A Very Close Familiy

The Roanoke Girls Book Cover The Roanoke Girls
Amy Engel
psychological, mystery, thriller, literary fiction
Hodder Paperbacks
September 21, 2017
288

A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of Good Me Bad Me and The Girls. 'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it.' Sarah Hilary, SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN 'Utterly addictive.' Lisa Hall, BETWEEN YOU AND ME 'Hauntingly beautiful... not for the faint-hearted.' THE BOOK BAG Beautiful. Rich. Mysterious. The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies. Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

I found this book very disturbing and compelling. Just how did Yates justify his behaviour? What was it about his background that meant that his love for his sister and then all the girls got so twisted?

How can I critique this book without giving away the whole story? Except to say that it was very well written. The story was told in such a way that you understood the characters of the girls as they were introduced and you also understood their behaviour, and yet you wondered about the Grandmother. All the way through, her behaviour seemed at odds to what she must have known about. And then there was Charlie and Sharon also living in that household. What did they know and why didn’t they say anything?

The ties that bind – once you know something and don’t tell, then these ties get stronger and bind more tightly, and that was what happened at Roanoke. And by the way, Kansas summers sound awful! 7 months of the year when the temperature is above 20 and at least 3 of those above 30 degrees! And then a very cold winter.

 

 

Share This:

Drive carefully in France

Accident on the A35 Book Cover Accident on the A35
Graeme Macrae Burnet
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Police procedurals
Contraband
2018-04
288

From the author of "His Bloody Project", shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2016. There does not appear to be anything remarkable about the fatal car crash on the A35. But one question dogs Inspector Georges Gorski: where has the victim, an outwardly austere lawyer, been on the night of his death? The troubled Gorski finds himself drawn into a mystery that takes him behind the respectable veneer of the sleepy French backwater of Saint-Louis. Graeme Macrae Burnet returns with a literary mystery that will beguile fans of "His Bloody Project" and "The Disappearance of Adele Bedeau". Darkly humorous, subtle and sophisticated, "The Accident on the A35" burrows deep into the psyches of its characters and explores the forgotten corners of small-town life.

This is my failing I am sure.  When I pick up a book by someone who has been given or has been shortlisted for one of the major prizes, I almost invariably don’t like it.

As with this one.

I thought it might be interesting to read a police procedural in France. just for a change. But it wasn’t. I did try – honest. But it made me yawn. I just couldn’t find the Inspector empathetic or even vaguely interesting.  No doubt too subtle and sophisticated for me. I didn’t want to waste my reading time on him. Sorry!

Share This:

How many dogs are there?

Double Dog Dare Book Cover Double Dog Dare
Davis Way Crime Caper
Gretchen Archer
Fiction, humour, literary fiction, cosy, mystery
Henery Press
March 20, 2018
274

Hot diggety dog, the fur is flying in USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer's latest. It's not just good, it's "Best in Show!" - Janet Evanovich Problem #1: Bootsy Howard Davis Way Cole lives a (relatively) quiet, (somewhat) simple, and (completely) witch-free life with her husband and twin daughters on the 29th floor of the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. Until Bootsy Howard shows up demanding a million dollars. Problem #2: Princess Smucker What was marketing thinking when they booked the Southern Canine Association's annual dog show at the Bellissimo? And what was Davis thinking when she agreed to let a dog stay with her? For a week? In her home? The home where she lives a (fairly) quiet, (reasonably) simple, and (totally) manicotti-free life? Problem #3: Leverette Urleen, MD The last thing Davis needs is an unsolicited house call from Pine Apple, Alabama's latest excuse for a doctor. But since he's there, considering she has a dead body on ice, she might as well have him determine the cause of death. Which he doesn't. Nor is he any help finding the body when Davis loses it. On top of all that, he won't leave, further disrupting Davis's (more or less) quiet, (to a certain degree) simple, and (utterly) seersucker-free life. A life that's about to go to the dogs. Unless Davis can learn a few new tricks. Fast. Guaranteed woofs, the best thing since the bone, take Double Dog Dare for a walk and you're sure to unleash a treat. - - - - - - - - - - - - - DOUBLE DOG DARE by Gretchen Archer - A Henery Press Mystery. If you like one, you'll probably like them all.

A comic caper!

I ended reading this book with an ear-worm – from Vree’s prayers and hymns….! I also giggled my way through the last half of the book – as things got more and more ridiculous! I giggled with the story not against it.

This is book 7 in this series and even though I’v e not read any of the previous stories, I didn’t need to. I met and understood all the characters and their backgrounds as they appeared and interacted.

A fun, lively, humorous story. Not heavy reading but good for an afternoon sunning oneself on the beach or in the garden.

I want to read book 8 and see what these crazy gals get up to next!

Share This:

Don’t read – it’s gone

Read and Gone Book Cover Read and Gone
Haunted Library
Allison Brook
female sleuths, mystery, crime fiction
Crooked Lane Books
(27 Sept. 2018)

Twenty million dollars’ worth of missing gems bring Carrie Singleton’s long-lost and larcenous dad back into her life and it’s up to Carrie to clear his name.

A devoted dad is as precious as diamonds, but Carrie Singleton wouldn’t know since her dad Jim’s been on the lam most of her life. In an unusual family reunion, she finds Jim breaking into her cottage in the middle of the night. The fun really starts when he begs her to help him recover his half of a twenty-million-dollar gem heist he pulled off with the local jeweler, Benton Parr. When she refuses, Jim takes off again.

Carrie finds her father again behind bars for the recent murder of Benton Parr. Who made the connection? Unbeknownst to her, Carrie’s boyfriend Dylan, an insurance investigator, has been searching for the gems. Determined to find the jewels herself, she starts examining every facet of Parr’s life. She turns up a treasure trove of suspects, one of whom bashes her on the head as she’s searching the victim’s country cabin.

Retreating to the quiet confines of the library where she works, Carrie watches as Smokey Joe, the resident cat, paws at a hole in the wall. Is he after the library’s ghost Evelyn, or something shinier? The second charming Haunted Library mystery by Allison Brook, Read and Gone will be a delight for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Leslie Meier.

I thought that this book lacked both humour and pace.

I had hoped from the mention of a Haunted Library that it would be more ghostly and not less – this ghost was very tame – as were all the characters. I should have realised what ‘charming’ meant in the book’s description…

A book too cosy for me as I only managed 26% and got bored. Sorry Alison.

Share This:

Who is who?

Bring Me Back Book Cover Bring Me Back
BA Paris
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, female sleuths
Harlequin, HQ
Mar 2018

The Disappearance
Twelve years ago Finn’s girlfriend disappeared.

The Suspicion
He told the police the truth about that night.
Just not quite the whole truth.

The Fear
Now Finn has moved on.
But his past won’t stay buried…

Once upon a time here were 2 girls – Ellen the elder and Layla the younger. They had a hard life as their father was a bully and abused them physically.

Layla had a talent that she used within the family but hid from everyone else and in the end it was that very special talent, that she hid even from her closest friends and boyfriends that took her into danger.

B.A.Paris writes a very good psychological thriller with lots of twists and turns that leave you wondering just which storyline is the truth.

A really good book for those who like a psychological suspenseful thriller with lots of potential answers.

Share This: