Books
0 Comments

Tangled in Dresses

The Tanglewood Wedding Shop Book Cover The Tanglewood Wedding Shop
Lilac Mills
Fiction
Canelo Escape
January 13, 2020
300

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something untrue… Edie has enough on her plate keeping her tyrannical boss happy at Moira’s Wedding Shop. So when society bride Tia begs Edie to design her wedding dress – and keep it a secret from the domineering mother-in-law to be – Edie reluctantly says ‘I will’ to making Tia’s dream come true. If her deception is found out, though, it would mean losing her job… Meanwhile best man James has his eye on Edie and he’s proving ever harder for her to resist. James is upper-crust and Edie’s one unexpected bill away from the breadline – they’re from completely different worlds and there’s no way it can ever work between them… right? A charming, feel-good romance for fans of Daisy James, Holly Martin and Portia MacIntosh.

A wedding shop story with difference.

We are not reading about the shop but the seamstress, who does not own the shop, but makes and designs the gowns – for a pittance due to a mean shop owner.

We have a cute village which emphasises just how remote some of our Welsh ( and Welsh Border) villages can be, lacking the amenities of travel if you don’t have a car, with rare and unreliable buses.

Overall a sweet story within the genre but no real bite and a rather wishy-washy heroine.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Glamour and ….

American Royals Book Cover American Royals
Katharine McGee
Teens & YA , Women's Fiction
Puffin, Penguin Random House UK
September 3, 2019
368

Romance, glamour, ambition and power . . . meet the Washingtons - the most scandalous royal family ever! HRH Princess Samantha has always been a royal rebel. She's the spare not the heir, so no one minds too much who she dates or how hard she parties. It helps that her sister, Princess Beatrice, is literally perfect. She's demure, sweet and beautiful, and she knows that the crown always comes first - no matter what her heart might really want. But they're not the only ones with their eye on the throne. Daphne Deighton might be 'newly noble' but she won Prince Jefferson's heart once, and she'll do anything to get back into the court's favour - and his bed. If only she knew that her competition was a common nobody - plain little Nina Gonzalez, the daughter of the king's secretary. Together these four young women must navigate the drama, gossip, scheming and sizzling romance of the most glorious court in the world. They'll either be crowned in glory - or end up as shockingly royal disasters.

Overall I liked this alternate history of America and thus the world. 
My one issue was with Daphne's age. She was still 17 at the time of writing. 
Her scheming was that of a teenager true, but the concept of marriage at such a young age- well. My guess is that the ages of the main characters were to appeal to an YA audience.
It would have been nice to have had more history of America in the storyline. What had happened after the war with the British? 
There were odd sentences here and there-eg about slavery & Native Americans, but they only left me wanting more detail.
I'm sure a YA audience will love this new series, after all, so many girls dream about being a: 
a. a princess and 
b. To be in charge- to rule.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Cornwall’s Secrets

A Midwinter Promise Book Cover A Midwinter Promise
LULU TAYLOR
General Fiction (Adult) , Romance
Pan Macmillan Pan
November 28, 2019
400

One family across two generations. A marriage marred by trauma and infidelity. Lives marked by death, divorce and a shattered family. A dark secret at the heart of a tragedy. Now the Pengelly family reunites around the sickbed of David, a beloved husband and father, to confront the emotions and the secrets that have divided them over the years. Set around the beautiful wildness of Tawray, a house near the Cornish coast, A Midwinter Promise by bestselling author Lulu Taylor, is a dramatic story of loss, grief and the legacy of secrets. It is also a tale of reconciliation and renewal.

Cornwall is here again in its dark and gloomy clothes – the Cornwall that holds secrets and keeps things close to its heart within family houses and lakes and moors. A story of despair and family intrigue and secrets and all the other elements expected in a saga such as this beautifully written with empathy and understanding. A writer with style.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Add a British accent and well…

British Bedmate
(A Series of Standalone Novels Book 5)
Vi Keeland , Penelope Ward
romance
C. Scott Publishing Corp.
(17 Dec. 2019)

Dear Bridget, I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face. So, here goes. We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England. But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways. I want you. The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke. So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d fancy a British bedmate in the middle of the night sometime. No questions asked. Think about it. Or don’t. Whatever you choose. It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway. --Simon

This novel had an authentic ‘British’ cadence to the speech of Dr Hottie, even though it would appear that neither of the authors were British. He only said ‘luv’ very occasionally and his turn of phrase was so right I could hear him speak in my head.

I thought that the storyline worked and was also enjoyable. I did also learn some rather interesting new vocabulary – the urban dictionary has a lot to answer for… and I also found out that certain terms are very English and need to be explained to US readers, which surprised me.

I will certainly read more by these authors.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What breed?

Betania Breed Book Cover Betania Breed
Collection: Books 1-4:
Jenny Foster
SciFi, Alien, Romance
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(13 Aug. 2018)

The original story "The Captive" led to a novel, and three additional volumes followed. With this collection you are finally holding all four Betania Breed single SciFi romance novels, complete and unabridged, in your hands – and mysterious background material is included. In over 800 pages, you will be up close and personal on an adventurous and dramatic voyage through the universe.

Oh Dear!

I read up to Part 3: The Awakening in hope, but really, this whole muscles and pheromones and falling in ‘love ‘ aka lust at first sight? Just too predictable.

I thought the writing style rather prosaic and not in any way different from 100s of other such alien abduction style books.

The heroine could have been acceptable but she was rather 2 dimensional and finding out after several ‘chapters’ that we were somewhere in Ad 3900 was just too late.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com