Books
0 Comments

How Tall?

The Seduction of Tallchief Book Cover The Seduction of Tallchief
by Doreen Owens Malek
Romance , Women's Fiction
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 3 Sep 2019

THE SEDUCTION OF TALLCHIEF concerns the criminal pursuit of a multi-millionaire serial child molester, George Walden, who has used his wealth and connections to escape detection for decades. A reluctant, unconventional agent, Jefferson Tallchief, is sent into Walden’s New Jersey mansion to assemble the case against him. The relationship that develops between Walden’s bitter and reclusive daughter, Victoria, and the new hire acting as her driver forms the core of the story. As they get to know one another, their prejudices (he’s Native American and she’s mostly WASP) dissipate and a bond slowly develops between them. While Tallchief works covertly to uncover evidence that will bring Walden to justice, he’s increasingly conflicted about his deceptive role in Victoria’s life. Just when he has a major breakthrough that means he can put Walden in prison for good, Tallchief must deal with a shocking twist that changes the dangerous game entirely. The story builds to a tension filled climax which will determine the future of all the players involved. This riveting blend of suspense and romance makes a compelling, satisfying read.

As the author herself says, there is a certain fascination with a Native American as hero, especially if they look like this author makes them! The archetype that is portrayed of a strong, silent, deep person, with hidden emotions, capable and surprising and loyal.

This is how she writes Tallchief and provides him as a foil to the pale, apparently weak, heroine of the story. Someone he could rescue, cherish and take away from her cage and set her free to flourish.

But it turns out that she has hidden depths too, and is more capable than he imagined.

The father is the villain here, and his crimes are very nasty indeed.

Overall a nicely crafted story but not original in concept even if different in delivery.

And just FYI. This author has written a series of 4 novels earlier in her career about Native American heroes and the storyline is very similar. The heroine is nearly always blonde and pale and from the North, and they are mostly set in Florida. Basically, she writes the same story with slightly different settings and careers and backgrounds, but always with two different ethnicities and cultures at play.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Cottage of your dreams?

Snowdrops on Rosemary Lane Book Cover Snowdrops on Rosemary Lane
Ellen Berry
Fiction
HarperCollins UK, Avon
November 11, 2019
384

Curl up with this uplifting festive read – perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

Last winter she had a plan.

Lucy fell in love with tumbledown Rosemary Cottage as a child. So thirty years on, when she loses her city job and discovers the cottage is for sale, it feels like fate. She’ll raise her children in Burley Bridge and transform the cottage into a B&B with her husband.

But a year can change everything . . .

Now Lucy is juggling two children and a B&B, but on her own. Christmas looks set to be their last on Rosemary Lane – until she meets James, a face from her past and someone who might offer a different kind of future . . .

Should Lucy leave the cottage behind? Or could this winter on Rosemary Lane be the start of something new?

Oh what a mother! Seriously needs to be told to get a life – for herself – get a hobby, look after her husband’s health and butt out of her daughter’s life.

That said, despite the well written mother’s character, the whole story never grabbed me. It seemed to meander along gradually coming to an end with no great reveal, no drama and no real emotional empathy.

It needs humour and editing to become a sharper piece of writing. For me, the ‘bleakness’ never really felt true. A cosy story that lacked originality and intensity

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Down and out in Kensington

Miss Lottie's Christmas Protector Book Cover Miss Lottie's Christmas Protector
(Secrets of a Victorian Household, Book 1)
Sophia James
Fiction, (Mills & Boon Historical)
HarperCollins UK
October 31, 2019
368

A Christmas mission... ...with the scarred and brooding gentleman! Part of Secrets of a Victorian Household: Working in her family’s charity foundation for destitute women, caring but impulsive Miss Lottie Fairclough is desperately trying to find a missing woman. She’s roped in family acquaintance Mr Jasper King to help her, equally impressed and annoyed when he rescues her from perilous danger! As she gets to know the injured entrepreneur, it seems he needs her just as much…

This is an historical novel that has the normal features of the genre with the added benefit of a discussion of some of the social ills of the time. I always think that this adds an extra element of interest as I enjoy reading about social or political history.

Set in London and around Kensington, which is of course, one of the most expensive and poshest areas of London, it was also notorious in the late 19th century for the Jennings Buildings.

Just FYI Magpie is slang for a thief – as we all know what magpies do, and magpies lived in the Jennings Buildings, hance the name Old Pye Street.  Jennings built 81 two storey wooden tenements grouped over 5 courts, meant for 200 or so inhabitants. He built 49 toilets to serve the 5 courts.

At the time this story was set there were probably over 1000 people living in the Irish Rookery as the Jennings Buildings became known. At least 800 of the inhabitants were known to be Irish. The Irish peasants and labourers and their families had emigrated to London in vast numbers over the 19th century due to poverty, illness and famine and crowded into what accommodation they could get however unsanitary. The men tended to be construction workers and fruit pickers and the women worked the laundries.

Here’s an interesting historical note to add to this, in the early 20th century the Irish immigrated a little further afield many into Kilburn, North London, which became known as Little Ireland and were supporters of the IRA. But the men were still labourers and ‘bogtrotters’ ie from farm land, and the  women who emigrated tended to go into the care and nursing industries and wouldn’t marry them! Too poorly educated and bad tempered. I know this from my Irish friends in that area…

As for the Jennings Buildings they were so notorious they were demolished in 1873 and a very large house was built on the many acres, by a gentleman called Grant . Grant was riding high and generally enjoyed public confidence. In this period he resolved to build a vast house in its own grounds close to Kensington Palace, on the combined sites of the previous Kensington House, Colby House, the slums of Jennings Buildings and associated plots. In 1872 he proceeded to buy the freeholds of Kensington House and Colby House and to demolish them. (British History Online.)

 Next year he purchased the freeholds of Jennings Buildings and other properties on and behind the east side of Kensington Square. Here the prices are known: £14,000 for one tract including Nos. 2 and 3 Kensington Square, £11,000 for another, and £2,000 for a ragged school run by the parish.  Commentators of the time marvelled that Grant did not resort to law to eject the tenants of Jennings Buildings. He simply paid them off as necessary and let them carry off any woodwork they wanted, so accelerating the work of destruction. 


Grant’s expenditure on buying the land and building his new Kensington House was estimated to have been about £300,000 but by 1882 the house was up for sale by Grant’s creditors as he owed so much and In June the first sale of materials occurred; portions of the marble stairs were acquired for installation at Madame Tussaud’s,

So after the history lesson, did I enjoy the book? Yes, not only because it enabled me to delve into some social history, but also because it was true to life and well written.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Puppies and more

A Puppy And A Christmas Proposal Book Cover A Puppy And A Christmas Proposal
(Mills & Boon Medical)
Louisa George
Fiction. Romance
HarperCollins UK
November 28, 2019
192

Her ex-fiancé... ...is giving her paws for thought! Alex Norton devastated Beth Masters when he told her he could no longer marry her. The last thing she wants this Christmas is to come face-to-face with him, clutching an adorable puppy! Warm-hearted vet Beth can’t say no to a four-legged patient in need but she’ll need to guard her damaged heart from delicious doc Alex. Which becomes impossible when he finally reveals the reason why he left…

A nicely written romance with the twist of testicular cancer which affected the menfolk of a certain family and the impact that it would have on their future life – assuming that they survived. But it is worth noting that the general 5-year survival rate for men with testicular cancer is 95%. This means that 95 men out of every 100 men diagnosed with testicular cancer will live at least 5 years after diagnosis. The survival rate is higher for men diagnosed with early-stage cancer and lower for men with later-stage cancer. Unfortunately it can spread to the lymph nodes if not caught quickly and this makes it more dangerous. It most commonly diagnosed between 15 and 40 years of age.

Without this sub story we have a more normal romance which could have become rather sickly as puppies are rather Xmas obvious.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

24 hours of short stories

The 24-Hour Café , Book Cover The 24-Hour Café ,
Libby Page
General Fiction (Adult), Women's Fiction
Orion Publishing Group
Pub Date 23 Jan 2020

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Lido comes a story of friendship, belonging and never giving up on your dreams Welcome to the café that never sleeps. Day and night, Stella's Café opens its doors to the lonely and the lost, the morning people and the night owls. It's a place where everyone is always welcome, where life can wait at the door. Meet Hannah and Mona: best friends, waitresses, dreamers. They love working at Stella's - the different people they meet, the small kindnesses exchanged. But is it time to step outside and make their own way in life? Come inside and spend twenty-four hours at Stella's Café, where one day might just be enough to change your life . . .

This author is becoming a master story teller – especially of short – micro – stories.

The device used in this book is 24 hours in a cafe open for 24 hours. Within these 24 hours we read about the lives of the people who come to drink and eat there. Each person has story to tell whether it is about friendship, love, loss or even London and what it means to them. Woven through their stories is the major story about friendship and careers and London living for young women.

London is a place where you can wear anything you like, and be whoever you want without judgement.  The author says this but I have heard it myself from other young women who have some to London from more restrictive places, places perhaps where what you wear is noted and commented on, and who you are and what your sexuality is is restricted. No-one worries in London. People perhaps are too busy or too self-absorbed or too uncaring some would say. Others would say, London is free and permissive and allows people to expand and become who they were meant to be.

All this is noted in the micro stories told within these 24 hours.

A wonderful and masterful book.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com