Jo Jo starts here

Still Me Book Cover Still Me
JoJo Moyes
Womens' Literature, Romance , Women's Fiction, Humour
Michael Joseph
25 Jan 2018

Lou Clark is back in the ALL NEW Jojo Moyes novel Still Me, follow-up to the Number One international bestsellers Me Before You and After You. Read the first chapter here! Lou Clark knows too many things . . . She knows how many miles lie between her new home in New York and her new boyfriend Sam in London. She knows her employer is a good man and she knows his wife is keeping a secret from him. What Lou doesn't know is she's about to meet someone who's going to turn her whole life upside down. Because Josh will remind her so much of a man she used to know that it'll hurt. Lou won't know what to do next, but she knows that whatever she chooses is going to change everything.

So a new life for our favourite Lou. In New York and with a very upper crust family, even down to uniforms.

Lou finds herself in a new place with lots to find out about her new life and is excited for her new job.

This review is just about the first chapter of Jo Jo Moyes new book. NetGalley hasn’t released the remainder yet, but from what I have read it sounds good and gently humorous. As yet i cannot say whether it will make me cry like Me Before You did but who knows. I wait to read more!

Share This:

Why to Knit?

The Woolly Hat Knitting Club Book Cover The Woolly Hat Knitting Club
Poppy Dolan
Women’s Fiction
Canelo
25th September 2017

Finding happiness one stitch at a time

When Dee Blackthorn’s brother, JP, breaks both wrists not only is he in need of a helping hand – or two – but the knitting shop he owns can’t function. Sisterly duties take Dee away from her demanding job and she is unceremoniously fired amidst rumours of inappropriate behaviour. Dee is certain that her hot-shot nemesis, Ben, is behind it all but has no proof.

When Dee bumps into an old friend who is new mum to a premature baby she convinces JP to enlist his knitting pals to make lots of tiny woolly hats. Then Ben turns up denying involvement in Dee’s sacking and she ropes him into helping the knitting cause.

But before long Dee’s good intentions backfire and she risks losing her friends, her family and Ben, who’s turned out to be not so bad after all…

A feel-good romantic comedy about learning what life is really all about, The Woolly Hat Knitting Club is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Tilly Tennant and Carole Matthews.

 

  1. Can you tell your readers something about why you chose this particular topic to write about? What appealed to you about it? Why do you think it is different and your approach is unique? I’ve wanted to write a novel with knitting as a theme for a while now, seeing as I love all things crafty. But I wanted to put a little bit of a spin on what you might expect – so my heroine Dee isn’t at all crafty, but her brother JP is! When he can’t run his haberdashery on his own, she has to throw herself into a woolly world…
  2. How long do you think about a topic before deciding to write about it? Do you have a set of notes or a notebook where you write down topics that appeal before making a decision as to which topic this time? I try to combine a burst of inspiration with a lot of thorough planning, so that my idea gets carried through the whole story. I use notebooks and post-its and scribble ideas anywhere I can, if needs be!
  3. How long does it take to research a topic before you write? And for this book? Seeing as I’ve been a keen knitter for more than ten years, I didn’t need to research anything new for this novel. I could dig up all my crafty nerdiness!
  4. What resources do you use? In general and for the last book that you wrote? [Not sure this applies to me, sorry.]
  5. How helpful do you find authority figures such as the police when you say you want to write about them? Is there a good way to approach them in your experience? [Not sure this applies to me, sorry.]
  6. How many times have you been rejected before your first novel was accepted or before this book was accepted? My first novel got rejected by a whole host of traditional publishers and it took me a long time to get over the heartbreak and disappointment.
  7. Did you need to self-publish on e-books before a publisher took you up? When I did work up the courage to try again, I self-published a novel called The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp and things took off from there! I’m now very lucky to be published by Canelo, who are an amazing team
  8. Would you recommend self-publishing and building an audience before approaching a publisher? If so, what benefits do you see that it might have for the aspiring novelist? I think it comes down each individual author and what sort of goals they have and how much time they have. Self-publishing was an amazing jumping off point for me but I now find so many brilliant benefits to being with a publisher – they have lots of expertise I don’t have, the work of publishing and promoting a book is spread across a whole team rather just being down to me and when I’m having a wobble there are people to lead me in the right direction!
  9. Does writing provide sufficient income to live on? And how long did it take before this happened? Not for me, sadly!
  10. What is the funniest thing that happened to you on a book tour? I’m yet to go on one, but if I do I’ll make a note of anything funny that happens…
  11. Why did you take up Knitting? I love anything crafty, so I picked up my first set of needles when knitting became fashionable again about 15 years ago.
  12. What is the first thing you ever knit? I knitted a big chunky scarf which took me months and lots of trial and error! I think I gave it to my mum.
  13. What reasons would you give for people to take up knitting? It’s really relaxing and can help crack your phone addiction! Plus, you’re never stuck for gifts to give people.

 

Share This:

Lets help animals

Vets at Hope Green Book Cover Vets at Hope Green
Sheila Nortoon
medical, romantic comedy, contemporary, women's fiction, animals
Ebury Press (Fiction)
(1 Jun. 2017)

Sam has always dreamed of working with animals...

But her receptionist job in a London vets is not hitting the spot. Unsure whether a busy city life is for her, she flees to her Nana Peggy’s idyllic country village.

But despite the rolling hills and its charming feel, life in Hope Green is far from peaceful. On first meeting Joe, the abrupt and bad-tempered local vet, Sam knows she must get him on side, but that is easier said than done...

With her dream close enough to touch, will she get there, or will events conspire against her...?

A cozy gentle story with lots of animals and an idealised Dorset village.

About the only true thing about the village is how difficult it would be to get there – a long hilly road in and out, just the one road….

But who cares really?

It’s a warm story and the characters are well portrayed, foibles and all, and who wouldn’t want Nana as their Grandmother?

Share This:

Cooking for fun

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club Book Cover The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club
Chrissie Manby
cooking, baking, women'sfiction
Hodder Paperbacks
September 21, 2017
384

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up . . . Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness? The wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

As i wrote this review I followed one of the recipes in the book- how to make a really good tomato sauce. For Aubergine Parmigiana in the novel. As I caramelised the red onions I thought of how this was a new method of caramelising that I had learnt.

I also learnt a wicked Beef Wellington recipe.

So the cookery club of the title was not only brilliant for the 3 novices who attended in the story but for the reader also.

I really liked this novel with its gentle humour and characters that were totally believable. And as for the Waggy Weight Loss Club and the pet owners being called by their pets’ names – well. I suppose I could be called Mrs Crackle (if they had Cat Club) so long as they pronounced the ‘r’ clearly.

Share This:

Go where with you?

The Proposal Book Cover The Proposal
Perfect Match series #1
Lily Zante
romance, contemporary, women's fiction,
Kindle

She's a high-flying career woman, ambitious and driven. He's a sexy struggling artist, and an escort by night...

A high-flying career woman with no time for romance finds herself at a loose end for her company's annual marketing convention. Partners are encouraged and Nadine Stefano has every intention of fitting the image she believes her boss wants.
Desperate to show that she's in a settled and happy relationship, only one major problem stands in her way: she's single.
Unless she can persuade the stripper she met at her sister's bachelorette party to be her pretend boyfriend-for one weekend only. Easy, right?

But Ethan Adams is something else. Not only is he five years younger, but he is also sexy as sin.

Theirs is a strong attraction, and the over-worked and uptight Nadine soon finds herself falling for the easy-going younger man.

What happens when a corporate high-flier with no time for men meets a gorgeous stripper who is sex-on-legs?

Nadine is career oriented, and as such working too hard for a personal life – she has so much to do she takes her work home every night. And even tries to work during her sister’s pre-wedding parties – even when such party includes male strippers! But she does notice Ethan, one of the performers, and when she requires an escort to a work conference, she remembers him, and hires him for the weekend.

The issue I had with this book was not the writing style or actual written content, but the unoriginality of the story-line. This whole ‘need a boyfriend /escort to an event – hire one’ is far from new. And the falling for a male escort too.

As the story is very standard and there is not even any humour, I got bored and stopped reading.

 

Share This: