Books
0 Comments

Well rock troll princesses are a good start

Breaking the Lore Book Cover Breaking the Lore
Inspector Paris #1
by Andy Redsmith
Mystery & Thrillers , Sci Fi & Fantasy
Canelo
15 Apr 2019

A magical, mischievous mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch How do you stop a demon invasion... when you don’t believe in magic? Inspector Nick Paris is a man of logic and whisky. So staring down at the crucified form of a murder victim who is fifteen centimetres tall leaves the seasoned detective at a loss… and the dead fairy is only the beginning. Suddenly the inspector is offering political asylum to dwarves, consulting with witches, getting tactical advice from elves and taking orders from a chain-smoking talking crow who, technically, outranks him. With the fate of both the human and magic worlds in his hands Nick will have to leave logic behind and embrace his inner mystic to solve the crime and stop an army of demons from invading Manchester!

Love the introductory sentence as it really sets the scene for a very different novel.

Inspector Paris and Manchester seem to go together well. This is book 1 in a new series that I really want to read more of.  The Sergeant is wonderfully dumb and there is plenty of grisly and sarcastic humour to keep me interested. Fairies being crucified is new to me, but then it was new to everyone as Paris says ‘How do you kill somebody who doesn’t exist?’ ie a fairy!

We are then introduced to a talking crow, a female baby rock troll princess, an elf, and the Vanethria and yet more such creatures who shouldn’t exist. All of which with a sly humour and great writing style.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s Predict the Future

Good Omens Book Cover Good Omens
Terry Pratchett &Neil Gaiman
Horror Parodies & Satires , Contemporary Horror, Occult Horror (
Corgi
(11 Dec. 2014)

Armageddon only happens once, you know. They don't let you go around again until you get it right' According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter Witch, Judgement Day is almost upon us and the world's going to end in a week . . . Now people have been predicting the end of the world almost from its very beginning, so it's only natural to be sceptical when a new date is set for Judgement Day. But what if, for once, the predictions are right, and the apocalypse really is due to arrive next Saturday, just after tea? You could spend the time left drowning your sorrows, giving away all your possessions in preparation for the rapture, or laughing it off as (hopefully) just another hoax. Or you could just try to do something about it. It's a predicament that Aziraphale, a somewhat fussy angel, and Crowley, a fast-living demon now finds themselves in. They've been living amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and, truth be told, have grown rather fond of the lifestyle and, in all honesty, are not actually looking forward to the coming Apocalypse. And then there's the small matter that someone appears to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

NB I read this before the TV series came out! But was prompted by hearing about it.

I thought that Terry Pratchett was on form with Neil Gaiman’s extra touch. Note that this one of Prachett’s early books (written about 30 years ago) that I missed – don’t know how, as I thought I had read all of his books, including the ones aimed (so they say) at children!

So, the Apocalypse is nigh! Or is it? Agnes Nutter certainly thought so when she wrote her book of predictions several hundred years ago. Not only did she predict when, but also the special signs – saffron and holes for instance – and even knew exactly where it would be started.

And sure enough that was where HE lived – as a nice small boy, playing in the way all boys did, with a vivid imagination, and an unfortunate stack of magazines lent to him by Anathema Device.

I thought Crowley was a brilliant character, and especially liked the adjustment to the M25. On a bad day it certainly seems like he might have done this..

The friendship between Crowley and Aziraphale was nicely detailed, even if they weren’t ‘real’ theological characters, they certainly seemed like they could be. And the whole of the book is a nice adaptation of the Book of Revelations with a couple of vivid imaginations thinking outside the box.

I wish there were more stars to give this book!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Werewolves? Maybe…

Wolf Legacy Quartet Book Cover Wolf Legacy Quartet
Wolf Legacy series
Aimee Easterling
Fiction
Wetknee Books
July 30, 2018
678

Werewolf. Baker. Protector of the weak. Ember's large werewolf family has always kept her safe and focused on what really matters --- feeding loved ones their favorite desserts. But when a missing half-brother draws the twenty-something away from home for the very first time, bonds to her pack are tested at every turn. The milk-chocolate eyes of an off-limits human are the first threat to her pack commitment. Mix in arrogant alphas plus unexpected betrayals and the final product isn't particularly sweet. Will Ember be able to bake her way to safety before her family collapses like a tray of over-beaten cupcakes all around her? Or will she change so much in the process that she's never able to go home again? This box set includes four novels, two short stories, and one scrumptious recipe. Don't miss the "emotional and psychological roller coaster" of this complete urban fantasy series.


Sex, drugs and … well actually no rock and roll, and no sex either as it turns out, but plenty of drugs. Psychopathic drugs that… but no, that would be a spoiler.

I enjoyed this series about a cupcake baker, who knows just which flavour you would like the best. And who also, just happens to be a werewolf with a long lost brother. Lost in many meanings of the word.

So these books tell Ember’s story as she searches for her brother, love, and keeping the secret that werewolves do really exist.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/Sci-Fi/humour
0 Comments

Books are so precious…

The Mortal World Book Cover The Mortal World
The Invisible Library #5
Genevieve Cogman
Fiction, Alternate History, Sword and Sorcery, Fantasy, Female Sleuth
Pan
November 27, 2018
368

A corrupt countess. A spy in danger. And an assassin at large. The fifth title in Genevieve Cogman's witty and wonderful Invisible Library series, The Mortal Word is a sparkling bookish adventure. Peace talks are always tricky . . . especially when a key diplomat gets stabbed. This murder rudely interrupts a top-secret summit between the warring dragons and Fae, so Librarian-spy Irene is summoned to investigate. In a version of 1890s Paris, Irene and her detective friend Vale must track down the killer - before either the peace negotiations or the city go up in flames. Accusations fly thick and fast. Irene soon finds herself in the seedy depths of the Parisian underworld on the trail of a notoriously warlike Fae, the Blood Countess. However, the evidence against the Countess is circumstantial. Could the assassin - or assassins - be closer than anyone suspects?

Just when you think you know who did what and why, the author throws in another twist and off we go again.

Irene manages to logically deduce all from the minutest of inklings and fails to get herself killed, several times, by the skin of her teeth – usually as she uses them to help her pronounce The Language.

This universe and world building gets ever more complicated in its political scheming and skulduggery, and fast pace action follows.

A very satisfying read with much philosophy about truth and reality to contemplate and ponder.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy
0 Comments

Angel no more

Pestilence Book Cover Pestilence
Volume 1 (The Four Horsemen)
Laura Thalassa
post-apocalyptic, fantasy, dystopian
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(21 Mar. 2018)

They came to earth—Pestilence, War, Famine, Death—four horsemen riding their screaming steeds, racing to the corners of the world. Four horsemen with the power to destroy all of humanity. They came to earth, and they came to end us all. When Pestilence comes for Sara Burn’s town, one thing is certain: everyone she knows and loves is marked for death. Unless, of course, the angelic-looking horseman is stopped, which is exactly what Sara has in mind when she shoots the unholy beast off his steed. Too bad no one told her Pestilence can’t be killed. Now the horseman, very much alive and very pissed off, has taken her prisoner, and he’s eager to make her suffer. Only, the longer she’s with him, the more uncertain she is about his true feelings towards her … and hers towards him. And now, well, Sara might still be able to save the world, but in order to do so, she'll have to sacrifice her heart in the process.

A new series Laura has just started. And started very well. I was
engrossed in this book (take no notice of the cover picture it’s widely
exaggerated).

So it seems that humans have been judged as unworthy and 5 years
before the 4 horsemen awoke and rode across the lands.
Civilisation largely fell and the normal trappings dissolved.
Humans living in the post-apocalyptic world now have irregular
electricity and farming has finished. There is disease and poverty.
But the horsemen rode and then disappeared.
Now Pestilence is back and riding across the land spreading the
Messianic plague and everyone who catches it dies. But humans fight
back and try to kill Pestilence.
And this is the story of one such young woman who tries, and fails, to kill him. And their later adventures.

I was engrossed in this tale and even cried when I read about the
children dying of the plague  – OK I was feeling very emotional that day – but found it well written and the characters believable in that setting.

Hope that ‘War’ – the next in the series is as good – and as long.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com