Books
0 Comments

Hunt Souls? Really?

Eden Hunter trilogy Book Cover Eden Hunter trilogy
Eden Hunter trilogy
D.N. Erikson (Author)
low fantasy, dark fantasy
kindle

A razor-snark, sun-soaked urban fantasy trilogy for fans of Jim Butcher and Ilona Andrews.

You'd think coming back to life on a beautiful island would be a good thing.
Turns out life on the beach kind of sucks. Especially when you spend it harvesting souls for a vampire.

But after four years of reluctant "employment," things have somehow gotten worse. Some jackass just framed me for murdering an old friend. And the cops seem pretty damn sure I did it. More concerning than potential jail time: the local goddess of rain wants my head for the crime.

You see, we cut a little deal when I came back to life that no one knows about. What'd I get from her? I'm not telling. But I'll tell you what I gave up: no weapons and no murder.

Pretty easy to follow, right? I thought so. Well, if you're a Reaper, it's a pain in the ass. Because a creature's gotta die for you to reap its soul. And despite the postcard sunsets, it gets pretty dangerous in the jungle without a gun.

Never say the gods don't have a sense of humor. But this time the joke is on me. Because if I don't find the real killer—and why they pinned this mess on me—before the week is through, I'll be returning to the land of the dead.

And this time, it'll be for good.

A trilogy of stories about a fantastical island that is hidden from normal (and usually human), view. It is populated with a mix of magical and mythical creatures plus some normal humans that have either discovered it or have been brought there.

Eden was a con artist. A grifter. Until she was murdered – specifically so she could be revived on this island and bound into service by the ancient vampire – who had founded the island as his serfdom, and who had hidden the island from view.

Eden’s task, bound by a magical contract which cannot be broken, is to harvest souls. Souls are the fuel for magic on this island.

The stories tell of her more than shady adventures, as she attempts to fulfil her contract – no killing permitted, she is only permitted to harvest from the already dead – and outwit the people who want her dead for various reasons. Or to use her. Or…

The first book starts rather slowly and although the writing style is reasonable, it lacked enough humour for me. Eden is snarky and resourceful, good with one-liners, but her dialogue could have had more humour. The books improved as the story progressed and it seemed to me that the author grew more confident in style and the characters and their behaviours.

So I read all three books in the end.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Enter the Con






From Duke Till Dawn Book Cover




From Duke Till Dawn




(The London Underground, #1)





Eva Leigh





Regency romance, historical, humour




Mills & Boon




March 26, 2018




384



Eva Leigh launches a seductive new series that sizzles with the dark secrets of London's underworld... 'It's not my habit to seduce impoverished widows...' The Duke of Greyland lost his heart - and a princely sum - to a charming, beautiful and destitute widow who, after one passionate night, vanished without a trace. Cassandra Blair grew up on the city streets, picking pockets to survive. Greyland was a rich mark - to be fleeced and forgotten - only she'd never forgotten him. Years later, chance brings them together again, in a London gaming hell. Grayland is desperate to have her... never suspecting everything about his lover was a lie. But finding herself in dire financial straits, at risk of losing everything, Cassandra has no choice but to beg the man she betrayed for help. The proud Duke will assist her under one condition: she doesn't leave his sight until her debts are paid! But can the real Cassandra - the smart, streetwise survivor - steal his heart all over again? Book one in the Scandalous Ladies of London series

For me this was a generally enjoyable book, but there was one area that I felt let the book down – the sex scenes. They somehow didn’t flow well. It was as though the publisher or editor said ‘we must have some sex in the book’, and the author complied but wasn’t confident or didn’t really like this type of writing.
That said, I thought that the story contained some interesting reflections and reminders about the lot of girls born into the slums. The story told us not only about the hierarchy of the Underworld and criminals but that girls had little choice but to work in brothels and get the ‘pox’ from a very young age,; work in the cotton mills (or similar) and get a lung disease; or learn to be thieves. Remember that the phrase ‘mad as a hatter’ came from the lead poisoning that working in a hat factory brought with it and the subsequent brain deterioration.
So thieving was perhaps the best option for them.
‘Respectable’ trades required references, from scullery maid to shopgirl and unless you had a reference you couldn’t obtain legal work.
The sadness of being dirty, hungry, lice ridden and without belongings was brought out clearly – no belongings because a. you had probably stolen what you had from other, and b. they stole it back…
I felt very much for the female character in this novel and thought that she had made the very best of her sad life.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com