Books
0 Comments

Go where the sun is..

From Antigua with Love
asstd
contemporary fiction, romance,
Mills and Boon
2019

Assorted Romance. Not for Sale. Sponsored by Tourist Authority.

A set of 5 short stories given me by Mills and Boon with the Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority.

All set in the islands and intended to make you want to visit and celebrate romance of course. As such they certainly give you the tourist highlights and beauty of the scenery and for their genre, are nicely written. But I am not personally all that fond of short stories as I like a more developed storyline.

Still nice for their type.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

#Momspringa: Yes please!

The Overdue Life of Amy Byler Book Cover The Overdue Life of Amy Byler
Kelly Harms
Romantic Comedy, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour, Humorous Fiction
Lake Union Publishing
(1 May 2019)

Overworked and underappreciated, single mom Amy Byler needs a break. So when the guilt-ridden husband who abandoned her shows up and offers to take care of their kids for the summer, she accepts his offer and escapes rural Pennsylvania for New York City.

Usually grounded and mild mannered, Amy finally lets her hair down in the city that never sleeps. She discovers a life filled with culture, sophistication, and—with a little encouragement from her friends—a few blind dates. When one man in particular makes quick work of Amy’s heart, she risks losing herself completely in the unexpected escape, and as the summer comes to an end, Amy realizes too late that she must make an impossible decision: stay in this exciting new chapter of her life, or return to the life she left behind.

But before she can choose, a crisis forces the two worlds together, and Amy must stare down a future where she could lose both sides of herself, and every dream she’s ever nurtured, in the beat of a heart.

So after being a frazzled and broke single mum for years Amy Byler is  given the gift of a momspringa – in the way that the US … sect give their children a ..srpinga when they reach adulthood. A year off to discover who they are and what they want to do with their lives.

This year of Amy’s is detailed by the magazine that is sponsoring her – she is photographed and everything she does is told in detail on social media. And it sets a trend amongst tired mums who also want a #momspringa even if only for a few days!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s Predict the Future

Good Omens Book Cover Good Omens
Terry Pratchett &Neil Gaiman
Horror Parodies & Satires , Contemporary Horror, Occult Horror (
Corgi
(11 Dec. 2014)

Armageddon only happens once, you know. They don't let you go around again until you get it right' According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter Witch, Judgement Day is almost upon us and the world's going to end in a week . . . Now people have been predicting the end of the world almost from its very beginning, so it's only natural to be sceptical when a new date is set for Judgement Day. But what if, for once, the predictions are right, and the apocalypse really is due to arrive next Saturday, just after tea? You could spend the time left drowning your sorrows, giving away all your possessions in preparation for the rapture, or laughing it off as (hopefully) just another hoax. Or you could just try to do something about it. It's a predicament that Aziraphale, a somewhat fussy angel, and Crowley, a fast-living demon now finds themselves in. They've been living amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and, truth be told, have grown rather fond of the lifestyle and, in all honesty, are not actually looking forward to the coming Apocalypse. And then there's the small matter that someone appears to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

NB I read this before the TV series came out! But was prompted by hearing about it.

I thought that Terry Pratchett was on form with Neil Gaiman’s extra touch. Note that this one of Prachett’s early books (written about 30 years ago) that I missed – don’t know how, as I thought I had read all of his books, including the ones aimed (so they say) at children!

So, the Apocalypse is nigh! Or is it? Agnes Nutter certainly thought so when she wrote her book of predictions several hundred years ago. Not only did she predict when, but also the special signs – saffron and holes for instance – and even knew exactly where it would be started.

And sure enough that was where HE lived – as a nice small boy, playing in the way all boys did, with a vivid imagination, and an unfortunate stack of magazines lent to him by Anathema Device.

I thought Crowley was a brilliant character, and especially liked the adjustment to the M25. On a bad day it certainly seems like he might have done this..

The friendship between Crowley and Aziraphale was nicely detailed, even if they weren’t ‘real’ theological characters, they certainly seemed like they could be. And the whole of the book is a nice adaptation of the Book of Revelations with a couple of vivid imaginations thinking outside the box.

I wish there were more stars to give this book!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Mad Uncles?

Where There's a Will Book Cover Where There's a Will
Beth Corby
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Hodder & Stoughton
Summer 2019

Would you take the chance that could change everything?

After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald.

But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.

As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald's real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .

This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

So Great Uncle dies and there is a will. So far, so normal. But he isn’t fond of his family – again normal, and hasn’t seen them for many years, apart from a small party he hosted to see them again before he finalised his will. At this party he spends some time talking to his Great Niece Hannah.

He’d had a major bust-up with his sister – over what she wouldn’t say, and on the whole, his family are not likeable characters being fixated on money and social status. All except for his niece Hannah. She is a young woman who has not quite made up her mind what she wants as her career and as a result has drifted rather, but is now finishing an English degree after trying out various others. She is denigrated by her family for her lack of ambition and her sister is rather vile to her all the time.

Which of course is where the will comes in when Great Uncle dies. He has made a number of bequests including some very small ones for his ‘blood’ relatives which rather angers Nicholas, who it turns out was adopted, even though Hannah had not known this until then.

Hannah is however singled out from her relatives and asked, through the auspices of her uncle’s solicitor, to read a number of letters left for her and to undertake some tasks – unspecified – in order to receive a reward – again unspecified. But which she suspects will be the same small bequest that her other cousins got. Intrigued and about to take her finals, with nothing set up to do afterwards, she agrees. She hopes that as her uncle indicates in the first letter, she might gain some self-awareness and thus might know where to go with her life.

There are some great characters in this novel especially Mrs Crumpton as she talks to her dead employer – a lot of us do that – but usually in our heads! And finding out how Great Uncle made his money is also rather unusual and not at all what you might expect.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Chilly waters to swim in

A Summer to Remember Book Cover A Summer to Remember
Sue Moorcroft
General Fiction (Adult) , Women's Fiction
Avon
Pub Date 02 May 2019

Katie Fforde COME AND SPEND SUMMER BY THE SEA!

WANTED! A caretaker for Roundhouse Row holiday cottages.

WHERE? Nelson’s Bar is the perfect little village. Nestled away on the Norfolk coast we can offer you no signal, no Wi-Fi and – most importantly – no problems!

WHO? The ideal candidate will be looking for an escape from their cheating scumbag ex-fiancé, a diversion from their entitled cousin, and a break from their traitorous friends.

WHAT YOU’LL GET! Accommodation in a chocolate-box cottage, plus a summer filled with blue skies and beachside walks. Oh, and a reunion with the man of your dreams.

PLEASE NOTE: We take no responsibility for any of the above scumbags, passengers and/or traitors walking back into your life…

Swimming in Norfolk waters – distinctly chilly as I recall. The Norfolk coast is notorious for its winds and chill and marshes and birds and seals too.

So what would you do when your fiancée makes his attraction for another woman quite so obvious? I guess I would do the same as the lead character here, and run off somewhere very remote. Personally, I’ve always thought the wilds of Scotland would be a good place, but a hamlet on the Norfolk coast with no internet or mobile signal I guess does as well.

This hamlet does not like ‘in-comers’ at all. Is very conservative in behaviour and lifestyle.  And is very good at holding grudges it seems. So it is a bit of shock when it gets disturbed by cousins and ex-fiancées and gays. Not what it is expected.

Overall, a pleasant story if not one that will strain your memory or your emotions. And please get the proof-reading done completely.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com