Do a Crime – get Schooling? No Contest.

Lord of the Night Book Cover Lord of the Night
Rogues to Riches #3
Erica Ridley
history, literary fiction, romance
WebMotion
(20 July 2017)

Unlike proper debutantes, Miss Dahlia Grenville is secretly Robin Hood in a bonnet. Her home for wayward girls has too many dependents and not enough donations. But just as she’s about to pull off the heist of the Season, she tumbles straight into the arms of the handsome detective who has sworn to deliver Mayfair’s mysterious thief straight to the gallows. Highly principled Bow Street runner Simon Spaulding’s world is black and white. There’s no mastermind too clever, no criminal alive who can escape the hangman. Until he realizes the delightful young lady he’s been courting is a liar and a thief. Suddenly, his career—and his heart—are in peril. How can he bring her to justice when it means losing her forever?

And again Erica writes a good historical romance with a modern twist – or at least a feminist twist.

Here we have a nicely brought up young woman not only starting her own school for destitute and desperate young girls but also finding a way to support the school through somewhat illegal means – although she would point out that no-one was actually physically harmed, and anyway, those she took from could well have afforded to donate instead, but didn’t. So almost deserved it….

And we have the start of the Peelers to add to the mix. Which again will intrigue people who like their history and crime fiction…

Share This:

FBI go Paranormal

Agent of Enchantment Book Cover Agent of Enchantment
Dark Fae FBI#1
CN Crawford & Alex Rivers
paranormal, mystery, thriller, YA
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition
(10 April 2017)

The fae live among us. And one of them is a serial killer. I thought this would be a simple profiling case. Just another Jack-the-Ripper wannabe, prowling London’s streets, searching for easy kills. I was wrong. This killer is fae, and he’s as elusive as smoke on the wind. But I’m an FBI profiler, and it’s my job to track him down. It doesn’t matter that one of the main suspects--a lethally alluring fae--is trying to seduce me… or kill me, I’m not sure which. I won’t be stopped, not even when panic roils through the streets of London, or when the police start to suspect me. As I close in on the killer, I follow him to a magical shadow realm that’s like nothing I ever expected, where I’m hunted like prey. Fine. Bring it on. I’m an FBI Agent. And it turns out I have magical powers of my own.

I got bored by this overly complicated novel -and it lacked a compelling story-telling. Didn’t manage to complete.

 

Share This:

Who’s missing

Local Girl Missing Book Cover Local Girl Missing
Claire Douglas
Penguin
August 11, 2016
400

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE SISTERS - ONE OF THE BEST SELLING DÃ%BUTS OF 2015 - COMES A TENSE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER RIPPED STRAIGHT FROM THE HEADLINES . . . Twenty years ago 21-year-old Sophie Collier vanishes one night. She leaves nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier - and a hole in the heart of her best friend Francesca. Now A body's been found. And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget. Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out. Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned. Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past. The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth. But if someone knows what really happened to Sophie that night then now's the time to find out - isn't it? Except sometimes discovering the truth can cost you everything you hold dear - your family, your sanity and even your life . . . Praise for Local Girl Missing 'Compelling and page-turning, wonderfully written and impossible to second guess with a brilliant twist' Debbie Howells, bestselling author of Richard and Judy selection The Bones of You Praise for The Sisters 'Grippingly claustrophobic and unpredictable on every page: perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie Claire 'Tension oozes from every page . . . [an] addictive read that will leave you on the edge of your seat' Sun 'As soon as I finished the first page, I knew I wouldn't be able to put this down . . . I thoroughly enjoyed it' Good Housekeeping 'Unforgettably dark and complex' Woman & Home

Got 50% of the way through and it was very very slow and the suspense did not build. Seemed rather derivative of the genre. 2 stars.

Share This:

Security is big business

Gray Wolf Security Book Cover Gray Wolf Security
Gray Wolf Security #1-6
Glenna Sinclair
Kindle

DONOVAN
He killed my brother. He didn’t wield the rock that destroyed a promising
life, the life of a future doctor, but he killed him just the same. He
should have been there that night, should have protected Joshua from the
wrath of bullies that he’d pulled down on us all. But he wasn’t. And Joshua
died. Now my dad expects me to sit back and let this man protect me? Was he
insane? I don’t care how wonderful Gray Wolf Security is. I wasn’t about to
give up my freedom, my privacy, and allow Donovan Pritchard to follow me
around for the unforeseeable future.

DAVID
My life ended the night my father won a place in the US Congress. Not
because he won the election, but because he died when I lost control of the
car he, my mother, and I were riding in. My parents both died and I was
left paralyzed from the upper thighs down. There’s an operation that could
fix my legs, but maybe I don’t deserve a second chance. After all, my
parents didn’t get one. But then a woman walks into my life…it’s always a
woman, right? We’re both broken, but maybe together we can find a way to
fix what no longer works.

JOSS
She doesn’t talk. How the hell am I supposed to trust the life of my child
to a woman who won’t talk? It’s not a physical thing, it’s emotional. I’m
paying thousands of dollars to Gray Wolf Security to protect my child from
potential kidnappers, and they give me this emotionally broken woman who
won’t speak. Not only that, but she’s so tiny she couldn’t hurt a fly.
Well, okay, so she knocked me to the ground. But I’m not a drug lord with a
loaded pistol pointed at an innocent child. Just because she’s beautiful
and she has these curves that I can’t seem to get out of my mind doesn’t
mean that I’m okay with this situation.

KIRKLAND
Hypocrisy drives me up a wall, yet I’m probably the biggest hypocrite to
ever live. I own one of the leading pornography websites in the country,
maybe even the world.But I grew up in a conservative, religious household
and getting my mom’s voice out of the back of my head is almost impossible.
Until I lay eyes on Kirkland Parish. An operative for Gray Wolf Security,
Kirkland is supposed to be my guardian, my shield between my quiet world
and the threats that have promised my impeding death.

ASH
Three years ago, the love of my life disappeared. I never believed she was
dead even though the government tried to convince me she was. I would never
give up on her no matter what anyone told me. But I did get a little
distracted by Mina Kaufman, a stranger who gave birth in the back of my
SUV, delivering a perfect baby boy into my hands. How was I supposed to
turn my back on them? Mina and her son brought me out of the limbo my life
had descended into. And how was I supposed to know that she was lying to
me?

A series of books each featuring one of the Private Investigators in this firm that provides 24 hour bodyguard security to those that need it.

All the people involved are either ex-Army and ex-Green Beret or related. The firm was founded by Grayson Ashford  hence the name who needed something to keep himself busy and to keep his brother occupied after he was paralysed in a car accident.

David, Grayson’s brother is used as the tech guy – he is rather a computer whiz; and was taught by the FBI, hie previous employers, how to hack!

There is also Kirkland, ex-Green Beret and noted for his charm; Donovan, als ex-GreenBeret and a member of Ashland’s unit, and an explosives expert; Joselyn Grant Hernandez, ex army [not permitted to GB as female!!] who has not spoken since her husband and 6 year old daughter were killed – a female operative(!); and Rose, office mother and organiser.

A generally fun book to read with some different stories but all obviously romances  pretending to be suspense and mysteries.

My main gripe – and this book is not alone in this, is that American authors have no idea how the rest of the world lives! Honestly, 1000 square feet is a LARGE home, our first home, a 3 bed semi-detatched house was just less than this and we had a kitchen with scullery and pantry off, a large living/dining room, a large hall store, and 2.5 bedrooms! And as for a kitchen that is only just big enough to have a table and 4 chairs – well I wish! Our kitchen, which is large by most people’s at 12 foor square cannot manage that – we do have a table and a bench seat but add chairs and well…

Share This:

What Mirrors?

The Book of Mirrors Book Cover The Book of Mirrors
E. O. Chirovici
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Psychological
Simon and Schuster
February 21, 2017
288

When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protaegaee of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, twenty-five years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder, or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime. But the manuscript ends abruptly--and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?

I tried to read this book twice and failed  – the style and story  failed to engage me.

Share This: