Books
0 Comments

A rose by another name

Rosalind Book Cover Rosalind
(The Colville Stories Book 1)
Judith Deborah
Literary Fiction , Women's Fiction
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 01 Apr 2019

"There’s everyone else in the world. And then there is you."

World-class heart surgeon Dr. Peter Sutter runs his life with the instinctive precision of a master of the universe. But when he leaves the operating room, the only living thing waiting for him is a golden retriever. Then a chance encounter with an enigmatic woman changes everything.

Exploring the depths of Rosalind's intoxicating body and captivating spirit, Peter quickly falls under her spell. Miraculously, the feeling is mutual. 

But fate is waiting just around the corner. And it might be carrying a lead pipe.

Rosalind is a sensual, witty, moving story about the joy of real love, the surprise and delight of unexpected passion, and the transcendent power of human connection

It took me a while to get into this story as it was written from the male perspective and thinking which was initially confusing for me.  I have read stories written this way before so this was surprising, however I persevered and was glad. The prose improved in style and content and I began to understand the author’s mindset. And it clicked. I saw the rationale for his behaviours as his explanations became clear, and it was in truth a real love story.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Down by the sea and the plum tree

The Cottage at Plum Tree Bay Book Cover The Cottage at Plum Tree Bay
Darcie Boleyn
Romance , Women's Fiction
Canelo
Pub Date 25 Jul 2019

One summer can change everything...

Catherine Bromley has spent her life in Penhallow Sands, dedicating herself to work and supporting her emotionally fragile mother. Since her father left, it’s always been the two of them and Catherine has no interest in romance. What’s the point when men just leave? And besides, her mother needs her.

But when handsome novelist Mark Coleman arrives to stay at the cottage overlooking nearby Plum Tree Bay, Catherine’s world is changed. She’s soon bumping into Mark everywhere – or being thrown at him by her matchmaking friend! The chemistry is undeniable. But can Mark let go of his painful past to be the man that Catherine can rely on? And will Catherine find the courage to let love in?

A heart-warming romance set in Cornwall and perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Phillipa Ashley.

I kept reading, but when I was some two-thirds of the way through I was still hoping that something would happen that was new and novel and surprising, but it didn’t.

This book sauntered rather than trotted or even cantered to the end of the story. The trope was on too even a keel.

Darcie can write better and does when writing historical fiction. Just too cosy for me… This story only just reaches the 3 star mark..

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

You do know

The Things I Know Book Cover The Things I Know
Amanda Prowse
contemporary fiction, romance, women's literature
Lake Union Publishing
Pub Date 11 Jun 2019

From bestselling author Amanda Prowse comes a heartwarming tale of first impressions and lasting love. Thomasina ‘Hitch’ Waycott loves living and working on the remote family farm and B&B. But she also wants more. To see the world. To own her own home. To fall madly in love. But those are fairy tales, and if her life is a fairy tale, then she’s the ugly duckling. Her deformed lip, her crooked limbs and her weak heart have kept her from taking chances. But that’s about to change. When Grayson Potts comes to stay, he’s unlike anyone Thomasina has ever met. He’s aloof, eccentric and exceptionally kind. He’s also totally unconcerned with the physical flaws that have always defined Thomasina. The two form a bond that neither has had before. It’s possible that it could become something more, but Thomasina also wonders if it’s too good to be true. By putting her heart on the line, Thomasina may open herself to heartbreak. But she may also open herself to so much more.

This is the first book I’ve ever read where I cried at the first chapters.

Hitch – Thomasina – is such a sad character as the story opens, taking happiness in the very small things in her life.

Over-protected by her parents, her life is kept small as her health, as a baby, was precarious, and he rparents hadn’t realised how strong, physically and mentally, she had become.

The story is both sad and also uplifting. It reminds us that happiness is in own hands and can be created from small beginnings.

As we see Thomasina grow in self-belief, we are shown possibilities. There is a strong underlying philosophy apparent in this story that is developed empathetically and subtly with great style.

One of the best quotes from the book is:

‘I know that words are powerful things and have great weight’.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Who Shall We Rescue ?

Saved By Their One-Night Baby Book Cover Saved By Their One-Night Baby
SOS Docs
by Louisa George
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 27 Jun 2019

Can a shock baby…
…redeem this damaged doctor?

In this SOS Docs story, the last person paediatrician Ethan Reid expects to see on board the rescue boat during his latest humanitarian mission is nurse Claire Durand. The woman he shared an electrifying, anonymous encounter with is now his newest colleague! Life’s taught Ethan to keep everyone at arm’s length, but Claire’s bombshell changes everything. Because Ethan’s no longer alone – Claire’s pregnant, with his baby!

The answer is given away of course by the title of this book, so if you are looking for a surprise you aren’t going to get one.

What will surprise you however, is the setting.

Whilst this is the traditional doctor-nurse romance it is set at sea – whilst rescuing refugees in the Med. A medical ship board romance but set in the ship that takes in the survivors from the dodgy rafts and boats that set sail from Africa hoping to reach Europe whilst dreadfully over loaded and under powered.

I enjoyed the writing style and the story biut do wish the female lead wasn’t the nurse so many times!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s travel to Italy

Dreaming of Rome by
T.A. Williams
Romance , Women's Fiction
Canelo
Pub Date 06 May 2019

Rome is where the heart is… The heartwarming read of the summer

Jo has had enough of handsome men. After a painful break-up, she’s decided she doesn’t believe in love.

Then, while on a professional trip to the magical city of Rome, she meets Corrado, a scientist and her brother-in-law to be, who doesn’t believe in love either. To him, it’s just a biochemical reaction. So what’s the problem?

Well, he’s gorgeous for a start, as well as charming, generous, intelligent and attentive, and she feels herself immediately falling for him, despite her new outlook.

The majesty of the Eternal City brings them ever closer together. But is their relationship doomed, or will love conquer all?

Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, Dreaming of Rome is a joyous and uplifting read from T.A. Williams, perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver

Oh how I remember Rome in July/August – hotter than you can imagine – not the place to be – hotter than this novel implies too.

This novel was in many ways predictable – pleasantly so – with many nice diversions. I liked the sailing around the islands and their descriptions; the butterflies; and the science about the environment (such as there was) a very current and important theme.

I also thought that the story was a good length – often romance novels are too short, barely more than a novella – always ending with the ‘and Jack was free’ like TV crime stories – with none of the real explanation. For me, this would be a good holiday read and with some envy thrown in if you are in Cornwall and it is raining!

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com