Books
0 Comments

Daring…

I Dare You b Book Cover I Dare You b
Sam Carrington
Fiction
HarperCollins UK, Avon
29 Nov 2019
416

AN INNOCENT GAME. A SHOCKING CRIME. A COMMUNITY FULL OF SECRETS.   Mapledon, 1989 Two little girls were out playing a game of dares. Only one returned home. The ten-year-old told police what she saw: village loner Bill ‘Creepy’ Cawley dragged her friend into his truck and disappeared. No body was found, but her testimony sent Cawley to prison for murder. An open and shut case, the right man behind bars. The village could sleep safe once again. Now… Anna thought she had left Mapledon and her nightmares behind but a distraught phone call brings her back to face her past. 30 years ago, someone lied. 30 years ago, the man convicted wasn’t the only guilty party. Now he’s out of prison and looking for revenge. The question is, who will he start with?

This was not a story that I got on with. I found it too slow moving even though I attempted it twice. Sorry!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

How to kill successfully

Perfect Kill Book Cover Perfect Kill
DCI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
Fiction
HarperCollins UK, Avon
February 6, 2020
416

He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.

Drugged and kidnapped, the realisation soon dawns that he’s been locked inside a shipping container far from his Edinburgh home. But what Bart doesn’t yet know is that he’s now heading for France where his unspeakable fate is already sealed…

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, they face an impossible task – but there’s no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead…

Get ready for a rollercoaster ride like no other, with the next gripping thriller from the number one bestselling crime author, Helen Fields. The perfect read for fans of M. J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

Ah yes, the Frenchman and the Scotswoman and their on again off again romance.

Luc is back in France helping Interpol  with some PT distress about his sex life. His case involves a Scottish lad who turns up dead after all his organs have been removed! And Ava gets a shot victim after a trafficked Romanian girl attempts to escape from her captors. And this case winds up and up and up.. Two disparate cases you think but a twist of course.

Now a word to the author please. Helen, you either have a very sick imagination of you have been researching some very sick criminals. I hope it is the latter!

The twists and turns of these cases and crimes make for nail biting reading. Well plotted, well planned and well written.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Black and White – birds?

Magpie Book Cover Magpie
Sophie Draper
General Fiction (Adult) , Women's Fiction
Avon
Pub Date 28 Nov 2019

She’s married to him. But does she know him at all? Claire lives with her family in a beautiful house overlooking the water. But she feels as if she’s married to a stranger – one who is leading a double life. As soon as she can get their son Joe away from him, she’s determined to leave Duncan. But finding out the truth about Duncan’s secret life leads to consequences Claire never planned for. Now Joe is missing, and she’s struggling to piece together the events of the night that tore them all apart. Alone in an isolated cottage, hiding from Duncan, Claire tries to unravel the lies they’ve told each other, and themselves. Something happened to her family … But can she face the truth? You’ll get lost in this dark domestic mystery – with a twist you won’t see coming…

A story about infidelity and its impact on his wife and son – a story that shows Duncan in a very bad light as he lived for himself without caring what happened to others as a result. And then they had all hidden heir actions…

Why were they married after all? They were young and it had seemed right but… Claire was the one who had struggled from his decisions, but was it all his fault? Could CLaire have done things differently rather than blaming him for everything?

And Joe. He was the ultimate sufferer. He and his stray dog and his inability to communicate with people.

A dark story with multiple story lines and despair oozing out of it. I couldn’t say I enjoyed it, it was too sad, but well written and had the impact on me, the reader, the author no doubt wanted.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Meeting at St Pancras

The Day We Meet Again Book Cover The Day We Meet Again
Miranda Dickinson
Fiction, Romance,
HarperCollins UK, Avon
September 5, 2019
384

Their love story started with goodbye…

The brand-new novel from The Sunday Times bestselling author, Miranda Dickinson.

‘We’ll meet again at St Pancras station, a year from today. If we’re meant to be together, we’ll both be there. If we’re not, it was never meant to be . . .’

Phoebe and Sam meet by chance at St Pancras station. Heading in opposite directions, both seeking their own adventures, meeting the love of their lives wasn’t part of the plan. So they make a promise: to meet again in the same place in twelve months' time if they still want to be together.

But is life ever as simple as that?

This is a story of what-ifs and maybes – and how one decision can change your life forever…

The old film about the strangers that meet at the train station and fall in love is re-imagined here as a modern love story.

Two people travelling in opposite directions but who meet and fall in love (lust?) at St Pancras  station whilst waiting for their delayed trains. They talk and agree to some rules about how they will communicate during the following year. But they break these rules as their communications become more intense. And of course, they have agreed to meet again at the end of the year, in the same place, to continue their journeys together this time.

But life is never as straight forward as that, which is why I liked this story. Most traditional stories would have had them meet and all would be well. But as we know, real life is not as romantic as this.

The writing style was pleasant and the story was well crafted. It was enjoyable if not high literature.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Beware Family History

A Perfect Cornish Christmas Book Cover A Perfect Cornish Christmas
Porthmellow
by Phillipa Ashley
Romance , Women's Fiction
Avon Books
31st October 2019

But after last Christmas revealed a shocking family secret, Scarlett’s hardly feeling merry and bright. All she wants this Christmas is to know who her real father is.

So Scarlett heads to the little Cornish town of Porthmellow, where she believes the truth of her birth is hidden. She just didn’t bargain on being drawn into the Christmas festival preparations – or meeting Jude Penberth, whose charm threatens to complicate life further.

Everything will come to a head at Porthmellow’s Christmas Festival … But can Scarlett have the perfect Christmas this year, or are there more surprises on the way?

Thank goodness, a Cornish novel where it rains, it storms, gales do blow and overall the weather isn’t brilliant every day!

An interesting and complex small town set of characters inhabit this novel, with plenty of gossip and rows and misunderstandings. The only missing character was Aunt Joan - she deserves her own novel!

So we have people behaving badly, parties in the 190s fuelled by alcohol and wacky baccky, and the resultant secrets that finally come out. Plus PTSD, bad fiancés, fiancées,  university crushes and lots more. Real people, suffering real emotional traumas.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com