Books
0 Comments

I want a kitten!

The Wallflower Wager Book Cover The Wallflower Wager
Girl Meets Duke
by Tessa Dare
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 13 Aug 2019

The addictive new Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

They call him the Duke of Ruin.
To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she’s set her heart and mind on saving him…

Not if he ruins her first.

What if you really really don’t want to be married and are waiting out your Seasons until your parents are too bored to keep paying for them? But you would really like to keep every sad or hurt animal that you find. Especially kittens – lots of them. And will even go so far as to rescue a man!

But then your parents decide to do something about you? Send you away… because you are not really trying to get a husband are you? Or will you try?

I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.

I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

And sail away

The Backpacking Housewife: The Adventure Continues Book Cover The Backpacking Housewife: The Adventure Continues
#2 The Backpacking Housewife
Janice Horton
Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
HarperImpulse
(19 Sept. 2019)

They say home is really where the heart is… Lori Anderson should be bursting with happiness. Since leaving behind her life as a housewife to embark on an incredible backpacking adventure she’s met a man she’s fallen head over heels in love with and is living aboard a yacht in the turquoise waters of the sun-drenched Caribbean. She should be instagramming photos of her swimming with dolphins and sipping cocktails at sunset….and yet Lori finds herself desperately missing her grown-up family, and her normal London life. But when she’s unexpectedly called home, reality hits hard. The urban bustle she used to find exciting is now just exhausting – and why doesn’t it ever stop raining? If there’s one thing Lori has learnt it’s that you have to fight for what might make you truly happy – so Lori is determined not to let her chance of a little slice of paradise slip through her fingers….

This is the latest in this series but I was new to the books and story.

To summarise. Our housewife had put her career on hold to support her husband and raise the children and then he ran off with her best friend – after her finding them in her bed together.

Fed-up she  filled a backpack and went on an adventure for a year or more. Working in eco-centres; helping animals in sanctuaries and eventually finding a rather dishy man who took her on his research ship as the housewife (! Irony) of the ship to cook etc.  They fall in love and this part of her story begins. With nefarious brothers, idyllic islands, butterflies and adventures.

My main issue was the section at the end of the book – after all the insect life had been killed by spraying with the relevant poison, how come small green butterflies survived? So for me, the ending was trite and spoilt it.

I’m giving this 3 stars for not thinking through the ending well enough.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Eat up!

A Slice of Magic Book Cover A Slice of Magic
The Little Magic Pie Shop #1
A. G. Mayes
Romance , Women's Fiction
Harper Impulse and Killer Reads
Pub Date 25 Jan 2019

A plea she can’t ignore, a town of secrets and a magical recipe for love – or disaster…

Susanna Daniels has spent over twenty years wondering why her beloved Aunt Erma disappeared from her life. When Aunt Erma leaves a voicemail asking for help at her pie shop, Susanna thinks she’s finally going to get the answers she’s been waiting for. But when Susanna arrives in the small town of Hocus Hills, Aunt Erma is gone, leaving only a short note, her mischievous dog, Mitzy, and a pie shop with a mind of its own to run…

The first book in The Little Magic Pie Shop series

Well the name of the small town should have given the game away – Hocus Hills – really?!

How do you keep people happy eating pies everyday and yet not worry about putting on weight? Especially if you have the Gym owner badgering everyone to lose weight and win the challenge cup that year?

And then what happens when your estranged aunt asks you to come and help and then disappears? And you really don’t know how to make pies? But are willing to learn..

A cosy story with a bit of humour and mystery. And some magic.

A sweet, charming and magical small town romance for 2019!

4 stars.

Share This:

Books/book review/Romance/net galley/Tea and Cake
0 Comments

Books and Coffee – great!

Little Book Cafe: Amy's Story Book Cover Little Book Cafe: Amy's Story
Little Book Cafe
Georgia Hill
women's fiction romance
harper impulse
19 Oct 2018

Escape to the seaside for a new three-part series for fans of The Canal Boat Cafe and Willow Cottage

Amy, the manager of The Little Book Café, is a hopeless romantic who had her heart broken, but quietly refuses to give up on love.

With her friends Tash and Emma, not to mention their shared love of books and delicious cake from the café next door, Amy might just find the courage to fall for a real life romance this time…

Amy's Story is the final instalment of The Little Book Cafe series so wrap up warm this Autumn and treasure this wonderful book.

This cafe is actually next door to the bookshop even though you can purchase coffee and cakes inside the bookshop. I found this rather confusing as I could not decide where the coffee came from.. but as the premises were jointly owned..

This book is set in a fictional south coast UK town which is all too nice and neat for reality – where these towns are struggling and not so nice any more – but some of the economic difficulties were mentioned as were the lack of anything for youngsters to do – which led them to petty vandalism.

 A cosy book that lacked any ‘bite’ with a very ‘soft’ style. Very much in older style of traditional romances which include a Cinderella hiding from the world in baggy clothes etc with a weight problem – she thinks. And a rescuer.

Sweet but could have been better.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Way to spend the ‘Festive’ Season






Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe Book Cover




Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe




Comfort Food Cafe





Debbie Johnson





Christmas stories




HarperImpulse




October 20, 2016




208



Becca Fletcher has always hated Christmas, but she has her reasons for being Little Miss Grinch. Now, though, she can't avoid her version of ho-ho-hell because she's traveling to the Comfort Food Café to spend the festive season with her sister Laura and her family. She's expecting mulled win, 24-hour Christmas movie marathons and all kinds of very merry torture. Little does Becca know that the Comfort Food Café is like no other place on earth. Perched on a snow-covered hill, it's a place full of friendship where broken hearts can heal, and where new love can blossom. It's where Becca's Christmas miracle really could happen--if only she can let it ..."--

This is the 3rd  book in the Comfort Cafe series that I have read and still found it enjoyable in its genre.

Becca, the Xmas Grinch, just has to change her attitude when she comes to stay with her sister at Xmas. Especially when she finds out just how irresistible Surfer Sam the Coastguard and Shore Ranger really is..

So the cafe and its inhabitants of the mythical Budbury cast a spell again and change a life for the better and we all feel hugged again in Cherie’s vast bosom and happily drinking Laura’s Hot Chocolate….

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com