Trial for a twin

Guilt Book Cover Guilt
Amanda Robson
Fiction, suspense, psychological
Avon Books
April 19, 2018
416

'Thrilling, unputdownable, a fabulous rollercoaster of a read' B A PARIS, bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS The number 1 bestseller is back! Your sister. Her secret. The betrayal. There is no bond greater than blood . . . When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who killed who? And which one is now the woman behind bars? Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome, charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the sisters' lives apart - but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface that the sisters must face up to? As the sisters' relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb's past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is, who? Claustrophobic and compelling, Amanda Robson is back in a knock-out thriller perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

I found this book tricky to make sense of initially as it is written by several characters, each having their own chapter, and thus following the story-line was hard. But I persevered, and was very glad indeed!

Gradually, the characters involved in the story become clearer, and you begin to suspect that all is not well with Sebastien. What is he hiding? And who is/was Jude? And just what happened to him/her?

From the beginning, Sebastien comes over as someone just too full of his own importance, and you learn through his chapters, something of what is going on in his mind, and it is darker than you originally thought it could be.

For my mind, however, there is one major fault with the story. I knew the solution and I also thought the ending – final chapter – rather sickly. I wonder if there was a choice of endings and someone said: “This will appeal to a female audience”.  For me, it didn’t ring of truth.

So not a 5 star book, but a jolly good 4.

Share This:

What is it that is needed?

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter : Need Book Cover The Unlikeable Demon Hunter : Need
Nava Katz #3
Deborah Wilde
paranormal, demons and devils, urban fantasy
Te Da Media
(14 Aug. 2017)

Less Hopelessly Devoted, more Worse Things I Could Do.

Nava is hot on the heels of a demonic serial killer and finally working with her brother. The assignment should be a dream come true, not a nightmarish power struggle made worse by her twin's refusal to believe there's corruption within the Brotherhood. Nava is determined to find proof of their dirty dealings, even as she risks irrefutably breaking her sibling bond.

Speaking of clocking annoying males upside the head... Nava is also totally over smoking hot rock star and fellow hunter Rohan Mitra. There is a veritable buffet of boy options out there, and this girl is now all-you-can-eat. So when her demon hunt brings her first love, Cole, back into her life, her revenge fantasies for closure-on all fronts-are a go. Except neither her old wounds nor her new ones are as healed as she believes.

Still, she's got work to do:
Brotherhood: unmask.
Demons: slaughter.
Guy problems: terminate with extreme prejudice.

Nava rides again to the rescue! Her twin finally finds a way to help. There is fighting. There are demons and devils and magic and…

All good fun with a feisty heroine to imitate? Role model?

Share This:

And then we need

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter : Need Book Cover The Unlikeable Demon Hunter : Need
Nava Katz #3
Deborah Wilde
urban fantasy
Te Da Media

Less Hopelessly Devoted, more Worse Things I Could Do.

Nava is hot on the heels of a demonic serial killer and finally working with her brother. The assignment should be a dream come true, not a nightmarish power struggle made worse by her twin's refusal to believe there's corruption within the Brotherhood. Nava is determined to find proof of their dirty dealings, even as she risks irrefutably breaking her sibling bond.

Speaking of clocking annoying males upside the head... Nava is also totally over smoking hot rock star and fellow hunter Rohan Mitra. There is a veritable buffet of boy options out there, and this girl is now all-you-can-eat. So when her demon hunt brings her first love, Cole, back into her life, her revenge fantasies for closure-on all fronts-are a go. Except neither her old wounds nor her new ones are as healed as she believes.

Still, she's got work to do:
Brotherhood: unmask.
Demons: slaughter.
Guy problems: terminate with extreme prejudice

And our kicking butt heroine just keeps on giving – great stories and ways to catch those sneaky demons! And keep those hot boys on their toes – not to mention deal with that misogynistic Brotherhood.

Share This:

Dark is the hidden

The Darkest Secret Book Cover The Darkest Secret
Alex Marwood
crime, thriller, mystery, psychological
Sphere
2016-06
400

Apologies for the general email, but I desperately need your help. My goddaughter, Coco Jackson, disappeared from her family's holiday home in Bournemouth on the night of Sunday/Monday August 29/30th, the bank holiday weekend just gone. Coco is three years old. When identical twin Coco goes missing during a family celebration, there is a media frenzy. Her parents are rich and influential, as are the friends they were with at their holiday home by the sea. But what really happened to Coco? Over two intense weekends - the first when Coco goes missing and the second twelve years later at the funeral of her father - the darkest of secrets will gradually be revealed... Taut, emotive and utterly compelling, an unputdownable 'ripped from the headlines' novel that you will want to talk about with everyone you know.

Yes, it’s true, Madeline McCann has, sort of, been involved in the concept of this story-line – not that the book attempts to write her story, but rather the idea of a 3 year old child going missing and never being found despite intensive and extensive searches is.

The father is truly a horrible man and you realise why he has so many wives and yet, when it comes down to it, he has a lot of power that he wields to his own benefit despite what it might do to others, including his family.

i enjoyed the way the narrative went from past to present – which is a conceit that id currently being used by many writers as they move the story along through different eyes and different times. Truth is definitely in the eye of the beholder in this story and it takes for the reader to be able to distinguish these truths from reality. and so it hooks the reader in and keeps you reading. The ending has twists you may not guess, which is always, for me, a sign of a good plot.

A well crafted novel. And an author to read.

 

Share This: