When a military boyfriend helps

Justice for MacKenzie Book Cover Justice for MacKenzie
Badge of Honor: Texas Heroes Book 1
Susan Stoker
military, thriller, romance, suspense
Susan Stoker
(14 July 2015)

A member of the famed Texas Rangers, Daxton Chambers has dealt with more than his share of depravity. But the Lone Star Reaper takes evil to a whole new level, kidnapping and burying women alive. It's Dax's job to help keep San Antonio safe, but even with help from friends in various law enforcement agencies, the killer remains two steps ahead. It's hardly the ideal time for a relationship, but Mackenzie Morgan is too luscious to resist. Dax wants her--which makes her an instant target for his newfound enemy.

When the Reaper gets personal, it will take every ounce of Daxton's considerable skill and training to keep Mack alive.

This is book #1 in a nice series where all the heroes are military – in this one a Ranger.

But what is it with all these US women who have surnames for first names?

Anyway, we have a really nasty killer on the loose and he is aiming for MacKenzie, and her boyfriend just has to help her escape his clutches..

This is not high fiction but it is an enjoyable read, a good contemporary novel style and I read the remainder of the series after it.

 

 

Share This:

Who loves you?

You are Loved Book Cover You are Loved
Jo Platt
romance, contemporary, romantic comedy
Canelo
(14 Aug. 2017)
Kindle

Author Grace Waterhouse has hit rock bottom. Her ex-husband has just had a baby with his new partner and her latest novel is… well, the less said the better.

Desperate for distraction, Grace impulsively takes on a friend’s cleaning job, parachuting herself into a new social circle including an eccentric OAP, a heartbroken twenty-something and one James Brooke, an enigmatic lawyer with an unblinking stare.

Add to this mix an anxious literary agent, a hairdresser who doesn’t mince words and a newly repentant ex-husband, and Grace's career break proves to be more breathless than breather.

They say that all you need is love – but what if that's the one thing you haven't got?

The heart-warming, funny and unputdownable new novel from bestseller Jo Platt is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Anna Bell and Joanna Bolouri.

A light-hearted, feel good read, ideal for beach-side reading, especially if the world is getting you down.

Not high fiction but you don’t always want to read serious stuff do you? And sometimes, you need to know that other people are just as messy, or have lost things under their bed, or have idiotic coincidences happen to them – just like you.

I do have a bit of a thing though, against writers writing about writers. I know that writers do have writers’ block from my own experience but still, would you willingly clean other people’s houses for a friend? For months? Just because you can’t write?

But don’t let me put you off – the fact that I wouldn’t do it is irrelevant.

Share This:

How Many Layers?

Twenty-Seven Tiered Almond Cake Book Cover Twenty-Seven Tiered Almond Cake
Amber Laura
Womens' Literature, Romance , Women's Fiction, Humour
Nov 2017
Kindle

Charlie does not want to plan her sister’s wedding.

Erin is flakey, flighty. Irresponsible. And her upcoming marriage is proving no different. It reads like the playbill to a comedy of errors: the groom—what’s his name again?—is currently, mysteriously incarcerated; the bride is MIA; but don’t dare mention postponing the stupid thing; that would be scandalous.

Worse, in an industry that booked out months ago, Charlie has six weeks to hunt down everything from a reception hall to napkin holders! Ironically, the only person who may be able to help her accomplish this is Kantor O’Brien, aka the pastry chef she hired to create Erin’s wedding cake, aka the guy who seems to think Charlie’s antics fall somewhere between exasperating and not quite sane. (Okay, so maybe the cake she chose was a little, ah, unusual. Whatever.)

Kantor has interesting, if somewhat unconventional, contacts. Charlie’s got a colorful way of spinning the truth. Together, they might pull off something spectacular. Now if she can just convince him to go along with it….

TWENTY-SEVEN TIERED ALMOND CAKE is a light-hearted story about one woman’s struggle to give her sister the wedding she deserves. The novel’s primary themes—a contentious sibling relationship hanging in the balance of self-reflection and redemption—offset by its quietly comedic timbre and romantic undertones, will resonate and appeal to readers of commercial women’s fiction.

The Review

So I like almond biscotti too, but isn’t 27 layers of them a few too many?

An amusing tale of the responsible sister organising the feckless sister’s wedding right down to choosing the cake.

Light and frothy but don’t expect too much story-line beyond girl eats cake; girl eats more cake; cake baked by hunky baker; and the inevitable – girl falls for baker – and his cakes!

About the Author

Amber Laura’s biography, also known as “Five Fun Facts about the Author”:

  1. As a writer, Amber Laura does her best daydreaming as a window-gazing passenger on long car rides.
  2. If there’s creamer, she’s drinking coffee. When she edits, there’s always creamer.
  3. A blogger, she also writes web fiction—(free stories updated chapter-by-chapter, week-by-week). Check it out at www.litliber.com.
  4. Psst! Her debut novel, Topaz and Lace, a contemporary romance set in a fictitious Texas town, got its start on that same blog.
  5. While she may physically reside in the beautiful country of Northern Minnesota, in her imagination, Amber Laura lives all over the world. She considers it one of the best perks to being a writer: easy, cheap travel. That and the oddball characters she meets along the way….

https://www.facebook.com/AmberLauraAuthor/

https://twitter.com/LitLiber

http://litliber.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36590084-twenty-seven-tiered-almond-cake

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/twenty-seven-tiered-almond-cake-amber-laura/1127426150

Share This:

With what intent?

Sinful Intent Book Cover Sinful Intent
Volume 1 (ALFA Investigations)
Chelle Bliss
contemporary, women's fiction, suspense,
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(30 Mar. 2018)

Qualifications: Tough as nails, willing to play dirty, and a chiseled body...

When former Navy SEAL Morgan DeLuca joined the team at ALFA Investigations, he never imagined he'd find more than a job. But his first client was a drop-dead gorgeous, powerful businesswoman with a no-holds-barred attitude.

Never cross the line. That had always been his rule, but that was before Race True.

The moment he saw her, it was game over. After one touch, his take-what-I-want attitude had Morgan staking his claim and stopping at nothing until he made Race his.

I kept reading this book because I thought it must get better – After all the story premise (and author) was good. It didn’t.

It was intended to be sexy. And was written alternately by a male and then a female to give the alternative views of the situation. But it failed. They actually read like the same character.

And honestly, the office behaviour was just tacky. It was as though the author wanted to add in every type of ‘hot’ behaviour but wrote the scenes very badly. I skipped large chunks..

 

Share This:

Way to spend the ‘Festive’ Season

Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe Book Cover Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe
Comfort Food Cafe
Debbie Johnson
Christmas stories
HarperImpulse
October 20, 2016
208

Becca Fletcher has always hated Christmas, but she has her reasons for being Little Miss Grinch. Now, though, she can't avoid her version of ho-ho-hell because she's traveling to the Comfort Food Café to spend the festive season with her sister Laura and her family. She's expecting mulled win, 24-hour Christmas movie marathons and all kinds of very merry torture. Little does Becca know that the Comfort Food Café is like no other place on earth. Perched on a snow-covered hill, it's a place full of friendship where broken hearts can heal, and where new love can blossom. It's where Becca's Christmas miracle really could happen--if only she can let it ..."--

This is the 3rd  book in the Comfort Cafe series that I have read and still found it enjoyable in its genre.

Becca, the Xmas Grinch, just has to change her attitude when she comes to stay with her sister at Xmas. Especially when she finds out just how irresistible Surfer Sam the Coastguard and Shore Ranger really is..

So the cafe and its inhabitants of the mythical Budbury cast a spell again and change a life for the better and we all feel hugged again in Cherie’s vast bosom and happily drinking Laura’s Hot Chocolate….

Share This: