Books
0 Comments

Yup, it’s true what they say about spies…

Spy Girl Book Cover Spy Girl
Spy Girl
Jillian Dodd
young adult mysteries
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(17 Mar. 2018)

Can one girl save the world? From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the first two books in a sizzling new series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society. 
An eighteen-year-old covert agent is pulled out of training before graduation by Black X, a espionage group so secret even the President of the United States doesn't know it exists. For her first mission, she must go undercover as the long-lost daughter of a recently deceased billionaire, infiltrate high society, and protect the Prince of Montrovia from assassination. But Prince Lorenzo is known as the Playboy Prince for a reason and his sensuality and charisma add a whole other level of complication to her mission. She knows that her every move is being watched, but what she doesn’t know is that the Prince is just a chess piece in a bigger game that will have world-wide ramifications. And that Blackwood Academy, the place she has called home for the past six years has secrets of its own.

Spy girl

Books 1-3

Something different in stories.

An ultra black ops organisation and school exists (the school takes you from 12 upwards) and trains you in the dark arts of lethality, plus hacking, plus… a lot more that you really shouldn’t know about. Especially at 12 years old.

In book 1 we meet a playboy prince and our spy girl is asked to seduce as one of her dark arts well practiced at school. And so the stories continue.

I liked book 1 and so read 2 and then 3, but then I got rather bored as the stories were beginning to get boring as we had had some denouements etc.

Overall 3 stars.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction
0 Comments

One oath too far






Tom Clancy's Oath of Office Book Cover




Tom Clancy's Oath of Office




Jack Ryan





Marc Cameron





political, legal, spy, action and adventure




Michael Joseph




November 29, 2018




528



The latest thriller in Tom Clancy's internationally bestselling Jack Ryan series - inspiration for the forthcoming Amazon Prime television series. On a crowded tourist beach in Portugal, US operatives use a high-tech drone to watch a French arms dealer flirt with a beautiful woman. It's only when she leaves that they realise she has shot him dead. In Iran, protests are growing against the oppressive regime, whipped up by a charismatic student. Most external observers are excited, but on the ground a spy of questionable loyalty senses something is badly amiss. And meanwhile, with the United States reeling from a string of natural disasters, Russian troops and ships are massing on the borders of the Ukraine, bringing the two powers ever closer to war. Across the globe a conspiracy is brewing, so darkly brilliant that no-one has yet joined the dots. And the distracted President Ryan has little time to play catch-up: little does he know that he faces a madman with a plan more devastating than he could possibly imagine...

I failed to complete this book after a couple of tries – mainly because I thought the number of storylines going through it were too complicated to follow. I lost track of the names I needed to remember – and many were very difficult – and trying to remember which branch of the Russian State we were talking about – or the Iranian or or… just proved too difficult.
I am sure all the different storylines joined up somewhere but after i was more than a third of the way through the book, I still hadn’t reached that stage.
A pity as I have liked some of the previous stories about Ryan, but maybe, this is one book too many in the franchise?

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

The Colour of Silence






White Silence Book Cover




White Silence




Elizabeh Cage





Jodi Taylor





Clairvoyance, fantasy, supernatural, thriller, action and adventure, occult




Accent Press




January 18, 2018




400



*The first instalment in the new, gripping supernatural thriller series from international bestselling author, Jodi Taylor* I don't know who I am. I don't know what I am. Elizabeth Cage is a child when she discovers that there are things in this world that only she can see. But she doesn't want to see them and she definitely doesn't want them to see her. What is a curse to Elizabeth is a gift to others - a very valuable gift they want to control. When her husband dies, Elizabeth's world descends into a nightmare. But as she tries to piece her life back together, she discovers that not everything is as it seems. Alone in a strange and frightening world, she's a vulnerable target to forces beyond her control. And she knows that she can't trust anyone... White Silence is a twisty supernatural thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat.

This is her new series about a woman called Elizabeth Cage who doesn’t want to know about the supernatural and clairvoyance even though she is forced to by her innate skills.

I thought that this story was really really good even if it was not in the usual amusing authorial style we know from the St Mary’s series. I heard the author’s voice and it was even better expressed I thought.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

What happens when a Hitman gets Married?






Hitman's Wedding Book Cover




Hitman's Wedding




Bad Boy Inc #4





Eve Langlais





action and adventure, thriller, suspense, romance




Eve Langlais




(24 Aug. 2018)

The employees of Bad Boy Inc. are gathering for a celebration. The bride sported the latest in bullet proof corsets. The groom wore a gun. The guests came armed for action. But the cake blew up before they could eat it. As for the honeymoon, it’s going to be a mad chase across the globe dodging bullets and bombs to find the culprit who wants them all dead. Once upon a time, Darren fell for a woman while in the world’s most romantic city. In full view of the Eiffel tower he had his heart torn from his chest and stomped on. Time for revenge. Francesca played Darren for a fool, but he won’t let it happen again. Now that he’s found her, she’s going to pay for her actions. Problem is she’s getting under his skin. Rubbing against his skin. Making him remember those Paris days and hotter nights. Before he can decide if he’s crazy enough to fall in love with her again, everything explodes after the wedding.

Now this is a complex storyline.

There are plots within plots.

Who is leaking information? What do they want? What is the endgame? Why is BBI targeted?

And then along comes Fran – the model – and deceit.

An enjoyable action packed thriller – think James Bond with James being Jemima. Yes, a female assassin saves the day – again – and again.

This is an interesting series with absolutely no fantasy or super-naturals involved. Just heroes and heroines with somewhat dodgy attributes and jobs!

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

Just what is due?






Devil's Due Book Cover




Devil's Due




Luther Cross #1





Percival Constantine





fantasy, paranormal, humour, crime




CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform




31 May 2017



Luther Cross here. Dangerously handsome, effortlessly stylish half-demon, at your service. As I have inherited certain...abilities with my odd genetics, I’ve put them to use as Chicago’s foremost paranormal investigator.

My current case? Well, I have to admit, it feels a little personal. I’m helping a mysterious girl who’s turned up on my doorstep, pregnant through mystic means. I can’t help but think of my own mother…and if I don’t help her, she’ll face the same fate.

Turns out, someone is trying to create an army of half-demons. While it might be a pleasant change to hang out with my own kind, I know most half-demons don’t have my sense of morality. If I don’t stop this evil plan, the armistice between Heaven and Hell will be broken and all of the Earth will pay… It will be the beginning of the end.

Well, a PI with a difference… especially as he is half-demon and his lover is a vampire… who knew? And yes, Holy Water, blessed by a priest does harm demons and nasties..

My first introduction to this series and I started with the first book and found it a fun read with some nice snark and a different type of PI considering I have just read Mary Wiles #1 where we have an angel doing a similar job.

I like the style and pace of this this writer and found him clear and good at ensuring we knew enough back story without over-whelming us so we understood what was going on. Loved the idea of there being roof-top bars that we humans don’t get entry to. Unless…

And nice for it to set in Chicago for a change. I’ve always heard rumours that Chicago is a dangerous place to visit. And with all these paranormals living there, I now know why!

 

 

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com