Books
0 Comments

Books and yet more to read

The Lending Library Book Cover The Lending Library
Aliza Fogelson
Fiction
Lake Union Publishing
2020-07
300

A heartwarming debut novel about a daydreamer who gives her town, and herself, an amazing gift: a lending library in her sunroom. When the Chatsworth library closes indefinitely, Dodie Fairisle loses her sanctuary. How is a small-town art teacher supposed to cope without the never-ending life advice and enjoyment that books give her? Well, when she's as resourceful and generous as Dodie, she turns her sunroom into her very own little lending library. At first just a hobby, this lit lovers' haven opens up her world in incredible ways. She knows books are powerful, and soon enough they help her forge friendships between her zany neighbors--and attract an exciting new romance. But when the chance to adopt an orphaned child brings Dodie's secret dream of motherhood within reach, everything else suddenly seems less important. Finding herself at a crossroads, Dodie must figure out what it means to live a full, happy life. If only there were a book that could tell her what to do...

A novel written by my soul sister – a bibliophile and eclectic reader. So many new authors and books for me to check out – and for my husband too. From classics to books with recipes in – and I love the idea of a reading group with recipes to try out from the book.

My fantasy bookshop would be run alongside a café and deli. Every week we would choose a recipe from a book – cookery or not just as her reading group did – and showcase it in the café, then sell the ingredients and book in the deli, ready packaged in the correct amounts. The recipes might be exotic or just simple like an apple pie with interesting spicing, it doesn’t matter – everything would support the other elements of the store.

A book group would sample the recipe and discuss the book – and the knitting group would attempt to knit a representation perhaps? But that needs really experienced knitters. There is an artist who does make amazing  knitted foods items.

And there are lots of knitting patterns to make food too.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book – it followed the romance trope but it was the library and descriptions of books and the book-marks that sold it for me. By the way, what did happen to her library when the real one opened?

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s learn to create a website

Daisy Does it Herself BooksGoSocial
Gracie Player
Romance, Humour
TRM Publishing
Pub Date 28 Mar 2020

Sometimes, the last place you intended to go is exactly where you need to be.

When 26-year-old Daisy's life in London comes crashing down around her, the only thing she can think of is getting away - far away. That's how she found herself stumbling off a train in England's picturesque Peak District - 150 miles from home, with no idea why she'd gone there and even less idea how she intended to get home.

But as Daisy explores the gorgeous village of Upper Finlay, she glimpses the possibility of a different life. The Derbyshire Dales offer up new friends, new opportunities, and a distractingly dishy object of attraction in the form of local bookstore owner Alex (and his bumbling Great Dane.) When Daisy discovers Alex’s business is in trouble she steps in to save the day.

But London's Calling - literally. The life Daisy ran away from is calling her back. Why then, is she so reluctant to heed its call?

Daisy's got a decision to make: Will she play it safe, and return to what she knew? Or is she brave enough to take a leap of faith and create a bold, new life for herself in the last place she'd ever expected?

Daisy Does It Herself is a heartwarming, feel-good romantic comedy in the vein of Bridget Jones's Diary, Diary of a Shopaholic, and Big Sexy Love. Fans of warm and witty romantic comedies with a guaranteed happily-ever-after will be entranced.

So there is Daisy. Not well educated but eager and happy to learn after a series of temping positions. And then she finds programming and loves it and teaches herself lots of interesting stuff.

But she still doesn’t have any qualification and so when a promotion comes up at her current temping job, despite the fact that she has done brilliant work with their social media, the job is given to a new hire.

And then there is Daisy’s long term relationship with a rather controlling male. Who takes her lack of formal education and social nous and makes her feel small and encourages her to depend on his opinion about everything. Until.

And Daisy has to find her own way in he world – and finds a bookshop to hang out in – and romance blossoms.

So far, so genre.

What rescues this story is the writing style It was fun and amusing and empathetic. And thus enjoyable to read, without grammatical errors and not in need of either editing or proofreading.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Knit yourself a vampire?

The Vampire knitting club & Stitches and Witches Book Cover The Vampire knitting club & Stitches and Witches
Vampire Knitting Club (7 Book Series)
Nancy Warren
Ambleside Publishing
(4 Oct. 2018)

Vampires who knit
A troublemaking witch
Who killed Granny — and is she really dead?

At a crossroads between a cringe-worthy past (Todd the Toad) and an uncertain future (she's not exactly homeless, but it's close), Lucy Swift travels to Oxford to visit her grandmother. With Gran's undying love to count on and Cardinal Woolsey's, Gran's knitting shop, to keep her busy, Lucy can catch her breath and figure out what she's going to do. 

Except it turns out that Gran is the undying. Or at least, the undead. But there's a death certificate. And a will, leaving the knitting shop to Lucy. And a lot of people going in and out who never use the door—including Gran, who is just as loving as ever, and prone to knitting sweaters at warp speed, late at night. What exactly is going on?

When Lucy discovers that Gran did not die peacefully in her sleep, but was murdered, she has to bring the killer to justice without tipping off the law that there's no body in the grave. Between a hot 600-year-old vampire and a dishy detective inspector, both of whom always seem to be there for her, Lucy finds her life getting more complicated than a triple cable cardigan. 
The only one who seems to know what's going on is her cat ... or is it ... her familiar? 

First in a new series of paranormal cozy mysteries with bite!

A Vampire Kitty and knitting circles – 2 books reviewed.

So there is this nice and cosy, old fashioned, Oxford Knitting shop. With a secret.

And the secret is huge… and involves knitting and vampires.

I am surprised that students in Oxford have enough money to buy knitting wool, but I guess if they are at Oxford, and studying law, maybe they have rich parents. I am also surprised how much trade a knitting shop has – these days it’s tricky to make a living from them, the wool is so expensive, but if you know vampires, and they can knit a jumper in a night, and they have lots of cash then anything is possible.

I read the first 2 books in this series and found book 1 better than book 2, mainly because the big secret is out and thus book 2 had less to offer. I shall not be following up the series further.

Share This:

Books/book review/Romance/net galley/Tea and Cake
0 Comments

Books and Coffee – great!

Little Book Cafe: Amy's Story Book Cover Little Book Cafe: Amy's Story
Little Book Cafe
Georgia Hill
women's fiction romance
harper impulse
19 Oct 2018

Escape to the seaside for a new three-part series for fans of The Canal Boat Cafe and Willow Cottage

Amy, the manager of The Little Book Café, is a hopeless romantic who had her heart broken, but quietly refuses to give up on love.

With her friends Tash and Emma, not to mention their shared love of books and delicious cake from the café next door, Amy might just find the courage to fall for a real life romance this time…

Amy's Story is the final instalment of The Little Book Cafe series so wrap up warm this Autumn and treasure this wonderful book.

This cafe is actually next door to the bookshop even though you can purchase coffee and cakes inside the bookshop. I found this rather confusing as I could not decide where the coffee came from.. but as the premises were jointly owned..

This book is set in a fictional south coast UK town which is all too nice and neat for reality – where these towns are struggling and not so nice any more – but some of the economic difficulties were mentioned as were the lack of anything for youngsters to do – which led them to petty vandalism.

 A cosy book that lacked any ‘bite’ with a very ‘soft’ style. Very much in older style of traditional romances which include a Cinderella hiding from the world in baggy clothes etc with a weight problem – she thinks. And a rescuer.

Sweet but could have been better.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

When love is about prejudice






True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop Book Cover




True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop




The Lonely Hearts Bookshop





Annie Darling





humour, contemporary, love, sex and marriage




August 24, 2017

It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise - not to fall in love with each other…

Or is it Pride?

Anyway, lots of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice quotes for each chapter which tell you what the main thrust will be. Nicely played.

Oh, and it is set in a part of London we love – Bloomsbury. Just around the British Museum and which is full of blue plaques to famous people.

I really enjoyed this book. Partly for its literary references but also because I found the writing to be warm, funny, and good-natured. I too like some solitude and find parties stressful, and again because I was brought up in a very busy household with no place that was away from everyone and with some constant noise.

The story echoes the warning I give to many people about not trying for 4th child of another sex when you’ve got 3 the same. My GP did that and ended up with twins – 5 boys (!!!!),; and here it is 5 girls. Which is worse I wonder? Hormones versus smelly feet and constant washing of muddy sports gear?  Any comments anyone?

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com