Bones and yet more

Bones to Pick Book Cover Bones to Pick
Brie Hooker Mystery
Linda Lovely
Cosy, mystery, female sleuth, murder
Henery Press
(24 Oct. 2017)

Living on a farm with four hundred goats and a cantankerous carnivore isn’t among vegan chef Brie Hooker’s list of lifetime ambitions. But she can’t walk away from her Aunt Eva, who needs help operating her dairy.

Once she calls her aunt’s goat farm home, grisly discoveries offer ample inducements for Brie to employ her entire vocabulary of cheese-and-meat curses. The troubles begin when the farm’s pot-bellied pig unearths the skull of Eva’s husband, who disappeared years back. The sheriff, kin to the deceased, sets out to pin the murder on Eva. He doesn’t reckon on Brie’s resolve to prove her aunt’s innocence. Death threats, ruinous pedicures, psychic shenanigans, and biker bar fisticuffs won’t stop Brie from unmasking the killer, even when romantic befuddlement throws her a curve

Small towns are incestuous. And in the Southern USA have too many guns, too much testosterone meaning too much bad temper, and not mention greed.

Greed because there are few ways to make legitimate and ‘good’ living, and because laziness and greed are partners in crime. The easy way to make money is often preferred.

So here we find, with the local law enforcement barely trained and exhibiting the above characteristics, and often chose because of (family) relationships, we find the very first statement to be true.

Thus the law officers are liable to take short cuts and easy solutions.

A nicely written mystery, but I’m sorry, even as a vegetarian myself I wasn’t converted to being a vegan – how could you give up goat milk and cheese living on a goat farm? Never, if the recipes offered were samples – I did check out veganism after reading this book but again wasn’t converted. And the vegans I have known always seem to be less than healthy as it is very difficult to balance the nutrients.

Share This:

Where did she go?

Then She Was Gone Book Cover Then She Was Gone
Lisa Jewell
psychological, suspense, mystery
Century
July 27, 2017
432

THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER A MISSING GIRL. A BURIED SECRET. From the acclaimed author of I Found You and the Richard & Judy bestseller, The Girls, comes a compulsively twisty psychological thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last page. 'I defy you to put this addictive book down until you reach the final heart-breaking page.' Daily Express 'If you were the first of your friends to read Girl on the Train and have read Gone Girl more times than you can remember, HERE IS YOUR SUMMER READ!' Sun 'Packs a huge emotional punch that will leave you winded.' CL Taylor, author of The Missing 'THEN SHE WAS GONE is bloody amazing. I can't remember ever reading a thriller where I've cared so much about the characters - they invaded my dreams! I LOVED it!' Eve Chase, author of Black Rabbit Hall ************************ She was fifteen, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. Ten years on, Laurel has never given up hope of finding Ellie. And then she meets a charming and charismatic stranger who sweeps her off her feet. But what really takes her breath away is when she meets his nine-year-old daughter. Because his daughter is the image of Ellie. Now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back. What really happened to Ellie? And who still has secrets to hide?

A sneaky story that that starts off normally and gradually gets more twisted in both the story-line and the characters’ behaviour.

It takes some elements from news stories and uses them to great advantage by turning them into something different.

Loved it!

Share This:

When questions are bad

Ask No Questions Book Cover Ask No Questions
Detective Caelan Small #1
Lisa Hartley
female sleuths, mystery, crime fiction
Kindle

Some secrets were meant to stay hidden… Trust no-one

After an operation goes badly wrong, undercover specialist Detective Caelan Small leaves the Metropolitan Police for good. Or so she thinks. Then the criminal responsible is seen back in the UK.

Soon Caelan is drawn back into a dangerous investigation. But when the main lead is suddenly murdered, all bets are off. Nothing is as it seems. Everyone is a suspect - even close colleagues.

Someone in the Met is involved and Caelan is being told to Ask No Questions.

That isn't an option: Caelan needs answers… whatever the cost.

The nerve-shredding new crime thriller from bestseller Lisa Hartley starts a must-read new series. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza, it will keep you guessing until the very end.

A taut thriller in LisaHartley’s usual slick style.

Caelen is 28 years old and already a legend for her her uncanny ability to be a chameleon in her undercover work. In the stroy we follow Caelen and Ronnie with an addictive interest as she hopes that he will lead her to his criminal father, and he hopes that he won’t.

But things are not as they appear and the story becomes more complicated. And more complicated. And yet more complicated.

And in the end, just too complicated for me – and I like a bit of complication in my books…

I suspect an Agatha Christie look-alike storyline in which the author doesn’t actually know herself who  dun it, until the very end, and lays down many clues so that it could be one of many.

I’d like to give this book a 4 but in the end find I can’t. For the reasons above. When you have some 5 suspects the story gets too complex and involved and almost unbelievable. Clues appear like magic to fit up too many….

So 3.5 it is.

Share This:

When Brothers help their Sister

Two Nights Book Cover Two Nights
Sunday Night
Kathy Reichs
police procedurals, mystery, suspense, thriller
William Heinemann
July 13, 2017
320

Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct ...

Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing.

But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie’s help.

Is the girl dead?

Did someone take her?

If she is out there, why doesn't she want to be found?

It's time for Sunnie to face her own demons - because they might just lead her to the truth about what really happened all those years ago.

With Kathy Reichs, the reader knows that they are in the hands of an expert. As a forensic anthropologist, 1 of only 82 forensic anthropologists ever certified by the American Board, Reichs’ real-life expertise has given her novels an authenticity that most other crime novelists would kill for. From teaching FBI agents how to detect and recover human remains, to separating and identifying commingled body parts in her lab, no one is better qualified to write about what it’s really like to catch the killer and solve the crime.

Such a different character and departure from her series about Brennan here, but  well worth reading.

Reichs has created a new, tortured (the female PI default) character called Sunday Night, who has a twin August Night. Now these are very unusual twins in that not just their sex is different – one male, one female – but due to a genetic hiccup, August is black and very short – compared to Sunday anyway. Their father was probably black it is hinted at in the book.  And they were born into a cult that committed mass suicide just after they escaped together. Their difference in characters but twin closeness and ability to know the other’s thoughts and intentions, enable them to work together in a way that partners can only envy.

I enjoyed this new character and the story-telling was up to Reich’s normal standard so what’s not to like? Complex plot and excellent story-telling mean a new series to follow.

Share This:

FBI go Paranormal

Agent of Enchantment Book Cover Agent of Enchantment
Dark Fae FBI#1
CN Crawford & Alex Rivers
paranormal, mystery, thriller, YA
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition
(10 April 2017)

The fae live among us. And one of them is a serial killer. I thought this would be a simple profiling case. Just another Jack-the-Ripper wannabe, prowling London’s streets, searching for easy kills. I was wrong. This killer is fae, and he’s as elusive as smoke on the wind. But I’m an FBI profiler, and it’s my job to track him down. It doesn’t matter that one of the main suspects--a lethally alluring fae--is trying to seduce me… or kill me, I’m not sure which. I won’t be stopped, not even when panic roils through the streets of London, or when the police start to suspect me. As I close in on the killer, I follow him to a magical shadow realm that’s like nothing I ever expected, where I’m hunted like prey. Fine. Bring it on. I’m an FBI Agent. And it turns out I have magical powers of my own.

I got bored by this overly complicated novel -and it lacked a compelling story-telling. Didn’t manage to complete.

 

Share This: