Death helps romance

The Nerdy Necromancer Book Cover The Nerdy Necromancer
The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 1
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Helen Reaper has a weird relationship with the dead. As in she can bring anyone or anything back to life, so she’s constantly bombarded by people begging her to restore their loved ones, their pet fish, that cute girl who fell off a building while taking a selfie. Super. Annoying. So Helen becomes a necessary introvert and a homebody, choosing to absorb herself in books instead of real life.

The Deadication Dating Agency, the mysterious matchmaking service in her town of Midnight Cove, comes to her in the form of a mysterious letter and a cute little puppy.

They know someone who’s already dead who won’t mind her talent one little bit.

Can a woman who raises the dead find a love that stays alive?

SE Banin writes funny stories about romance with heroines who are a little bit dotty

(and which I find fun to read as a result)

and in this book she is nerdy and with a strange ability. Necromancer with a difference, she can bring back a person or creature. Make them alive again.

This is not something you want to advertise too widely as you will get bombarded with people who want to bring back dead pets and people whether for love or revenge…

Thus her dating life has suffered… but a Dating Agency has her in their sights… and so the story begins. They want to help her find her Soulmate and….

Share This:

Military men

Protecting Caroline Book Cover Protecting Caroline
Seal of Protection #1
Susan Stoker
military, thriller, romance, suspense
EverAfter Romance
(23 Jun. 2016)

Matthew “Wolf” Steel hated flying commercial. Luckily his job as a Navy SEAL meant he didn’t have to do it very often. He’d been unlucky enough to be assigned a middle seat on the cramped jet, but fortunately for him, the woman next to him was willing to switch seats with him. Hoping for a relaxing flight, Wolf was pleasantly surprised at the good conversation and sense of humor the woman had as they flew 36,000 feet over the countryside.

When Caroline boarded the plane to Virginia to move across the country for her new job she never expected to be seated next to the hottest guy she’d ever seen. She also never expected he’d be so easy to talk to. She knew he’d never be interested in talking to her if he hadn’t been trapped in the seat next to her, but it was a nice way to spend a long plane ride.

Neither Wolf nor Caroline were prepared for a terrorist hijacking of their plane, but if Caroline thought that would be the last time she’d see, or need, Wolf, she’d be sorely mistaken.

A 10 book series!

At times I get invested into certain book series and authors and as I was very ‘brain full’ in the rest of life, I needed a set of readings that were not too dark, or brain taxing. These were well written enough to keep me involved and entertained for several days (note I read a book most days).

Whilst reading these I could not concern myself with anything else – they kept me involved and interested. So I read the whole series! One after the other… well not all 10 admittedly but 4 or 5.

I am rather fond of these alpha male military stories, even though they are far from the type of man I would really be interested in. Tattoos – no. Muscles – no!

 

Share This:

When love is about prejudice

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop Book Cover True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop
The Lonely Hearts Bookshop
Annie Darling
humour, contemporary, love, sex and marriage
August 24, 2017

It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise - not to fall in love with each other…

Or is it Pride?

Anyway, lots of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice quotes for each chapter which tell you what the main thrust will be. Nicely played.

Oh, and it is set in a part of London we love – Bloomsbury. Just around the British Museum and which is full of blue plaques to famous people.

I really enjoyed this book. Partly for its literary references but also because I found the writing to be warm, funny, and good-natured. I too like some solitude and find parties stressful, and again because I was brought up in a very busy household with no place that was away from everyone and with some constant noise.

The story echoes the warning I give to many people about not trying for 4th child of another sex when you’ve got 3 the same. My GP did that and ended up with twins – 5 boys (!!!!),; and here it is 5 girls. Which is worse I wonder? Hormones versus smelly feet and constant washing of muddy sports gear?  Any comments anyone?

Share This:

Bad Boys Rock…

Deadly Match Book Cover Deadly Match
Bad Boy Incorporated #3
Eve Langlais
Fiction
Eve Langlais
February 28, 2018
198

The third new title in the popular Bad Boy Inc. series. When a retired assassin decides to go looking for love, he decides to trust the pros at a dating service and ends up finding a Deadly Match.

Oh these sexy assassins and fancy being called ‘Charming Reaper’ by your parents even if they are family names.

Bad Boy Inc rocks as do its employees – they are trained to be assassins and spies but not by a Govt and therefore they are not bound by any code of ethics – unless it is their own. But they don’t kill children.

Fun and flirty book.

Share This:

Jo Jo starts here

Still Me Book Cover Still Me
JoJo Moyes
Womens' Literature, Romance , Women's Fiction, Humour
Michael Joseph
25 Jan 2018

Lou Clark is back in the ALL NEW Jojo Moyes novel Still Me, follow-up to the Number One international bestsellers Me Before You and After You. Read the first chapter here! Lou Clark knows too many things . . . She knows how many miles lie between her new home in New York and her new boyfriend Sam in London. She knows her employer is a good man and she knows his wife is keeping a secret from him. What Lou doesn't know is she's about to meet someone who's going to turn her whole life upside down. Because Josh will remind her so much of a man she used to know that it'll hurt. Lou won't know what to do next, but she knows that whatever she chooses is going to change everything.

So a new life for our favourite Lou. In New York and with a very upper crust family, even down to uniforms.

Lou finds herself in a new place with lots to find out about her new life and is excited for her new job.

This review is just about the first chapter of Jo Jo Moyes new book. NetGalley hasn’t released the remainder yet, but from what I have read it sounds good and gently humorous. As yet i cannot say whether it will make me cry like Me Before You did but who knows. I wait to read more!

Share This: