Books
0 Comments

Who Shall We Rescue ?

Saved By Their One-Night Baby Book Cover Saved By Their One-Night Baby
SOS Docs
by Louisa George
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

Can a shock baby…
…redeem this damaged doctor?

In this SOS Docs story, the last person paediatrician Ethan Reid expects to see on board the rescue boat during his latest humanitarian mission is nurse Claire Durand. The woman he shared an electrifying, anonymous encounter with is now his newest colleague! Life’s taught Ethan to keep everyone at arm’s length, but Claire’s bombshell changes everything. Because Ethan’s no longer alone – Claire’s pregnant, with his baby!

The answer is given away of course by the title of this book, so if you are looking for a surprise you aren’t going to get one.

What will surprise you however, is the setting.

Whilst this is the traditional doctor-nurse romance it is set at sea – whilst rescuing refugees in the Med. A medical ship board romance but set in the ship that takes in the survivors from the dodgy rafts and boats that set sail from Africa hoping to reach Europe whilst dreadfully over loaded and under powered.

I enjoyed the writing style and the story biut do wish the female lead wasn’t the nurse so many times!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

I want a kitten!

The Wallflower Wager Book Cover The Wallflower Wager
Girl Meets Duke
by Tessa Dare
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 13 Aug 2019

The addictive new Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

They call him the Duke of Ruin.
To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she’s set her heart and mind on saving him…

Not if he ruins her first.

What if you really really don’t want to be married and are waiting out your Seasons until your parents are too bored to keep paying for them? But you would really like to keep every sad or hurt animal that you find. Especially kittens – lots of them. And will even go so far as to rescue a man!

But then your parents decide to do something about you? Send you away… because you are not really trying to get a husband are you? Or will you try?

I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.

I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Go for a jaunt

The Rake's Enticing Proposal Book Cover The Rake's Enticing Proposal
Lara Temple
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills and Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

The rake has a proposition… Will she accept? Part of The Sinful Sinclairs. When globe-trotting Charles Sinclair arrives at Huxley Manor to sort out his late cousin’s affairs, he meets practical Eleanor Walsh. He can’t shake the feeling that behind her responsibility to clear her family’s debt, Eleanor longs to escape her staid life. Chase can offer her an exciting adventure in Egypt… But that all depends on her response to his shocking proposal!

A really nice long read with lots of interesting titbits about how the British Museum acquired its collections – especially the Egyptian items…

There were good character portrayals with their thoughts and emotions well documented from both male and female perspectives and characters.

Clear writing style with good grammar.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Go where the sun is..

From Antigua with Love
asstd
contemporary fiction, romance,
Mills and Boon
2019

Assorted Romance. Not for Sale. Sponsored by Tourist Authority.

A set of 5 short stories given me by Mills and Boon with the Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority.

All set in the islands and intended to make you want to visit and celebrate romance of course. As such they certainly give you the tourist highlights and beauty of the scenery and for their genre, are nicely written. But I am not personally all that fond of short stories as I like a more developed storyline.

Still nice for their type.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Is it right for a Lady?

A Debutante In Disguise
Eleanor Webster
Romance , Women's Fiction, Regency, Historical
Mills & Boon
30 May 2019

A society lady …with a secret!

Determined to help people, Letty Barton has a double life – she’s a trained doctor! No-one must know 'Dr Hatfield' is actually a woman. Called to an emergency, she comes face to face with her patient’s brother, Lord Anthony Ashcroft… They’d once shared a spark-filled flirtation – now he’s a brooding, scarred war-hero. But how long will it be before he recognises her, beneath her disguise, and the sparks begin to fly once more…?

This novel tackles yet another of the prejudices that were prevalent in Regency times – the fact that women were not permitted to become doctors.

It is good to see historical romance writers looking for more unusual, but politically and societally relevant, topics to cover within the trope. This novel was enjoyable and well written and looked at the Regency world and its constraints on how women were expected to employ themselves, especially the more gently born ones.

According to the Sicence Museum: “Women have always been central in providing medical care, whether offering remedies in the home, nursing or acting as herbalists. However, the medical profession has been male dominated for most of its history. In Europe this came about from the 1400s, when many cities and governments decided that only those trained in universities were allowed to formally practise medicine. As women were not allowed into the universities they could not gain a licence”.

[http://broughttolife.sciencemuseum.org.uk/broughttolife/themes/practisingmedicine/women]

Even though there was a woman doctor – Trotula – at the earliest European medical school in Salerno, Italy, in the 800s. And then there was Dr Laura Bassi, who was  appointed Professor of Anatomy at the University of Bologna in 1732.

This novel however, is clearly based very loosely on Margaret Bulkley (1792 or 1795-1865) AKA James Barry who  masqueraded as a male doctor for 46 years,  and who was a successful British Army surgeon serving in India and Cape Town, South Africa,

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com