Don’t go to Florida….

Lake Morality Book Cover Lake Morality
The Forgotten Coast Florida Suspense Series Book #8
Dawn Lee McKenna
Florida, crime, suspense,
Sweet Tea Press
January 28, 2018
264

People get up to all kinds of mischief out at Lake Morality.When Kristen Morgan abandoned her baby girl in a locked car, Lt. Maggie Redmond was angry. Though the baby was uninjured, things could have been much worse.When the mother¿s body is found two days later, in a lake far outside town on the road to the county prison, Maggie suddenly has more than child endangerment or a missing person on her hands.Kristen Morgan¿s family and doctor say that she was depressed and possibly not taking her medication, and that she¿d talked about suicide in the past, but Maggie and her fiancé, former Sheriff Wyatt Hamilton, aren¿t convinced.When evidence of homicide surfaces, Maggie must discover who wanted a young mother dead, and why.The greatly-anticipated 8th book in the Forgotten Coast Florida Suspense series has plenty of page-turning action and suspense, along with its trademark coastal atmosphere, rich characterization and dry humor.

There are now 8 books in this series and Lake Morality is the latest.

I’m reviewing ALL 8, as I read them one after the other as I found the location really foreign and yet based in the USA, to me as a UK person, and very interesting to learn about.

The location is the Florida Panhandle, aka The Forgotten Coast. Home to locals who traditionally fished shrimp and oysters from small villages, and whose livelihood has been largely ruined by the various oil spills in this area of the coast. It sounds as unpleasant to live there as I have found the rest of Florida to be – very hot and humid most of the year, and lots of bitey insects! (I stopped counting after my bites got in the 3 figures after a week)

They are not necessarily what you might call full length as novels, but not short enough to be novellas. Long enough to develop a good story-line and come to a conclusion.

Nicely written. Gentle without being cosy but not full-on noir either.

I found the descriptions vivid and the conversations chimed with reality and the devastation of the local economy is clear but without sentimentality.

The amount of sweet tea they drink though, must surely rot their teeth!

 

Share This:

Witchy things happening in a plant based town

Wisteria Witches Book Cover Wisteria Witches
Wisteria Witches Mysteries (5 books)
Angela Pepper
paranormal, mystery, romance
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(5 May 2017)
Kindle

Zara Riddle moved to the small town of Wisteria for a quiet, simple, safe life. Then she discovers she's a witch. Zara can move objects with her mind, shoot lightning from her hands, and talk to ghosts. So much for a quiet, simple, safe life!

Really enjoyable kooky LOL series –

A very young mother has a very intelligent serious, inquisitive child – and they (almost) grow up together. Until one day, Mum discovers she has latent magical powers that she has trouble coming to terms with.

Wisteria is a strange town. Inhabited by strange people – and dare I say it – creatures. And strange things happen that the 3 ‘Z’ gals (Aunt, Niece and Great-Niece) seem to find themselves in the middle of.

It is worth reading all 5 of the books

Share This:

A Perfect Death – but for whom?

Perfect Death Book Cover Perfect Death
DI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, female sleuths
Avon Books
January 22, 2018
448

'Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read.' Woman's Way Magazine Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge. There's no easy way to die... Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task...

A spooky and sinister tale about a murderer who is very individualistic. He is looking to provide the Perfect Death for his victims and each attempt brings him closer to his aim. And each victim is chosen for very specific reasons that make sense to him but not necessarily – at least in the beginning – to the police targetted with his capture.

The setting, Edinburgh, adds to the atmosphere as we start on Arthur’s Mount – which is credited with a lot of spooky happenings.

I  thought the portrayal of the police especially Callanach were good and having read Helen Fields before, I was not disappointed.

Share This:

Looking for Perfection

A Perfect Death Book Cover A Perfect Death
DI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
Avon / HQ
January 22, 2018
448

'Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read.' Woman's Way Magazine Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge. There's no easy way to die... Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task...

A spooky and sinister tale about a murderer who is very individualistic. He is looking to provide the Perfect Death for his victims and each attempt brings him closer to his aim. And each victim is chosen for very specific reasons that make sense to him but not necessarily – at least in the beginning – to the police targetted with his capture.

The setting, Edinburgh, adds to the atmosphere as we start on Arthur’s Mount – which is credited with a lot of spooky happenings.

I  thought the portrayal of the police especially Callanach were good and having read Helen Fields before, I was not disappointed.

Share This:

What Colour are the Bodies?

White Bodies Book Cover White Bodies
Jane Robins
crime, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths, psychological
HQ
(28 Dec. 2017)

‘He’s so handsome and clever and romantic. I just wished he hadn’t forced Tilda under the water and held her there so long.’

Callie loves Tilda. She’s her sister, after all. And she’s beautiful and successful.

Tilda loves Felix. He’s her husband. Successful and charismatic, he is also controlling, suspicious and, possibly, dangerous. Still, Tilda loves Felix.

And Callie loves Tilda. Very, very much.

So she’s determined to save her. But the cost could destroy them all…

Sometimes we love too much.

The Stranger on a Train novel that isn’t.

The story is told through the eyes of Callie and through her journal that she writes in obsessively. All that she knows, or think she knows, about her sister – her twin, as she follows her and tracks her life. The clever twin. The beautiful twin. The tragic twin. The abused twin. Or is she?

And then Callie finds a site for abused women or men and gets drawn into deep conspiracy theories and perhaps even murder.

Callie also suffers from Pica  in relation to her sister’s objects – she thinks by eating these items her sister is somehow drawn into her own essence it would be appear.

So this is a strange book but a compelling read. You follow Callie through all her different beliefs and her obsession with her sister’s life and are drawn into her  worldview. Where nothing is quite what it might appear – or is it?

Share This: