Books
0 Comments

Hunt Souls? Really?

Eden Hunter trilogy Book Cover Eden Hunter trilogy
Eden Hunter trilogy
D.N. Erikson (Author)
low fantasy, dark fantasy
kindle

A razor-snark, sun-soaked urban fantasy trilogy for fans of Jim Butcher and Ilona Andrews.

You'd think coming back to life on a beautiful island would be a good thing.
Turns out life on the beach kind of sucks. Especially when you spend it harvesting souls for a vampire.

But after four years of reluctant "employment," things have somehow gotten worse. Some jackass just framed me for murdering an old friend. And the cops seem pretty damn sure I did it. More concerning than potential jail time: the local goddess of rain wants my head for the crime.

You see, we cut a little deal when I came back to life that no one knows about. What'd I get from her? I'm not telling. But I'll tell you what I gave up: no weapons and no murder.

Pretty easy to follow, right? I thought so. Well, if you're a Reaper, it's a pain in the ass. Because a creature's gotta die for you to reap its soul. And despite the postcard sunsets, it gets pretty dangerous in the jungle without a gun.

Never say the gods don't have a sense of humor. But this time the joke is on me. Because if I don't find the real killer—and why they pinned this mess on me—before the week is through, I'll be returning to the land of the dead.

And this time, it'll be for good.

A trilogy of stories about a fantastical island that is hidden from normal (and usually human), view. It is populated with a mix of magical and mythical creatures plus some normal humans that have either discovered it or have been brought there.

Eden was a con artist. A grifter. Until she was murdered – specifically so she could be revived on this island and bound into service by the ancient vampire – who had founded the island as his serfdom, and who had hidden the island from view.

Eden’s task, bound by a magical contract which cannot be broken, is to harvest souls. Souls are the fuel for magic on this island.

The stories tell of her more than shady adventures, as she attempts to fulfil her contract – no killing permitted, she is only permitted to harvest from the already dead – and outwit the people who want her dead for various reasons. Or to use her. Or…

The first book starts rather slowly and although the writing style is reasonable, it lacked enough humour for me. Eden is snarky and resourceful, good with one-liners, but her dialogue could have had more humour. The books improved as the story progressed and it seemed to me that the author grew more confident in style and the characters and their behaviours.

So I read all three books in the end.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

Tigers are offered but I refuse






The Tiger's Offer: A Reverse Harem Fantasy Book Cover




The Tiger's Offer: A Reverse Harem Fantasy




(The Goddess's Harem Book 1)





Lila Jean, J.A. Cipriano





paranormal, mythology, romance, dark fantasy




Kindle



When Tina stumbled into that werewolf strip club, she never expected to walk out with the powers of a fertility goddess, but now that she has, well… she made a list.
Step 1: Get a handle on her unruly new magic.
Step 2: Convince the five shifter princes fighting over her that sharing is caring.
Step 3: Experience sex the way only a fertility goddess can
There’s just one more thing.
Step 4: Try not to die when bitchy priestesses come out of the woodwork to take her new magic for themselves.

I tried this book as I had enjoyed another book co-authored by JA Cipriano. But found that this story lacked humour, storyline/plot – which was very obvious – and basic writing skills. I found the s-x scenes repetitive and dull. It only got 2 as I kept reading hoping it would get better due to previous experience with one author.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/crime fiction
0 Comments

Not the Devil you know

 

 

And the Devil has a son and heir.
But there is a small problem – he is half human, and ex-cop, and now a witch running an occult shop.
Honestly, he is not at all sure that he likes his father! And the idea that he is his father’s heir...

A nice set of  circumstances which allow stories of extraordinary murders to be introduced that only someone like Nick, with his unique combination of attributes, can solve.
These are novellas and thus less compelling than they could be with a longer word length and thus more character and plot development. Nevertheless, promising.

 

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com