Books/book review/Fantasy/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Baking with Magic

Fairytale Ambrosia Book Cover Fairytale Ambrosia
(The Knead to Know Series) #1
Liz Schulte
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(27 Jan. 2016)

Maggie Edwards can’t sleep, eat, or die—but, she can bake. However, just before the Halloween grand opening of her bakery, a pesky reporter witnesses an accident in her kitchen and gets a little too close to the truth. If she can’t convince him to keep quiet, not only will she lose her chance at happiness, but they both could lose their lives. Fairytale Ambrosia: When your professional life is going well, fate has a way of ruining everything else. At least, that’s what’s happening to Maggie Edwards. While her bakery is taking off without a hitch, her personal life is going up in flames. Her best friend needs Maggie more than ever, a demon is out for her blood, and Boone keeps having visions of a magical woman kidnapping people in their sleep. Maggie has to hurry up and figure out how to balance her human friends with her very supernatural life before someone pays the ultimate price.

Also reviewing Psyche Souffle #3 in the series.

So we learn from this series that half-vampires don’t eat blood but black
souls, preferably those of demons. They love to bake but can’t taste anything  and don’t need to eat anything in the food line. Hmm.    

I quite liked these stories but found them too short and that everything was resolved too easily. there was not enough suspense.

Very light.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
0 Comments

Travel the Hippie Trail

Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop Book Cover Rosie's Travelling Tea Shop
Rebecca Raisin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HQ
April 23, 2019
384

A swanky job as a Michelin-Starred Sous Chef, a loving husband and future children scheduled for exactly January 2021. That’s until she comes home one day to find her husband’s pre-packed bag and a confession that he's had an affair. Heartbroken and devastated, Rosie drowns her sorrows in a glass (or three) of wine, only to discover the following morning that she has spontaneously invested in a bright pink campervan to facilitate her grand plans to travel the country. Now, Rosie is about to embark on the trip of a lifetime, and the chance to change her life! With Poppy, her new-found travelling tea shop in tow, nothing could go wrong, could it…? A laugh-out-loud novel of love, friendship and adventure! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.

This is a sweet romantic story of what happens when someone decides they need a complete change of lifestyle, because the last one sucked – fiances having affairs and so on.

So what do they do? but buy, on impulse an old Campervan/Mobile Teashop? which works because Rosie likes to bake cakes and make ‘comfort’ food. Rosie then takes this van on the Hippie trail, following the various festivals around the country. And trying to make sense of her new lifestyle with an electronic friend.

Cozy and warming, but little about the real unsustainability of living out of a van – even if you manage to find a really nice one, all year round. Apart from having to park up for the winter, they are seriously cold – I’ve stayed in them.. And trying to make ends meet – well…

But still a romantic idea as in following the Gypsies O!

Share This:

Books/book review/humour
0 Comments

How to make money – a naughty way

Hollywood Whore Book Cover Hollywood Whore
Volume 2 (The True Hollywood Lies )
Josie Brown
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Signal Press
October 16, 2015

A TRUE HOLLYWOOD LIES Novel"

Previously published as "Impossibly Tongue-Tied"--All over Hollywood, men are dialing O--for orgasms. Her steamy naughty talk fills them with lust and longing, and helps them perform like the studs they claim to be.In truth, the industry's favorite "erotic phone operatrix" is Nina Harte, a struggling actress who has put her career on hold so that her husband, Nathan, can pursue his own dreams of stardom. When Nathan's career takes off, so does he, leaving Nina and their four-year-old son, Jake, for his diva costar, Katerina McPherson. Then "Kat 'n' Nat" are crowned the media's newest celebrity sweethearts, and Kat labels Nina an unfit mother in order to win custody of Jake, just so that she can have that highly-coveted celebrity accessory--an adorable child--sans any unsightly stretch marks.The one person who does care about Nina is Nathan's agent, Sam Godwin. In fact, he's in love with her. And because he has both a heart and a conscience, Sam feels guilty for having put Nat in Kat's path in the first place. Then again, how will he feel when he learns that Nina and O are one and the same?

Except she isn’t really a whore – just gets involved in the sex trade to keep food on the table, and her actor husband in acting classes as he doesn’t seem able to bring home any money to speak of.

I like Josie Brown as an author but I think I prefer her humorous books. This story is a morality play about Hollywood and the evils that can befall you if you go there – especially if you start off being good looking. It ends well for those who need it to, but but a lot has to be processed to get there – and I learnt a lot of new language myself on the way! Clearly need to read an urban dictionary…

Share This:

Books/blogtour/book review/fiction/humour/Romance
1 Comment

Love – Who’s Lucky?

Unlucky in Love Book Cover Unlucky in Love
A.J. Renee
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
AJ Renee
January 30th 2019

Lucky in Love.

That’s the name of the dating app I picked, hoping to find Mr. Better Than Average so I can hold off planning my future as a cat lady.

I’ve been distracted eyeballing a tall, dark, and handsome Latin hottie who works in the library with me. He is way out of my league, and a woman has needs if you know what I mean.

Finding a man shouldn’t be hard when all I have to do is swipe left or right. It’ll weed out the slimy men who have Bad Date written all over them.

Yeah, I’m learning quickly that I’m rather unlucky in love after all. The men I pick need warning labels, kissing lessons, and a good talking-to about manners.

Should I throw in the towel, or will this series of bad dates be exactly what I need to win Mr. Right?

A millenial love story? Or why dating apps cause havoc.. or provide you with bad dates or with males that are on the app for really good reasons! Beware.

So this a romantic story of finding love in your workplace – which is where most people used to find their partners before apps came along. And how getting to know someone slowly works better than the instant date from an app.

An adult theme about romance and dates with explicit scenes but very much in the milieu/trope.

I thought it quite sweet with some fun aspects, and the bad dates remind me of some that I had when young – the paintballing for me was pot-holing… even when I told him I was claustrophobic he didn’t believe it until I had hysterics deep in the ground! And as he was the pot-holing club leader it proved very embarrassing for him to have to bring up to the surface.. And then there was the Indian guy who insisted on showing me his wool vest and also insisted that all English girls had sex on the first date. I proved him very wrong.. Oh the bad dates we women have all had…

Author Spotlight

AJ Renee is the author behind the St. Fleur series, Beauty Unmasked, Winter’s Surprise, Surviving Paris, and Finding Love at the Falls…. She’s a military wife and mother to three young girls. She graduated from the University of Central Florida with her Master of Science in Criminal Justice and a Bachelor of Science in Psychology while working at the library.

She loves to write steamy romance with suspense and a happily ever after. When she isn’t writing or interacting with her readers, you can find her spending time with her family or reading. AJ enjoys traveling, researching family history, and all things New Orleans.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

From Rugby Scrums to Business Fights






Rock Hard Book Cover




Rock Hard




Rock Kiss #2





Nalini Singh





Businessmen, romance




Tka Distribution




2015




387



Wealthy businessman, Gabriel Bishop, rules the boardroom with the same determination and ruthlessness that made him a rock star on the rugby field. He knows what he wants, and he'll go after it no-holds-barred. And what he wants is Charlotte Baird. Emotionally scarred and painfully shy, Charlotte just wants to do her job and remain as invisible as possible. But the new CEO clearly has other plans.

‘The Bishop’ was a rugby legend in New Zealand but he was injured and then this career was finished.

This book is where Gabriel Bishop goes after his rugby career is over – he goes into destroying – and rebuilding – in the stock market and company world.

Note that Gabriel is the older brother of Sailor Bishop in Cherish Hard – different series by author.

So now he has a different reputation and still not such a good one – as people only think about his destruction and not his re-building.

This is a fun romance with the usual hot scenes and well written story line  from this author. She transitions well from Fantasy into Romance – or the other way round… Overall, all her books are fun to read.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com