Death helps romance

The Nerdy Necromancer Book Cover The Nerdy Necromancer
The Deadicated Matchmaker Book 1
S E Babin
contemporary fiction, romance, humour, fantasy
Kindle

Helen Reaper has a weird relationship with the dead. As in she can bring anyone or anything back to life, so she’s constantly bombarded by people begging her to restore their loved ones, their pet fish, that cute girl who fell off a building while taking a selfie. Super. Annoying. So Helen becomes a necessary introvert and a homebody, choosing to absorb herself in books instead of real life.

The Deadication Dating Agency, the mysterious matchmaking service in her town of Midnight Cove, comes to her in the form of a mysterious letter and a cute little puppy.

They know someone who’s already dead who won’t mind her talent one little bit.

Can a woman who raises the dead find a love that stays alive?

SE Banin writes funny stories about romance with heroines who are a little bit dotty

(and which I find fun to read as a result)

and in this book she is nerdy and with a strange ability. Necromancer with a difference, she can bring back a person or creature. Make them alive again.

This is not something you want to advertise too widely as you will get bombarded with people who want to bring back dead pets and people whether for love or revenge…

Thus her dating life has suffered… but a Dating Agency has her in their sights… and so the story begins. They want to help her find her Soulmate and….

Share This:

Who loves you?

You are Loved Book Cover You are Loved
Jo Platt
romance, contemporary, romantic comedy
Canelo
(14 Aug. 2017)
Kindle

Author Grace Waterhouse has hit rock bottom. Her ex-husband has just had a baby with his new partner and her latest novel is… well, the less said the better.

Desperate for distraction, Grace impulsively takes on a friend’s cleaning job, parachuting herself into a new social circle including an eccentric OAP, a heartbroken twenty-something and one James Brooke, an enigmatic lawyer with an unblinking stare.

Add to this mix an anxious literary agent, a hairdresser who doesn’t mince words and a newly repentant ex-husband, and Grace's career break proves to be more breathless than breather.

They say that all you need is love – but what if that's the one thing you haven't got?

The heart-warming, funny and unputdownable new novel from bestseller Jo Platt is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Anna Bell and Joanna Bolouri.

A light-hearted, feel good read, ideal for beach-side reading, especially if the world is getting you down.

Not high fiction but you don’t always want to read serious stuff do you? And sometimes, you need to know that other people are just as messy, or have lost things under their bed, or have idiotic coincidences happen to them – just like you.

I do have a bit of a thing though, against writers writing about writers. I know that writers do have writers’ block from my own experience but still, would you willingly clean other people’s houses for a friend? For months? Just because you can’t write?

But don’t let me put you off – the fact that I wouldn’t do it is irrelevant.

Share This:

Left at the altar…

Jilted Prince Book Cover Jilted Prince
Hell's Son #2
Eve Langlais
demons, devils, angels, romantic comedy
Eve Langlais
(25 Mar. 2018)

he left him at the altar, but the devil is making him keep his promise.

Destiny is calling Chris, yet someone forgot to give him an instruction manual on conquering the world. Being the #Antichrist is all well and good, but how is he supposed to know how to bring about Armageddon? He’s still waiting for his army of minions, the glory, the riches. And where is the respect?

You’d think any woman would be ecstatic at the thought of marrying the future ruler of the world.

Not Isobel.

She keeps spouting things like “forced to get married,” “love me for myself, not because Daddy made you.”

It doesn’t help that his psychotic mother with a penchant for playing with dead things has taken an interest. However, having her henchman of the apocalypse attempt to kidnap him isn’t the way to get in his good graces.

Things are starting to get complicated on Earth. Dark forces are rising, Chris’s powers are still developing—and he’s pretty sure his dad, Lucifer, wants him dead. What’s the destroyer of the world to do?

Point him to the nearest bar. This calls for more beer.

Now Christopher has a Ducky. Yes, the same girl he had museum adventures with.

She has this magical chastity belt which is very frustrating.

And after running off initially at the idea of marriage, she agrees to marry Chris, but only if her father can walk her down the aisle. The missing or is he dead, father.

And so the adventure begins.

A fun, flirty story with lots of strange happenings in Hell and elsewhere. A nicely written series running alongside the original Hell series and filling i some of the gaps, as well as opening up good potential for yet more characters’ stories.

Share This:

Cold Water Swimming

The Lido Book Cover The Lido
Libby Page
swimming, literary fiction, romantic humour
Orion
(19 April 2018)

'THE LIDO is a joyous and uplifting debut - a testament to kindness and friendship and all those values society must hold dear' SARAH WINMAN, author of When God Was a Rabbit and Tin Man

Meet Rosemary, 86, and Kate, 26: dreamers, campaigners, outdoor swimmers...

Rosemary has lived in Brixton all her life, but everything she knows is changing. Only the local lido, where she swims every day, remains a constant reminder of the past and her beloved husband George.

Kate has just moved and feels adrift in a city that is too big for her. She's on the bottom rung of her career as a local journalist, and is determined to make something of it.

So when the lido is threatened with closure, Kate knows this story could be her chance to shine. But for Rosemary, it could be the end of everything. Together they are determined to make a stand, and to prove that the pool is more than just a place to swim - it is the heart of the community.

The Lido is an uplifting novel about the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how
ordinary people can protect the things they love.

'A standout hymn to female friendship and the power of collective action' Stylist

'Feel-good and uplifting, this charming novel is full of heart' Lucy Diamond

'Did I #lovethelido? So much my heart broke a little turning the last page. A stunning debut' Clare Mackintosh

Brrrr…

My grandkids swim in an outdoor pool, I doubt it is heated, but I know their mother sits and watches wrapped in several blankets with a hot drink and a hot water bottle! Me – I like my water 30 degrees at least  – above permitted heat I know but…

So I maybe wouldn’t have joined the petition to keep the Lido open, not for me, but certainly there are lots of people who don’t mind the cold so maybe I would join for them. And for a Community Asset which should be kept of course!

I read a recent article by Libby Page who wrote of friendship. Across age, backgrounds and cultures. And the importance of community assets as meeting places to facilitate these friendships. without somewhere where everyone is welcomed, we are impoverished and the lesser for it.

This novel reminds us of the richness of a locality where feet traverse the soil and encounters with others is the norm.

I really must visit Brixton and the market!

 

Share This:

Twit, Tweet

It Started with a Tweet Book Cover It Started with a Tweet
Anna Bell
motivational, romantic comedy, self-help
Zaffre
28 Dec 2017

Daisy Hobson lives her whole life online. A marketing manager by day, she tweets her friends, instagrams every meal and arranges (frankly, appalling) dates on Tinder. But when her social media obsession causes her to make a catastrophic mistake at work, Daisy finds her life going into free-fall . . .

Her sister Rosie thinks she has the answer to all of Daisy's problems - a digital detox in a remote cottage in Cumbria, that she just happens to need help doing up. Soon, too, Daisy finds herself with two welcome distractions: sexy French exchange-help Jean-Marie, and Jack, the brusque and rugged man-next-door, who keeps accidentally rescuing her.

But can Daisy, a London girl, ever really settle into life in a tiny, isolated village? And, more importantly, can she survive without her phone?

Beware those busy fingers – oh so easy to send the wrong thing to the wrong person – or not check the spelling – again!

The number of times I spell a word and get a letter wrong and then my oh so helpful spell checker decides that I meant something else and replaces my word with their suggestion – just as I’m sending the message. With a random word that makes no sense rather than the corrected spelling.

And there have been several highly publicised cases where tweets/emails meant to be private went public. As happens in the start of this light-hearted book.

 

 

Share This: