Books
0 Comments

What happens with Age: Book Blitz

MidlifeWitchUnexpectedBlitzBanner 2 1 - What happens with Age: Book Blitz

A hot new series celebrating midlife, friendship, and older women who crave adventure by Melle Amade. Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Shannon Mayer, Jana DeLeon, Darynda Jones, Robin Peterman, Elizabeth Hunter and Denise Grover Swank.

“Middle-aged and starting over is the last thing I ever wanted on my bucket list. But since my husband announced he was gay and my daughter left for college, I don’t really have a choice.⁣”

⁣ Midlife Witch Unexpected by @melleamade is book 1 in a new paranormal women’s fiction series, Cougar Creek Coven, and it’s out NOW

Excerpt

“Do you see those graves?” Branson asked, pointing at the looming dark stone pillars that were covered in knots and braids.

“They look like Celtic crosses,” I said. There were a couple rows of them. They looked quite beautiful, sharp, and crisp against the blackening sky.

“They are for sure,” Branson said, pointing toward the three on the highest ground. “Those are the Celtic Martyrs. Your ancestors.” 

“The martyrs?” I asked, moving toward the rise where the largest Celtic cross stood. “I thought martyrs were European inventions.”

“There were martyrs here, also,” Branson said. “They are the daughters of the first Hayes who established The Estate. Something happened to them at birth and the younger one came out stronger than the older one and the middle one was always stuck in between. So the three of them lived in the house together their whole lives and managed The Estate.”

“And let me guess, they were killed by the local town folk when they found out my ancestors were all sorts of crazy?” I said, because the more stories I heard about my ancestors the more I realized the altar in my aunt’s living room wasn’t just the renters. 

“No, they died battling an influx of zombies and monsters,” Branson said.

I laughed. What else was I supposed to do? “Zombies? Monsters?”

“Creatures.” Branson ran his finger over a moss-covered gravestone. “You didn’t seem too shocked by the altar. Did your mom raise you Wiccan?” 

“Absolutely not.” I laughed at the thought. “No. We were good Catholics, always going to church on Sunday. I took all the steps to be a good Catholic girl, but it never really stuck with me. I couldn’t bear to bring my daughter up through it all so it kind of died with me.”

“Sometimes religion seems outdated,” Branson commented, stretching past me to knock some gravel off a grave. I could smell the rich personal musk of his skin. It made me want to accidentally fall against him and feel his arms around me.

I cringed a little inside. I was way too old for feigning inadvertent falls. But the truth was, I wanted him. Despite his age, despite his obvious way-too-hot-for-me-ness. I shoved the feeling away.

The cemetery was peaceful and still in the evening light. The breeze was uplifting the trees and the birds were calling out at sunset. We stood in the natural silence, our gazes colliding. 

There was no mistaking Branson’s predatorial look. I shook my head, both to him and myself. I was way too old to be a deer in the headlights. I knew that look on a man’s face. At least I thought I did. But what I didn’t understand was why it was coming at me from this amazing, hot young man.

“You must stop giving me the eye.” There. I said it. I called a spade a spade and now it was out there in the open. He could laugh and deny it and we could move on.

“What?” He asked, leaning back against the gravestone and not taking his eyes off me.

His mojo wasn’t going to work on me. “That thing you’re doing right now,” I pointed out.

“I’m not doing anything.” His mouth pulled up in a flirtatious grin.

“You’re looking at me.” I accused him, taking a casual step back.

“Are you telling me I can’t look at you?” He raised an eyebrow.

“Not like that,” I insisted. “You shouldn’t be looking at me like that. I know I’m not a married woman anymore, but I’m not interested.” I folded my hands over my chest for emphasis.

“I don’t believe you.” He grinned, stepping forward.

The audacity.

“That is exactly the opposite response I was going for.” I put my hands up as he entered my personal space. “You were supposed to back away. I don’t want to do this.” I was pretty sure I looked like a deer in the headlights now.

“I don’t believe you for one second.” He reached forward, slowly sliding his fingers underneath my ear and around the back of my neck.

MWU teaser2 1024x536 - What happens with Age: Book Blitz

AUTHOR BIO:

Melle - What happens with Age: Book Blitz

USA Today Bestselling Author. Farm Girl. Marketing Director.

Since I was eight, I have been writing stories that capture the adventures in my head and the characters strong enough and flawed enough to have them. When I look at an empty field, I see a formidable citadel. When I meet a vulnerable old man, I greet an emeritus warrior. When I walk through city streets, I feel dimensions hiding around every turn. It has been my lifelong passion to explore these worlds that reveal the pain of loneliness, the joy or self-actualization, and the hope of magic.

I grew up in a place called Potter Valley where the Milky Way is held aloft by a circle of mountains and the central business district consists of a bait store and a saloon. At 19 I moved alone to London and spent the next ten years exploring the world, even becoming an Australian citizen, before I returned to California and found a new home in Los Angeles. My world revolves around my two wee children, storytelling, and my love of travel.

Author links:
https://www.facebook.com/MelleAmadeAuthor/
https://www.melleamade.com/
https://www.instagram.com/melleamade
https://www.bookbub.com/authors/melle-amade
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15813968.Melle_Amade

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction
0 Comments

Dancing Shoes

In homage to this book I visited Abney Garden cemetery. This is technically an Arboretum and was planted with 2500 trees when first opened, many of them being unusual species brought in by the local nurseryman in Stokey, who at that time had the largest greenhouse  in Europe. Sadly, after around 100 years of business, his business collapsed and the greenhouse is no more.

I took a photo of my take on the Inebriated Field and also the most wonderful Davidia tree – aka the Handkerchief tree in full flower – a rare site and never one to be timed but lucky happenstance.

drunken graves 300x225 - Dancing Shoes

The leafy paths were full of dog walkers, in particular a lovely chocolate lab who wanted to walk with us rather than his owner!

 

 

handkerchief tree 1 225x300 - Dancing Shoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

And – well, Lidos are clearly an ‘in’ topic having just The Lido and they are very cold indeed when outdoors.

[ Fun fact: New Scientist has just published an article about crows and their face recognition. Not only do they recognise you, but they can tell other crows how to recognise you!]

And now, what did i think of the book?

It was different. It was sad and yet not sad – it reminded us that grief takes a long time to get over, especially the loss of a child.

Ruth Hogan writes in an empathetic manner that tells us much about human emotions and her portrayal of Sally demonstrates this.

But, although I loved the writing, the style and content, and everything about the story, the interspersing of the two women and their stories made the ending rather obvious to those of us who read crime/thriller/suspense stories. So there was no surprise there, which was a shame.  This downgrades a 5 to a 4 as I really don’t think we should know the ending that soon.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com