And her name was?

Her Name was Rose Book Cover Her Name was Rose
Claire Allan
psychological, suspense, contemporary, police procedurals, romance
Avon Books
June 28, 2018
352

'AMAZING. I read it in one go. I was totally hooked.' MARIAN KEYES 'Utterly addictive. Compulsive, twisty, tense.' CLAIRE DOUGLAS, author of Local Girl Missing Her name was Rose. You watched her die. And her death has created a vacancy. When Emily lets a stranger step out in front of her, she never imagines that split second will change her life. But after Emily watches a car plough into the young mother - killing her instantly - she finds herself unable to move on. And then she makes a decision she can never take back. Because Rose had everything Emily had ever dreamed of. A beautiful, loving family, a great job and a stunning home. And now Rose's husband misses his wife, and their son needs a mother. Why couldn't Emily fill that space? But as Emily is about to discover, no one's life is perfect ... and not everything is as it seems.

I thought this was a great read. At first yu think, OK, I know this story, then you find that you really don’t.

The twist at the end I never saw coming – which is what makes a good suspense novel – otherwise no suspense – right?

But, I did find the Epilogue content expected but forgivable under the circumstances of this being billed as a Romance imprint.

Share This:

Obsession with perfection

Perfect Remains Book Cover Perfect Remains
DI Callanach #1
Helen Fields
Detective and mystery stories
Avon Books
2017
408

'Must read!' Closer 'I love, love, LOVE Perfect Remains!' Reader review 'A superb debut!' Reader review On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing. In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness... Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine's missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he's eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine's killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care. It's not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes ... The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined. Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

A very interesting case is told here in this gripping novel as the culprit gradually degenerates psychologically.
Helen Fields writes a nicely paced story. Compact and concise and one that you read almost compulsively (as yet more women die).

This is book 1 in this series about the half-French detective Luc and his move to Scotland. Slowly Luc wins over his new staff as they realise that he is more than his sexy accent and model looks.
Shame about the coffee though, it appears that in police stations no-one instals a Nespresso!

Share This:

Just who is the detective nasty with now?

Savage Echoes
Nickie Savage
R T Wolfe
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Police procedurals, women sleuths
ePublishing Works!
(9 Jan. 2014)
Kindle

Lending her expertise to help the FBI bring down a child trafficking ring, Detective Nickie Savage discovers that the men they're tracking are the same ones who abducted her as a young teen.
Risking her badge, Nickie goes rogue with surveillance expert Duncan Reed. But the closer they get to the King Pin, the closer she and Duncan become with each other.
Now Nickie must choose: break her own rules and risk her heart, or forge ahead...alone.

I enjoyed these books – yes, I’ve read them all. Nickie Savage is believable and her back story is sufficiently told for you to understand her motives. Though how she manages now I am really not sure… Her family sound horrible!

I found the writing to be fairly addictive and well enough written that I didn’t get tired of reading through the series. The style is fluid and has enough humour and romance to counteract the serious nature of the story-line. not LOL but you can grin occasionally…

 

 

 

THE NICKIE SAVAGE SERIES, in order
Savage Echoes
Savage Deception
Savage Rendezvous
Savage Disclosure
Savage Betrayal
Savage Alliance

Share This:

The Sniper

London Carter Book Cover London Carter
London carter
BJ Bourg
hard-boiled, romantic suspense
Kindle

JAMES 516 (2016 EPIC eBook Award Winner for Best Mystery)

Could a deep and dark secret be behind the sniper-style killing of a sheriff’s office captain, or is it simply the work of a madman with a rifle? Whatever the case, the killer is taunting the cops with a mysterious message, and Police Sniper London Carter is determined to decipher the message and capture the murderer.

Will London solve the mystery in time, or will more officers die before he can bring the killer to justice?

PROVING GROUNDS

When the sniper-style murder of an alligator poacher puts two rival families on edge, Police Sniper London Carter and Detective Sergeant Dawn Luke join forces to solve the case. But they'll have their work cut out for them as the two families recruit small armies to fight each other and the FBI becomes involved in the case.

It doesn't take London long to realize they're dealing with a professional killer, but the motive for the murder is far from clear. Will he and Dawn solve the case before it's too late, or will the swamps of Louisiana run red with the blood of the rival families and the cops who are trying to stop them?

SILENT TRIGGER

Days after Police Sniper London Carter resolves a hostage situation at a local car dealership, Detective Sergeant Dawn Luke calls upon him to assist her with a mysterious death investigation. The cause of death is not obvious, but the body is found in a peculiar position and the individual is connected to the recent hostage situation, so something seems amiss.

London and Dawn end up facing numerous roadblocks in their quest for the truth--including an unidentified body, uncooperative witnesses, and a killer tornado--and through it all they start to develop feelings for each other. But the case is growing complicated and dangerous, and if they’re not careful, one of them could end up like their victim…dead and naked on a cold morgue slab.

London Carter: Yes that’s his name. Who gives a child a name that’s a city as his first name? OK, we nearly called our first child Florence as if she had been a ‘she’, she may have been conceived there but!

I tried, I really did. I like police procedurals as a norm but this one just didn’t click with me.  I guess, maybe because the hero loves his guns and I just don’t, but a different sniper would have been OK. I just didn’t take to his character, or his handling of the situations and personnel.

So no, I didn’t finish book 1 -let alone 2 or 3. And I don’t see how it got an award frankly, as I didn’t think the writing was that good, let alone the story-telling.

Share This:

Drive carefully in France

Accident on the A35 Book Cover Accident on the A35
Graeme Macrae Burnet
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Police procedurals
Contraband
2018-04
288

From the author of "His Bloody Project", shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2016. There does not appear to be anything remarkable about the fatal car crash on the A35. But one question dogs Inspector Georges Gorski: where has the victim, an outwardly austere lawyer, been on the night of his death? The troubled Gorski finds himself drawn into a mystery that takes him behind the respectable veneer of the sleepy French backwater of Saint-Louis. Graeme Macrae Burnet returns with a literary mystery that will beguile fans of "His Bloody Project" and "The Disappearance of Adele Bedeau". Darkly humorous, subtle and sophisticated, "The Accident on the A35" burrows deep into the psyches of its characters and explores the forgotten corners of small-town life.

This is my failing I am sure.  When I pick up a book by someone who has been given or has been shortlisted for one of the major prizes, I almost invariably don’t like it.

As with this one.

I thought it might be interesting to read a police procedural in France. just for a change. But it wasn’t. I did try – honest. But it made me yawn. I just couldn’t find the Inspector empathetic or even vaguely interesting.  No doubt too subtle and sophisticated for me. I didn’t want to waste my reading time on him. Sorry!

Share This: