Books
0 Comments

Ruby not so red and shiny

Ruby Book Cover Ruby
Ladies of the Night #2
By Taylor Lee
women's adventure fiction. erotic
kindle

Ladies of the Night is “USA Today best-selling author Taylor Lee’s provocative new series. The Ladies are covert agents in a secretive, off the grid security organization. Highly trained fighters, they’re as gorgeous as they are dangerous to the evil men they’re hired to bring to justice. The only thing these formidable women are NOT is “ladies.”

Praise for The Ladies of the Night OMNIBUS Collection…

"Taylor Lee never disappoints! These books are sizzling hot and keep you guessing at every turn. The sexiest special operatives ever!J. John
“Spellbinding international thrillers that will have you on the edge of your seat. Pulse pounding action and steamy romance. A cast of unforgettable characters that will capture your heart.” Action Junkie

WARNING: Romance so HOT it singes the pages. HOT, tough, explicit. Not for the faint at heart.

The Ladies of the Night OMNIBUS Collection includes:

“Sapphire”… Book 1: Sapphire is hired to seduce and capture the leader of a lucrative international human trafficking enterprise. The only thing more challenging than the villain to the fiercely independent Sapphire is her commanding partner.

Ruby”…Book 2: Ruby is a diminutive, red-headed vixen. But don’t let her size fool you. The fierce firebrand is as accomplished with a knife and Glock 19 as she is bringing men to their feet with her womanly wiles.

“Topaz”…Book 3: Topaz is a mixed-race Zoe Saldana look-a-like. As mysterious as her heritage, a hideous incident in Topaz’s troubled past gives her a dangerous connection to the international Cartel leader at the top of the DEA’s most wanted list
“Diamond”…Book 4: Diamond founded Ladies of the Night after she was fired by the third off the grid security firm for not being a “team player”. In a deadly mix of murder, lust and politics, Diamond finds herself faced with losing her company or her heart—or both.
Love Kaylea Cross's heart pounding romantic mystery thrillers? Sylvia Day’s and Maya Banks red hot sexy heroes, feisty heroines and high adrenaline action? Fern Michael’s compelling characters? Grab Ladies of the Night and prepare to be addicted.

The 2nd Ladies of the Night operative – actually the first recruited but 2nd book. With red hair, hence the nickname for the group.

And 5 foot 8 inches is not tall for a woman, only slightly above average height – if 5 foot 6 is ideal then…

This story was reading quite well until suddenly, just like the last 5 minutes of every TV cop programme with just a 45 min (ex adverts slot), the villain is unmasked and all is settled . just like that. No real climax .

So 3 stars for the author not knowing how to end the story, and not really dealing with the romance properly. It would have benefitted from being written from Noah’s point of view occasionally as so many stories are told now.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Gnomes act out

Gnomes of Suburbia Book Cover Gnomes of Suburbia
Nexus Chronicle Book 1
Viola Grace
contemporary fantasy
eXtasy Books
(1 July 2010)

Abby wants a new life, but magic was never on the agenda. Her new neighbours are great, if you like mermaids, werewolves, and medusi. Adapting to her role in the neighbourhood is tricky as it involves pulling magic between dimensions, but the garden gnomes that she animated try to help when they can. The warlock next door is also a problem, every time he gets near her, her power goes berserk. When a stalker joins the crew and tries to end Abby's new career the hard way, her life is danger and .....

         Well this is a very strange suburban area – with funny magic and animated creatures – the gnomes start to wander and as for the flamingos – they form a flock and fly south!

What we have is a Portal. and it is channelling magic                                                                                                                         

Viola Grace writes amusing stories about very strange creatures – see her stories about the Reindeer – with wit and sarcasm and a vivid adult imagination.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Tangled in Dresses

The Tanglewood Wedding Shop Book Cover The Tanglewood Wedding Shop
Lilac Mills
Fiction
Canelo Escape
January 13, 2020
300

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something untrue… Edie has enough on her plate keeping her tyrannical boss happy at Moira’s Wedding Shop. So when society bride Tia begs Edie to design her wedding dress – and keep it a secret from the domineering mother-in-law to be – Edie reluctantly says ‘I will’ to making Tia’s dream come true. If her deception is found out, though, it would mean losing her job… Meanwhile best man James has his eye on Edie and he’s proving ever harder for her to resist. James is upper-crust and Edie’s one unexpected bill away from the breadline – they’re from completely different worlds and there’s no way it can ever work between them… right? A charming, feel-good romance for fans of Daisy James, Holly Martin and Portia MacIntosh.

A wedding shop story with difference.

We are not reading about the shop but the seamstress, who does not own the shop, but makes and designs the gowns – for a pittance due to a mean shop owner.

We have a cute village which emphasises just how remote some of our Welsh ( and Welsh Border) villages can be, lacking the amenities of travel if you don’t have a car, with rare and unreliable buses.

Overall a sweet story within the genre but no real bite and a rather wishy-washy heroine.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Glamour and ….

American Royals Book Cover American Royals
Katharine McGee
Teens & YA , Women's Fiction
Puffin, Penguin Random House UK
September 3, 2019
368

Romance, glamour, ambition and power . . . meet the Washingtons - the most scandalous royal family ever! HRH Princess Samantha has always been a royal rebel. She's the spare not the heir, so no one minds too much who she dates or how hard she parties. It helps that her sister, Princess Beatrice, is literally perfect. She's demure, sweet and beautiful, and she knows that the crown always comes first - no matter what her heart might really want. But they're not the only ones with their eye on the throne. Daphne Deighton might be 'newly noble' but she won Prince Jefferson's heart once, and she'll do anything to get back into the court's favour - and his bed. If only she knew that her competition was a common nobody - plain little Nina Gonzalez, the daughter of the king's secretary. Together these four young women must navigate the drama, gossip, scheming and sizzling romance of the most glorious court in the world. They'll either be crowned in glory - or end up as shockingly royal disasters.

Overall I liked this alternate history of America and thus the world. 
My one issue was with Daphne's age. She was still 17 at the time of writing. 
Her scheming was that of a teenager true, but the concept of marriage at such a young age- well. My guess is that the ages of the main characters were to appeal to an YA audience.
It would have been nice to have had more history of America in the storyline. What had happened after the war with the British? 
There were odd sentences here and there-eg about slavery & Native Americans, but they only left me wanting more detail.
I'm sure a YA audience will love this new series, after all, so many girls dream about being a: 
a. a princess and 
b. To be in charge- to rule.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Fairy Children

Little Darlings Book Cover Little Darlings
by Melanie Golding
General Fiction (Adult)
HQ
Pub Date 2 May 2019

THE TWINS ARE CRYING. THE TWINS ARE HUNGRY. LAUREN IS CRYING. LAUREN IS EXHAUSTED. Behind the hospital curtain, someone is waiting . . . A terrifying encounter in the middle of the night leaves Lauren convinced someone is trying to steal her new-born twins. Desperate with fear, she locks herself and her sons in the bathroom until the police arrive. When DS Joanna Harper picks up the list of reported overnight incidents, she expects the usual calls from drunks and wrong numbers. But then a report of an attempted abduction catches her eye. The only thing is that it was flagged as a false alarm just fifteen minutes later. But Harper chooses to investigate anyway. There's nothing on the CCTV, and yet Lauren claims that the woman is still after her children. No one will listen to Lauren – except Harper. And now Harper must ask herself, is Lauren mad, or does she see something no one else can?

The Changelings- My title for this book 
This book taps into the oft repeated stories about fairy changelings. Where the fairies steal a human child & replace them with one of their own. 
Although why the fairies should do this is never explained.
The first time I tried to read this book I found the initial chapters so creepy, I put the book away. This time, I read on.
The story is still creepy but I got hooked. 
I actually lived in Sheffield in 1976, and well remember how dry it was, and now the Rivelin Dams' waters shrunk. I remember The fascination of seeing the drowned villages re-appear and how creepy they looked draped in water weed and crumbling.
This story leaves you with the distinct impression, that there is more to our world than the rational eye can see. Again with the ghost stor.
was the mother suffering from post-partum paranoia? Or was there more?

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com