book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

The Jewel and the Blade

Ruby Callaway Box Set Book Cover Ruby Callaway Box Set
Ruby Callaway - complete series
DN Erikson
New Adult, Urban Fantasy
Independently published
(14 May 2018)

All three Ruby Callaway novels and all four side stories together for the first time—1,100+ pages of snarky urban fantasy perfect for fans of Kate Daniels and The Dresden Files.

It all started with a death: her own.

Ruby Callaway is the most feared supernatural bounty hunter in the world. But even Ruby has limits. And, after two centuries, she might have finally met her match.

Spanning over two hundred years, from her origin story in 1812 (Bone Realm) to her battle against the corporate monolith MagiTekk in the near-future (Lightning Blade), Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection is not your typical urban fantasy.

But, then, Ruby isn't your typical bounty hunter.

Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection contains all three full-length novels in The Ruby Callaway Trilogy: Lightning BladeShadow Flare, and Blood River. It also includes all four of Ruby's side adventures fleshing out her two century backstory, previously only available to subscribers of D.N. Erikson's newsletter. These include two novellas: Bone Realm and Going Home, and two side stories: "Silver Tempest" and "Kentucky Clear."

There are 7 books in this series about Ruby – and her magic blade. And they can be bought as a complete collection.

3 books and 4 novellas – It is important to read them in the correct order as indicated by the author, as the novellas supply background and details about the characters and their interactions for the longer stories. They give you the history and timeline.

I thought that book 1 took quite some time to make sense until I realised that it was set in the very far dystopian future and that there is a time loop playing out; and that the novellas gave you the correct timeline against this time loop.

Cleverly written once you got the hang of it! I enjoyed the stories and found Ruby to be the type of heroine I enjoy reading about – she takes no prisoners..

Overall 4 stars but some of the storylines were a little weak, but still  well worth reading.

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Who is the craziest here?

Crazy Ella Book Cover Crazy Ella
Crazy Ella in Love
Eve Langlais
ghosts, witches, vampires, paranormal
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 2 edition
(8 Oct. 2013)

Ella’s always heard voices and because of them, she ends up institutionalized at a young age. Everyone calls her crazy and she believes she is too until the night she meets a vampire and for the first time in her life, the voices shut up. Zane just wants to enjoy his usual blood buffet, instead he runs into a wisp of a woman who makes him feel emotions he thought long dead. Rescuing her from the insane asylum, he brings her home, determined to seduce and feed from her, a plan that is foiled by ghostly voices determined to keep Ella untouched. But not even poltergeists can stand in the way of a vampire in love.

This is a fun read in the best style of Eve Langlais, where she takes a story trope – the falsely imprisoned female – and gives it a twist. The females are usually full of vim and vigour and Ella is not different. Despite her long time in the Asylum, she has learnt ways to circumvent the worst aspects.

She is fun, although I am not sure about  the explanations about her voices. This is – so far anyway – a short series of just 2 books and this is book 1. No doubt I will read book 2 in due course, but I was not immediately inspired to do so.

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

Just what is a Minion?

Gone with the Minion Book Cover Gone with the Minion
Renee George
Fantasy, Paranormal, devils and demons,
Barkside of the Moon Press
August 17, 2018
222

How do you save your family when they’re about to lose the literal farm? You make a deal with a demon, of course. And then you spend the next one hundred and forty-nine years making him sorry he forced you to sign in blood on the dotted line. 

To save her family, Southern Belle Olivia "Liv" Madder made a bargain with a demon lord and ever since, she’s been haunted...by her three dead sisters, and her own guilty conscience. Every decade, since the deal, Liv has had to find a human willing to bargain their soul with Moloch. If she fails, even once, he’ll not only drag her to Hell, but he'll take her sisters, too. It doesn't mean she can't make Lord Jerkface miserable in the process by removing his lesser demons from the Earthly plane. When her latest contracted soul dies before the bargain is sealed, she has less than four days to find another soul or her own agreement will be broken. But Moloch offers her a get-out-of-Hell-free card: steal an old book once owned by paranormal researcher David Jensen. The same David Jensen she fell in love with sixty years ago but left to protect him and his family. Then Moloch drops the biggest bombshell: David has died. Heartbroken and feeling she has no choice, Liv makes the trip to Sanctum, Missouri only to find David’s grandson has the book. Worse, he’s keeping a mysterious family secret that threatens Moloch, Liv, and her three sisters. What’s a minion to do when her world falls apart? Get Madder than Hell and kick some demon butt.

A fun new snarky heroine and author for me.

Enjoyed the read and new concept even if there were demons and minions – lesser demons who have to do as they are told – and which they usually do but…

 

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

Which day is it?

Yesterday Book Cover Yesterday
Felicia Yap
Fiction, psychological, thrillers, mystery, fantasy
Wildfire
May 3, 2018
432

A brilliant high-concept debut thriller - just how do you solve a murder when you only remember yesterday? the police are at your door. They say that the body of your husband's mistress has been found in the River Cam. They think your husband killed her two days ago. You can't recall what he did that day, because you only remember yesterday. You rely on your diary to tell you where you've been, who you love and what you've done. So, can you trust the police? Can you trust your husband? Can you trust yourself?

In this alternate Britain (world?), there are 2 types of people. They are differentiated by what they can remember in short term memories.  Monos, can only remember what happened today and need a reminder of what happened yesterday; duos can remember both days. Bot people  use Apple idiaries to record the important happenings of each day. Duos are only 30% of the population but hold the best jobs, monos are limited to lower paid often manual labour. The two types don’t marry each other, except that the couple in the story have – and for 20 years.

I found myself strangely reluctant to read to the end as the novelist is clearly writing it as a political statement – see the section about the 10 things you must know about a world where people would have full short term memory recall. Not all of which statements I agree with, but some certainly resonate.

The premise of the novel about the issues and short term memory just didn’t grab me as a metaphor for religion, race, ethnicity, skin colour or whatever Yap was intending it to be. I prefer these stories to be more straightforward.

Share This:

book review/Books/Fantasy/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

Plenty of cats here…

A Devilish Disappearance: Book Cover A Devilish Disappearance:
Cats, Ghosts, and Avocado Toast #3
NM Howell
A hilariously witchy reverse harem mystery
Dungeon Media Corp.
(13 July 2018)
Kindle

An upcoming wedding, a disappearing body, and three totally smitten cats.

Price Jones, with the help of her three furry housemates and spirited landlady, has finally launched her thrift shop and juicebar. But when a dead body appears then disappears from their favorite neighborhood coffee spot, mayhem sweeps through Salem once again.

With the wedding of her douchebag ex-fiancee looming ahead, Price Jones has enough on her mind besides solving yet another suspicious disappearance.

But with the guys at her side, her new and improved self is ready to take on just about anything... even if she has to put on a dress to do it.

3  books and a  novella in this collection by Howell but only the novella has the ‘action’ as regards what you might call an adult theme of a reverse harem as suggested.

That said, I found the books gently amusing, cosy but does contain swearing, hints and innuendoes.

That said, her 3 ‘cats’ who are shifters or witch familiars if you prefer, are called, Finn, Tom and Pussy. Yes – he really is….

 

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com