Books
0 Comments

A very tall chief

The Seduction of Tallchief Book Cover The Seduction of Tallchief
by Doreen Owens Malek
Romance , Women's Fiction
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 3 Sep 2019

THE SEDUCTION OF TALLCHIEF concerns the criminal pursuit of a multi-millionaire serial child molester, George Walden, who has used his wealth and connections to escape detection for decades. A reluctant, unconventional agent, Jefferson Tallchief, is sent into Walden’s New Jersey mansion to assemble the case against him. The relationship that develops between Walden’s bitter and reclusive daughter, Victoria, and the new hire acting as her driver forms the core of the story. As they get to know one another, their prejudices (he’s Native American and she’s mostly WASP) dissipate and a bond slowly develops between them. While Tallchief works covertly to uncover evidence that will bring Walden to justice, he’s increasingly conflicted about his deceptive role in Victoria’s life. Just when he has a major breakthrough that means he can put Walden in prison for good, Tallchief must deal with a shocking twist that changes the dangerous game entirely. The story builds to a tension filled climax which will determine the future of all the players involved. This riveting blend of suspense and romance makes a compelling, satisfying read.

As the author herself says, there is a certain fascination with a Native American as hero, especially if they look like this author makes them! The archetype that is portrayed of a strong, silent, deep person, with hidden emotions, capable and surprising and loyal.

This is how she writes Tallchief and provides him as a foil to the pale, apparently weak, heroine of the story. Someone he could rescue, cherish and take away from her cage and set her free to flourish.

But it turns out that she has hidden depths too, and is more capable than he imagined.

The father is the villain here, and hs crimes are very nasty indeed.

Overall a nicely crafted story but not original in concept even if different in delivery.

And just FYI. This author has written a series of 4 novels earlier in her career about Native American heroes and the storyline is very similar. The heroine is nearly always blonde and pale and from the North, and they are mostly set in Florida. Basically, she writes the same story with slightly different settings and careers and backgrounds, but always with two different ethnicities and cultures at play.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Well rock troll princesses are a good start

Breaking the Lore Book Cover Breaking the Lore
Inspector Paris #1
by Andy Redsmith
Mystery & Thrillers , Sci Fi & Fantasy
Canelo
15 Apr 2019

A magical, mischievous mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch How do you stop a demon invasion... when you don’t believe in magic? Inspector Nick Paris is a man of logic and whisky. So staring down at the crucified form of a murder victim who is fifteen centimetres tall leaves the seasoned detective at a loss… and the dead fairy is only the beginning. Suddenly the inspector is offering political asylum to dwarves, consulting with witches, getting tactical advice from elves and taking orders from a chain-smoking talking crow who, technically, outranks him. With the fate of both the human and magic worlds in his hands Nick will have to leave logic behind and embrace his inner mystic to solve the crime and stop an army of demons from invading Manchester!

Love the introductory sentence as it really sets the scene for a very different novel.

Inspector Paris and Manchester seem to go together well. This is book 1 in a new series that I really want to read more of.  The Sergeant is wonderfully dumb and there is plenty of grisly and sarcastic humour to keep me interested. Fairies being crucified is new to me, but then it was new to everyone as Paris says ‘How do you kill somebody who doesn’t exist?’ ie a fairy!

We are then introduced to a talking crow, a female baby rock troll princess, an elf, and the Vanethria and yet more such creatures who shouldn’t exist. All of which with a sly humour and great writing style.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s gossip…

The Darkest Hour Book Cover The Darkest Hour
(Poppy McGuire Mysteries Book 4)
Anina Collins
crime fiction, mystery, thriller,
2016
kindle

Poppy and Alex come up against their toughest case yet, and they may never be the same again.

When someone close to both Poppy and Alex is found brutally murdered, all the clues point to Alex as the killer. But Poppy knows in her heart that her partner could never commit such a heinous crime. As the evidence begins to mount against him, Poppy must race against the clock to prove that the man she trusts with her very life isn’t the murderer, even as everyone around her is convinced of his guilt.

But if Alex isn’t the killer, who is? As the mystery unravels, the past and present finally meet in Sunset Ridge.

A nice cosy mystery story with a female sleuth who is nosy but not confident in herself.

This is Poppy’s first attempt at solving a crime and she uses her sleuthing skills from her work as a columnist on the local paper to help her.

Small town USA comes again. Where there are no secrets – someone always knows something – and sometimes they use this knowledge in nefarious ways.

Light and easy reading with a surprise villain.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Werewolves? Maybe…

Wolf Legacy Quartet Book Cover Wolf Legacy Quartet
Wolf Legacy series
Aimee Easterling
Fiction
Wetknee Books
July 30, 2018
678

Werewolf. Baker. Protector of the weak. Ember's large werewolf family has always kept her safe and focused on what really matters --- feeding loved ones their favorite desserts. But when a missing half-brother draws the twenty-something away from home for the very first time, bonds to her pack are tested at every turn. The milk-chocolate eyes of an off-limits human are the first threat to her pack commitment. Mix in arrogant alphas plus unexpected betrayals and the final product isn't particularly sweet. Will Ember be able to bake her way to safety before her family collapses like a tray of over-beaten cupcakes all around her? Or will she change so much in the process that she's never able to go home again? This box set includes four novels, two short stories, and one scrumptious recipe. Don't miss the "emotional and psychological roller coaster" of this complete urban fantasy series.


Sex, drugs and … well actually no rock and roll, and no sex either as it turns out, but plenty of drugs. Psychopathic drugs that… but no, that would be a spoiler.

I enjoyed this series about a cupcake baker, who knows just which flavour you would like the best. And who also, just happens to be a werewolf with a long lost brother. Lost in many meanings of the word.

So these books tell Ember’s story as she searches for her brother, love, and keeping the secret that werewolves do really exist.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com