Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Something Wicked this way comes

The Wicked Cometh Book Cover The Wicked Cometh
Laura Carlin
lesbian romance, historical, Victorian
Hodder & Stoughton
(8 Feb. 2018)

'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort 
because we ARE the bad sort . . .'

'This newspaper has taken note that the past month has been remarkable for the prevalence of cases where men, women and children are declared missing. Scarcely a week passes without the occurrence of an incident of this type' - The Morning HeraldTuesday 13 September 1831

Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and the city's vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.

When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock.

But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking. . .

So dark and depressing to read I had to stop for a while and read something lighter. Compelling but…

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Who can you believe?

He Said/She Said Book Cover He Said/She Said
Erin Kelly
psychological, mystery, thriller
Hodder & Stoughton
(20 April 2017)
hardback
416

The perfect read for fans of Disclaimer, In a Dark Dark Wood and Apple Tree Yard. Who do you believe? The path of every eclipse can be predicted from now until the end of time. Kit and Laura, young and in love, pledge to travel the globe and see as many as possible together. They have no idea of the darkness that will follow. At a festival in Cornwall, in the hushed moments after the first eclipse they share, Laura interrupts a man and a woman. She knows she saw something terrible. But the man denies it. Later, in a panic, Laura tells a little white lie - which changes four lives irreparably. When the victim turns up on their doorstep, the truth seems to vanish ever further into shadow. As gratitude spills into dangerous obsession, Kit and Laura simply have to run. But they can't hide forever. With another eclipse on the horizon, the past is closing in on them again. Telling Kit the truth will cost Laura her marriage. But keeping the secret could cost them both their lives. And the person they fear the most knows exactly where they'll be...

This book starts with a palpable air of menace.

Who is Beth that they are both so afraid of? What did she do to them that they changed their names and have hidden from the digital world? Why is … so anxious? What caused it?

A different style of writing that causes psychological shivers down your spine

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com