Books
0 Comments

How to get a Princess

The Princess Plan Book Cover The Princess Plan
A Royal Wedding, Book 1
Julia London
Fiction, Historical Romance, Victorian Mystery
HarperCollins UK
November 19, 2019
400

Passion. Intrigue. Love. “This is a perfect historical romance” – Sunday Times Bestselling Author Sarah Morgan “The gorgeous characters and the wit and charm made this a book I simply didn’t want to put down. I was willing Eliza and Sebastian on to their fairytale happy ending!” – Nicola Cornick

London’s high society loves nothing more than a scandal. And when the personal secretary of the visiting Prince Sebastian of Alucia is found murdered, it’s all anyone can talk about, including Eliza Tricklebank. Her unapologetic gossip gazette has benefited from an anonymous tip off about the crime, forcing Sebastian to ask for her help in his quest to find his friend’s killer.

With a trade deal on the line and mounting pressure to secure a noble bride, there’s nothing more dangerous than a prince socialising with a commoner. Sebastian finds Eliza’s contrary manner as frustrating as it is seductive, but they’ll have to work together if they’re going to catch the culprit. And soon, as temptation becomes harder to ignore, it’s the prince who’ll have to decide what comes first—his country or his heart.

Well, what can we say about this book? Very different from any other historical book and I love the Gazette – and the chaotic household of the Judge and the sisters, and all their escapades.

Of course, there is also a Prince and a Trade Deal, else how would there be a Princess? But a Prince can’t marry a Commoner especially one that has been outed as in Society as being deceived badly by the man she thought was her fiancée. But they didn’t quite know just how far she had gone with her fiancée or matters would have been even worse.

Eliza has a strange habit for women of that period – she repairs clocks. Which is a very fiddly task indeed and she has courage and a certain amount of bravado as she believes she is no longer a marriage prospect which enables her to be rather more cavalier about her behaviour.

I liked these sisters and I am sure that there will be more books about them, but starting with Eliza was good. Nicely written with lots of plots and some twists and fun. And some reality as to how people would have really lived if they were middle-class rather than society

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Floating or Drowning?

Woman in the Water Book Cover Woman in the Water
Katerina Diamond
Mystery Thriller Murder
Harper Collins, Avon Books

When a woman’s body is found submerged in icy water, police are shocked to find she is alive. But she won’t disclose her name, or what happened to her – even when a second body is discovered. And then she disappears from her hospital bed. Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey follow their only lead to the home of the Corrigans, looking for answers. But the more they dig into the couple’s lives, the less they understand about them. What’s their connection to the body in the river? Why have other people they know been hurt, or vanished? And can they discover the dark truth of their marriage before it’s too late? Smart, shocking and twisty – perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Karin Slaughter.

I really thought I knew how this would end about three-quarters of the way through, but I was so wrong!

The ending is a 5 star for me, but overall, I thought the story needed tightening up and a general edit, which is why it gets a 4.

For once this police procedural demonstrates just how long it can take to solve a murder. The intricacies of police procedures that must be followed and the fact that people don’t always work through the night, but go home at 5 and come in at 9 even when they are trying to solve a murder. Much more realistic.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Listeners don’t hear good things

Through the Wall Book Cover Through the Wall
Caroline Corcoran
General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers
Avon
Pub Date 03 Oct 2019

Lexie’s got the perfect life. And someone else wants it…

Lexie loves her home. She feels safe and secure in it – and loved, thanks to her boyfriend Tom.

But recently, something’s not been quite right. A book out of place. A wardrobe door left open. A set of keys going missing…

Tom thinks Lexie’s going mad – but then, he’s away more often than he’s at home nowadays, so he wouldn’t understand.

Because Lexie isn’t losing it. She knows there’s someone out there watching her. And, deep down, she knows there’s nothing she can do to make them stop…

A compelling, heart-racing thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder long after you turn the last page. The perfect read for fans of Louise Candlish and Adele Parks.

Sorry Caroline but i just couldn’t get into this book. I did not find it riveting or anything other than dull. So dull, I failed to finish.

Still not all books are liked by everyone, which is a good thing – a critical reader is always useful and it is good for us as readers to be critical when reading…

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

I want a kitten!

The Wallflower Wager Book Cover The Wallflower Wager
Girl Meets Duke
by Tessa Dare
Romance , Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 13 Aug 2019

The addictive new Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

They call him the Duke of Ruin.
To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she’s set her heart and mind on saving him…

Not if he ruins her first.

What if you really really don’t want to be married and are waiting out your Seasons until your parents are too bored to keep paying for them? But you would really like to keep every sad or hurt animal that you find. Especially kittens – lots of them. And will even go so far as to rescue a man!

But then your parents decide to do something about you? Send you away… because you are not really trying to get a husband are you? Or will you try?

I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.

I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Chilly waters to swim in

A Summer to Remember Book Cover A Summer to Remember
Sue Moorcroft
General Fiction (Adult) , Women's Fiction
Avon
Pub Date 02 May 2019

Katie Fforde COME AND SPEND SUMMER BY THE SEA!

WANTED! A caretaker for Roundhouse Row holiday cottages.

WHERE? Nelson’s Bar is the perfect little village. Nestled away on the Norfolk coast we can offer you no signal, no Wi-Fi and – most importantly – no problems!

WHO? The ideal candidate will be looking for an escape from their cheating scumbag ex-fiancé, a diversion from their entitled cousin, and a break from their traitorous friends.

WHAT YOU’LL GET! Accommodation in a chocolate-box cottage, plus a summer filled with blue skies and beachside walks. Oh, and a reunion with the man of your dreams.

PLEASE NOTE: We take no responsibility for any of the above scumbags, passengers and/or traitors walking back into your life…

Swimming in Norfolk waters – distinctly chilly as I recall. The Norfolk coast is notorious for its winds and chill and marshes and birds and seals too.

So what would you do when your fiancée makes his attraction for another woman quite so obvious? I guess I would do the same as the lead character here, and run off somewhere very remote. Personally, I’ve always thought the wilds of Scotland would be a good place, but a hamlet on the Norfolk coast with no internet or mobile signal I guess does as well.

This hamlet does not like ‘in-comers’ at all. Is very conservative in behaviour and lifestyle.  And is very good at holding grudges it seems. So it is a bit of shock when it gets disturbed by cousins and ex-fiancées and gays. Not what it is expected.

Overall, a pleasant story if not one that will strain your memory or your emotions. And please get the proof-reading done completely.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com