Books
0 Comments

#Momspringa: Yes please!

The Overdue Life of Amy Byler Book Cover The Overdue Life of Amy Byler
Kelly Harms
Romantic Comedy, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour, Humorous Fiction
Lake Union Publishing
(1 May 2019)

Overworked and underappreciated, single mom Amy Byler needs a break. So when the guilt-ridden husband who abandoned her shows up and offers to take care of their kids for the summer, she accepts his offer and escapes rural Pennsylvania for New York City.

Usually grounded and mild mannered, Amy finally lets her hair down in the city that never sleeps. She discovers a life filled with culture, sophistication, and—with a little encouragement from her friends—a few blind dates. When one man in particular makes quick work of Amy’s heart, she risks losing herself completely in the unexpected escape, and as the summer comes to an end, Amy realizes too late that she must make an impossible decision: stay in this exciting new chapter of her life, or return to the life she left behind.

But before she can choose, a crisis forces the two worlds together, and Amy must stare down a future where she could lose both sides of herself, and every dream she’s ever nurtured, in the beat of a heart.

So after being a frazzled and broke single mum for years Amy Byler is  given the gift of a momspringa – in the way that the US … sect give their children a ..srpinga when they reach adulthood. A year off to discover who they are and what they want to do with their lives.

This year of Amy’s is detailed by the magazine that is sponsoring her – she is photographed and everything she does is told in detail on social media. And it sets a trend amongst tired mums who also want a #momspringa even if only for a few days!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Eat up!

A Slice of Magic Book Cover A Slice of Magic
The Little Magic Pie Shop #1
A. G. Mayes
Romance , Women's Fiction
Harper Impulse and Killer Reads
Pub Date 25 Jan 2019

A plea she can’t ignore, a town of secrets and a magical recipe for love – or disaster…

Susanna Daniels has spent over twenty years wondering why her beloved Aunt Erma disappeared from her life. When Aunt Erma leaves a voicemail asking for help at her pie shop, Susanna thinks she’s finally going to get the answers she’s been waiting for. But when Susanna arrives in the small town of Hocus Hills, Aunt Erma is gone, leaving only a short note, her mischievous dog, Mitzy, and a pie shop with a mind of its own to run…

The first book in The Little Magic Pie Shop series

Well the name of the small town should have given the game away – Hocus Hills – really?!

How do you keep people happy eating pies everyday and yet not worry about putting on weight? Especially if you have the Gym owner badgering everyone to lose weight and win the challenge cup that year?

And then what happens when your estranged aunt asks you to come and help and then disappears? And you really don’t know how to make pies? But are willing to learn..

A cosy story with a bit of humour and mystery. And some magic.

A sweet, charming and magical small town romance for 2019!

4 stars.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Mad Uncles?

Where There's a Will Book Cover Where There's a Will
Beth Corby
contemporary fiction, romance, humour
Hodder & Stoughton
Summer 2019

Would you take the chance that could change everything?

After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald.

But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.

As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald's real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .

This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

So Great Uncle dies and there is a will. So far, so normal. But he isn’t fond of his family – again normal, and hasn’t seen them for many years, apart from a small party he hosted to see them again before he finalised his will. At this party he spends some time talking to his Great Niece Hannah.

He’d had a major bust-up with his sister – over what she wouldn’t say, and on the whole, his family are not likeable characters being fixated on money and social status. All except for his niece Hannah. She is a young woman who has not quite made up her mind what she wants as her career and as a result has drifted rather, but is now finishing an English degree after trying out various others. She is denigrated by her family for her lack of ambition and her sister is rather vile to her all the time.

Which of course is where the will comes in when Great Uncle dies. He has made a number of bequests including some very small ones for his ‘blood’ relatives which rather angers Nicholas, who it turns out was adopted, even though Hannah had not known this until then.

Hannah is however singled out from her relatives and asked, through the auspices of her uncle’s solicitor, to read a number of letters left for her and to undertake some tasks – unspecified – in order to receive a reward – again unspecified. But which she suspects will be the same small bequest that her other cousins got. Intrigued and about to take her finals, with nothing set up to do afterwards, she agrees. She hopes that as her uncle indicates in the first letter, she might gain some self-awareness and thus might know where to go with her life.

There are some great characters in this novel especially Mrs Crumpton as she talks to her dead employer – a lot of us do that – but usually in our heads! And finding out how Great Uncle made his money is also rather unusual and not at all what you might expect.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Ooh flames!

Playing with Fire
A Magical Romantic Comedy (with a body count) #1
RJ Blaine
urban fantasy, comedy, romance,
Pen & Page Publishing
(30 Jan. 2017)

What do you get when you mix gorgons, an incubus, and the Calamity Queen? Trouble, and lots of it. 

For Bailey, catering to the magical is a tough gig on a good day, but she has few other options. She can either keep spiking drinks with pixie dust to keep the locals happy, or spend the rest of her life cleaning up some of the world’s nastiest magical substances. 

Years after helping Police Chief Samuel Quinn escape an unhappy marriage, Bailey is once again entangled in his personal affairs. To make matters worse, Quinn’s ex-wife is angling for revenge, tossing Bailey into the deep end along with her sexiest enemy.

Warning: This novel contains excessive humor, action, excitement, adventure, magic, romance, and bodies. Proceed with caution.

A 5 star read.

There are just so many mythological creatures turning up in this novel – and each and every one of them has attitudes.

Especially when they encounter our heroine – a vanilla human – or is she? Who is a kick-ass snarky virgin. And it is this latter descriptor that brings her to the attention of the gorgon community.

We learn a great deal about the gorgon society in this novel and their mating habits, and also just who finds a use for succubus and incubus in their love life – and what happens when you get a incubus drunk in a bar.

And then there is also the Quinn family – I found the court room scene hilarious – don’t stop reading before you get there!

Lots of fun and hilarity in a nicely crafted mystery story, well written with an easy style – and no grammar or proofing mistakes obvious. Some Americanism in the verbs but I can accept that.

Enjoying this series very much.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Convenient Marriage?

The Earl's Countess of Convenience Book Cover The Earl's Countess of Convenience
Penniless Brides of Convenience, Book 1
Marguerite Kaye
Romance , Women's Fiction, Historical
Mills and Boon
04 Apr 2019

A countess in name only…

…tempted by a night with her husband!

Part of Penniless Brides of Convenience: Eloise Brannagh has witnessed first-hand the damage unruly passion can cause. Yet she craves freedom, so a convenient marriage to the Earl of Fearnoch seems the perfect solution! Except Alexander Sinclair is more handsome, more intriguing, more everything, than Eloise anticipated. Having set her own rules for their marriage, her irresistible husband might just tempt Eloise to break them!

Once upon a time there was an Earl who need a bride in order to inherit his estate and sort out the mess and debts his profligate father and forebears had left him with. But where was he to get one? With money? And in need of a hasty marriage and preferably without the need for a marriage bed.

Not that he swung that way, but more that he couldn’t be bothered to have a real wife who would need him to do things with him.

And then there was a girl – or young woman more like, who also needed a hasty marriage, but she didn’t really have a fortune and to cap it all was American! And Trade! So not really a suitable marriage prospect at all.

But as with these novels the two were brought together and a marriage of convenience for them both, was organised.

A nice novel in this genre wit some amusing touches and well written even if sticking closely to the script. I like these as long as the heroine doesn’t simper, and this one didn’t!

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com