When love is about prejudice

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop Book Cover True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop
The Lonely Hearts Bookshop
Annie Darling
humour, contemporary, love, sex and marriage
August 24, 2017

It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise - not to fall in love with each other…

Or is it Pride?

Anyway, lots of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice quotes for each chapter which tell you what the main thrust will be. Nicely played.

Oh, and it is set in a part of London we love – Bloomsbury. Just around the British Museum and which is full of blue plaques to famous people.

I really enjoyed this book. Partly for its literary references but also because I found the writing to be warm, funny, and good-natured. I too like some solitude and find parties stressful, and again because I was brought up in a very busy household with no place that was away from everyone and with some constant noise.

The story echoes the warning I give to many people about not trying for 4th child of another sex when you’ve got 3 the same. My GP did that and ended up with twins – 5 boys (!!!!),; and here it is 5 girls. Which is worse I wonder? Hormones versus smelly feet and constant washing of muddy sports gear?  Any comments anyone?

Share This:

When bookshops are something more

The Book of Secrets Book Cover The Book of Secrets
The Last Oracle
Melissa McShane
urban fantasy, contemporary
Curiosity Quills Press
(18 Feb. 2018)
Kindle

Helena Davies just wants a job that will get her out of her parents’ basement. Abernathy’s Bookstore is disorganized, out of the way, and smells funny, but it pays well and promises to at least be interesting. She has no idea how interesting her life will become. By the end of the first day, Helena has a dead boss in the basement, an unexpected promotion, and the news that she is now a part of an endless war against creatures from another reality.

As Abernathy’s newest custodian, Helena is responsible for its secrets, including the most important one: Abernathy’s isn’t just a bookstore. It’s the world’s only living oracle, producing prophecies to help fight the war against alien invaders bent on draining this world of its magic. Helena’s job is to find books to answer questions put to the oracle by the Wardens, fighters in the Long War. It seems simple enough, but Helena’s new job is anything but.

She has allies: her best friend Viv, from whom she has no secrets; Harry and Harriet Keller, elderly magi skilled at uncovering secrets; and the enigmatic Malcolm Campbell, warrior magus and one of the few who have faith in Helena’s abilities. But not everyone is thrilled that an outsider now has charge of one of the world’s most powerful magical entities. Helena must defend herself against the antagonism of Judy Rasmussen, who’d expected to be the next custodian of Abernathy’s, and her father William, powerful leader of the Wardens and someone with an agenda of his own.

Without training, without any knowledge of the magical world, and facing the hostility of those who’d wanted someone else to be Abernathy’s custodian, Helena must navigate the treacherous waters of her new world and find a place for herself within it. But there’s still a murderer on the loose, someone who intended to control Abernathy’s by killing its custodian—and Helena might be next on his list.

At first I thought that this was going to be another magical library bookshop where magic happens – eg people fall in love because they meet there – but no, this really is a bookshop that holds secrets and answers within its books. It is in fact an Oracle – like the Delphi Oracle only you ask the bookshop the question you want answered, and it sells you a book! Just for you as it has your name on it and your price that you must pay. The answer is in the book…

And who runs the bookshop and takes the money? – well a rather nerdy and very un-magical girl.

This is the first book in a new series and i look forward to reading the others. I liked the concept and the fact that books are the answer to all questions – well I’m sure they really are as a book fanatic!

Share This:

Billionaires for sale?

Billionaire Investor Book Cover Billionaire Investor
Small Town Billionaire Romance #1-5
Alexa Davis
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Kindle

Justin is a self-made man, with millions to his name. But he also has a needy brother tagging along, spending his money almost as fast as he can make it, without any desire to pull his own weight. This leaves Justin with two choices: cut his brother loose or find a new investment.

In truth, he knows the right choice is to make his brother stand on his own, but the guilt is too much. So he starts seeking out new investments, which leads him to Annie and her combination café and bookstore.

Unfortunately, her store isn’t the right investment for him, but Annie herself is irresistible. And her daughter is just too lovely, making him start to see a new future for himself. But between his business and his brother, can he really find room in his life for Annie and her daughter?

A series of 5 books of which I only read the first as too bored to read further.

I kept saying ‘you can’t franchise the idea of a bookshop that sells coffee and cakes, and behaves as a community centre’ – and finally the heroine agreed. I really can’t even consider why anyone, even the author thought this was a good idea for an investor – so as the characters are clearly very far from business minded I decided, as they say on the Apprentice ‘You’re fired’ to the books.

Share This: