Books
0 Comments

Murder by deviousness

The Body in the Snow Book Cover The Body in the Snow
DCI Craig Gillard Crime Thrillers Book 4
Nick Louth
Fiction, crime, suspense,
Canelo
January 31, 2020

Money, success, family? All deadly... The new unputdownable DCI Gillard thriller. A young detective is out for a jog on a snowy winter morning. Then she sees something terrible: a murder in the park, sudden and inexplicable. A woman has been killed by a passing hooded cyclist. It’s just DCI Craig Gillard’s luck that he’s on duty. The body is that of Tanvi Roy, one of the richest women in Britain and matriarch of a food empire. With a tangled web of family and business contacts and jealousies, Gillard’s job just got even more complex. As he delves deeper into the Roy family, it’s clear that everything is not as it seems. As the investigation threatens to unravel, Gillard realises it's only the beginning of his problems. Trouble of a different sort is brewing close to home... Perfect for readers of D.K. Hood, Patricia Gibney and Mark Billingham, The Body in the Snow is a remarkable and gripping crime thriller.

This is good solid British crime writing from a reliable author who thinks up devious plots and believable characters.

Always a good read.

This book also brought up 2 very interesting snippets – the first in location 2619, which is 54% of the way through, is a conversation between a mother and her very precocious 11 year old daughter. The second is better and most women will love this one. Location 2911. A discussion on ‘wrinkled bits’ left over from universe building and what happened to them!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Curses and sweet things

The Jilted Jinn Book Cover The Jilted Jinn
(The Deadicated Matchmaker) #2
SE Babin
paranormal romance' dating
Independently published
(26 Feb. 2019)

Katie Harper is in a self-imposed dating drought. After getting dumped at the altar a record three times after she refused to continue granting wishes, she’s done with the men in Midnight Cove. Done, that is, until her best friend secretly makes a dating tape for her and sends it to the dating agency. Immediately after, men start knocking on her door. Despite her friend giving out her home address and the mass of weirdos begging for her hand in marriage, Katie can’t help but be secretly flattered.But the man currently restoring her historical home has other plans for her once he realizes what’s happening. And he isn’t going to let her go without a fight.

Once upon a time there was a Jinn who had been jilted just too many times, but her friend ran a dating agency for the paranormals in this paranormal town. So she was set up on a date and then there was a demon lord and the devil’s due.

The storyline connects up into a fighting and relic hunting group with some amazing foes – and a strong hint that human behaviour is how these foes are created.

Fun light reading in a fun series.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Woo Woo crimes

Do You Hear What I Hear?: Book Cover Do You Hear What I Hear?:
A Detective Shelley Caldwell "Hot Christmas" (A Detective Shelley Caldwell story Book 5)
Patricia Rosemoor
Dangerous Love Publishing
(13 Nov. 2017)
Novella

The song “Do You Hear What I Hear?” was written as a plea for peace during the Cuban Missile Crisis in the middle of the Cold War with Russia. Now Christmas is around the corner and live-in lovers Detective Shelley Caldwell and Jake DeAtley are in a cold war of their own. Shelley has all wonderful memories of Christmas, while Jake, born of a mother turned vampire while pregnant with him, has none. They’ve come to a compromise that she can decorate “her half” of every room, but there can be no Christmas tree. Then a case of hit-and-run leaves a dead body and a magical Christmas tree. With her woo-woo instincts ablaze, Shelley can’t resist bringing home the tree, heating up the war with Jake. There is more to the tree than either knows. Will it bring them back together or push them farther apart. Shelley and Jake met in the novel “Hot Case,” deepened their relationship in “Hot Trick,” and appeared in short stories “Hot Corpse” and “Hot Song.” Each case has a different paranormal/urban fantasy bent and villain. And a little much needed humor.

This author specialises in romance so her foray into crime fiction is an aberration, but a good one, and she should continue this series in my opinion.

I started this series with the last book rather than the first as part of my Xmas reading but rdalised I wanted to find out the history between Shelley and Silke her twin and how Shelley met Jake so needed to go back to book 1 and others.

But then found out that I had a problem – Patricia Rosemoor has written over 90 books (and counting) and the detective series is not one of her most recognised and thus it was tricky to track down the book I was looking for. I did find it eventually luckily.

What we find out from the first book is that Shelley is a Sensitive and thus can sense ‘woo woo’ as she puts it in the course of her work. She finds that many of her crime scenes have non-human creatures involved and also that Jake is not quite human either! Silke involves herself in the magic world and gets herself into a lot of trouble as a result and takes her ‘woo woo’ aspects and attributes much more seriously than Shelley. But over time and crime scenes Shelley gets less sceptical and more understanding.

The series contains the following novels:

Hot Case; Hot Trick; Hot Tales; and Hot Corpse.

But Rosemoor now uses the ‘Hot’ pre-noun for another series, which could be confusing…

I shall read some of Rosemoor’s other books at some time, but I read the entire crime series and enjoyed it.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What breed?

Betania Breed Book Cover Betania Breed
Collection: Books 1-4:
Jenny Foster
SciFi, Alien, Romance
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(13 Aug. 2018)

The original story "The Captive" led to a novel, and three additional volumes followed. With this collection you are finally holding all four Betania Breed single SciFi romance novels, complete and unabridged, in your hands – and mysterious background material is included. In over 800 pages, you will be up close and personal on an adventurous and dramatic voyage through the universe.

Oh Dear!

I read up to Part 3: The Awakening in hope, but really, this whole muscles and pheromones and falling in ‘love ‘ aka lust at first sight? Just too predictable.

I thought the writing style rather prosaic and not in any way different from 100s of other such alien abduction style books.

The heroine could have been acceptable but she was rather 2 dimensional and finding out after several ‘chapters’ that we were somewhere in Ad 3900 was just too late.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What type of Detective?

The Metaphysical Detective: A Riga Hayworth Mystery Book Cover The Metaphysical Detective: A Riga Hayworth Mystery
A Riga Hayworth Paranormal Mystery
Kirsten Weiss
Mystery, Female Sleuths, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Misterio Press;
4 edition (24 Oct. 2011)

Tarot, Wine... and a Dog Named Dog.

When Riga Hayworth finds her new client dead, she smells a setup of metaphysical proportions. Now, to find a killer, Riga must travel from San Francisco to the underworld of Greek mythology... and make it back alive.

Riga's client, Helen Baro, believes her husband is trying to kill her. One problem: her husband died in a car crash last year. Is Helen mad? Is someone else hunting the woman? Or is this really a case of attempted murder from beyond the grave?

But then Helen is found dead, leaving a strange haiku and tarot for a clue, and Riga is hurled into an investigation that threatens the detective and those she loves.

The Metaphysical Detective is the prequel to the Riga Hayworth series. If you like no-nonsense heroines and a bit of supernatural with your mystery, you’ll love The Metaphysical Detective. Buy this quirky urban fantasy and explore the magical world of Riga Hayworth today!

Here I am reviewing the series of 6 books plus bonus stories written from Brigitte’s view.

I really liked these stories as they were fun to read, light despite some nasty occurrences with dark magic, and as for the twins! – say no more –

A series that takes you from the time when .. meets … and sets up her Metaphysical Detective agency in Tahoe and settles down by the lake. Having visited Tahoe I totally get what is meant by the road that gets boring as it keeps on going round the Lake.. Loved the idea of Nessie in the Lake. And Kirsten should know that the latest thinking on Nessie is that she is a either a giant eel, or a whole load of eels that swim together in such tight formation that they seem to be one. And yes, they would look like a monster when doing this…

Just fyi, I found the origin of the phrase ‘sleep tight’  when I visited an old home last year. It comes from when the frame of a bed was wooden with rope tied to form the base. The knots on the rope used to slip so make the  bed more comfy and less saggy you had to tighten up the rope.

I also looked into the Menehunes. [sorry, I have always been a researcher and can’t just stop when I get interested in a topic]. They are (semi) mythical. When the Polynesians arrived in Hawaii they found that there were s number of artefacts and structures already in existence – dams , fish ponds, roads and temples. So someone had lived on the islands before they came, but no skeletons have ever been found. The Polynesians thought they were dwarves for some reason.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com