How many cops can you cope with?

The Hitwoman and the 7 Cops Book Cover The Hitwoman and the 7 Cops
(Confessions of a Slightly Neurotic Hitwoman)
B Lynn, Parisa Zolfaghari
contemporary fiction, romance, humour,assassins
Kindle

All reluctant hitwoman Maggie Lee really wants is to have a calm, normal life.

She doesn’t want to go around killing people for money.
She doesn’t want her sister to be terrified of her ex-pimp.
She doesn’t want her Dad to disappear from the Witness Protection program.

But Maggie rarely gets what she wants.

Instead, she finds herself trying to keep everyone out of trouble.

With the help of her ragtag team of supporters: her semi-psychic friend, a handsome, charming con man, her almost-lover cop/hitman mentor, her curious Southern Belle cat, her haughty lizard, and her sweet, but dumb Doberman, Maggie does her best to stay a step ahead of Law Enforcement, while helping those she loves.

​But will Maggie end up being the one who needs to be saved?

I have read some of the earlier books in this series and really enjoyed them.

But for me, this book suffered from too much unexplained back story, from which events impacted on current events. Too complicated…

I got rather lost as to what was happening, why, and who these people were.

It would have been better to add this story onto the previous book, it didn’t stand-alone.

Share This:

Make those skills work for you

HOT PURSUIT. Book Cover HOT PURSUIT.
REBECCA. FREEBORN
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, mystery
Pantera Press
(28 Mar. 2018)

A missing rockstar, a suspected murderer on the run, and a chase through some of the world’s most romantic destinations

Sarah Burrowes is left with a shattered heart and a huge mortgage after the love of her life abruptly runs out on her.

An aspiring journalist, Sarah spends her days slaving away at a gossip magazine—far from her dream job.

Heartbroken and fed up, Sarah decides to take her career by the reins and lands herself the assignment of a lifetime in Europe. But there’s a catch—her boss pairs her with gorgeous but egocentric photographer, Nick, who just happens to be her ex’s best friend.

But when Sarah’s assignment takes a darker turn, she discovers there’s more to this story than meets the eye. Is she ready to risk everything to get the scoop?

A kick-ass heroine here in a really nicely written fun story. So our heroine is exiting – still – a bad relationship with a not so good guy, when she finds herself travelling for her work – being a journalist.

Except that her boss doesn’t really think she is suited to the job as her previous career experience (despite her degree) had been in beauty therapy ie hair-dressing, and that was her current writing slot at the mag.

She gets sent abroad to investigate with a really hot camera man and things take the usual course. But are complicated by the rock star she manages to befriend and various shady activities. Nothing goes right, but works out well in the end.

Based in Australia, it makes a nice change of dialect for me, and brings back memories of my visit there too.

Share This:

Not that clumsy surely?

The Clumsy Clairvoyant Book Cover The Clumsy Clairvoyant
(The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 3)
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Grace Banner can’t date.

Well, she can, but it isn’t any fun because she can see the future and occasionally hear the thoughts of others. Plus...she’s an enormous clutz. As in she can barely even lift a glass without disaster striking. In desperation, Grace turns to the mysterious woman at The Deadication Dating Agency who promises to find her a match.

Lucas Marsh isn’t interested in dating, but when his brother purchases him a membership to a dating agency, he humors him. Just once. But when he meets Grace he can’t help but be interested. Until he finds out about her powers. And her complete inability to walk without running into something. Lucas is a man with secrets and dating a clairvoyant is out of the question. He ditches her on their very first date, leaving Grace alone and rejected.

But one thing Lucas doesn’t know is that the mysterious force behind the town’s agency isn’t ready to admit defeat. Her spotless track record isn’t going down just because of a few little secrets...

I really like

SE Babin’s writing style, especially her snappy speech for her heroines when they meet douche bag males!

But for our heroine it is not always good to know when bad things happen. Even worse for you to black out and not remember what you said.

Especially as it seems you are prophesying that some bad things are going to happen to this magic own that Portia established. This fun town where all sorts of fantastic species meet and fall in love to a design that only Portia knows, and which is why she has established the dating agency that this series is based around.

Babin is currently one of my favourite authors.  And I am reading lots of her series.

Share This:

You’d swear too….

Why Mummy Swears Book Cover Why Mummy Swears
The struggles of an exasperated Mum
Gill Sims
Biography & Autobiography, humour, literature
HarperCollins
June 18, 2018
352

Why Mummy Swears is the much anticipated new novel from Gill Sims, author of the hilarious Why Mummy Drinks and online sensation Peter and Jane. It's every parents' nightmare - the start of the school holidays - and instead of sitting in the sun, reading a book over a cold, crisp glass of Pinot Grigio, Mummy has two bored moppets to attend to. After frantically booking sports camps, child minder slots, not to mention time off work, Mummy is exhausted. But this is only the beginning... After being dragged to join the school's PTA in the new term by an annoyingly kind-spirited neighbour, Mummy is stuck with organising the Christmas Fayre and pleasing all the overly disapproving parents. In combination with getting to know her father's surprise new glamorous (and much younger) wife, and being forced to spend more time with her narcissistic mother, life isn't cutting her much of a break. What more could possibly happen?

I giggled, giggled, and giggled some more. So many episodes rang true – if exaggerated – and I could guess that they were based on actual events, not just for her, but for us as well.

I too tried to feed my first child organic, home cooked mush – and he rejected it in favour of jars. I even tried to hide my own food in the jars but he spotted the difference.. my lovingly cooked food – many hours spent following recipes – didn’t fool him one bit. Jars from factories were preferred.

And the cost of school holidays racked up a significant amount with pony camps, adventuring in Wales, and so on for us too.

I am left wondering what could have been in her app ‘Why Mummy Drinks’ that made her so much money – I suspect a lot of people would really like one to exist! (reality check – it doesn’t exist, I know, I looked for it!)

 

Share This:

Not as good?

Crazy in Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshoop Book Cover Crazy in Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshoop
Lonely Hearts Bookshop
Annie Darling
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
HarperCollins
March 19, 2018
400

'Sweet, funny and lovely!' Marian Keyes A romantic treat, perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan! You can go crazy searching for the one... Nina is addicted to bad boys, the wilder, the better. Despite her friends' misgivings, she firmly believes that true love only takes one form: wild, full of passion and fire and punctuated by tempestuous arguments. She won't settle for anything less. But years of swiping right has uncovered nothing but losers and flings, and Nina is no closer to finding her One True Love than she ever was. And when a man from her past walks into the shop Nina knows she has nothing to fear: the geekiest boy in her school has become a boring suit with no chance of making her heart go pitter patter. Which just shows how little Nina knows about her heart...

This is the next in the series for the bookshop, and it is planned for there to be a story for all the main characters.

However, in my opinion, the first book worked, but this one didn’t.

Partly, I suppose, because we knew some of the story from book one, but also, I didn’t find it a compelling read. I shan’t read the next ones in the series.

 

Share This: