From the Kabbalah to now

Unlikeable Demon Hunter Book Cover Unlikeable Demon Hunter
Nava Katz #1
Deborah Wilder
urban fantasy, mythology, romance, humour
Te Da Media
(3 April 2017)

The age-old story of what happens when a foul-mouthed, romance-impaired heroine with no edit button and a predilection for hot sex is faced with her worst nightmare-a purpose.

Ari Katz is intelligent, driven, and will make an excellent demon hunter once initiated into the Brotherhood of David. However, this book is about his twin Nava: a smart-ass, self-cultivated hot mess, who is thrilled her brother is stuck with all the chosen one crap.

When Nava half-drunkenly interrupts Ari's induction ceremony, she expects to be chastised. What she doesn't expect is to take her brother's place among the-until now-all-male demon hunters. Even worse? Her infuriating leader is former rock star Rohan Mitra.

Too bad Rohan's exactly what Nava's always wanted: the perfect bad boy fling with no strings attached, because he may also be the one to bring down her carefully erected emotional shields. That's as dangerous as all the evil fiends vying for the bragging rights of killing the only female ever chosen for Demon Club.

Odds of survival: eh.
Odds of having a very good time with Rohan before she bites it: much better.

The mysterious world of the Orthodox Jewish religion is revealed – in all its (un?)necessary traditions. We also find out about some of the (supposed) Kabbalah  ideas…

According to Jewish belief, the demons were created on the sixth day in the afternoon. The demons are messengers from hell, their appearance is just like any normal person, but their legs are chicken feet, there are demons whose legs are legs of a goat. The role of demons in our world is to frighten the person, try to damage him, particularly mental damage. (http://www.p-kabbalah.com)

From the traditions (as described in the novel) we learn that King David (Bible’s King of Israel) organised a group of men to fight the Demons that he had encountered, and who lived alongside the human world, mostly ‘glamoured’ so that they could be detected. The Demon Hunters were given the name Rasha, and since the time of King David all Rashas are descended from the original cohort – through the female line of course, but always male. Until along comes a set of twins, male and female, where the male twin is identified by a Rabbi as being a Rasha in training and thus is set to learn how to fight and destroy the various Demons etc.

At the age of 20 all Initiates have their final ceremony and become fighters in the secret army (disguised as a Personal Protection company). Only a hiccup occurs. The female twin get the magic! Oops you might say as never before had there been a female Rasha (but then never had any females been tested so…).

The story of how our female Rasha learns her ‘trade’ and sasses all the Rabbis and other Demon Hunters makes for a fun and enjoyable romp. With a fair amount of eroticism as she is quite a lusty girl! Not to mention that she likes food and alcohol but her ‘work’ ensures that she stays fit and trim!

 

Share This:

When you need to Question

36 Questions that changed my mind about you Book Cover 36 Questions that changed my mind about you
Vicki Grant
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Hot Key Books
(19 Oct. 2017)

36 questions guaranteed to make two strangers fall head over heels in love with each other? What's not to like. A clever, wry, funny, rom-com. For fans of The Rosie Project.

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by the New York Times and its "Modern Love" column, this contemporary YA/crossover is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park, Jo Jo Moyes, Carrie Hope Fletcher and Cecila Ahern.

Two random strangers. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love. 

Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for taking part in the psychology study (in Paul's case it is the $40, in Hildy's the reasons are significantly more complex). The study poses the simple question: Can love be engineered between two random strangers?

Hildy and Paul must ask each other 36 questions, ranging from "What is your most terrible memory?" to "When did you last sing to yourself?" By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they've laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back again. They've also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love?

A book that started really well but failed to deliver on its initial promise.

The psychology experiment was well described but the story it finally told was not as gripping and in my opinion their issues were not worth the effort of discovering the answers.

I debated as to whether to class this as a 3 or a 2, but will give the benefit  of the experiment being genuine and one that interests me, and go for a 3.

Share This:

When a man diets.. or doesn’t!

Sex, Lies and Chocolate Cakes Book Cover Sex, Lies and Chocolate Cakes
Steven Morris
humour, contemporary, love, sex and marriage
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(1 Jan. 2015)

After accidentally exposing himself to his son’s girlfriend, and realising that because of his over-hanging stomach, she couldn’t actually see anything, Eric Baxter decides it’s time he went on a diet. Unfortunately, due to an exercise allergy, and an eating obsession, it isn’t going to be as easy as he first thought. Throw in a battle of wits with his neighbour’s cat over toilet rights to his garden, a son who lives in the shed and dreams of being discovered on The X Factor, a stroppy teenage daughter with a Wayne Rooney fixation, a wife who doesn’t want to sleep with him anymore, and an amorous work colleague who does, and you have all the ingredients to Sex, Lies and Chocolate Cakes: A delicious laugh out loud comedy.

It is really great to have a male writer writing about his male character’s weight and dieting issues.

I found this book funny but with pathos as the lure of the cake, the biscuits, pork pies and even the burgers undo every effort our hero makes – even using his cycling machine.

He does manage to resist the lure however of the sex-hungry receptionist at work – even if only just.

Fun reading with a well portrayed central character.

My husband who also read it, found it punchy, funny, and insightful and would like to read more of this author.

 

Share This:

When plans go awry

Best Laid Plans Book Cover Best Laid Plans
Kathy Lette
humour, family, contemporary
Black Swan
(8 Feb. 2018)

TO DO LIST
1) Buy hummus
2) Pay Pilates teacher
3) Find prostitute for son...

When it comes to sex, even the best laid plans come unstuck – in the stickiest way possible

As a crossword-addicted English teacher, Lucy never expected to be arrested for kerb-crawling. But her autistic twenty-year-old son Merlin is desperate to lose his virginity, and a prostitute seems like the only option . . . only Lucy picks up an undercover policewoman instead.

Let off with a suspended sentence, Lucy resigns herself to the fact that her son will never have sex, let alone find love… until the morning she miraculously discovers Merlin in bed with a girl.

But is tough, tattooed Kayleigh just taking Merlin for a ride? If so, why? And what has brought Lucy’s snake of an ex-husband wriggling back into their lives?

As all her best laid plans for Merlin’s happiness chaotically unravel, will Lucy ever be able to cut her son’s psychological umbilical cord and start to live her own life? And will the funny, quirky and marvellously magical Merlin ever find real love?

With plenty of comic twists and emotional turns, Kathy Lette’s riotous yet heartrending novel tackles the taboo subject of sex for the ‘differently abled’ – and shows us that when it comes to sex, we all have special needs …

A roller coaster ride for the reader of emotions – from empathy to astonishment to incredulity. And even laughter. But the humour is often dark.

Autism is always a challenge for the carers especially as it is often accompanied by other issues as so well portrayed here, including the inability to judge the appropriate behaviour in social situations.

Loved the book.

Share This:

Accidentally a Goddess?

Accidentally Aphrodite Book Cover Accidentally Aphrodite
Accidentally #10
Dakota Cassidy
paranormal, mythology, romance, humour
Book Boutiques
January 26, 2016
250

"Sweet Baby Jesus in booty shorts! Thank you, Dakota Cassidy. I'd read the damn phone book if you wrote it!" New York Times bestselling author, Robyn Peterman. Dakota Cassidy, USA Today bestselling author of The Accidental Dragon, brings you a laugh-out-loud romantic comedy Accidentally Aphrodite, Book 10 in the Accidentally Paranormal series. Get swept away to Greece in this international romp where you'll meet a few Gods and Goddesses, and fall in love with Quinn Morris as she transforms from a heartbroken mess to the goddess of love. Mythology buff Quinn Morris has always wanted to visit Greece, where her inner hardcore romantic envisioned proposing to her boyfriend. And she's finally here--with her friend Ingrid. She might not have found love at the Parthenon, thanks to her cheating ex, but she has found big boobies...and swirly purple eyes...and sparkling skin. Oh, and Greek hottie Khristos, who claims to be descended from a goddess and swears Quinn's the new Aphrodite. With help from Khristos, and support from Ingrid's employers--Nina, Wanda, and Marty--Quinn has to learn all the tricks of the matchmaking trade, STAT, lest she has her new friend Cupid sticking arrows in all the wrong places. All while dealing with her man-hating mother, guarding her own heart from Khristos, and protecting herself from an invisible foe who might want to snatch Quinn's newfound powers from her--dead or alive. Content notes: fantasy, paranormal, romantic comedy, contemporary romance, deities, Gods & Goddesses, vacation romance, Greek vacation romance.

Aphrodite is the Goddess of Love and decides on who are True Mates and tells #Cupid where to shoot the arrow.

This is the 10th book in the series and clearly the author has run out of really good ideas of how the ‘Accident’ can happen, who to, and what the outcome will be.

I got the first 2 chapters as a Freebie in the Interview Book by Dakota and bought the book on the strength of them. But they were the only good parts – sorry Dakota. I failed to finish the book as it failed to raise even a snigger and seemed to lack action and story.

Share This: