Books
0 Comments

Steele by name

Claimed By A Steele Book Cover Claimed By A Steele
(Forged of Steele, Book 13)
Brenda Jackson
Fiction
HarperCollins UK, (Mills & Boon Desire)
April 2, 2020
192

Is this playboy ready for the wildest ride of his life? A PR stunt would be good for business so trucking CEO Gannon Steele invites reporter Delphine Ryland to hitch a ride cross-country. But soon the trip turns from strictly business to strictly pleasure, and the consequences might be more than this rough-and-ready bachelor can handle….

Well I thought that these weren’t the first in the series about the Steele family, and checking on Amazon I find that they are books 12 and 13 in the series...
But that in the Kimani imprint (African American novels only) there is a number 89 in the series! So the story goes on...
These 2 novels take on the romances of the 2 youngest of the 6 sons of the family.
Whilst I thought these 2 books were reasonable for their genre, with gentle humour and nice story-telling, I found them rather short. But then if Brenda is turning out the numbers of books she is, she can’t write a longer length novel each time. And it may also be the norm for this imprint.
This left me wanting more depth from the characters and the stories.
Adequate but not exceptional.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Steeley?

Seduced By A Steele (Mills & Boon Desire) (Forged of Steele, Book 12) Book Cover Seduced By A Steele (Mills & Boon Desire) (Forged of Steele, Book 12)
Brenda Jackson
Fiction, Romance, Womens' Fiction
HarperCollins UK
March 5, 2020
192

A notorious heartbreaker is about to meet his match... When the “thief” caught driving his stolen vintage car turns out to be a stunning runaway heiress, Mercury Steele is conflicted. On the one hand, Sloane Donahue triggers the billionaire playboy’s protective instincts. But she also triggers red-hot desire

Well I thought that these weren’t the first in the series about the Steele family, and checking on Amazon I find that they are books 12 and 13 in the series...
But that in the Kimani imprint (African American novels only) there is a number 89 in the series! So the story goes on...
These 2 novels take on the romances of the 2 youngest of the 6 sons of the family.
Whilst I thought these 2 books were reasonable for their genre, with gentle humour and nice story-telling, I found them rather short. But then if Brenda is turning out the numbers of books she is, she can’t write a longer length novel each time. And it may also be the norm for this imprint.
This left me wanting more depth from the characters and the stories.
Adequate but not exceptional.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s not eat Ribs

Risking Her Heart On The Single Dad Book Cover Risking Her Heart On The Single Dad
by Annie O'Neil
Romance , Women's Fiction, Medical
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 19 Mar 2020

Dare she dream of a family… …with a heartbroken single dad? Kirri West is dedicated to helping women who can’t have children. A heartache she lives with every day. But as she joins Ty Sawyer’s groundbreaking clinic, the gorgeous surgeon and his little girl become the kind of distraction she’s long avoided! While they could be a perfect family, Ty and Kirri would have to lay their hearts on the line first…

So there is this doctor- he is single, a widower in Atlanta, Georgia, with a daughter aged 6.
He had married his childhood sweetheart, never dated anyone else, and she died of cancer.
 
Along comes Kirri from Australia, with Australian gusto and charm, but yet she strives for a perfection one can never achieve. 
Her father thought only male children counted,  and her best was never enough to attract his attention. And her mother, having done her duty to provide children, retreated into her own world.
I emphasised with Kirri as I too had a father who only cared about his 'golden' son. Girls were for marriage, motherhood.
I too strove to be good enough to attract his attention but failed in so many ways.
Not an unusual situation and so often results in driven women.
I thought that Kiri was well drawn, and loved the mad Atlantan family.
Not so sure about the fixation on ribs these days though, when we know about the problems that too many beef cattle are causing. I applauded the guy who wanted to try BBQ aubergine!
 
 It was a nicely written, light story which I appreciated whilst ill in bed. Good for its genre. No poor grammar or proofreading.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s go Home

I’ll be Home for Christmas
Abbey Clancy
Romance, humour, contemporary, Christmas
Mills & Boon
(19 Sept. 2019)

‘Putting her inside knowledge of the showbiz industry to good use…Get cosy for this festive read’
OK! Magazine

‘entertaining read [that] lifts the lid on fame, glitz and glamour’ Daily Express

Even stars have Christmas dreams…

Popstar Jessika Malone can’t believe her luck! Not only has she signed a major record deal and is topping the charts with her latest single, she’s just been offered the chance of a lifetime: a tour with gorgeous megastar Cooper Black…

It’s everything she’s ever dreamed of – except that it means travelling thousands of miles from her boyfriend, Daniel, just when he’s finally got down on one knee and popped the question!

Far from home and followed by the paparazzi, her relationship is tested more than Jessika ever imagined – will she make it home for Christmas before it’s too late?

A glittering festive romance for fans of Sarah Morgan, Holly Martin and Lindsay Kelk. Perfect to curl up with this Christmas!

What I didn’t know when I started reading this, is that Abbey Clancy is a ‘celebrity’. But then I don’t read those articles or..

Bio:

Abigail Marie Clancy, (born 10 January 1986) known as Abbey Clancy, is an English lingerie and catwalk model and television personality. She is married to former professional footballer Peter Crouch, was the runner-up of Britain’s Next Top Model (cycle 2) in 2006 and won series 11 of Strictly Come Dancing in 2013.

Thus we can be sure that her tale about a rock star is based on real knowledge from those she knows and has written about. So the dilemma of our heroine can be said to be based on fact. And indeed we often read about how pop/rock stars spend long amounts of time away from their family and how this impacts on their relationships with all their drama, regrets, insecurities, romance, and the friendships within their world which is so different to any life they may have with their family. And it is this conflict between the lifestyle of the ‘star’ and the friends, family and romantic relationships that is brought out here. With gentle humour at times and empathetic writing.

My first novel by Abbey Clancy but I can see she has the style down pat and even though this story is about Xmas the issues raised are about relationships and thus it could be read at any time of the year.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Not so much a Rake – more a Beau

My Fake Rake Book Cover My Fake Rake
(The Union of the Rakes, Book 1)
Eva Leigh
Fiction, romance, historical
HarperCollins UK, Mills and Boon
January 31, 2020
384

Lady Grace Wyatt is content as a wallflower, focusing on scientific pursuits rather than the complications of society matches. But when a handsome, celebrated naturalist returns from abroad, Grace wishes, for once, to be noticed. Her solution: to create the perfect man, to act as her suitor, and help her catch his eye. Grace’s colleague, anthropologist Sebastian Holloway, is just the blank slate she requires.

To further his own research on English society, Sebastian agrees to let Grace transform him from a bespectacled, bookish academic into a dashing—albeit fake—rake. Between secret lessons on how to be a rogue and exaggerated public flirtations, Grace’s feelings for Sebastian grow from friendship into undeniable, inconvenient, real attraction. If only she hadn’t asked him to help her marry someone else…

Sebastian is in love with brilliant, beautiful Grace, but their bargain is complete, and she desires another. Yet when he’s faced with losing her forever, Sebastian will do whatever it takes to tell her the truth, even if it means risking his own future—and his heart.

This is a Regency Romance with a difference.
@ There is plenty of bawdy talk and swearing and sexual escapades occur.
The author does not pretend that all society young women are innocent or
inexperienced.
@ The young women are scientists.
They write papers that are published- though I am not sure how accurate
this is.
@There are mixed races married in respectable’ society. Again, I
would like some evidence.
But there are some excellent academic points made about
hypotheses. That they only stand until there is evidence that
they must change if evidence dictates it. And that our biases
influence our beliefs and how we explore the world and science.
And that people (The author says men) only value what
others possess…

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com