Books
0 Comments

And the end of the world?

Of Blood and Bone Book Cover Of Blood and Bone
Chronicles of The One #1
Nora Roberts
Magic, Fantasy, Romance, Dystopian
Piatkus Books
December 4, 2018
464

'A match for end-of-the-world classics like Stephen King's The Stand' - New York Times Review of Books 'Breathtaking' - Heat Thirteen years ago, a catastrophic pandemic known as The Doom killed billions. For those left behind, it is a chance to build a new world. But The Doom was no ordinary virus. In some survivors, it awoke strange powers - to heal, to harm, even to predict the future. Fallon Swift has no memories of the old world - but she is destined to shape this new one. Growing up with her three brothers on a quiet farm, she has been protected from danger by her mother and stepfather. Now she must leave them, and learn to fight. Because Fallon is not only a powerful 'Uncanny' - she also has a pivotal role to play in the bloody battles ahead. A war between good and evil is brewing, and Fallon - young, tough, headstrong - must be ready. A sequel to the number one bestselling Year One, this breathtaking novel of love, war, family and magic is a gripping and deeply satisfying continuation of an extraordinary new trilogy.

I’m always a fan of Nora Roberts like so many readers, especially when she gets her ‘witchy’ hat on, and whilst this isn’t a witch story, it has plenty of fantasy for Nora to spin into a different world time.

I also like Apocalypse books when they have something new to offer but the standard vampire/ghoul/zombie stuff, doesn’t do it for me. Here we have a different ‘Doom’. Yes, it is a virus but there we leave the trope to find our way into a new world with Fallon our heroine.

Nora Roberts has good heroines. They are smart, they are feisty and they get things done. They have a destiny and aren’t afraid to pursue it.

Nora mixes up the heroine’s story with that of a community coming to terms with the new world order. As her first foray into the new world order and apocalypse fantasy writing, the story reads well and has great promise for future instalments.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let ’em Talk…

Night's Gift: The Adventure Begins Book Cover Night's Gift: The Adventure Begins
Of Cats And Dragons Book 1
Carol E. Leever, Camilla Ochlan
Fantasy, YA, Fairy tales
Independently published
(7 Dec. 2018)
kindle

Omen is a young warrior with a knack for finding trouble. Nobody's surprised when he unwittingly makes a deal with an undead alchemist. In over his head, Omen has to band together with the notorious prince of Hex to battle bloodthirsty giants, devious Night Dwellers, and arcane magic — all while trying to survive in the city's infamous arena fights.

But when Omen accidentally frees a talking cat, total disaster can't be averted.

In the shadows of the city,  an ancient evil awaits.

Can our young heroes protect the cat and the people of Hex, or will they end up as an undead nightmare's main course?

I started reading this book and then went on and bought the rest of the 7 book series!

Technically, this is a set of stories for younger adults or older children, in the same way Harry Potter was aimed that way but found an adult audience too. So can this series. Some parts are quite horrific and could give nightmares to younger more impressionable children so be careful especially in book 5 where Sable describes her life in the country of N’vel.

I loved all the books but especially the cats of course. Not just the various sizes but also the way they talked.

Now we have a talking cat too. Unfortunately she only speaks ‘cat’ but nonetheless she can tell you when she wants to go outside, sit on your lap or accompany her to her lunch – yes we have walk with her to her food. Just like a Princess she needs her servants and her maids. And whenever we have been away, she will tell us in great detail what has happened and who she has seen out the window while she has waited for us to come back – she waits in our window for this and knows the sound of our suitcases so she can meet us at the front door and give us a series of complaints that we left her.

So magical cats that can actually speak several languages was great fun and I am waiting now for the authors to write the stories of how the cats left their own land and found their humans. As at least one is a Prince there must be much to tell and the Fairies did kneel to them…

So yes, please read and enjoy these totally fantastical books.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Add a British accent and well…

British Bedmate
(A Series of Standalone Novels Book 5)
Vi Keeland , Penelope Ward
romance
C. Scott Publishing Corp.
(17 Dec. 2019)

Dear Bridget, I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face. So, here goes. We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England. But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways. I want you. The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke. So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d fancy a British bedmate in the middle of the night sometime. No questions asked. Think about it. Or don’t. Whatever you choose. It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway. --Simon

This novel had an authentic ‘British’ cadence to the speech of Dr Hottie, even though it would appear that neither of the authors were British. He only said ‘luv’ very occasionally and his turn of phrase was so right I could hear him speak in my head.

I thought that the storyline worked and was also enjoyable. I did also learn some rather interesting new vocabulary – the urban dictionary has a lot to answer for… and I also found out that certain terms are very English and need to be explained to US readers, which surprised me.

I will certainly read more by these authors.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Murder by deviousness

The Body in the Snow Book Cover The Body in the Snow
DCI Craig Gillard Crime Thrillers Book 4
Nick Louth
Fiction, crime, suspense,
Canelo
January 31, 2020

Money, success, family? All deadly... The new unputdownable DCI Gillard thriller. A young detective is out for a jog on a snowy winter morning. Then she sees something terrible: a murder in the park, sudden and inexplicable. A woman has been killed by a passing hooded cyclist. It’s just DCI Craig Gillard’s luck that he’s on duty. The body is that of Tanvi Roy, one of the richest women in Britain and matriarch of a food empire. With a tangled web of family and business contacts and jealousies, Gillard’s job just got even more complex. As he delves deeper into the Roy family, it’s clear that everything is not as it seems. As the investigation threatens to unravel, Gillard realises it's only the beginning of his problems. Trouble of a different sort is brewing close to home... Perfect for readers of D.K. Hood, Patricia Gibney and Mark Billingham, The Body in the Snow is a remarkable and gripping crime thriller.

This is good solid British crime writing from a reliable author who thinks up devious plots and believable characters.

Always a good read.

This book also brought up 2 very interesting snippets – the first in location 2619, which is 54% of the way through, is a conversation between a mother and her very precocious 11 year old daughter. The second is better and most women will love this one. Location 2911. A discussion on ‘wrinkled bits’ left over from universe building and what happened to them!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Curses and sweet things

The Jilted Jinn Book Cover The Jilted Jinn
(The Deadicated Matchmaker) #2
SE Babin
paranormal romance' dating
Independently published
(26 Feb. 2019)

Katie Harper is in a self-imposed dating drought. After getting dumped at the altar a record three times after she refused to continue granting wishes, she’s done with the men in Midnight Cove. Done, that is, until her best friend secretly makes a dating tape for her and sends it to the dating agency. Immediately after, men start knocking on her door. Despite her friend giving out her home address and the mass of weirdos begging for her hand in marriage, Katie can’t help but be secretly flattered.But the man currently restoring her historical home has other plans for her once he realizes what’s happening. And he isn’t going to let her go without a fight.

Once upon a time there was a Jinn who had been jilted just too many times, but her friend ran a dating agency for the paranormals in this paranormal town. So she was set up on a date and then there was a demon lord and the devil’s due.

The storyline connects up into a fighting and relic hunting group with some amazing foes – and a strong hint that human behaviour is how these foes are created.

Fun light reading in a fun series.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com