Books
0 Comments

Wickedly we… Book Blitz

Something Wicked
Lockhart Legacy, #1
Emery Nicolson
Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy
March 1st 2021

Something wicked this way comes…

You’d think being the descendant of powerful witches would grant me the power to sort out my life, right? But you’d be wrong. I’m stuck in a rut, disdained by my family, and my romantic life is a disaster. Oh, and did I forget to mention that I have no magic?

When a cursed heirloom is stolen, I should stay out of it and leave the retrieval to those better equipped but everything seems to lead back to me…

With the help of an enigmatic bounty hunter, I may be able to clear my name and retrieve the artefact before death and chaos are unleashed upon my beloved city but doing so could cost me everything — including my life.

Excerpt

My apartment is not too far from the family offices, below which the brig is located, but Rhea’s uncharacteristic kindness seems to be holding and rather than march me through the city she calls a cab to transport me to jail which I am immeasurably grateful for given the circumstances. 

The cab drops us outside the tour offices and Rhea quickly hops out, dragging my case with her, as I follow her at a much more sedate pace being in no hurry to go to jail and even less of a hurry to put weight on my feet again. To my surprise, Rhea heads for the tour office and not the brig which is a little bit further down the hill. 

“We’re going through the office?” I ask, as she unlocks the door and gestures for me to enter.

She rolls her eyes at me. “Delays the scandal this way.”

I snort, for of course it does. 

I had barely hobbled two steps into the dimly lit space when a furious screech echoes throughout the room. “COLM WALKER! Really Millie? Have you lost your goddamn mind!” 

“Hello to you too mum.”

“Don’t take that tone with me! What were you thinking? Colm Walker! How could you do this? How could you get involved with that – that man!”

Fury simmers through me at her words. I knew when I went home with Colm that it would not be well received by the family – and that was before The Widow’s Ruby was stolen – but her lack of priorities is shocking. Not to mention that I am a grown woman! My family have no right to try and dictate who I date, fuck, or spend time with! 

“Calm down mum,” Rhea interjects, before I can open my mouth and rile my mother up even more. Unfortunately, listening has never been my mother’s strong suit, so she continues ranting.

“Calm down? Calm down! You cannot be serious?” My mother points a furious finger at me. “She’s involved with a felon! A Walker no less, and you expect me to calm down?”

I’m curious when Rhea rubs her forehead looking utterly exasperated, with our mother, and not me, for a change. She looks like she’s praying for patience when she chides, “We don’t know that mum.”

Yep, something is definitely wrong with Rhea. She is never nice to me. She is typically the chairman of the ‘let us beat up on Millie’ committee, and she is an epic parental kiss ass, yet this is the second time in twenty-four hours she’s stood somewhat with me. It is unnatural. I suppose if us supernaturals exist, then it is perfectly logical that aliens do too and, in that case, I fear my sister has been swapped out for a pod person. At the very least she has had something knocked loose by thorough probing; there’s really no other explanation for her sudden humanity.

AUTHOR BIO:

Emery Nicolson is a wife, mother and mad cat-lady living in the South West of England. When she’s not writing, she’s probably reading, baking or out walking through a forest. 

Emmy (or Nics, as she’s more often referred to) loves hearing from readers and you can find her online via Twitter (@EmmyNicolson), Facebook (@EmeryNicolsonAuthor) or her website (emerynicolson.co.uk). 

Author links: 

https://www.facebook.com/EmeryNicolsonAuthor/

https://www.emerynicolson.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/861820904638137

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What might you dare? Book Reviews.

All available for free on KU.

Once upon a time there were a series of books about women living in the Regency period who dared. Who dared each other to do something somewhat scandalous in that period of time. There are 12 books in this series – and another series just starting about their daughters. [You should be aware that due to timing of babies and that one marriage had 8 children, daughters were being born just as the oldest daughters were being married – not that wasn’t unusual in those days, it happened to my own grandmother!]

The books are of course rather feminist in tone and include women who dare to break the conventions – to begin with because the original set of ladies were unconventional – bookworms, unmarriageable due to birth circumstances, and so on. So they formed a club – The Peculiar Ladies. Note that birth circumstances in that time included being Irish or Scottish as well as partly Indian, illegitimate, without a dowry etc etc and definitely including having some intelligence and showing it. Remember, this was a time when the law made women effectively chattels. Once married they were ‘owned’ by their husbands. There was no law to protect them from any abuse, their property was controlled by their husbands unless it was legally tied up before their marriage as some fathers did, and opinions were things they should not have. Some men went so far as to forbid their wives to read because it meant they might form their own opinions rather than accepting his.

Now 12 books is too many to review. Suffice to say they are all fun, include some naughty Bridgerton scenes, and I shall indicate by an image for each one, the denouement or a keen clue.

To Dare a Duke (Girls Who Dare Book 1) (29 Mar 2019)

To Steal a Kiss (Girls Who Dare Book 2) (3 May 2019)

To Break the Rules (Girls Who Dare Book 3) (7 Jun 2019)

To Follow her Heart (Girls Who Dare Book 4) (9 Aug 2019)

To Wager with Love (Girls Who Dare Book 5) (13 Nov 2019)

To Dance with a Devil (Girls Who Dare Book 6) (12 Dec 2019)

To Winter at Wildsyde (Girls Who Dare Book 7) (7 Feb 2020)

To Experiment with Desire (Girls Who Dare Book 8) (20 Mar 2020)

To Bed the Baron (Girls Who Dare Book 9) (24 Apr 2020)

To Ride with the Knight (Girls Who Dare Book 10) (29 May 2020)

To Hunt the Hunter (Girls Who Dare Book 11) (3 Jul 2020)

To Dance until Dawn (Girls Who Dare Book 12) (14 Aug 2020)

I thought I would just add a rider about marriage and the 3 ways you could marry in Regency times.

According to the Marriage Act of 1754 you could:

  1. Call Banns in a church where you were a congregant. as now.
  2. Have a Special Licence – which enabled you to marry in haste. Archbishop of Canterbury and allowed a marriage to take place anywhere, not just within a place of worship licenced for marriages. A handful were granted each year, usually to members of the upper reaches of the aristocracy. See Jane Austen’s London for more details of Marriage in Regency times.
  3. Obtain a Commons Licence. this was normally issued by one of the following – an Archbishop, an Archdeacon, the Minister of a named parish such as St Paul’s. You went to Doctor’s Commons in London for the Registry. There needed to be no impediments. You had to be over age of consent for marriage. Sometimes you had to provide a money bond. And in theory you needed to be resident in the Parish where you were to be married, for 4 weeks – but often ignored.
https://janeaustenslondon.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/marriage-licence-3.jpg

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Dead but not Gone? Book Blitz

Dead and Gone
Grave Talker #2
Annie Anderson
Adult, Urban Fantasy
February 23rd 2021

There are few things worse than being on the Arcane Bureau of Investigation’s naughty list. To keep herself out of hot water, Darby Adler has made a deal with the devil—using her skills as a grave talker to help the ABI solve some very cold cases. But there is something mighty amiss in this task—especially when quite a few of these cases lead Darby right back to her hometown of Haunted Peak and the secrets buried there.


Meet Darby. Coffee addict. Homicide detective. Oh, and she can see ghosts, too.

⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣
The second book in the Grave Talker series is here! Dead & Gone by @annieande is available NOW ➞ https://geni.us/deadandgone-amazon
⁣⁣
⁣⁣#bookstagram #bookworm #bookish #booklover #bibliophile #booknerd #XpressoTours @XpressoTours #booksofinstagram #bookaddict #bookstagrammer #igreads #bookshelf #bookaholic #bookclub #booklove #bookphotography #instabook #writersofinstagram #bookblogger #readersofinstagram #goodreads #instagood #instabooks
 

Excerpt 1

“Out less than a minute and already talking to spirits and punching ghosts. Way to go, Adler.”

That smooth voice did not belong to my best friend, J. Oh, no. I wasn’t that lucky. The big hunk of man-meat Siobhan had been talking about was not my partner, but the death mage ABI agent who’d simultaneously saved my bacon and torched it.

I swung my head to face Bishop La Roux, straightening my shoulders like I was going to have to punch him, too.

Dressed in a criminally hot pair of jeans and a T-shirt that should be illegal in at least five states, Bishop held out a bag with a very familiar logo on it like he was warding off a lion. Ignoring his messy hair and scruffy beard, I met his coal-dark eyes with suspicion. But instead of punching him like I had Hildy, I snatched the Si Señor bag from his hands, opened it, and dug in. The prison fare was a step above cat food, in my opinion, and just the thought of that yummy bit of heaven made my mouth water.

“Good to see tacos still work,” he said, chuckling. “You need a ride home?”

The last time he’d needed to bribe me, he’d done it with these tacos. Good god in heaven, I was a pushover. I ignored the ridiculously hot man in favor of unwrapping a taco one-handed and shoving an end in my mouth. My teeth crunched into the blissfully crispy half-steak, half-pork taco, and my eyes rolled back in my head.

“Maybe,” I said around a mouthful of food. If he were any other man, I might have felt weird about my rudeness, but just like Hildy, Bishop was on thin ice. Though, tacos were an excellent way to strengthen his footing.

That taco was gone in another two bites, and I swallowed the yumminess before continuing, “How’d you hear about me getting out? Even I didn’t know until today.”

Bishop gave me a sly smile. “A little birdy told me.”

“I suppose you could give me a ride if you don’t have anything better to do,” I conceded, my tone only mildly petulant.

“No, Adler,” Bishop said, his voice a hell of a lot closer than it had been a few seconds ago. I whipped my head back to find him solidly in my space. “I don’t have anywhere else I want to be.”

Well, okay then.

AUTHOR BIO:

Annie Anderson is a military wife and United States Air Force veteran. Originally from Dallas, Texas, she is a southern girl at heart, but has lived all over the US and abroad. As soon as the military stops moving her family around, she’ll settle on a state, but for now she enjoys being a nomad with her husband, two daughters, an old man of a dog, and a young pup that makes life… interesting.

Author links:

https://www.annieande.com/

https://www.instagram.com/annieande/

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAnnieAnderson

https://www.pinterest.ca/AnnieAnde/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6108766.Annie_Anderson

Playlist Link: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/48Ju9yAjLTtlZPtYuozhAq

Giveaway Link: https://kingsumo.com/g/3qc53d/dead-gone-release-day-giveaway

⁣⁣

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

How Crazy? Book Review

Crazy for Loving You: Book Cover Crazy for Loving You:
Bluewater Billionaires
by Pippa Grant
Romantic Comedy
Bang Laugh Love LLC
Kindle Edition

Is there anything hotter than a growly, overprotective Marine cradling a baby? My melted ovaries don’t think so. When you work hard and have the bank account to prove it, you’re entitled to play hard. I’ve seen some crazy things. I’ve caused some crazy scenes. And there’s no shame in my game. But I’m still knocked off my stilettos when an insane chain of events leads to me inheriting a baby. The craziest part? The baby comes with a by-the-books, no-nonsense retired Marine who's so regimented that I wouldn't be surprised if he irons his boxer shorts. Parenting? Bring it on. I don’t need sleep—I once started my day with business meetings in Cairo and ended it three days later at a club in Melbourne. Changing diapers? Please. It can't be any more challenging than changing out of Spanx on the back of a moving motorcycle. Training the little guy to run the family’s real estate empire? He’ll be all our bosses by the time he’s four. But living with my new co-guardian? The gruff, muscled, tattooed former military man who manages to check all my boxes while trying to sneak under my skin? He needs to go. Because the longer he stays, the more layers he’s peeling off my heart. But love isn’t something that’s ever diluted my gene pool, and I like my life just fine without it. I have awesome friends, this adorable baby and an obscene amount of money. Who needs love? Turns out…maybe me. Crazy for Loving You is a larger-than life ride through accidental parenthood featuring a fun-loving billionaire playgirl, a crusty Marine with a gooey center, a horny dolphin, the world’s most obscene pool, and all the fun you’d expect from a world built by Lucy Score, Claire Kingsley, Kathryn Nolan, and Pippa Grant. The Bluewater Billionaires are four shared-world hot romantic comedies written by Lucy Score, Claire Kingsley, Kathryn Nolan, and Pippa Grant. They can all be read as stand-alone novels.

So Blue Water is an area of high priced places to live with all sorts of amentities designed by women. With their own special touch added to it.

One special woman has a mother obsessed with reproductive organs and making them into art, of all types, and helped by the some of these women, they have made a fortune.

So these women, fed up with men dominating real estate have also created their own special oases for themselves within Blue Water – and yes, you might have guessed, the amenities such as the harbour and the swimming pool are all designed as…

And also sold some of these oases at a very nice price. They are now Billionaires in their own right.

Such a fun idea and a fun book too. Pippa Grant writes flirty romcoms with gusto and a wild imagination.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Guess who’s written what: Book Review

The Bewitched Family Book Cover The Bewitched Family
Iman's Journal Book 2
by Emily Flowers
Romance | Sci Fi & Fantasy
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 30 Jun 2020

A tough battle between the wizards and the witches is ahead! When Iman meets Troy's family, his mother comes across as really sweet and kind in the beginning. However, Iman sees beyond her fake smile and senses there is something sinister about this family. She decides to investigate and the more she finds out, the more she puts herself and Troy in danger. Standing by is not an option. Iman must confront the dark force head-on or humankind is doomed. The spell book and the wizard's wand are ready. A duel is inevitable. But that also means Iman may lose Troy for good ... What is Troy’s mother up to? Is there hope for humanity? Will Iman be able to protect the love of her life?

Witches have nice grandfathers who give them recipe books it seems, who give them jewels too, and sometimes they are wizards too, but meeting the boyfriends’ family is an whole ‘nother matter… But still, you take a pie, don’t you? Especially one made from Grandpa’s recipe book.

And it isn’t good when Iman finds that her boyfriend’s sisters are witches too and want something, she has that Grandpa gave her, and no, it isn’t the recipe book.

Iman hadn’t expected this as Troy is a normal and she had thought all his family were too, unlike hers – after all Grandpa was chief wizard (see Book 1 for details of their romance).

It is a short book – but part of a set of 5 – only 40 print pages – thus good for young adults who prefer not to read complicated story lines. Consider all 5 as one book. This is book 2 in the series which is easy enough to enter as a standalone.

The writing is light and moves along at a good pace with short chapters, a magical battle, and enchanted objects. The ending could leave you wanting more – and if you want it enough there are 3 more to read…  I wasn’t bothered. .

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com