Just who is the detective nasty with now?

Savage Echoes
Nickie Savage
R T Wolfe
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Police procedurals, women sleuths
ePublishing Works!
(9 Jan. 2014)
Kindle

Lending her expertise to help the FBI bring down a child trafficking ring, Detective Nickie Savage discovers that the men they're tracking are the same ones who abducted her as a young teen.
Risking her badge, Nickie goes rogue with surveillance expert Duncan Reed. But the closer they get to the King Pin, the closer she and Duncan become with each other.
Now Nickie must choose: break her own rules and risk her heart, or forge ahead...alone.

I enjoyed these books – yes, I’ve read them all. Nickie Savage is believable and her back story is sufficiently told for you to understand her motives. Though how she manages now I am really not sure… Her family sound horrible!

I found the writing to be fairly addictive and well enough written that I didn’t get tired of reading through the series. The style is fluid and has enough humour and romance to counteract the serious nature of the story-line. not LOL but you can grin occasionally…

 

 

 

THE NICKIE SAVAGE SERIES, in order
Savage Echoes
Savage Deception
Savage Rendezvous
Savage Disclosure
Savage Betrayal
Savage Alliance

Share This:

How many dogs are there?

Double Dog Dare Book Cover Double Dog Dare
Davis Way Crime Caper
Gretchen Archer
Fiction, humour, literary fiction, cosy, mystery
Henery Press
March 20, 2018
274

Hot diggety dog, the fur is flying in USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer's latest. It's not just good, it's "Best in Show!" - Janet Evanovich Problem #1: Bootsy Howard Davis Way Cole lives a (relatively) quiet, (somewhat) simple, and (completely) witch-free life with her husband and twin daughters on the 29th floor of the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. Until Bootsy Howard shows up demanding a million dollars. Problem #2: Princess Smucker What was marketing thinking when they booked the Southern Canine Association's annual dog show at the Bellissimo? And what was Davis thinking when she agreed to let a dog stay with her? For a week? In her home? The home where she lives a (fairly) quiet, (reasonably) simple, and (totally) manicotti-free life? Problem #3: Leverette Urleen, MD The last thing Davis needs is an unsolicited house call from Pine Apple, Alabama's latest excuse for a doctor. But since he's there, considering she has a dead body on ice, she might as well have him determine the cause of death. Which he doesn't. Nor is he any help finding the body when Davis loses it. On top of all that, he won't leave, further disrupting Davis's (more or less) quiet, (to a certain degree) simple, and (utterly) seersucker-free life. A life that's about to go to the dogs. Unless Davis can learn a few new tricks. Fast. Guaranteed woofs, the best thing since the bone, take Double Dog Dare for a walk and you're sure to unleash a treat. - - - - - - - - - - - - - DOUBLE DOG DARE by Gretchen Archer - A Henery Press Mystery. If you like one, you'll probably like them all.

A comic caper!

I ended reading this book with an ear-worm – from Vree’s prayers and hymns….! I also giggled my way through the last half of the book – as things got more and more ridiculous! I giggled with the story not against it.

This is book 7 in this series and even though I’v e not read any of the previous stories, I didn’t need to. I met and understood all the characters and their backgrounds as they appeared and interacted.

A fun, lively, humorous story. Not heavy reading but good for an afternoon sunning oneself on the beach or in the garden.

I want to read book 8 and see what these crazy gals get up to next!

Share This:

Somewhere over the Ozarks

You've Got Tail Book Cover You've Got Tail
Peculiar Mysteries
Renee George
paranormal, mythology, romance, humour
Barkside of the Moon Press
2015 -
Kindle

Sunny Haddock, an animal-loving vegetarian psychic, is stoked to leave California behind to start a new life in the Ozark town of Peculiar with her best friend Chavvah Trimmel. She ups the moving date when Chav goes missing and high tails it to the small town.

When the gorgeous Babel Trimmel, Chav's younger brother, (along with the sheriff, the mayor, and some other nice folk) suggests Sunny haul her U-haul and butt back out of town, she's undeterred. Her psychic abilities might be out-of-whack, and blood makes her faint, but she's not a quitter. Besides, she's not about to go anywhere until she finds out what happened to Chavvah.

But Sunny has more to deal with than unfriendly townsfolk...like disturbing killer visions and the dog-like animal no one else sees that seems to be stalking her every move. To make matters worse, she is finding Babel to be more irresistible than crack on a donut.

Kidnapping, murder, romance, and a town full of people hiding the truth will keep Sunny Haddock busy as she tries to unravel the strange happenings in Peculiar, Missouri.

Peculiar Mysteries series from USA Today bestselling author Renee George are laugh-out-loud, grip the edge of your seat, and swoon as you fall in love tales of mystery, humor, and romance that take place in the small Ozark shifter town of Peculiar, Missouri.

The town of Peculiar – somewhere in the Ozarks, is solely inhabited by shifters – every size and shape. From squirrel to wolf although the latter normally keep to their own packs. A population of 1000 with another 1000 living in the woods that surround it but very widely spread – some homesteads have 40 acres! The law says that no humans can live in the town as every full moon they go crazy and forget their human side.

Integrators – ie those who want to live with humans, go to other towns.

This a 6 books series of short novels but longer than novellas, with 2 female characters who are key to all the books even when not the main character.

There is a lot of romance in these books, and always some crime and often a grisly murder or 2 – take the Little Piggy serial killer who takes the small toe from each of his victims.

The general nosiness of small towns and the special ability of the only vegetarian in town, who also runs the only vegetarian cafe (think wolves – just how much fruit will they eat?), Sunny who is a human and psychic (and her friend Chavvah). Sunny has introduced the town to Jackfruit – which I had not heard of before, but is a large fruit that in its unripe state resembles meat to look at and in texture, but takes on any flavour you add.

Light but fun reading if you like your crime with a dash of paranormal, which makes an enjoyable change for me from the very serious psychological crime stories I frequently read.

Series books in order:

  1. You’ve Got Tail
  2. My Furry Valentine
  3. Thanks for not Shifting
  4. My Hairy Halloween
  5. In the Midnight Howl
  6. Furred Lines

Share This:

Looking for Perfection

A Perfect Death Book Cover A Perfect Death
DI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
Avon / HQ
January 22, 2018
448

'Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read.' Woman's Way Magazine Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge. There's no easy way to die... Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task...

A spooky and sinister tale about a murderer who is very individualistic. He is looking to provide the Perfect Death for his victims and each attempt brings him closer to his aim. And each victim is chosen for very specific reasons that make sense to him but not necessarily – at least in the beginning – to the police targetted with his capture.

The setting, Edinburgh, adds to the atmosphere as we start on Arthur’s Mount – which is credited with a lot of spooky happenings.

I  thought the portrayal of the police especially Callanach were good and having read Helen Fields before, I was not disappointed.

Share This:

I am here – she claims

Bring Me Back Book Cover Bring Me Back
BA Paris
psychological, suspense, crime fiction, thriller
HQ
(8 Mar. 2018)

The Disappearance
Twelve years ago Finn’s girlfriend disappeared.

The Suspicion
He told the police the truth about that night.
Just not quite the whole truth.

The Fear
Now Finn has moved on.
But his past won’t stay buried

Disturbing.

A book that builds towards a chilling and unexpected climax.

Although I had some suspicions about what might be the cause of the sudden apparent return of Layla, I couldn’t figure out how 2 such incompatible persons could live in the same body. Thus i dismissed my idea.

But it turned out that I was both right – and wrong.

A well written novel with a nicely judged ending.

 

Share This: