Make those skills work for you

HOT PURSUIT. Book Cover HOT PURSUIT.
REBECCA. FREEBORN
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, mystery
Pantera Press
(28 Mar. 2018)

A missing rockstar, a suspected murderer on the run, and a chase through some of the world’s most romantic destinations

Sarah Burrowes is left with a shattered heart and a huge mortgage after the love of her life abruptly runs out on her.

An aspiring journalist, Sarah spends her days slaving away at a gossip magazine—far from her dream job.

Heartbroken and fed up, Sarah decides to take her career by the reins and lands herself the assignment of a lifetime in Europe. But there’s a catch—her boss pairs her with gorgeous but egocentric photographer, Nick, who just happens to be her ex’s best friend.

But when Sarah’s assignment takes a darker turn, she discovers there’s more to this story than meets the eye. Is she ready to risk everything to get the scoop?

A kick-ass heroine here in a really nicely written fun story. So our heroine is exiting – still – a bad relationship with a not so good guy, when she finds herself travelling for her work – being a journalist.

Except that her boss doesn’t really think she is suited to the job as her previous career experience (despite her degree) had been in beauty therapy ie hair-dressing, and that was her current writing slot at the mag.

She gets sent abroad to investigate with a really hot camera man and things take the usual course. But are complicated by the rock star she manages to befriend and various shady activities. Nothing goes right, but works out well in the end.

Based in Australia, it makes a nice change of dialect for me, and brings back memories of my visit there too.

Share This:

Not that clumsy surely?

The Clumsy Clairvoyant Book Cover The Clumsy Clairvoyant
(The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 3)
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Grace Banner can’t date.

Well, she can, but it isn’t any fun because she can see the future and occasionally hear the thoughts of others. Plus...she’s an enormous clutz. As in she can barely even lift a glass without disaster striking. In desperation, Grace turns to the mysterious woman at The Deadication Dating Agency who promises to find her a match.

Lucas Marsh isn’t interested in dating, but when his brother purchases him a membership to a dating agency, he humors him. Just once. But when he meets Grace he can’t help but be interested. Until he finds out about her powers. And her complete inability to walk without running into something. Lucas is a man with secrets and dating a clairvoyant is out of the question. He ditches her on their very first date, leaving Grace alone and rejected.

But one thing Lucas doesn’t know is that the mysterious force behind the town’s agency isn’t ready to admit defeat. Her spotless track record isn’t going down just because of a few little secrets...

I really like

SE Babin’s writing style, especially her snappy speech for her heroines when they meet douche bag males!

But for our heroine it is not always good to know when bad things happen. Even worse for you to black out and not remember what you said.

Especially as it seems you are prophesying that some bad things are going to happen to this magic own that Portia established. This fun town where all sorts of fantastic species meet and fall in love to a design that only Portia knows, and which is why she has established the dating agency that this series is based around.

Babin is currently one of my favourite authors.  And I am reading lots of her series.

Share This:

And add another?

The Plus One Book Cover The Plus One
Sophia Money-Coutts
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
August 9, 2018
384

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a social function or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none Three little words all single ladies dread... Polly Spencer is fine. She's single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she's fine. Even if she's still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend's summer wedding are looking worryingly slim. But it's a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly's determined that over the next 365 days she'll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor 'the one'. She's heard the stories, there's no way she'll succumb to his charms... A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don't miss the hottest book of 2018!

An amusing chick-lit (somewhat) about the girl without the steady boyfriend when all her friends are getting married. She defines herself as a failure as she has neither a long-term partner/romance, nor a ring.

Such a shame. Playing on the insecurities of the 30ish woman who should be in full upward movement in their careers, or at least, not worrying about rings and babies. A genre/storyline that I am beginning to dislike as it reinforces the wrong message.

That said. The writing is competent and the stories clearly culled from the author’s own gossip experience in her own career as a journalist. enough humour and silliness to compensate the faults.

Share This:

Death helps romance

The Nerdy Necromancer Book Cover The Nerdy Necromancer
The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 1
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Helen Reaper has a weird relationship with the dead. As in she can bring anyone or anything back to life, so she’s constantly bombarded by people begging her to restore their loved ones, their pet fish, that cute girl who fell off a building while taking a selfie. Super. Annoying. So Helen becomes a necessary introvert and a homebody, choosing to absorb herself in books instead of real life.

The Deadication Dating Agency, the mysterious matchmaking service in her town of Midnight Cove, comes to her in the form of a mysterious letter and a cute little puppy.

They know someone who’s already dead who won’t mind her talent one little bit.

Can a woman who raises the dead find a love that stays alive?

SE Banin writes funny stories about romance with heroines who are a little bit dotty

(and which I find fun to read as a result)

and in this book she is nerdy and with a strange ability. Necromancer with a difference, she can bring back a person or creature. Make them alive again.

This is not something you want to advertise too widely as you will get bombarded with people who want to bring back dead pets and people whether for love or revenge…

Thus her dating life has suffered… but a Dating Agency has her in their sights… and so the story begins. They want to help her find her Soulmate and….

Share This:

Military men

Protecting Caroline Book Cover Protecting Caroline
Seal of Protection #1
Susan Stoker
military, thriller, romance, suspense
EverAfter Romance
(23 Jun. 2016)

Matthew “Wolf” Steel hated flying commercial. Luckily his job as a Navy SEAL meant he didn’t have to do it very often. He’d been unlucky enough to be assigned a middle seat on the cramped jet, but fortunately for him, the woman next to him was willing to switch seats with him. Hoping for a relaxing flight, Wolf was pleasantly surprised at the good conversation and sense of humor the woman had as they flew 36,000 feet over the countryside.

When Caroline boarded the plane to Virginia to move across the country for her new job she never expected to be seated next to the hottest guy she’d ever seen. She also never expected he’d be so easy to talk to. She knew he’d never be interested in talking to her if he hadn’t been trapped in the seat next to her, but it was a nice way to spend a long plane ride.

Neither Wolf nor Caroline were prepared for a terrorist hijacking of their plane, but if Caroline thought that would be the last time she’d see, or need, Wolf, she’d be sorely mistaken.

A 10 book series!

At times I get invested into certain book series and authors and as I was very ‘brain full’ in the rest of life, I needed a set of readings that were not too dark, or brain taxing. These were well written enough to keep me involved and entertained for several days (note I read a book most days).

Whilst reading these I could not concern myself with anything else – they kept me involved and interested. So I read the whole series! One after the other… well not all 10 admittedly but 4 or 5.

I am rather fond of these alpha male military stories, even though they are far from the type of man I would really be interested in. Tattoos – no. Muscles – no!

 

Share This: