How many cops can you cope with?

The Hitwoman and the 7 Cops Book Cover The Hitwoman and the 7 Cops
(Confessions of a Slightly Neurotic Hitwoman)
B Lynn, Parisa Zolfaghari
contemporary fiction, romance, humour,assassins
Kindle

All reluctant hitwoman Maggie Lee really wants is to have a calm, normal life.

She doesn’t want to go around killing people for money.
She doesn’t want her sister to be terrified of her ex-pimp.
She doesn’t want her Dad to disappear from the Witness Protection program.

But Maggie rarely gets what she wants.

Instead, she finds herself trying to keep everyone out of trouble.

With the help of her ragtag team of supporters: her semi-psychic friend, a handsome, charming con man, her almost-lover cop/hitman mentor, her curious Southern Belle cat, her haughty lizard, and her sweet, but dumb Doberman, Maggie does her best to stay a step ahead of Law Enforcement, while helping those she loves.

​But will Maggie end up being the one who needs to be saved?

I have read some of the earlier books in this series and really enjoyed them.

But for me, this book suffered from too much unexplained back story, from which events impacted on current events. Too complicated…

I got rather lost as to what was happening, why, and who these people were.

It would have been better to add this story onto the previous book, it didn’t stand-alone.

Share This:

And a cop pursues a robber – of course, it’s his job!

HOT PURSUIT. Book Cover HOT PURSUIT.
(To Catch a Thief #1)
Kay Marie
Adult, Contemporary, Romance
August 27th 2018

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days  meets  White Collar  in this sassy and sweet romantic comedy, new from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis, writing as Kay Marie.

All Jolene Carter has ever wanted is a bakery of her own. There’s only one problem. Her father, Robert Carter, is a world-renowned art thief and she’s, well, sort of his protégé. But he’s promised her this next job in New York will be their last, and she won’t let anyone get in the way of her dreams…especially not the distractingly delicious FBI agent hot on her tail.   Agent Nate Parker has been on the Robert Carter case for years, and if rumors of the aging criminal’s retirement are true, this might be his last chance to nail him. With the legacy of his late father in the back of his mind, the stakes are more personal than anyone realizes. He won’t let anything stand in the way of justice…especially not the red-headed vixen who keeps giving him the slip.

He’s a cop who’d never bend. She’s a con who’ll never break. But all’s fair in love and larceny

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

Meet Kay Marie (Kaitlyn Davis)! Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publishers Weekly has said, “Davis writes with confidence and poise,” while USA Today has recommended her work as “must-read romance.” Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she’s not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her–about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general–you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com
Sign up for Kaitlyn’s newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases, to receive exclusive subscriber bonus content, and more! bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletter
A Complete List of Books by Kay Marie:
Confessions, an Amazon Top 200 Bestseller being hailed as “”The new Bridget Jones!”
Confessions of a Virgin Sex Columnist!
Confessions of an Undercover Girlfriend!
To Catch A Thief, a brand new rom com coming in 2018!
Stolen Goods – Coming Soon Off the Grid –
Coming Soon For her young adult fantasy books written as Kaitlyn Davis, visit Kaitlyn’s Amazon author page: amazon.com/author/kaitlyndavis

Share This:

Who is to be believed? That’s what the trial is for….

No Further Questions Book Cover No Further Questions
Gillian McAllister
psychological, mystery, thriller, literary fiction
Michael Joseph
October 4, 2018
400

The police say she's guilty.

She insists she's innocent.

She's your sister.

You loved her.

You trusted her.

But they say she killed your child.

 

Who do you believe?

This is a heart-rending tale of a small baby dying and the subsequent trial when the post-mortem shows that she could have been murdered.

Two sisters are divided here as one was baby-sitting for the other, and it was in her care that the baby died, and thus she is on trial.

Would you believe that your sister deliberately killed your baby?

This book tells the struggle of the mother as she sits through the trial and the evidence mounts against her sister.

The trial felt very real to me.

The questioning of the witnesses and the way small things were built up into an overwhelming case of guilty.

A book where you need to keep on reading to find out what the verdict was and does she admit what really happened? Or do we never find out?

I thought it well written, with the complex science of the pathology explained simply enough for the reader to understand and the conclusions that thus could be drawn.

Share This:

Trial for a twin

Guilt Book Cover Guilt
Amanda Robson
Fiction, suspense, psychological
Avon Books
April 19, 2018
416

'Thrilling, unputdownable, a fabulous rollercoaster of a read' B A PARIS, bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS The number 1 bestseller is back! Your sister. Her secret. The betrayal. There is no bond greater than blood . . . When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who killed who? And which one is now the woman behind bars? Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome, charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the sisters' lives apart - but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface that the sisters must face up to? As the sisters' relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb's past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is, who? Claustrophobic and compelling, Amanda Robson is back in a knock-out thriller perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

I found this book tricky to make sense of initially as it is written by several characters, each having their own chapter, and thus following the story-line was hard. But I persevered, and was very glad indeed!

Gradually, the characters involved in the story become clearer, and you begin to suspect that all is not well with Sebastien. What is he hiding? And who is/was Jude? And just what happened to him/her?

From the beginning, Sebastien comes over as someone just too full of his own importance, and you learn through his chapters, something of what is going on in his mind, and it is darker than you originally thought it could be.

For my mind, however, there is one major fault with the story. I knew the solution and I also thought the ending – final chapter – rather sickly. I wonder if there was a choice of endings and someone said: “This will appeal to a female audience”.  For me, it didn’t ring of truth.

So not a 5 star book, but a jolly good 4.

Share This:

Forgotten life in Vegas? You would not be unusual…

Wann Get Lucky? Book Cover Wann Get Lucky?
Lucky O'Toole Vegas Adventure
Deborah Coonts
romance, contemporary, women's fiction, suspense, humour, women sleuths
Deborah Coonts
(13 Feb. 2017)

A young woman plunges from a Las Vegas sightseeing helicopter, landing in the Pirate Lagoon in front of the Treasure Island Hotel in the middle of the 8:30 Pirate Show. Almost everyone writes her off as another Vegas victim. But, Lucky O'Toole, head of customer relations at the Babylon mega casino, smells a rat, though she's got a lot on her plate: the adult film industry's annual awards banquet, a spouse-swapping convention, sex-toy purveyors preying on the pocket-protector crowd attending ElectroniCon... Still Lucky can't resist turning over a few stones.

When a former flame is one of the snakes she uncovers, Lucky is certain the woman's death was no Sin City suicide. To top it all off, Lucky's best friend, Teddie--Las Vegas's finest female impersonator--presses to take their relationship to the next level. Leave it to Lucky to attract a man who looks better in a dress than she does.

Lucky must manage the Babylon's outrageous festivities, solve the crime, and struggle to keep her life and libido from spinning out of control.

This series explains why, despite a strong sense that I really should be a voyeur there for 24 hours, just to gape, mouth open, I don’t ever intend to go to Las Vegas.

The town offends me on so many ways and levels.

The ostentation. The flash and glitter. The incredible waste of water (it’s a desrt – don’t taje water from farmers, and yes, the town wouldn’t exist if they didn’t – but is tat such a bad thing? the catering to addictive tastes – gambling and drinking being only two. And then there is the ridiculous architecture as is exemplified in the hotel that is core to these stories – The Babylon. Although seeing a Mama Duck and her Ducklings wandering through a hotel foyer would be fun. Not to mention the selfishness of the people who go there, as deomstrated in this particular story in the series, where a guest at the hotel, being denied passage in the main body of the airplane for her 3 cats, shuts them in her trunk and puts them in cargo. And then demands that the hotel deals with a. the urine smell on her clothes; b. the urine smell in her trunk; and c. find the cats who had run away! Well, wouldn’t you run from such an owner?

And then there are the Conventions that are held there. Probably because nowhere else would have them, such as the Swingers, and the Adult Film Industry (aka porn) Awards.

All that beside, you read the book mouth agape at this strange world, but also smiling and sometimes giggling at the antics got up to. And how our heroine copes. Note to self, elbows break noses and don’t get bruised knuckles..

I like this series, so far. It is well written. Fun to read. Not heavy and really good for the beach or garden.

And PS., the cellulite for bums and thighs treatment is also used in burns scars treatment, at a lower intensity – as i know from personal experience. It helps loosen up the skin..

 

Share This: