Books/book review/Fantasy/Romance/London/crime fiction
0 Comments

Clockwerk and Mapwerk?

The Watchmaker's Daughter Book Cover The Watchmaker's Daughter
Glass and Steele #1/#2
C.J. Archer
Historical Crime, Thrillers & Mystery,  Romance, Fantasy
C.J. Archer
June 28, 2016
380

DESCRIPTION India Steele is desperate. Her father is dead, her fiancé took her inheritance, and no one will employ her, despite years working for her watchmaker father. Indeed, the other London watchmakers seem frightened of her. Alone, poor, and at the end of her tether, India takes employment with the only person who'll accept her - an enigmatic and mysterious man from America. A man who possesses a strange watch that rejuvenates him when he's ill. Matthew Glass must find a particular watchmaker, but he won't tell India why any old one won't do. Nor will he tell her what he does back home, and how he can afford to stay in a house in one of London's best streets. So when she reads about an American outlaw known as the Dark Rider arriving in England, she suspects Mr. Glass is the fugitive. When danger comes to their door, she's certain of it. But if she notifies the authorities, she'll find herself unemployed and homeless again - and she will have betrayed the man who saved her life. With a cast of quirky characters, an intriguing mystery, and a dash of romance, THE WATCHMAKER'S DAUGHTER is the start of a thrilling new historical fantasy series from the author of the bestselling Ministry of Curiosities, Freak House, and Emily Chambers Spirit Medium books. KEYWORDS: historical mystery, historical fantasy, victorian era, victorian fantasy, steampunk, historical romance, paranormal romance, romantic fantasy, paranormal fantasy, magic, fantasy mystery, wild west, oulaws, victorian romance, alternate reality, magical realism

The Watchmaker’s Daughter/The Map Maker’s Apprentice

Part of the Glass and Steele series #1 and #2

I initially thought that these were Clockwerk Urban/Steampunk novels but realised soon that we were actually talking about the alternate Victorian London where there was magic. So I was slightly disappointed at beginning.

But …. then I liked the stories in these 2 books but agree with some reviewers that the language used was not typical English Victorian, but this didn’t bother me as this was not ‘our’ Victorian world after all.

We did see the typical prejudice of the time against women played out well and hidden beneath it, we finally discover, is the prejudice against craftsmen who have a different and rather special skill – magic.

Book #1 was rather slow at times but I did buy the follow on book – however,  found myself not bothered enough to read any more of this series.  Book 1 was better than book 2 in my opinion. Book 2 was repetitive of book 1 and the theme not as strong.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/humour/cats
0 Comments

Love the Cats!

Cat Me If You Can Book Cover Cat Me If You Can
The Hissing Booth Chronicles #0
Gemma Thorne
New Adult, Urban Fantasy, Humour
Independently published
(1 Nov. 2018)

The world ends not with a bang but a hiss.Since the Rise of Magic, soothsayer Journi McCutcheon has faced supernatural sycophants, dated zealous zombies, and battled possessed pediatricians, but when an eccentric client hires her to investigate haunted pickles, her day goes from weird to worse.Only demonic dills are the least of her newly acquired problems.What begins as a nuisance call ends in apocalypse when she stumbles across a mass grave and discovers that the cats therein aren’t just dead—they’re harbingers of extinction.And magic is on the endangered species list.To save her family and Deviants everywhere, she must set aside her feud with all things feline to end the threat.Before it ends her. Cat Me If You Can is the exciting prequel to Crazy Cat Lady, Gemma Thorne’s #1 best-selling debut novel. Packed with quick wit, spell-slinging heroines, and cats, it’s a new breed of urban fantasy. Start this beloved series today.

Here we have a parallel world where magic exploded and the strange creatures came out to play.

I thought this was a good, feisty, female PI heroine. I really loved her Mum and as for Grandma! grandma is a witch who bespells marbles – which make good slingshot ammunition – but you never know what is going to happen when they hit their target…

Nice fun read with lots humour and cats…. purrfect.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

Faceless and buried altars






Lies Sleeping: Book Cover




Lies Sleeping:




Rivers of London #7





Ben Aaronovitch





urban fantasy, police procedural, contemporary




Gollancz




November 15, 2018




320



Martin Chorley, aka the Faceless Man, wanted for multiple counts of murder, fraud and crimes against humanity, has been unmasked and is on the run. Peter Grant, Detective Constable and apprentice wizard, now plays a key role in an unprecedented joint operation to bring Chorley to justice. But even as the unwieldy might of the Metropolitan Police bears down on its foe, Peter uncovers clues that Chorley, far from being finished, is executing the final stages of a long term plan. A plan that has its roots in London's two thousand bloody years of history, and could literally bring the city to its knees. To save his beloved city Peter's going to need help from his former best friend and colleague - Lesley May - who brutally betrayed him and everything he thought she believed in. And, far worse, he might even have to come to terms with the malevolent supernatural killer and agent of chaos known as Mr Punch . . .

We are back in London for this story and in form. The story takes us back to Lesley and the Faceless Man, what they are planning, and explains why.

Our favourite characters are maturing, as are their magical abilities and the talking foxes make a re-appearance with Abigail, who is proving to be more of a natural magician than anyone could have predicted. And I love the explanation of why the foxes talk – and especially  talk to Abigail.

I always very much like the way the history of London, especially the City, is incorporated into these stories. London was built on many ‘magical’ sites of worship from its early founding, and these places become integral to this modern explanation of London and its byeways, special sites, and hidden mysteries.

Indeed, many pagans and historians believe that London may well have had stone circles and standing stones that are now buried beneath the landscape and buildings, as well as religious sites for many religions, and St Paul’s Cathedral did indeed get built over an earlier pagan temple. So truth provides the foundation for great fantasy.

 

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

The Jewel and the Blade






Ruby Callaway Box Set Book Cover




Ruby Callaway Box Set




Ruby Callaway - complete series





DN Erikson





New Adult, Urban Fantasy




Independently published




(14 May 2018)



All three Ruby Callaway novels and all four side stories together for the first time—1,100+ pages of snarky urban fantasy perfect for fans of Kate Daniels and The Dresden Files.

It all started with a death: her own.

Ruby Callaway is the most feared supernatural bounty hunter in the world. But even Ruby has limits. And, after two centuries, she might have finally met her match.

Spanning over two hundred years, from her origin story in 1812 (Bone Realm) to her battle against the corporate monolith MagiTekk in the near-future (Lightning Blade), Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection is not your typical urban fantasy.

But, then, Ruby isn't your typical bounty hunter.

Ruby Callaway: The Complete Collection contains all three full-length novels in The Ruby Callaway Trilogy: Lightning BladeShadow Flare, and Blood River. It also includes all four of Ruby's side adventures fleshing out her two century backstory, previously only available to subscribers of D.N. Erikson's newsletter. These include two novellas: Bone Realm and Going Home, and two side stories: "Silver Tempest" and "Kentucky Clear."

There are 7 books in this series about Ruby – and her magic blade. And they can be bought as a complete collection.

3 books and 4 novellas – It is important to read them in the correct order as indicated by the author, as the novellas supply background and details about the characters and their interactions for the longer stories. They give you the history and timeline.

I thought that book 1 took quite some time to make sense until I realised that it was set in the very far dystopian future and that there is a time loop playing out; and that the novellas gave you the correct timeline against this time loop.

Cleverly written once you got the hang of it! I enjoyed the stories and found Ruby to be the type of heroine I enjoy reading about – she takes no prisoners..

Overall 4 stars but some of the storylines were a little weak, but still  well worth reading.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction
0 Comments

And what is your vice?








BLOOD VICE




Blood Vice #1 (of 6)





ANGELA ROQUET





New Adult, Urban Fantasy, witches and wizards, werewolves, vampires




CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform




(24 May 2017)



Detective Jenna Skye bombs her first week on the St. Louis County Police Department's Vice Squad when she's bitten by a vampire in a supernatural brothel. Her day only gets worse from there. She wakes up in the morgue and discovers that her partner is dead. Before the sun rises, she realizes she is too. Jenna vows to continue their investigation until justice is served, but a werewolf squatter, an unexpected visit from her estranged sister, and a nosy FBI agent stand in her way. Not to mention her fresh aversion to sunlight and a thirst for something a little stiffer than revenge.

An interesting twist on the mix of werewolves and vampires but somehow I didn’t quite invest enough in the characters to read the next book in the series.

Which is a shame as I like the author normally.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com