book review/Books/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Waiting for your sister

The Second Sister Book Cover The Second Sister
Claire Kendal
Adult, Psychological Thriller, Romance
Harper
April 20, 2017
400

The chilling new psychological thriller by Claire Kendal, author of the bestselling novel, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER. It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him? At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims. Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Twins in thought but not deed, and not age either but in looks, one sister vanishes and the other searches for her.

As she searches she uncovers some rather sinister people and has some rather chilling encounters.

I started this book and read it with interest but not compulsion until the prison scenes. These were detailed with such a chilling description of the prisoner that I really needed to know what he knew and what he had done.

If that air of suspense had been drawn throughout the book I would have ranked it higher but some of the writing was a little pedestrian and over detailed. Personally, I would have edited out half of the front art of the book and extended the last part. But other readers may disagree.

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Beware guests…

I invited her in Book Cover I invited her in
Adele Parks
Adult, Psychological Thriller, Romance
HQ
September 20, 2018
384

‘I invited her in… and she took everything.’

When Mel hears from a long-lost friend in need of help, she doesn’t hesitate to invite her to stay. Mel and Abi were best friends back in the day, sharing the highs and lows of student life, until Mel’s unplanned pregnancy made her drop out of her studies.

Now, seventeen years later, Mel and Abi’s lives couldn’t be more different. Mel is happily married, having raised her son on her own before meeting her husband, Ben. Now they share gorgeous girls and have a chaotic but happy family home, with three children.

Abi, meanwhile, followed her lover to LA for a glamorous life of parties, celebrity and indulgence. Everything was perfect, until she discovered her partner had been cheating on her. Seventeen years wasted, and nothing to show for it. So what Abi needs now is a true friend to lean on, to share her grief over a glass of wine, and to have some time to heal. And what better place than Mel’s house, with her lovely kids, and supportive husband…

This dark, unsettling tale of the reunion of long-lost friends is thoroughly gripping exploration of wanting what you can’t have, jealousy and revenge from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks.

A chilling tale that warns you to beware of long ago friends and guests that over stay their welcome.

A story that had me hooked up until the last couple of chapters. Excellent writing and and characterisation but I felt that someone had tried out different story endings (like they do in flims sometimes), and had settled for one that could be considered happy.

It rolled up all the loose ends neatly.

Too neatly for me.

I was going to give this book 5 stars but the ending downgraded it to 4. sorry.

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

And her name was?

Her Name was Rose Book Cover Her Name was Rose
Claire Allan
psychological, suspense, contemporary, police procedurals, romance
Avon Books
June 28, 2018
352

'AMAZING. I read it in one go. I was totally hooked.' MARIAN KEYES 'Utterly addictive. Compulsive, twisty, tense.' CLAIRE DOUGLAS, author of Local Girl Missing Her name was Rose. You watched her die. And her death has created a vacancy. When Emily lets a stranger step out in front of her, she never imagines that split second will change her life. But after Emily watches a car plough into the young mother - killing her instantly - she finds herself unable to move on. And then she makes a decision she can never take back. Because Rose had everything Emily had ever dreamed of. A beautiful, loving family, a great job and a stunning home. And now Rose's husband misses his wife, and their son needs a mother. Why couldn't Emily fill that space? But as Emily is about to discover, no one's life is perfect ... and not everything is as it seems.

I thought this was a great read. At first yu think, OK, I know this story, then you find that you really don’t.

The twist at the end I never saw coming – which is what makes a good suspense novel – otherwise no suspense – right?

But, I did find the Epilogue content expected but forgivable under the circumstances of this being billed as a Romance imprint.

Share This:

book review/Books/fiction
0 Comments

When the car went into the river – accident or deliberate?

The Day of the Accident Book Cover The Day of the Accident
Nuala Ellwood
psychological, mystery, thriller, literary fiction
Penguin UK
2019-02
400

Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart.

The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing.

When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral.

What really happened that day at the river?
Where is Maggie's husband?
And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive?

This is a story that draws you into its web of reality and unreality subtly but inexorably, until you really do need to know the truth of their lives.

So there was this car accident and a little girl was drowned. Her mother, Maggie, who wasn’t in the car at the time, tried to save her and nearly drowned herself.

As the story starts, the mother wakes up in hospital from a coma, in ICU, and very confused. She has amnesia and doesn’t remember the accident. Her life has changed dramatically whilst she has lain there very ill, in more ways than just the death of her child.

And then long buried secrets begin to spill out of Maggie’s life.

Compelling story telling. I didn’t want to go to sleep – just keep on reading….

Great twisty ending – very unexpected.

Share This:

book review/Books/crime fiction
0 Comments

Who is to be believed? That’s what the trial is for….

No Further Questions Book Cover No Further Questions
Gillian McAllister
psychological, mystery, thriller, literary fiction
Michael Joseph
October 4, 2018
400

The police say she's guilty.

She insists she's innocent.

She's your sister.

You loved her.

You trusted her.

But they say she killed your child.

 

Who do you believe?

This is a heart-rending tale of a small baby dying and the subsequent trial when the post-mortem shows that she could have been murdered.

Two sisters are divided here as one was baby-sitting for the other, and it was in her care that the baby died, and thus she is on trial.

Would you believe that your sister deliberately killed your baby?

This book tells the struggle of the mother as she sits through the trial and the evidence mounts against her sister.

The trial felt very real to me.

The questioning of the witnesses and the way small things were built up into an overwhelming case of guilty.

A book where you need to keep on reading to find out what the verdict was and does she admit what really happened? Or do we never find out?

I thought it well written, with the complex science of the pathology explained simply enough for the reader to understand and the conclusions that thus could be drawn.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com