animals/Books/book review/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Naughty cats – and older women?

Cheetahs Never Win: A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count) Book Cover Cheetahs Never Win: A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count)
A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count) #5
RJ Blain
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
RJ Blain
2 Jan 2019

Witnessing a double homicide dumps Aaron Clinton into the middle of a gruesome murder investigation. To stop the budding serial killer from striking again, Aaron’s forced to join forces with a reformed cop and a colony of cranky cats.

Warning: this novel contains cats, murder, more cats, mayhem, cheetahs, mischief, felines, a serial killer, romance, humor, puns, generalized hilarity, and whipped cream used in inappropriate fashions. Proceed with caution.

A fun story with lots of sniggers and a cherry on top!

I now know a lot more about Texas than I did before, not necessarily to its benefit of course, and oh Fire Ants! I suspect I have been a victim of these ants or their relatives in India when I once sat down in a woodland – certainly something nasty bit me several times on my behind! And it hurt…

This is ‘universe’ that I am not familiar with and it took a while to understand the creatures that inhabited it, and I must say that angels that are missing their heads sounds very creepy. Maybe the author was inspired by The Winged Victory of Samothrace  a famous statue where the head has been lost, or the fables that say that good deeds result in angels being born – but without heads, wings, faces etc. Whichever, I found their idea disconcerting.

That above, I liked the story and it was long enough to satisfy me, – a lot of these fantasy novels I find are rather short, but this was a good length which meant that several of the characters could be developed as well as the two main protagonists.

This was book 5 in the series and so I went back to book 1 –

Playing with Fire: A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count) 

by RJ Blain  (Author)

each book deals with different characters in this universe.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Baking with Magic

Fairytale Ambrosia Book Cover Fairytale Ambrosia
(The Knead to Know Series) #1
Liz Schulte
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(27 Jan. 2016)

Maggie Edwards can’t sleep, eat, or die—but, she can bake. However, just before the Halloween grand opening of her bakery, a pesky reporter witnesses an accident in her kitchen and gets a little too close to the truth. If she can’t convince him to keep quiet, not only will she lose her chance at happiness, but they both could lose their lives. Fairytale Ambrosia: When your professional life is going well, fate has a way of ruining everything else. At least, that’s what’s happening to Maggie Edwards. While her bakery is taking off without a hitch, her personal life is going up in flames. Her best friend needs Maggie more than ever, a demon is out for her blood, and Boone keeps having visions of a magical woman kidnapping people in their sleep. Maggie has to hurry up and figure out how to balance her human friends with her very supernatural life before someone pays the ultimate price.

Also reviewing Psyche Souffle #3 in the series.

So we learn from this series that half-vampires don’t eat blood but black
souls, preferably those of demons. They love to bake but can’t taste anything  and don’t need to eat anything in the food line. Hmm.    

I quite liked these stories but found them too short and that everything was resolved too easily. there was not enough suspense.

Very light.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour
0 Comments

On the Lam (B)

Baby Daddy Mystery Book Cover Baby Daddy Mystery
Shady Hoosier Mystery #2
Daisy Pettles
mystery, murder, humour, detective
Hot Pants Press, LLC (30 Nov. 2018)
December 15, 2018

It's spring in Pawpaw County, Indiana. Everyone has a bad case of hanky-panky pants. Senior sleuths Ruby Jane (RJ) Waskom and Veenie Goens are on the run, chasing down cheating heart jezebels and shaking child support out of deadbeat baby daddies. Love takes a peculiar turn when a prominent local dentist turns up dead, dressed like a scarecrow, on the porch of his father's mistress’s home in Hound Holler. When a gigged body floats up at the White River Boat and Gun Club, Sassy Smith, senior cougar, is arrested for the murder. RJ bemoans that no one in Pawpaw County can keep their pants on or their skirts down as her grown daughter, Joyce, begs for help chasing down her philandering husband. The romantic mysteries come to a surprise head as the senior sleuths outrun shotgun showers to close in on the answers at the Moon Glo Motor Lodge, the Original Home of Hillbilly Hanky Panky. Veenie and RJ have to buy an extra case of Bengay and a buttload of BBs just to keep up with the romantic misadventures in this humorous crime classic.

I found the language in this story really interesting – and very funny. Very idiomatic of these rural US areas.

The story was full of all sorts interesting phrases and sayings and one of my favourite was about Children and Genetics:

God is blind and baking a cake with whatever is left over in the larder – the ingredients are OK but proportions are off. This explained a lot about this town and its surroundings.

Too much nooky and who knew the father of any child was – they didn’t like to travel far for their entertainment and thus some very mixed genes – which often led to some seriously weird people and behaviours.

An enjoyable romp through rural Indiana. And loved having ‘grandmas’ as the best detectives around – usaully through gossip.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Travel the Hippie Trail

Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop Book Cover Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop
Rebecca Raisin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
April 23, 2019
384

A swanky job as a Michelin-Starred Sous Chef, a loving husband and future children scheduled for exactly January 2021. That’s until she comes home one day to find her husband’s pre-packed bag and a confession that he's had an affair. Heartbroken and devastated, Rosie drowns her sorrows in a glass (or three) of wine, only to discover the following morning that she has spontaneously invested in a bright pink campervan to facilitate her grand plans to travel the country. Now, Rosie is about to embark on the trip of a lifetime, and the chance to change her life! With Poppy, her new-found travelling tea shop in tow, nothing could go wrong, could it…? A laugh-out-loud novel of love, friendship and adventure! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.

This is a sweet romantic story of what happens when someone decides they need a complete change of lifestyle, because the last one sucked – fiances having affairs and so on.

So what do they do? but buy, on impulse an old Campervan/Mobile Teashop? which works because Rosie likes to bake cakes and make ‘comfort’ food. Rosie then takes this van on the Hippie trail, following the various festivals around the country. And trying to make sense of her new lifestyle with an electronic friend.

Cozy and warming, but little about the real unsustainability of living out of a van – even if you manage to find a really nice one, all year round. Apart from having to park up for the winter, they are seriously cold – I’ve stayed in them.. And trying to make ends meet – well…

But still a romantic idea as in following the Gypsies O!

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/Romance/cats
0 Comments

Such a cute kitten

No Kitten Around: Book Cover No Kitten Around:
A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count)
Rj Blain
Fiction contemporary, urban, humour, romance
Pen & Page Publishing
October 30, 2018
266

Warning: This novel contains excessive humor, action, excitement, adventure, magic, romance, and bodies. Proceed with caution. The last thing Reed Matthews needs in his life is a kitten, but when an orphaned tabby suckers him into becoming her caretaker, he's in for the ride of his life. Add in an angel determined to meddle in his affairs, a devil with an agenda, and a bucketful of bad omens, and he'll count himself fortunate if he survives the clash between heaven, hell, and his ex. In this anything goes romp, there's no kitten around: if Reed wants to survive and regain control of his life, his only hope lies in the hands of an elf and his ex, a woman he's sworn to never see again.

How do cats sucker us? Well, they have these cute eyes? and soft silky fur and they purr. And then we do anything for them… well

And then we need some swords, an elf – yes think very fast and deadly with a blade – angels without heads (how creepy is that?) and demons and…

You get the idea. Lots of different species and fighting and funny bits. RJ Blain likes cats – in fcat she writes a newsletter from her cats – the sneaky kitty critics regularly and they tell us readers just what is going on – with a side order of snark.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com