When the truth is not what you knew

Everything is Lies Book Cover Everything is Lies
Helen Callaghan
psychological, mystery, thriller, literary fiction
Michael Joseph
2018-09
400

Sophia's parents have lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find her mother hanging from a tree in the garden. Her father lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer. To clear her mother's name Sophia needs to delve deep into her family's past - a past full of dark secrets she never suspected were there . . .

An architect, Sophia,  goes home only to find that everything that she thought she knew about her parents was untrue. It all comes out when she discovers her parents dead at their small nursery garden – only her father survives the stabbing. the police believe that it had been an attempt at a joint suicide, or that her mother had attempted to kill her father and then hung herself in remorse. neither scenario makes sense.

This follows a series of break-ins at the nursery – which seems odd as it was small and not doing well and thus would have little to offer a would-be burglar. perhaps there was another reason for he crime?

Sophia then meets her estranged grandmother and things begin to change, and the mystery deepens as a lost manuscript that her mother was apparently writing, comes into play.

A good suspense story with Sophia gradually discovering the truth about her parents’ lives and her own family. nicely written with the plot becoming more tense as Sophia finds out more.

 

 

Share This:

Trial for a twin

Guilt Book Cover Guilt
Amanda Robson
Fiction, suspense, psychological
Avon Books
April 19, 2018
416

'Thrilling, unputdownable, a fabulous rollercoaster of a read' B A PARIS, bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS The number 1 bestseller is back! Your sister. Her secret. The betrayal. There is no bond greater than blood . . . When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who killed who? And which one is now the woman behind bars? Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome, charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the sisters' lives apart - but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface that the sisters must face up to? As the sisters' relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb's past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is, who? Claustrophobic and compelling, Amanda Robson is back in a knock-out thriller perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

I found this book tricky to make sense of initially as it is written by several characters, each having their own chapter, and thus following the story-line was hard. But I persevered, and was very glad indeed!

Gradually, the characters involved in the story become clearer, and you begin to suspect that all is not well with Sebastien. What is he hiding? And who is/was Jude? And just what happened to him/her?

From the beginning, Sebastien comes over as someone just too full of his own importance, and you learn through his chapters, something of what is going on in his mind, and it is darker than you originally thought it could be.

For my mind, however, there is one major fault with the story. I knew the solution and I also thought the ending – final chapter – rather sickly. I wonder if there was a choice of endings and someone said: “This will appeal to a female audience”.  For me, it didn’t ring of truth.

So not a 5 star book, but a jolly good 4.

Share This:

Who is who?

Bring Me Back Book Cover Bring Me Back
BA Paris
Crime, Thriller & Mystery, female sleuths
Harlequin, HQ
Mar 2018

The Disappearance
Twelve years ago Finn’s girlfriend disappeared.

The Suspicion
He told the police the truth about that night.
Just not quite the whole truth.

The Fear
Now Finn has moved on.
But his past won’t stay buried…

Once upon a time here were 2 girls – Ellen the elder and Layla the younger. They had a hard life as their father was a bully and abused them physically.

Layla had a talent that she used within the family but hid from everyone else and in the end it was that very special talent, that she hid even from her closest friends and boyfriends that took her into danger.

B.A.Paris writes a very good psychological thriller with lots of twists and turns that leave you wondering just which storyline is the truth.

A really good book for those who like a psychological suspenseful thriller with lots of potential answers.

Share This:

What Colour are the Bodies?

White Bodies Book Cover White Bodies
Jane Robins
crime, mystery, thrillers, female sleuths, psychological
HQ
(28 Dec. 2017)

‘He’s so handsome and clever and romantic. I just wished he hadn’t forced Tilda under the water and held her there so long.’

Callie loves Tilda. She’s her sister, after all. And she’s beautiful and successful.

Tilda loves Felix. He’s her husband. Successful and charismatic, he is also controlling, suspicious and, possibly, dangerous. Still, Tilda loves Felix.

And Callie loves Tilda. Very, very much.

So she’s determined to save her. But the cost could destroy them all…

Sometimes we love too much.

The Stranger on a Train novel that isn’t.

The story is told through the eyes of Callie and through her journal that she writes in obsessively. All that she knows, or think she knows, about her sister – her twin, as she follows her and tracks her life. The clever twin. The beautiful twin. The tragic twin. The abused twin. Or is she?

And then Callie finds a site for abused women or men and gets drawn into deep conspiracy theories and perhaps even murder.

Callie also suffers from Pica  in relation to her sister’s objects – she thinks by eating these items her sister is somehow drawn into her own essence it would be appear.

So this is a strange book but a compelling read. You follow Callie through all her different beliefs and her obsession with her sister’s life and are drawn into her  worldview. Where nothing is quite what it might appear – or is it?

Share This:

Not So Easy

Earth Witches aren’t easy Book Cover Earth Witches aren’t easy
Earth Witche
Heather Long
occult, paranormal, fantasy, witches
Kindle

He’s supposed to be dead, but he's killing again...

Nearly a decade ago, hedge witch Chance Monroe’s life irrevocably changed. She survived the attack of a serial killer. His death should have set her free.

When her ex-lover shows up on her porch, Chance isn’t ready to hear Randall Oakes is still alive and less prepared for the sea of emotion swamping her. One man wants her dead and the other just wants her. When the FBI offers protective custody, Chance refuses. Connected to the earth, Chance must rely on her supernatural senses and her wits to survive this game of cat and mouse.

In the farm rich countryside of her native Northern Virginia, Chance confronts her troubled past, a supernatural adversary and a sizzling passion that’s lain dormant for years….

This time, she will teach her hunter a lesson: earth witches aren’t easy targets…

When I got given this free book, I read the title and thought it must be a paranormal, fantasy romance.

What I actually got was very different.

I got  a serial killer suspense/thriller with the FBI and a witch who is ‘tied’ to, and responsible for, maintaining the health of a particular patch of land. So harvet ans seed sowing blessings, ensuring that pesky elves and fairies and other magical creatures don’t upset the earth and those who ‘garden’ it are part of her job – for which she gets paid. And an earth witch can trace the history of the land through communing with it. Murder, war and so on leave scars in the land’s memory that she can access.

When Chance was at college studying Forensic Psychology she was attacked by a serial killer, but was saved from death by her attacker being interrupted and her being rushed to hospital very quickly.

Now the serial killer is back and targeting his only survivor and the FBI want to use her talents to catch him.

Heather Long  is a well established paranormal author with many published novels and it shows in her writing. The book is well proofed, the style is fluent and she tells a story that not only crosses genres but is one that you really don’t want to stop reading.

I went and bought the next book in the series immediately!

Share This: