The Moor is a cold and lonely place to die

On Laughton Moor Book Cover On Laughton Moor
Dect. Sgt. Catherine Bishop #1
Lisa Hartley
crime, detectives, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(11 Feb. 2015)

Detective Sergeant Catherine Bishop has an enigmatic new boss, Detective Inspector Jonathan Knight. How he will adapt to life in Lincolnshire after years in the Met is anyone's guess. When the body of a well known local thug is discovered, an intriguing message found on his battered corpse raises unwelcome questions. Is DS Bishop herself being accused of the grisly murder, or does the message point to a more sinister secret? As the body count grows higher, Bishop and Knight find themselves in a race against time to discover the identity of a merciless, faceless killer whose motivation is a mystery.

Great reading as a police procedural demonstrating just how difficult it can be to solve murders that initially seem random, or where the link is buried deep in the past.

By the final chapter I had guessed who the murderer was though.

Share This:

When questions are bad

Ask No Questions Book Cover Ask No Questions
Detective Caelan Small #1
Lisa Hartley
female sleuths, mystery, crime fiction
Kindle

Some secrets were meant to stay hidden… Trust no-one

After an operation goes badly wrong, undercover specialist Detective Caelan Small leaves the Metropolitan Police for good. Or so she thinks. Then the criminal responsible is seen back in the UK.

Soon Caelan is drawn back into a dangerous investigation. But when the main lead is suddenly murdered, all bets are off. Nothing is as it seems. Everyone is a suspect - even close colleagues.

Someone in the Met is involved and Caelan is being told to Ask No Questions.

That isn't an option: Caelan needs answers… whatever the cost.

The nerve-shredding new crime thriller from bestseller Lisa Hartley starts a must-read new series. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza, it will keep you guessing until the very end.

A taut thriller in LisaHartley’s usual slick style.

Caelen is 28 years old and already a legend for her her uncanny ability to be a chameleon in her undercover work. In the stroy we follow Caelen and Ronnie with an addictive interest as she hopes that he will lead her to his criminal father, and he hopes that he won’t.

But things are not as they appear and the story becomes more complicated. And more complicated. And yet more complicated.

And in the end, just too complicated for me – and I like a bit of complication in my books…

I suspect an Agatha Christie look-alike storyline in which the author doesn’t actually know herself who  dun it, until the very end, and lays down many clues so that it could be one of many.

I’d like to give this book a 4 but in the end find I can’t. For the reasons above. When you have some 5 suspects the story gets too complex and involved and almost unbelievable. Clues appear like magic to fit up too many….

So 3.5 it is.

Share This: