Books
0 Comments

Who is to inherit?

Daring To Love The Duke's Heir Book Cover Daring To Love The Duke's Heir
The Beauchamp Heirs
by Janice Preston
Women's Fiction, Historical
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

She’s totally unsuitable…

…to be his Duchess!

Part of The Beauchamp Heirs: Dominic Beauchamp, Lord Avon, is a powerful duke’s heir and it’s his duty to marry well. His bride must have impeccable breeding, manners and grace. But can anyone meet his exacting standards? Certainly not the irrepressible Liberty Lovejoy, who’s been thrust into society after years of being a provincial nobody. She’s too bold, too bubbly…so why is she the only lady he’s thinking about?

Oh the ‘Ton’ and their ideas that women should be seen and not heard – unless they agree with men of course – in  very simpering way.

A time it seems of true misogyny, at least in the ranks of the privileged few. Bearing in mind that very few women had any control over property, children or money. Let alone voting and politics. Not even the ability to pay bills it seems.

What therefore is a woman with a mind, a voice, and emotions going to do when her twin brother seems determined to fritter away their newly acquired fortune and she can’t control him or the money or…

Clearly she was not going to marry a Duke. Except that this is a love story and…

Nicely written and one feels for both the hero and heroine. The hero because he has been brought up in a world of expectations and the heroine because she has so little control over her life and yet is passionate and meddling..!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Who Shall We Rescue ?

Saved By Their One-Night Baby Book Cover Saved By Their One-Night Baby
SOS Docs
by Louisa George
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

Can a shock baby…
…redeem this damaged doctor?

In this SOS Docs story, the last person paediatrician Ethan Reid expects to see on board the rescue boat during his latest humanitarian mission is nurse Claire Durand. The woman he shared an electrifying, anonymous encounter with is now his newest colleague! Life’s taught Ethan to keep everyone at arm’s length, but Claire’s bombshell changes everything. Because Ethan’s no longer alone – Claire’s pregnant, with his baby!

The answer is given away of course by the title of this book, so if you are looking for a surprise you aren’t going to get one.

What will surprise you however, is the setting.

Whilst this is the traditional doctor-nurse romance it is set at sea – whilst rescuing refugees in the Med. A medical ship board romance but set in the ship that takes in the survivors from the dodgy rafts and boats that set sail from Africa hoping to reach Europe whilst dreadfully over loaded and under powered.

I enjoyed the writing style and the story biut do wish the female lead wasn’t the nurse so many times!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

I want a kitten!

The Wallflower Wager Book Cover The Wallflower Wager
Girl Meets Duke
by Tessa Dare
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 13 Aug 2019

The addictive new Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

They call him the Duke of Ruin.
To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she’s set her heart and mind on saving him…

Not if he ruins her first.

What if you really really don’t want to be married and are waiting out your Seasons until your parents are too bored to keep paying for them? But you would really like to keep every sad or hurt animal that you find. Especially kittens – lots of them. And will even go so far as to rescue a man!

But then your parents decide to do something about you? Send you away… because you are not really trying to get a husband are you? Or will you try?

I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.

I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Go for a jaunt

The Rake's Enticing Proposal Book Cover The Rake's Enticing Proposal
Lara Temple
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills and Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

The rake has a proposition… Will she accept? Part of The Sinful Sinclairs. When globe-trotting Charles Sinclair arrives at Huxley Manor to sort out his late cousin’s affairs, he meets practical Eleanor Walsh. He can’t shake the feeling that behind her responsibility to clear her family’s debt, Eleanor longs to escape her staid life. Chase can offer her an exciting adventure in Egypt… But that all depends on her response to his shocking proposal!

A really nice long read with lots of interesting titbits about how the British Museum acquired its collections – especially the Egyptian items…

There were good character portrayals with their thoughts and emotions well documented from both male and female perspectives and characters.

Clear writing style with good grammar.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Go where the sun is..

From Antigua with Love
asstd
contemporary fiction, romance,
Mills and Boon
2019

Assorted Romance. Not for Sale. Sponsored by Tourist Authority.

A set of 5 short stories given me by Mills and Boon with the Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority.

All set in the islands and intended to make you want to visit and celebrate romance of course. As such they certainly give you the tourist highlights and beauty of the scenery and for their genre, are nicely written. But I am not personally all that fond of short stories as I like a more developed storyline.

Still nice for their type.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com