Miracle Creek Book Cover Miracle Creek
Angie Kim
Mystery & Thrillers General Fiction (Adult) ,
Hodder & Stoughton
Pub Date 16 Apr 2019

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets.

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine - a pressurised oxygen chamber that patients enter for "dives", used as an alternative therapy for conditions including autism and infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night: trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges, as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

A disastrous event – deliberately caused – but by whom?

So there is a trial as the detectives think they know the answer to the question, and the story covers this trial as they try to establish the truth of the arson and thus murder.

But as the trial progresses, what started out as a small white innocuous lie seems to be just one lie among many, by many.

The untruths start spilling out and what seems obvious starts to become a lie too. And the little white lies become big and important.

I like the twist of using Korean immigrants and allowing their traditions to influence their behaviour in this story.

And note, all the treatments Elizabeth uses, including HBOT, seem to be at least partially recognised as potential ‘cures’ or assistance in alleviating autism. None of course have passed clinical trials so they are difficult to assess their outcomes, especially as many are used alongside each other.

Note that the author has used HBOT herself and is a trial lawyer and a Korean immigrant.

Share This:


Author

tigger10

There are currently no comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com