Books/blogtour/writing/authors
0 Comments

Lucky Xmas through the author’s words

A Very Lucky Xmas Book Cover A Very Lucky Xmas
Lilac Mills
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Canelo
Release Date: 20th August 2018

Things can't get worse for Daisy Jones... can they?

Christmas is meant to be the happiest time of year so why is absolutely everything going wrong for Daisy? Reeling from a bad breakup, moving back in with her parents and hounded by trouble at work she really shouldn’t be surprised when things go from bad to worse..and she ends up in A&E!

Her great-grandmother persuaded her to plant a silver sixpence in the Christmas pud for luck but choking on the coin isn’t the ‘change’ she’d wished for. Yet when dashing Dr Noah Hartley saves the day things finally start to look up. With Christmas Day just around the corner Daisy’s determined to make her own luck...and hopefully bag herself a dishy doc in the process!

A heart-warming christmas romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Debbie Johnson and Daisy James

Lilac Mills tells us about Xmas

  1. How long do you think about a topic before deciding to write about it? Do you have a set of notes or a note book where you write down topics that appeal before making a decision as to which topic this time?

Oh, I can mull something over for years before I bite the bullet. I’m currently just finishing up some edits for Canelo (the book is due to be published in the spring) on a story I first began about 13 years ago. I wrote about thirty-thousand words, then life got in the way and I did other stuff instead, but I always intended to come back to it, and when my lovely editor asked me if I had any ideas in the pipeline, it seemed an ideal time to develop and complete this poor little book-baby. The story has changed considerably from the very first half-draft, but then novels often tend to, but the concept is the same.

I also have an ideas folder, which I’m continually adding to, but what usually happens is that something will come to me which takes precedence over all of them, and I simply have to write it until the story is out of my system.

  1. How long does it take to research a topic before you write? And for this book?

It depends on the book, but so far not too long, because I’m writing about what I know or have experienced myself. A Very Lucky Christmas came about from my grandmother’s tradition of making her own Christmas pudding and putting a sixpence in it for luck. Unlike Daisy, no one in my family actually swallowed the darned thing, but there were a couple of near misses and one cracked tooth.

  1. How many times have you been rejected before your first novel was accepted or before this book was accepted?

I was accepted by a publisher on the first submission, but that wasn’t just luck. I had invested a great deal of time in researching publishers, and I knew what Canelo was looking for, so my pitch to them was right, and I sent them the sort of novel I knew would fit in with other novels in their chick lit stable. Of course, there was always the possibility that they did not want to take on another author in my genre at the time I submitted to them and I was fully prepared for that, or that my writing wasn’t as good as I hoped it was!

 4. Did you need to self-publish on e-books before a publisher took you up?

Not necessarily, and many authors don’t. I just happened to think going down the self-publishing route was viable for me at the time. I’m quite impatient, and want my stories to be published as soon as they are ready, and not to have to wait to fit in with a publisher’s time-frame. Self-publishing has been a worthwhile experience though, as I have gained insights into marketing and advertising that I otherwise might not have done.

  1. Would you recommend self-publishing and building an audience before approaching a publisher? If so, what benefits do you see that it might have for the aspiring novelist?

My publisher liked the fact that I had an online presence and also liked that I had already published three books which were fairly well received by my target audience. It could very well have gone some way towards influencing Canelo to make me an offer. Self-publishing can be a risky business though and may backfire if you don’t do it right. Editing and proofreading is a must, as is a professional cover. The right marketing helps too, because no matter how slick and polished your novel might be, if readers aren’t aware of it, it’s not going to sell.

  1. Does writing provide sufficient income to live on? And how long did it take before this happened?

It hasn’t happened yet, but I’ve only been writing chick lit for eighteen months, with four novels published so far. Unless I write something which catches the imagination of the public in a huge way, I think it will be a while yet before my income from writing matches my income from my day job. And even then, I’m not sure I’m prepared to give up my job. It’s steady income, I know what is going into my bank account at the end of every month. I can’t say that about my income from book sales.

  1. What do you read when you are ill in bed?

Nothing. I’m rarely ill, but when I am it tends to be the flu, and all I want to do is to curl up in a ball and feel sorry for myself.

 8. What is your favourite genre?

It has to be chick lit, although I do like the occasional psychological thriller. Besides writing in the chick lit genre, it does help to read it too, to keep abreast of trends and to see what other authors are writing about.

  1. In your opinion who is the funniest author now writing?

I’ve just read a book by Stephanie Dagg called Fa-La-Llama-La: Christmas at the Little French Llama Farm. It was hilarious. Her second in this series is due out soon, and I can’t wait to read it. There’s something about her dry humour that strikes a chord in me.

 10. What have you done with the things you wrote when in school?

I didn’t write in school, apart from those things pupils were forced to write. I didn’t do any creative writing under my own steam. I don’t think I thought it was possible. To me, authors were magical beings, creating stories out of thin air. I didn’t ever believe I could join their ranks. I didn’t actually start writing until I was in my early forties, but I didn’t start with a short story, or a novella, or even a 100,000-word novel. Nope, I went for it big time, and produced a massive 320,000-word effort. Looking back, some bits of it weren’t too bad, a few bits were actually quite good, most of it was meh, and there were some parts which were pretty dire. It will never see the light of day, but I cut my authory teeth on it, so to speak. It’s hidden safely away in the depths of my laptop and there it will stay.

Authors’ bio

Previous Books: Summer on the Turquoise Coast, Sunshine at Cherry Tree Farm and Love in the City by the Sea

Lilac Mills writes feel-good romantic women’s fiction, and is the author of Love in the City by the Sea, A Very Lucky Christmas, Summer on the Turquoise Coast, and Sunshine at Cherry Tree Farm. Lilac spends all her time writing, or reading, or thinking about writing or reading, often to the detriment of her day job, her family, and the housework! Home for Lilac is Worcester, England.

Twitter: @LilacMills

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

When the tornado flies through

Tornado Allie Book Cover Tornado Allie
Dating Daisies Book 1
Ava Catori
romance, contemporary, women's fiction, humour
Kindle

Allie Cramer is a spirited whirlwind with a zest for life. Unfortunately, a path of destruction follows wherever this twister goes. Things sort of…just happen when she’s around.

Dr. Todd is both charming and handsome, but he has big ambitions for his career and they don’t include love. When Allie spins into his life, he can’t get the flighty, clumsy girl out of his head, leaving him with questions he’s not prepared to answer.

As their worlds collide, neither will be the same. Can they navigate their way through a vortex of compromise and find love? Or will Tornado Allie strike again and send them blowing in two different directions? Warning: Buckle up, you’re in for a bumpy ride with a twist of fun, a splash of laughter, and a dose of good loving that will have you cheering them on to a happily ever after.

A lighthearted look at life with a girl who can’t quite do things right.

But usual problem for me in a short story /novella – no enough depth to make a really good story to keep you reading into the wee hours.

But if you’re short of time and need something light…

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Which husband shall I choose?

My Favorite Husband Book Cover My Favorite Husband
Pam McCutcheon
Fiction, romance, contemporary
Zebra Books
2003
300

When Chaz Vincent disappeared years ago in the Amazon, his wife Kelly waited but finally had him declared legally dead. When Chaz reappears on the day of Kelly's second wedding, trouble--and true love--abound.

A disappointing story in my opinion. So much more could have been made of this idea.

 

 

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Riviera Warmth

Rosie's Little Cafe on the Riviera Book Cover Rosie's Little Cafe on the Riviera
Jennifer Bohnet
women's fiction, contemporary fiction
HQ
23 Feb. 2017

Rosie Hewitt’s dream of opening a little French café on the Riviera is finally coming true. She’s giving up on love and instead chasing her own perfect recipe for happiness…

Only, she never expected the oh-so-sexy, award-winning chef, Sebastian Groc, to set up his restaurant next door – or for his freshly-baked croissants to smell quite so delicious.

But with just a few days until she opens her doors and all her sugar-coated dreams crumbling around her, Rosie isn’t prepared to give up without a fight

Enjoyable contemporary women’s fiction.

There are many different characters portrayed in this book – all with flaws – and all come together during a summer on the French Riviera when life changes for them all.

The story is empathetically written with a nice flowing style.

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Penguin anyone?

Maid for the South Pole Book Cover Maid for the South Pole
Volume 7 (Romance Island Resort series)
Demelza Carlton
romance, contemporary, women's fiction
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
18 Nov. 2016

Hotel maid turned meteorologist Audra is determined to make her mark on the world without a man getting in her way. Seizing the chance to join an expedition to the South Pole, she thinks all her Christmases have come at once. Until she returns to the research station and meets her new roommate. When Jean-Pierre's wife broke his heart, he swore off women, vowing to spend his holidays in Antarctica for one final season. He didn't count on sharing a room with an Australian woman who hates him for something he can't even remember. Will the heat of a South Pole summer be enough to thaw two icy hearts?

This is a very different setting for our Maid as she moves on into her career as a meteorologist and gets posted to the South Pole!

 All Demelza’s books are 4 star.But I am giving the this one 5 for the penguin stories and the Midwinter Pool. I so want to see a video of the synchronised swimmers in their tightie whities with shower caps on their heads in that freezing cold South Pole lake!

I thought that this story was well researched into what it is like at these remote research stations and the dangers that they face in these extreme conditions.
As always a good romance to set off the story and we still hear about characters first introduced in the Romance Island series.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com