Books
0 Comments

I want a kitten!

The Wallflower Wager Book Cover The Wallflower Wager
Girl Meets Duke
by Tessa Dare
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 13 Aug 2019

The addictive new Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

They call him the Duke of Ruin.
To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she’s set her heart and mind on saving him…

Not if he ruins her first.

What if you really really don’t want to be married and are waiting out your Seasons until your parents are too bored to keep paying for them? But you would really like to keep every sad or hurt animal that you find. Especially kittens – lots of them. And will even go so far as to rescue a man!

But then your parents decide to do something about you? Send you away… because you are not really trying to get a husband are you? Or will you try?

I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.

I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Chilly waters to swim in

A Summer to Remember Book Cover A Summer to Remember
Sue Moorcroft
General Fiction (Adult) , Women's Fiction
Avon
Pub Date 02 May 2019

Katie Fforde COME AND SPEND SUMMER BY THE SEA!

WANTED! A caretaker for Roundhouse Row holiday cottages.

WHERE? Nelson’s Bar is the perfect little village. Nestled away on the Norfolk coast we can offer you no signal, no Wi-Fi and – most importantly – no problems!

WHO? The ideal candidate will be looking for an escape from their cheating scumbag ex-fiancé, a diversion from their entitled cousin, and a break from their traitorous friends.

WHAT YOU’LL GET! Accommodation in a chocolate-box cottage, plus a summer filled with blue skies and beachside walks. Oh, and a reunion with the man of your dreams.

PLEASE NOTE: We take no responsibility for any of the above scumbags, passengers and/or traitors walking back into your life…

Swimming in Norfolk waters – distinctly chilly as I recall. The Norfolk coast is notorious for its winds and chill and marshes and birds and seals too.

So what would you do when your fiancée makes his attraction for another woman quite so obvious? I guess I would do the same as the lead character here, and run off somewhere very remote. Personally, I’ve always thought the wilds of Scotland would be a good place, but a hamlet on the Norfolk coast with no internet or mobile signal I guess does as well.

This hamlet does not like ‘in-comers’ at all. Is very conservative in behaviour and lifestyle.  And is very good at holding grudges it seems. So it is a bit of shock when it gets disturbed by cousins and ex-fiancées and gays. Not what it is expected.

Overall, a pleasant story if not one that will strain your memory or your emotions. And please get the proof-reading done completely.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Let’s all go on an adventure?

The Age of Misadventure Book Cover The Age of Misadventure
Judy Leigh
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Avon Books UK
February 18, 2019
368

The gloriously funny new novel about living life to the full, whatever your age, from the author of A Grand Old Time. 55-year-old Georgie Turner doesn’t need a new man. Her daughter, aunt and sister are the most important people in her life (and the most infuriating). But it seems the older they get, the further apart they drift. Georgie’s never been a fan of her sister Bonnie’s husband, so when she learns her brother-in-law has been up to no good, Georgie sees an opportunity to bring the women of her family back together. Along with her 21-year-old daughter and 80-year-old aunt, she packs Bonnie into the back of her car and they leave Liverpool to hide out on the coast of Sussex. With the help of some sun, sea and bottle or two of prosecco, this will be an adventure they’ll never forget. But could the right man find Georgie while she’s stopping the wrong man finding her sister? A gorgeously fun and uplifting novel, perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

Yes, all 3 of us – let’s leave Liverpool and go to Brighton…

Why? Well, there’s the rub – we need to get out of town quick, ‘cos a bad man is after us…

But we can borrow this really smart flat with lovely views. Just one problem – we can’t leave it, because someone’s very stupid husband made a very bad and very dodgy deal and now they are after us to pony up. Which of course we can’t. So we need to stay hidden. 2 sisters and an elderly, but game Aunty.

I wish this story had been quite as amusing as it would seem from the description. I did think that Nan was brilliant but found the sister weak and whiny and very shallow with nothing at all humorous about her. The potential elements were there for a really great story that would make a brilliant film. But it just missed its mark for me.

Share This:

Books/book review/law enforcement/crime fiction
0 Comments

Look after your precious

Keep Her Close Book Cover Keep Her Close
MJ Ford
crime fiction, police procedurals, female sleuths
Avon Books
March 7th 2019

When a young woman goes missing from Jesus College, Oxford, DS Josie Masters is plunged into a world of panic as fear grips the city. Along with Thames Valley Police’s newest recruit, the handsome DS Pryce, Josie must act fast – and when two more students disappear from Oriel and Somerville colleges, she realises the killer is sending her a deadly message in a cruel game of cat and mouse. This time, the case is personal – but who is the perpetrator?

In a desperate race against the clock, Josie hunts for the kidnapper, and soon discovers he could be a lot closer to home than she’d ever thought…

A British police procedural set in Oxford and its dreaming spires. The previous book explains why the lead female detective has PTSD but this one can be read as a stand-alone as enough of the back story is given. I have not read the previous book.

I found the story interesting and compelling reading and the characters involved were complex enough that I never guessed who the villain was, let alone why, although the clues were there.

A good tone of voice by the author made this reading easy enough to follow and to be interested in the characters. I enjoyed this book.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance/net galley
0 Comments

What happens when the kids leave home

The Mum Who Got Her Life Back Book Cover The Mum Who Got Her Life Back
Fiona Gibson
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, women's literature
Avon
01 Mar 2019

When her 18-year-old twins leave for university, single mum Nadia’s life changes in ways she never expected: her Glasgow flat feels suddenly huge, laundry doesn’t take up half her week, and she no longer has to buy ‘the Big Milk’. After almost two decades of putting everyone else first, Nadia is finally taking care of herself. And with a budding romance with new boyfriend Jack, She’s never felt more alive. That is, until her son Alfie drops out of university, and Nadia finds her empty nest is empty no more. With a heartbroken teenager to contend with, Nadia has to ask herself: is it ever possible for a mother to get her own life back? And can Jack and Nadia’s relationship survive having a sulky teenager around?

A story for all empty nesters and parents of kids who have left home – or have they? As so many people are now finding, kids that left, come bouncing back, just when you least expect them (and at very inopportune times) and really don’t need them back. They disrupt this nice life you have (finally) managed to create for yourself – even a nice new romance. They become needy toddlers again as life has been unfair to them and because you feel guilty because you didn’t miss them as much as you expected, you cater to their whims – even to the point where your new life begins to unravel.
Or least this is what happens according to this book.
Personally, if our kids had behaved the way her son did with his clothes and loo and messes they would have had a sharp word or two despite everything. Do Mums really get walked over nowadays as is portrayed here? And they don’t teach their sons to cook? Who was this woman and why did she allow her kids to treat her like a limp door mat? This rang untrue to me. So though I generally enjoyed the book the story was not as realistic as it could have been.
Overall, this works as a romance between single parents trying to find a new life for themselves and juggling the demands of work and family, but…

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com