty way

Hollywood Whore Book Cover Hollywood Whore
Volume 2 (The True Hollywood Lies )
Josie Brown
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Signal Press
October 16, 2015

A TRUE HOLLYWOOD LIES Novel"

Previously published as "Impossibly Tongue-Tied"--All over Hollywood, men are dialing O--for orgasms. Her steamy naughty talk fills them with lust and longing, and helps them perform like the studs they claim to be.In truth, the industry's favorite "erotic phone operatrix" is Nina Harte, a struggling actress who has put her career on hold so that her husband, Nathan, can pursue his own dreams of stardom. When Nathan's career takes off, so does he, leaving Nina and their four-year-old son, Jake, for his diva costar, Katerina McPherson. Then "Kat 'n' Nat" are crowned the media's newest celebrity sweethearts, and Kat labels Nina an unfit mother in order to win custody of Jake, just so that she can have that highly-coveted celebrity accessory--an adorable child--sans any unsightly stretch marks.The one person who does care about Nina is Nathan's agent, Sam Godwin. In fact, he's in love with her. And because he has both a heart and a conscience, Sam feels guilty for having put Nat in Kat's path in the first place. Then again, how will he feel when he learns that Nina and O are one and the same?

Except she isn’t really a whore – just gets involved in the sex trade to keep food on the table, and her actor husband in acting classes as he doesn’t seem able to bring home any money to speak of.

I like Josie Brown as an author but I think I prefer her humorous books. This story is a morality play about Hollywood and the evils that can befall you if you go there – especially if you start off being good looking. It ends well for those who need it to, but but a lot has to be processed to get there – and I learnt a lot of new language myself on the way! Clearly need to read an urban dictionary…

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com