Death helps romance

The Nerdy Necromancer Book Cover The Nerdy Necromancer
The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 1
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Helen Reaper has a weird relationship with the dead. As in she can bring anyone or anything back to life, so she’s constantly bombarded by people begging her to restore their loved ones, their pet fish, that cute girl who fell off a building while taking a selfie. Super. Annoying. So Helen becomes a necessary introvert and a homebody, choosing to absorb herself in books instead of real life.

The Deadication Dating Agency, the mysterious matchmaking service in her town of Midnight Cove, comes to her in the form of a mysterious letter and a cute little puppy.

They know someone who’s already dead who won’t mind her talent one little bit.

Can a woman who raises the dead find a love that stays alive?

SE Banin writes funny stories about romance with heroines who are a little bit dotty

(and which I find fun to read as a result)

and in this book she is nerdy and with a strange ability. Necromancer with a difference, she can bring back a person or creature. Make them alive again.

This is not something you want to advertise too widely as you will get bombarded with people who want to bring back dead pets and people whether for love or revenge…

Thus her dating life has suffered… but a Dating Agency has her in their sights… and so the story begins. They want to help her find her Soulmate and….

Share This:

Off to see what really happened

And the Rest Is History Book Cover And the Rest Is History
St Mary's Chronicles
Jodi Taylor
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, sci-fi
Accent Press Ltd
April 13, 2017
320

No one knows quite how, but Max and her baby are safe at last. No one knows quite how, but Peterson has persuaded Dr Foster to marry him. No one knows quite how, but Markham's marital status remains unknown. Certainly no one knows quite how a twelve-foot-high teapot has mysteriously materialised on the South Lawn, but it has. But they do know that Clive Ronan is back. They do know that he hates them and that this time he has good cause. And they do know that he will bring death and destruction in his wake. Follow the disaster magnets of St Mary's from the Egyptian desert to the Battle of Stamford Bridge, and from Hastings to the Sack of Constantinople in this, the eighth book in The Chronicles of St Mary's.

I love this series – which is not about time travel – not at all – it is all about viewing events in contemporaneous time. which means using a pod to travel to certain co-ordinates in time and space and tying to find out what really happened.

The problem for St Mary’s – the ‘academic’ institute which houses the historians that undertake this – is that something tends to go wrong. Regularly!  Hence the need to have them accompanied at all times by Security guys and to have a fully functioning hospital ward or 2.

I spend most of these books giggling. Snorting. and with tears running done my face from the hilarious escapades. Especially, when they get bored and decide to recreate (the R&D dept) events. Like Cleopatra and the carpet. Or various war machines , or…

Max, the heroine, is relentlessly practical. Once things have gone awry. Her reports are a work of Art. And then we have the Muse of History popping up to ensure that this timeline remains the same – even though there have been time wars.

So these books are well written. Humorous. Full of real (researched) history and some quite unbelievable happenstances that add a certain panache to the stories.

Share This:

Who loves you?

You are Loved Book Cover You are Loved
Jo Platt
romance, contemporary, romantic comedy
Canelo
(14 Aug. 2017)
Kindle

Author Grace Waterhouse has hit rock bottom. Her ex-husband has just had a baby with his new partner and her latest novel is… well, the less said the better.

Desperate for distraction, Grace impulsively takes on a friend’s cleaning job, parachuting herself into a new social circle including an eccentric OAP, a heartbroken twenty-something and one James Brooke, an enigmatic lawyer with an unblinking stare.

Add to this mix an anxious literary agent, a hairdresser who doesn’t mince words and a newly repentant ex-husband, and Grace's career break proves to be more breathless than breather.

They say that all you need is love – but what if that's the one thing you haven't got?

The heart-warming, funny and unputdownable new novel from bestseller Jo Platt is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Anna Bell and Joanna Bolouri.

A light-hearted, feel good read, ideal for beach-side reading, especially if the world is getting you down.

Not high fiction but you don’t always want to read serious stuff do you? And sometimes, you need to know that other people are just as messy, or have lost things under their bed, or have idiotic coincidences happen to them – just like you.

I do have a bit of a thing though, against writers writing about writers. I know that writers do have writers’ block from my own experience but still, would you willingly clean other people’s houses for a friend? For months? Just because you can’t write?

But don’t let me put you off – the fact that I wouldn’t do it is irrelevant.

Share This:

When love is about prejudice

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop Book Cover True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop
The Lonely Hearts Bookshop
Annie Darling
humour, contemporary, love, sex and marriage
August 24, 2017

It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise - not to fall in love with each other…

Or is it Pride?

Anyway, lots of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice quotes for each chapter which tell you what the main thrust will be. Nicely played.

Oh, and it is set in a part of London we love – Bloomsbury. Just around the British Museum and which is full of blue plaques to famous people.

I really enjoyed this book. Partly for its literary references but also because I found the writing to be warm, funny, and good-natured. I too like some solitude and find parties stressful, and again because I was brought up in a very busy household with no place that was away from everyone and with some constant noise.

The story echoes the warning I give to many people about not trying for 4th child of another sex when you’ve got 3 the same. My GP did that and ended up with twins – 5 boys (!!!!),; and here it is 5 girls. Which is worse I wonder? Hormones versus smelly feet and constant washing of muddy sports gear?  Any comments anyone?

Share This:

How many dogs are there?

Double Dog Dare Book Cover Double Dog Dare
Davis Way Crime Caper
Gretchen Archer
Fiction, humour, literary fiction, cosy, mystery
Henery Press
March 20, 2018
274

Hot diggety dog, the fur is flying in USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer's latest. It's not just good, it's "Best in Show!" - Janet Evanovich Problem #1: Bootsy Howard Davis Way Cole lives a (relatively) quiet, (somewhat) simple, and (completely) witch-free life with her husband and twin daughters on the 29th floor of the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. Until Bootsy Howard shows up demanding a million dollars. Problem #2: Princess Smucker What was marketing thinking when they booked the Southern Canine Association's annual dog show at the Bellissimo? And what was Davis thinking when she agreed to let a dog stay with her? For a week? In her home? The home where she lives a (fairly) quiet, (reasonably) simple, and (totally) manicotti-free life? Problem #3: Leverette Urleen, MD The last thing Davis needs is an unsolicited house call from Pine Apple, Alabama's latest excuse for a doctor. But since he's there, considering she has a dead body on ice, she might as well have him determine the cause of death. Which he doesn't. Nor is he any help finding the body when Davis loses it. On top of all that, he won't leave, further disrupting Davis's (more or less) quiet, (to a certain degree) simple, and (utterly) seersucker-free life. A life that's about to go to the dogs. Unless Davis can learn a few new tricks. Fast. Guaranteed woofs, the best thing since the bone, take Double Dog Dare for a walk and you're sure to unleash a treat. - - - - - - - - - - - - - DOUBLE DOG DARE by Gretchen Archer - A Henery Press Mystery. If you like one, you'll probably like them all.

A comic caper!

I ended reading this book with an ear-worm – from Vree’s prayers and hymns….! I also giggled my way through the last half of the book – as things got more and more ridiculous! I giggled with the story not against it.

This is book 7 in this series and even though I’v e not read any of the previous stories, I didn’t need to. I met and understood all the characters and their backgrounds as they appeared and interacted.

A fun, lively, humorous story. Not heavy reading but good for an afternoon sunning oneself on the beach or in the garden.

I want to read book 8 and see what these crazy gals get up to next!

Share This: