Sweeties for Sale

Misadventures of a Backup Bride Book Cover Misadventures of a Backup Bride
Misadventures #4
Shayla Black
romance, contemporary, women's fiction, romantic comedy
Waterhouse Press
Oct 17 2017

An Overnight Billionaire…
When Carson Frost inherits a confectionary that rakes in billions but is too cash-strapped to last another sixty days, he agrees to take a loan from his late father’s rival. There are two catches: Carson has to sign over a permanent stake in the company and marry the man’s daughter.

Concocts a Fake Bride…
Two weeks before the wedding, he gets cold feet and claims he’s in love with someone else. The investor says he’ll still hand over the cash if Carson takes a stroll down the aisle—with the woman who owns his heart. Since he isn’t even dating anyone, Carson panics. Where is he going to find a bride willing to jilt him at the altar on such short notice?

And Whips Up a Little Love.
Ella Hope is an actress happy for any paying gig, but jilting a hottie in public isn’t what she had in mind. Still, she needs rent, and he’s in a bind. How hard can it be? While playing at matrimony, suddenly their intimacy isn’t so fake. Ella can’t help but fantasize that Carson is her groom and they will live happily ever after. But once his company is safe, will he want her anymore?

****
Misadventures is a romantic series of spicy standalone novels, each written or co-written by some of the best names in romance. The stories are scandalous, refreshing, and, of course, incredibly sexy. They’re the perfect bedside read, a ‘quick blush’ for the reader who loves a page-turning romance.

A nicely written romance in this series where things are never quite what they seem at the start. Not forgetting that despite misunderstandings and misadventures it all ends OK – predictably.

The best in this series that I’ve read so far.

Share This:

When the moon shines….

Moonlight over Manhattan Book Cover Moonlight over Manhattan
#2
Sarah Morgan
romance, contemporary, women's fiction, romantic comedy
HQ
Oct 5th 2017

She'll risk everything for her own Christmas miracle…

Determined to conquer a lifetime of shyness, Harriet Knight challenges herself to do one thing a day in December that scares her, including celebrating Christmas without her family. But when dog-walker Harriet meets her newest client, exuberant spaniel Madi, she adds an extra challenge to her list – dealing with Madi's temporary dog-sitter, gruff doctor Ethan Black, and their very unexpected chemistry.

Ethan thought he was used to chaos, until he met Madi – how can one tiny dog cause such mayhem? To Ethan, the solution is simple – he will pay Harriet to share his New York apartment and provide 24-hour care. But there's nothing simple about how Harriet makes him feel.

Ethan's kisses make Harriet shine brighter than the stars over moonlit Manhattan. But when his dog-sitting duties are over, and Harriet returns to her own home, will she dare to take the biggest challenge of all – letting Ethan know he has her heart for life, not just for Christmas?

 

This is #2 in series where Bk #1  tells the story of Fliss, Grams and the Hamptons and her romance for the 2nd time around.

Now we have Harriet’s love story.

Harriet has stayed in New York to carry on with the Dog Walking practical work while Fliss builds up the business in the Hamptons.

Harriet is a natural ‘Leader of the Pack’ and finds that dogs naturally behave around her, which make her job easier and fun.

This is when she encounters the Grouch aka the Hot Doctor looking after his sister’s spaniel, who is already Harriet’s client.

Harriet being a natural home-maker too starts cooking, and the Grouch gradually comes around to her – and dogs too.

 

Share This:

Lets help animals

Vets at Hope Green Book Cover Vets at Hope Green
Sheila Nortoon
medical, romantic comedy, contemporary, women's fiction, animals
Ebury Press (Fiction)
(1 Jun. 2017)

Sam has always dreamed of working with animals...

But her receptionist job in a London vets is not hitting the spot. Unsure whether a busy city life is for her, she flees to her Nana Peggy’s idyllic country village.

But despite the rolling hills and its charming feel, life in Hope Green is far from peaceful. On first meeting Joe, the abrupt and bad-tempered local vet, Sam knows she must get him on side, but that is easier said than done...

With her dream close enough to touch, will she get there, or will events conspire against her...?

A cozy gentle story with lots of animals and an idealised Dorset village.

About the only true thing about the village is how difficult it would be to get there – a long hilly road in and out, just the one road….

But who cares really?

It’s a warm story and the characters are well portrayed, foibles and all, and who wouldn’t want Nana as their Grandmother?

Share This:

Cooking for fun

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club Book Cover The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club
Chrissie Manby
cooking, baking, women'sfiction
Hodder Paperbacks
September 21, 2017
384

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up . . . Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness? The wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

As i wrote this review I followed one of the recipes in the book- how to make a really good tomato sauce. For Aubergine Parmigiana in the novel. As I caramelised the red onions I thought of how this was a new method of caramelising that I had learnt.

I also learnt a wicked Beef Wellington recipe.

So the cookery club of the title was not only brilliant for the 3 novices who attended in the story but for the reader also.

I really liked this novel with its gentle humour and characters that were totally believable. And as for the Waggy Weight Loss Club and the pet owners being called by their pets’ names – well. I suppose I could be called Mrs Crackle (if they had Cat Club) so long as they pronounced the ‘r’ clearly.

Share This:

Weddings and Hell

Hell’s Bells Book Cover Hell’s Bells
Eve Langlais
paranormal, humour, satire, romantic comedy
Kindle

Welcome to Hell where good intentions have paved the road in sin.

A catastrophe has befallen Hell. The great and mighty Lucifer has fallen prey to the most wicked of spells. He’s become…nice.

Just using that word makes Gaia want to gag. The demon she fell in love with is not some pushover, polite, candy-ass, nice guy. She wants her big, bad Lord of Sin back.

Can she, along with the minions of Hell, find a way to break the curse? And will they do it in time to celebrate the wedding from Hell?

Lucifer getting married ? well yes, especially to Gaia. But that said, I think Eve was getting tired when she wrote this one. Lots of mayhem but each book seemed to me to be getting shorter and the storylines less imaginative. After all, how many times can you have killing and wars and?

3 stars. Sorry Eve!

Share This: