Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance/Cooking
0 Comments

What happens under the tree?

Mistletoe And Mystery Book Cover Mistletoe And Mystery
The Paradise Cookery School
Daisy James
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Canelo Escape
(10 Sept. 2018)

Welcome to the Cotswolds Festive Feast cookery course...

Fresh off the successful opening of the Paradise Cookery School in St Lucia, Millie Harper is headed to the Cotswolds for Christmas!

Co-presenting Claudia Croft’s famous Festive Feast cookery course at Stonelea Manor is a dream come true for Millie…as is reuniting with gorgeous estate manager Zach Barker.

But arriving in a winter wonderland Millie learns the manor is under a mysterious threat. It’ll take a holiday miracle, but Millie is determined to save the school and get Zach under the mistletoe to finally finish what they started in the Caribbean!

Cosy up with this fun, festive visit to the Cotswolds premier cookery school! Perfect for fans of Jenny Oliver and Sarah Morgan


This was sweet in all meanings of the word! Unfortunately there were no illustrations or recipes. But then who could compete with a pastry chef with a Michelin star…

I was hungry all the way through the descriptions of the cookery course – the only thing missing was the description of what they ate at the Xmas day meal – apart from Yorkshire puddings – which is a bit strange and very Northern. And they seemed to make different items form those described as being on the menu that day, but perhaps the chef rustled them up for them as extras?

Generally a nice book and very suitable for all cozy readers and everyone who likes to read about cookery.

I’m giving it 4 stars for making me hungry – the descriptions were delightful, and I agree Parkin is heavy – but so gingery…

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/cats
0 Comments

Love the Cats!

Cat Me If You Can Book Cover Cat Me If You Can
The Hissing Booth Chronicles #0
Gemma Thorne
New Adult, Urban Fantasy, Humour
Independently published
(1 Nov. 2018)

The world ends not with a bang but a hiss.Since the Rise of Magic, soothsayer Journi McCutcheon has faced supernatural sycophants, dated zealous zombies, and battled possessed pediatricians, but when an eccentric client hires her to investigate haunted pickles, her day goes from weird to worse.Only demonic dills are the least of her newly acquired problems.What begins as a nuisance call ends in apocalypse when she stumbles across a mass grave and discovers that the cats therein aren’t just dead—they’re harbingers of extinction.And magic is on the endangered species list.To save her family and Deviants everywhere, she must set aside her feud with all things feline to end the threat.Before it ends her. Cat Me If You Can is the exciting prequel to Crazy Cat Lady, Gemma Thorne’s #1 best-selling debut novel. Packed with quick wit, spell-slinging heroines, and cats, it’s a new breed of urban fantasy. Start this beloved series today.

Here we have a parallel world where magic exploded and the strange creatures came out to play.

I thought this was a good, feisty, female PI heroine. I really loved her Mum and as for Grandma! grandma is a witch who bespells marbles – which make good slingshot ammunition – but you never know what is going to happen when they hit their target…

Nice fun read with lots humour and cats…. purrfect.

Share This:

Books/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

A TV appearance comes to the rescue






What Happens in France Book Cover




What Happens in France





Carol Wyer





contemporary fiction, romance, humour




Canelo




28th January 2018



Bryony Masters has been looking for her long-lost sister, Hannah, for years, but when their
father has a stroke her search takes on new urgency. So when primetime game show, What
Happens in France, puts a call-out for new contestants, Bryony spots the ultimate public
platform to find her reality TV-obsessed sister, and finally reunite their family.
With the help of handsome teammate Lewis, it’s not long before she’s on a private jet
heading for the stunning beauty of rural France. With a social media star dog, a high
maintenance quiz host and a cast of truly unique characters, Bryony and Lewis have their
work cut out for them to stay on the show and in the public eye.
Yet as the audience grows and the grand prize beckons they find that the search that
brought them together may just fulfil more than one heart’s wish…
This heartwarming romantic comedy of friendship, family and laugh-out-loud
adventures is perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Colleen Coleman and Marian
Keyes.

A light fun read especially for those who might consider going on a quiz show – the answer is don’t!

A novel quiz show and one that might actually work in real life is undertaken by our all star cast – including a Professor who thinks he is the bees knees and an Instagram star of a pug. Actually, the pug belongs to a male ballet dancer and has a very strong following – as so many people like to see dogs dressed up. I’m not sure what that says about their owners. But do recall our daughter would dress our cat up when she was a toddler and persuade her to ride in a pram. Very long suffering that cat!

Enjoyable but not intense and the ending is much as expected – happy of course.

Note for Editor – check dates and facts – how many grandchildren? When did they start filming? What did she teach?

Small inconsistencies that irritate.

About the author

Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian. In 2017 she stepped away from writing comedy to the “dark side” and embarked on writing a series of thrillers which became best-sellers and have been translated into several languages. She won the 2015 People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction, and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published alongside journalism in many magazines.

Quiz!
Fun Facts about Carol Wyer
1. How many game shows has Carol Wyer been on, on Television?
Answer: Three! The Tipping Point with Ben Shephard, Masterpieces with Alan Titchmarsh and Decimate with Shane Richie.
2. True or False: Was Carol Wyer once paralysed from the waist down?
Answer: True. At the age of 21, a simple procedure left Carol paralysed for three months.
3. What other careers has Carol Wyer had, besides bestselling author?
Answer: A language teacher, a personal trainer and a stand-up comedienne
4. Which famous comedian is Carol related to?
Answer: Ernie Wise, of Morecambe and Wise fame
5. Name five crazy hobbies Carol Wyer has?
Answer: Scuba-diving, zorbing, swimming with sharks, belly dancing and quad biking up mountains

Share This:

Books/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Want to ski? And meet a Billionaire?

Dreaming of Christmas Book Cover Dreaming of Christmas
TA Williams
holidays, romantic comedy
Canelo Escape
(27 Aug. 2018)
Kindle

It’s the dream Christmas: snow, mountains… and, er, an ex-boyfriend. But can Zoe still find love in the Alps?

Dumped on Christmas Eve by her long-term boyfriend, it's been a rough year for Zoe Lumsley. But then she gets an invitation she can’t refuse: an all expenses paid skiing holiday with old university friends.

The bad news: her ex, Grant, will be there with his new girlfriend. But so will her former flatmate Billy, the organiser, and in the meantime he’s done rather well for himself. As Christmas in the Alps approaches, it'll be great to see the old gang. Some more than others...

Perfect for readers of Tilly Tenant, Holly Martin and Philippa Ashley, this is the perfect magical Christmas getaway from the bestselling T.A. Williams.

So there was this group of house mates at university, and 10 years on much has happened. So much so that the proverbial nerd has become a successful entrepreneur and has now asked them all for a holiday in Austria.

Not to miss out on an all expenses paid trip to a snowy ski resort, they all accept and romantic shenanigans – of sorts – ensue.

The nerd is no longer and has a beautiful girl on his arm – but…

A sweet, gentle and predictable romance set against a snowy background with lots of skiing and a ball.

Don’t expect suspense but enjoy the warmth!

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/humour
0 Comments

An Xmas to Remember






A Fashionably Dead Christmas: Book Cover




A Fashionably Dead Christmas:




Hot Damned Series, Book 5





Robyn Peterman





paranormal, humour, satire, romantic comedy




CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform




(2 Mar. 2016)



It’s Christmas at the Cressida House and all Hell is breaking loose.

Tree? Decorated and lit. Elf on a Shelf? Seated with style. Baby Jesus on the mantle? Fourteen neatly in a row. Life sized Nutcracker? Creepy, but standing proud. Invitations sent to entire immortal family to celebrate the holiday? Possibly the stupidest damn thing I’ve ever done.

Mixing Heaven and Hell on my cousin’s famous birthday seemed like such a brilliant idea. I wanted my baby’s first Christmas to be special—memorable. I’d like chalk my heinous idea up to having been fallen down drunk, but that won’t fly as it’s insanely difficult for a Vampyre to tie one on. So instead I’ll deal with obscene gifts from relatives, kidnapped rock stars and catering by Mother Nature.

To complicate matters, our new family pet thinks the whole house is his toilet. Ethan and I can’t even find a room with working lock on the door to spread a little holiday cheer.

Never, never again. Christmas from now on will be at a freakin’ spa for the undead—no poles for dancing and no slumber parties with the Devil.

I just have to make it through the next twenty-four hours without beheading a beloved one.

Merry freakin’ Christmas—and Happy New Year.

If you think your Xmas is going to hell  – then you need to read about an Xmas which is full of Hell itself – including Satan visiting and being a little cross and thus animating certain ornaments.

Robyn visualises all the things you thought could go wrong with your own relatives and events and puts them into her own hilarious satire of the Xmas from Hell.

And do remember that the cousin she is celebrating a birthday for is Jesus – yes, the real one….

And thus the scene is set for you to laugh until you cry. As always, read and laugh out loud.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com