Books
0 Comments

When strange things happen in your back garden

Know Your Rites Book Cover Know Your Rites
Inspector Paris #2
Andy Redsmith
crime fiction, mystery, thriller, sci-fi, fantasy
Canelo
Pub Date 22 Aug 2019

Inspector Nick Paris is back in this magical crime mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch. Inspector Nick Paris, now also known as 'the one who stopped the demons', has become an unlikely celebrity in the magical world. He is desperate to return to tackling more ordinary crimes on his home turf of Manchester. However, the fates aren’t in his favour when he is called upon again by his more unusual police colleagues to solve a gruesome killing. The only suspect is a dwarf trying to make it in the rap business. But are there more mysterious matters afoot? Paris is thrust back into the world of magic and murder – but who will face the music?

Inspector Paris is back with the strange collection of friends and foes in this second of the great series set in Manchester.

We have ogres, warlocks, fairies, dwarves, elves, and the small stone child (read and see who I mean).

I thought that this book was not quite as original as book 1 as we had met all the characters before, but there were some excellent lines of text. eg ‘What makes sense depends on how you look at it’; ‘Persuasion, ..that’s one way of describing Ug the Ogre dangling Orin upside down above the station cesspit’; ‘bonetti’s heart was in the right place. even if his brain was nowhere to be found’.

I also liked the espionage cats and the rapping dwarf. Great ideas.

So overall a fun read with giggles.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Up high you go..

Elevator Pitch Book Cover Elevator Pitch
by Linwood Barclay
crime fiction, mystery, thriller,
HQ
Pub Date 05 Sep 2019

It all begins on a Monday, when four people board an elevator in a Manhattan office tower. Each presses a button for their floor, but the elevator proceeds, non-stop, to the top. Once there, it stops for a few seconds, and then plummets. Right to the bottom of the shaft. It appears to be a horrific, random tragedy. But then, on Tuesday, it happens again, in a different Manhattan skyscraper. And when Wednesday brings yet another high-rise catastrophe, one of the most vertical cities in the world – and the nation’s capital of media, finance, and entertainment – is plunged into chaos. Clearly, this is anything but random. This is a cold, calculated bid to terrorize the city. And it’s working. Fearing for their lives, thousands of men and women working in offices across the city refuse leave their homes. Commerce has slowed to a trickle. Emergency calls to the top floors of apartment buildings go unanswered. Who is behind this? What do these deadly acts of sabotage have to do with the fingerless body found on the High Line? Two seasoned New York detectives and a straight-shooting journalist must race against time to find the answers . . . Pulsating with tension, Elevator Pitch is a riveting tale of psychological suspense that is all too plausible . . . and will chill readers to the bone.

This was a great read and I never guessed the villain of the piece! Which is always the start of a good review from me.

It was well written with characters you loved to hate as well as those you felt some empathy for; and enough central characters to confuse you.

There was the Mayor; his son; his two aides; the journalist; her daughter; and two cops to keep you interested. Their actions and interactions and links proved fascinating and often unexpected which keep the story moving along at quite a fast pace.

Ps Saudi Arabia is currently going for the building height record – the Jeddah Tower opening in 2020 will be 3,280 foot high.

Currently, Burjkhalifa in Dubai is the highest at 2.722 feet.

The New York Trade Center for comparison is 1,776 feet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Our world is about to end?

A Merciful Death Book Cover A Merciful Death
Mercy Kilpatrick Book #1
Kendra Elliot
Montlake Romance
(17 Jan. 2017)

FBI special agent Mercy Kilpatrick has been waiting her whole life for disaster to strike. A prepper since childhood, Mercy grew up living off the land—and off the grid—in rural Eagle’s Nest, Oregon. Until a shocking tragedy tore her family apart and forced her to leave home. Now a predator known as the cave man is targeting the survivalists in her hometown, murdering them in their homes, stealing huge numbers of weapons, and creating federal suspicion of a possible domestic terrorism event. But the crime scene details are eerily familiar to an unsolved mystery from Mercy’s past.

Sent by the FBI to assist local law enforcement, Mercy returns to Eagle’s Nest to face the family who shunned her while maintaining the facade of a law-abiding citizen. There, she meets police chief Truman Daly, whose uncle was the cave man’s latest victim. He sees the survivalist side of her that she desperately tries to hide, but if she lets him get close enough to learn her secret, she might not survive the fallout

A story about Preppers – that almost uniquely US lifestyle that assumes a world disaster is likely to happen tomorrow and thus you better be prepared today. Everything that might sustain life is required from food and medicine, to methods of providing power and water.

There is a Preppers site for the UK population but its 40 hints start with assuming the following:

1. You are in debt – so get rid of it

2. You will need 6 months of cash to get by

3. You need to have a 72 hour survival kit.

Now this would just seem ridiculous to the US Preppers who are assuming – bearing in mind there is a lot of land they can use – that they will need to feed themselves from their own land and livestock for years at the very least – 72 hours pishposh…

 The other point with US Preppers is that very many of them don’t recognise that US laws apply to them and many are not on the electoral role, the children are not registered, and they are deep into the illegal purchase and storage of weapons – lots of them – more and of many different types – than can seem at all reasonable and very well hidden.

Apart from this belief of world disaster looming, the Preppers , mostly, come across as rational self-sufficiency farmers using bartering rather than cash.

I found this a nicely told tale with enough empathy for the characters whether Prepper or Police.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

And there’s a wife in the Attic?

Gothic Love Stories
by Erica Ridley
Mystery & Thrillers , Romance
WebMotion
Pub Date 23 Aug 2019

TOO WICKED TO KISS When an impoverished bluestocking finds herself at the mercy of an irresistible scoundrel, his touch holds her captive to his every dark desire... TOO SINFUL TO DENY When a disgraced socialite is exiled to an isolated manor atop a pirate-infested cove, the only person who can help her escape is the one man who cannot be trusted with her heart... TOO TEMPTING TO RESIST A rakish lord has the chance to win forgiveness from a lost love... if he can spirit her away from a haunted castle. TOO WANTON TO WED A secretive governess seeks shelter in the towering home of a mysterious recluse who may be even more dangerous than the man she fled.

A set of books in the Gothic genre of historical romances. With brooding heroes and doughty heroines who fight for their right to romance etc.

For me, book 1 took quite a while to actually grab my interest. certainly a set of upper-class horrors were portrayed here, where a kiss makes a girl unmarriageable and age is no barrier, only money.

Women are possessions, things.

Interestingly, reading a recent article about millennial dating and sexual habits we seem to be coming back to this view – it is OK for a male to spit on his partner as one kind of kink/fetish, and semi-strangulation is OK too. Women put up with it as part of the norm for having a boyfriend rather than objecting. Women accept it and expect to be treated as a body rather than partner.

Whatever happened to feminism?!

So gothic heroes are perhaps more the normal type of male these days? Treating women badly is OK?

Luckily in the novels, the women fight back and demand better treatment and get it.

Not really my favourite genre but by the end of the set of novels I was enjoying them more.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

True or False?

Marked for Revenge An Art Heist Thriller Book Cover Marked for Revenge An Art Heist Thriller
(Zelda Richardson Mystery Series Book 3)
Jennifer S. Alderson
General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 19 May 2019

An adrenaline-fueled adventure set in the Netherlands, Croatia, Italy, and Turkey about stolen art, the mafia, and a father’s vengeance.

When researcher Zelda Richardson begins working at a local museum, she doesn’t expect to get entangled with an art theft, knocked unconscious by a forger, threatened by the mob, or stalked by drug dealers. 

To make matters worse, a Croatian gangster is convinced Zelda knows where a cache of recently pilfered paintings is. She must track down an international gang of art thieves and recover the stolen artwork in order to save those she loves most.

The trouble is, Zelda doesn’t know where to look. Teaming up with art detective Vincent de Graaf may be her only hope at salvation.

The trail of clues leads Zelda and Vincent on a pulse-pounding race across Europe to a dramatic showdown in Turkey that may cost them their lives.

Marked for Revenge is the third book in the Zelda Richardson Mystery Series. The novels in this series can be read in any order.

This is a great Art Heist Chase story. Rather unusual in its detail about how forgeries are made and set in Amsterdam as the starting town. Which gives lots of opportunities for haring across Europe easily of course. Interesting that it is the Balkans which are blamed for crime families and that the old Mafia gangs are no longer used.

I do wonder if the Dutch law about stolen art was real and if so, is it still in place? Obviously does not apply to holocaust Art but still. I did try and research the law but couldn’t find any reference to it so…

A different crime story with a good twist, and enjoyable romp into a different crime genre.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com