Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Faceless and buried altars

Lies Sleeping: Book Cover Lies Sleeping:
Rivers of London #7
Ben Aaronovitch
urban fantasy, police procedural, contemporary
Gollancz
November 15, 2018
320

Martin Chorley, aka the Faceless Man, wanted for multiple counts of murder, fraud and crimes against humanity, has been unmasked and is on the run. Peter Grant, Detective Constable and apprentice wizard, now plays a key role in an unprecedented joint operation to bring Chorley to justice. But even as the unwieldy might of the Metropolitan Police bears down on its foe, Peter uncovers clues that Chorley, far from being finished, is executing the final stages of a long term plan. A plan that has its roots in London's two thousand bloody years of history, and could literally bring the city to its knees. To save his beloved city Peter's going to need help from his former best friend and colleague - Lesley May - who brutally betrayed him and everything he thought she believed in. And, far worse, he might even have to come to terms with the malevolent supernatural killer and agent of chaos known as Mr Punch . . .

We are back in London for this story and in form. The story takes us back to Lesley and the Faceless Man, what they are planning, and explains why.

Our favourite characters are maturing, as are their magical abilities and the talking foxes make a re-appearance with Abigail, who is proving to be more of a natural magician than anyone could have predicted. And I love the explanation of why the foxes talk – and especially  talk to Abigail.

I always very much like the way the history of London, especially the City, is incorporated into these stories. London was built on many ‘magical’ sites of worship from its early founding, and these places become integral to this modern explanation of London and its byeways, special sites, and hidden mysteries.

Indeed, many pagans and historians believe that London may well have had stone circles and standing stones that are now buried beneath the landscape and buildings, as well as religious sites for many religions, and St Paul’s Cathedral did indeed get built over an earlier pagan temple. So truth provides the foundation for great fantasy.

 

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

The mystery of the Battenberg cake

The Mystery of Three Quarters Book Cover The Mystery of Three Quarters
Hercule Poirot (New)
Sophie Hannah, Agatha Christie,
Poirot, detective, suspense, mystery
HarperCollins
August 20, 2018
400

The world's most beloved detective, Hercule Poirot - the legendary star of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and most recently The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket--returns in a stylish, diabolically clever mystery set in 1930's London. Returning home after lunch one day, Hercule Poirot finds an angry woman waiting outside his front door. She demands to know why Poirot has sent her a letter accusing her of the murder of Barnabas Pandy, a man she has neither heard of nor ever met. Poirot has also never heard of a Barnabas Pandy, and has accused nobody of murder. Shaken, he goes inside, only to find that he has a visitor waiting for him -- a man who also claims also to have received a letter from Poirot that morning, accusing him of the murder of Barnabas Pandy... Poirot wonders how many more letters of this sort have been sent in his name. Who sent them, and why? More importantly, who is Barnabas Pandy, is he dead, and, if so, was he murdered? And can Poirot find out the answers without putting more lives in danger?

The opening chapters of this book are so vivid that in my ind’s eye I see it happening.

I see David Suchet bustling and hear him deliver the words. I see his very special walk – such a distinctive gait – and take off his hat and coat.

It is perhaps because i have seen Suchet’s TV performance portrayal so often that he comes to mind, but still my imagination visualises him throughout the story as the character of Hercule Poirot. The mannerisms he used are mentioned in the story and sonthe echoes remain.

I cannot say the same of the chapters ‘written’ by the detective. He slips back into the background even though he is half the book.

I found the story very entertaining – better in my mind than the original stories even though they are intended to ‘copy’ her style. More amusing and more accessible. I still didn’t get the answer though – as just in the original Christie books there are masses of red herrings to mislead you!

Oh and the Windowpane cake is really a Battenberg so a very well known recipe, so little chance of it being stolen.

I suspect that without David Suchet the story would not have been so appealing but as he is one of my favourite actors…

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Waiting for your sister

The Second Sister Book Cover The Second Sister
Claire Kendal
Adult, Psychological Thriller, Romance
Harper
April 20, 2017
400

The chilling new psychological thriller by Claire Kendal, author of the bestselling novel, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER. It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him? At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims. Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Twins in thought but not deed, and not age either but in looks, one sister vanishes and the other searches for her.

As she searches she uncovers some rather sinister people and has some rather chilling encounters.

I started this book and read it with interest but not compulsion until the prison scenes. These were detailed with such a chilling description of the prisoner that I really needed to know what he knew and what he had done.

If that air of suspense had been drawn throughout the book I would have ranked it higher but some of the writing was a little pedestrian and over detailed. Personally, I would have edited out half of the front art of the book and extended the last part. But other readers may disagree.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

Plenty of cats here…

A Devilish Disappearance: Book Cover A Devilish Disappearance:
Cats, Ghosts, and Avocado Toast #3
NM Howell
A hilariously witchy reverse harem mystery
Dungeon Media Corp.
(13 July 2018)
Kindle

An upcoming wedding, a disappearing body, and three totally smitten cats.

Price Jones, with the help of her three furry housemates and spirited landlady, has finally launched her thrift shop and juicebar. But when a dead body appears then disappears from their favorite neighborhood coffee spot, mayhem sweeps through Salem once again.

With the wedding of her douchebag ex-fiancee looming ahead, Price Jones has enough on her mind besides solving yet another suspicious disappearance.

But with the guys at her side, her new and improved self is ready to take on just about anything... even if she has to put on a dress to do it.

3  books and a  novella in this collection by Howell but only the novella has the ‘action’ as regards what you might call an adult theme of a reverse harem as suggested.

That said, I found the books gently amusing, cosy but does contain swearing, hints and innuendoes.

That said, her 3 ‘cats’ who are shifters or witch familiars if you prefer, are called, Finn, Tom and Pussy. Yes – he really is….

 

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Who are the victims here?

Victim of Magic Book Cover Victim of Magic
Magic and Mischief #3 (3 Book Series)
NR Hairston
Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Fire Ink Media, LLC
(25 Sept. 2018)
Kindle

Five stories of supernatural carnage.
Including five kick-ass women.
With five unique powers.
On five different worlds. 

Rye Unchained: 
Agent Rye has always been able to depend on her skunk DNA in a fight, but when a vicious man with fly DNA kidnaps someone close to her, it sends her into a tailspin with consequence so severe she may never be able to claw her way free.

Delia Uncaged: 
Elementer Delia is in the fight of her life when something ancient and feral stalks her with one goal in mind, killing her for horrific, hideous crimes it claims she will one day commit.

Leah Untamed: 
Telekinetic Leah exists in the rough world of gambling, so she’s used to a challenge. But when a ruthless man with superspeed comes after her for a debt, it leads to a showdown so bloody and brutal few will be left standing when it’s over.

Kerry Unrestrained: 
To stop the reign of terror of a man named Zeke, Coalition Agent Kerry will have to push her powers to their peak.
Her team is brawling, casualties are falling, to liberate this rhyming world, they’ll have to put their all in.
Then a distraction, the unthinkable happens, Kerry can’t control her reaction, there’s no coming back from this infraction.

Kia Unleashed: 
Succubus Kia’s wrath is uncontrollable, as she hunts down those responsible for hurting her lover and makes them pay.

Take the title literally, there will be carnage here, and lots of it. Just a warning!
This book contains side characters who identify as LGBTQ.
This book has a few strong words.

I have read a number of these box sets and usually they have a few good stories in them but not all.

And this is the case here.

I liked books 1 and 3 and would give them 3 stars.

Books 2 and 4 (alternate – hmm) got boring and so they got a 2 star.

Book 5 I didn’t finish. 1 star.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com