Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Travel the Hippie Trail

Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop Book Cover Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop
Rebecca Raisin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
April 23, 2019
384

A swanky job as a Michelin-Starred Sous Chef, a loving husband and future children scheduled for exactly January 2021. That’s until she comes home one day to find her husband’s pre-packed bag and a confession that he's had an affair. Heartbroken and devastated, Rosie drowns her sorrows in a glass (or three) of wine, only to discover the following morning that she has spontaneously invested in a bright pink campervan to facilitate her grand plans to travel the country. Now, Rosie is about to embark on the trip of a lifetime, and the chance to change her life! With Poppy, her new-found travelling tea shop in tow, nothing could go wrong, could it…? A laugh-out-loud novel of love, friendship and adventure! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.

This is a sweet romantic story of what happens when someone decides they need a complete change of lifestyle, because the last one sucked – fiances having affairs and so on.

So what do they do? but buy, on impulse an old Campervan/Mobile Teashop? which works because Rosie likes to bake cakes and make ‘comfort’ food. Rosie then takes this van on the Hippie trail, following the various festivals around the country. And trying to make sense of her new lifestyle with an electronic friend.

Cozy and warming, but little about the real unsustainability of living out of a van – even if you manage to find a really nice one, all year round. Apart from having to park up for the winter, they are seriously cold – I’ve stayed in them.. And trying to make ends meet – well…

But still a romantic idea as in following the Gypsies O!

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

A goddess for the different city

Sin City Goddess Book Cover Sin City Goddess
Barbra Annino
Fiction, fairytale, occult, thriller, crime
Thomas and Mercer
2013
279

“It was hotter than Hades' closet in Las Vegas, and brighter than a Zeus-fueled lightning bolt.”Goddess Tisiphone, Avenger of Murder, spends her days playing poker in the underworld, far away from mortals - and all the terrible mistakes they make. But when her sister turns up missing, Tisi reluctantly agrees to bring her sister back from the most unholy place in the world: Las Vegas.Teamed up with Archer Mays, a recently deceased - and easy on the eyes - FBI agent, the anger-prone deity must keep her temper long enough to battle demons, save her sister . . . and unravel a plot sinister enough to destroy the realm of god and man forever.From the author of the enchanting Stacy Justice mystery series comes the highly anticipated first book in her new Secret Goddess series: a book that proves hell hath no Fury, because she's in Las Vegas.

            This story had some good ideas with new gods and goddesses and demons for me – not come across them but willing to believe they are in the pantheons.

But that said I found the story style was rather pedestrian and thus did not inspire me to research these gods etc.

I did rather like the idea of Dionysius being behind the idea of building Las Vegas in the desert, and some of the minor deities taking part in LV shows.

I thought it lacked humour and/or snarky conversation and characterisation.                              

Share This:

Books/blogtour/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
1 Comment

Love – Who’s Lucky?

Unlucky in Love Book Cover Unlucky in Love
A.J. Renee
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
AJ Renee
January 30th 2019

Lucky in Love.

That’s the name of the dating app I picked, hoping to find Mr. Better Than Average so I can hold off planning my future as a cat lady.

I’ve been distracted eyeballing a tall, dark, and handsome Latin hottie who works in the library with me. He is way out of my league, and a woman has needs if you know what I mean.

Finding a man shouldn’t be hard when all I have to do is swipe left or right. It’ll weed out the slimy men who have Bad Date written all over them.

Yeah, I’m learning quickly that I’m rather unlucky in love after all. The men I pick need warning labels, kissing lessons, and a good talking-to about manners.

Should I throw in the towel, or will this series of bad dates be exactly what I need to win Mr. Right?

A millenial love story? Or why dating apps cause havoc.. or provide you with bad dates or with males that are on the app for really good reasons! Beware.

So this a romantic story of finding love in your workplace – which is where most people used to find their partners before apps came along. And how getting to know someone slowly works better than the instant date from an app.

An adult theme about romance and dates with explicit scenes but very much in the milieu/trope.

I thought it quite sweet with some fun aspects, and the bad dates remind me of some that I had when young – the paintballing for me was pot-holing… even when I told him I was claustrophobic he didn’t believe it until I had hysterics deep in the ground! And as he was the pot-holing club leader it proved very embarrassing for him to have to bring up to the surface.. And then there was the Indian guy who insisted on showing me his wool vest and also insisted that all English girls had sex on the first date. I proved him very wrong.. Oh the bad dates we women have all had…

Author Spotlight

AJ Renee is the author behind the St. Fleur series, Beauty Unmasked, Winter’s Surprise, Surviving Paris, and Finding Love at the Falls…. She’s a military wife and mother to three young girls. She graduated from the University of Central Florida with her Master of Science in Criminal Justice and a Bachelor of Science in Psychology while working at the library.

She loves to write steamy romance with suspense and a happily ever after. When she isn’t writing or interacting with her readers, you can find her spending time with her family or reading. AJ enjoys traveling, researching family history, and all things New Orleans.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance/net galley
0 Comments

What happens when the kids leave home

The Mum Who Got Her Life Back Book Cover The Mum Who Got Her Life Back
Fiona Gibson
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, women's literature
Avon
01 Mar 2019

When her 18-year-old twins leave for university, single mum Nadia’s life changes in ways she never expected: her Glasgow flat feels suddenly huge, laundry doesn’t take up half her week, and she no longer has to buy ‘the Big Milk’. After almost two decades of putting everyone else first, Nadia is finally taking care of herself. And with a budding romance with new boyfriend Jack, She’s never felt more alive. That is, until her son Alfie drops out of university, and Nadia finds her empty nest is empty no more. With a heartbroken teenager to contend with, Nadia has to ask herself: is it ever possible for a mother to get her own life back? And can Jack and Nadia’s relationship survive having a sulky teenager around?

A story for all empty nesters and parents of kids who have left home – or have they? As so many people are now finding, kids that left, come bouncing back, just when you least expect them (and at very inopportune times) and really don’t need them back. They disrupt this nice life you have (finally) managed to create for yourself – even a nice new romance. They become needy toddlers again as life has been unfair to them and because you feel guilty because you didn’t miss them as much as you expected, you cater to their whims – even to the point where your new life begins to unravel.
Or least this is what happens according to this book.
Personally, if our kids had behaved the way her son did with his clothes and loo and messes they would have had a sharp word or two despite everything. Do Mums really get walked over nowadays as is portrayed here? And they don’t teach their sons to cook? Who was this woman and why did she allow her kids to treat her like a limp door mat? This rang untrue to me. So though I generally enjoyed the book the story was not as realistic as it could have been.
Overall, this works as a romance between single parents trying to find a new life for themselves and juggling the demands of work and family, but…

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/law enforcement/crime fiction
0 Comments

When you need to be vigilant

Vigilante Dead
A Kate Jones Thriller: Volume #8
DV Berkom
Thriller, Detective, Crime, Female Sleuth
Duct Tape Press
(26 Nov. 2016)

Death. Lies. Revenge.After years of running, Kate Jones is finally putting her past behind her. Between restoring ties with her younger sister, moving in with Sam, a cop-turned PI, and working as a PI herself, she's learning to live life without looking over her shoulder.Then Kate lands a case that changes everything: a young college student with no history of drug abuse dies of an overdose, and the parents come to Kate demanding answers. Soon, Seattle is reeling from dozens more deaths, all with the same chemical markers. At first, police assume that the victims are closet junkies who got a hold of a bad combination, but after someone close to her becomes a victim, Kate believes something far more sinister is going on.The deeper Kate digs, the more she uncovers about the deadly drug’s origins, forcing her to choose between doing what’s right… and getting revenge

I read ‘Bad Spirits’ (book #1 in this series) some time ago and meant to follow it up but didn’t. I just may have read the last book in the series and missed all the ones in between… but still, DV Berkom hasn’t disappointed.

 And I could follow enough of the series’ storyline for this book to stand alone.

Kate thinks she has finally left her nemesis behind and is free of being hunted, but by deciding to interfere in a drug case, she finds more people who want her dead. The story about the drugs gets complicated as more unsuspecting people die from tainted pain killers.

A good suspense and thriller story, which doesn’t get too technical and gives some handy hints for women about self-defence.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com