Books
0 Comments

Alibis?

Fries and Alibis Book Cover Fries and Alibis
Mitzy Moon Mysteries #1
Trixie Silvertale
Fiction, Women Sleuths, Mystery
Sittin' On A Goldmine Productions LLC
October 20, 2019
292

A gift that's too good to be true. A murder she didn't commit. A barista in a latte trouble... Mitzy Moon believes she's an orphan, so she's dumbstruck when a special delivery to her low-rent apartment reveals a family. But her shock turns to awe when she discovers her grandmother left her a fortune and a bookshop of rare tomes brimming with magic. No sooner does she set foot in the quirky village of Pin Cherry Harbor to claim her inheritance, than the handsome sheriff catches her standing over a corpse. Desperate to prove her innocence, she's forced to accept help from her granny's entitled cat and a spirit from beyond the grave. Can Mitzy and her otherworldly helpers uncover the real killer before the long, sexy arm of the law hauls her to jail? Fries and Alibis is the first book in the hilarious paranormal cozy mystery series, Mitzy Moon Mysteries. If you like amateur sleuths, small town intrigue, and a dash of the supernatural, then you'll love Trixie Silvertale's twisty whodunit. Buy Fries and Alibis to serve up the guilty today! 

So here we have a an orphan with a gift from the grave - a magical bookshop and a cat.
As normal per me, I wondered what a pin cherry was as this was a tree /bush that was not familiar to me, and discovered that here in the UK we would call it a Bird Cherry - and if you want one for yourself, you would need to sow a seed - uncooked - because some people in the States, do eat these fruits.
And then our plucky heroine, having relocated to obtain her inheritance finds herself with a dead/murdered person, a hot sherriff and a cat - a Caracal who has apparently spent 17 years in captivity and calls himself Robin Goodfellow / Puck.
Caracal | San Diego Zoo Animals & Plants
The amazing thing about Caracals are their ears and the great tuft at the end. They are quite large cats if you want a domesticated one - around 12 kilos. Our Maine Coon is 8 kilos and believe me you feel it when he sits on your lap - he may get up to 12 kilos as he is still growing!
This is a Cosy Modern Mystery with a Female Sleuth and is the first of a series. It is funny and warm and a good light read.

—————————-

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Too much hoodoo voodoo

Supernatural Psychic Mysteries. Book Cover Supernatural Psychic Mysteries.
Misty Sales Cosy Mysteries #1-4
Morgana Best
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
(15 Nov. 2014)

" And words of rhyme

Trouble Not

These books of mine

With these words I now thee render

Candle burn and bad return

3 times stronger to its sender"

This was a 4 Bookset offered in a limited Kindle format with the original paperbacks no longer available. These were first published in 2014 which gives the author some credit in her writing as she may well have developed her style since. though I have not read any of them.
...
I read book 1 and Thought Ok, this may be one of those authors that gets better as the series progresses! A 3 star cozy.

But Oh? Book 2.... Whilst I appreciated that the author does do her research well, Book 2 went over the top. The whole interview with the Professor about Govis was one step too far. There is accuracy, and unnecessary confusion.
In terms of accuracy for instance, It was OK to mention eating in a posh place in Bray-as Bray is where Heston Blumenthal has 2 places, and other Michelin starred eating establishments cluster there. - I once lived there for 2 weeks in the middle of a hose move. A tiny village with several places to eat if you could afford them, the river Thames and a swan nesting on a slipway, an antique store open 2 afternoons a week and a similar hair-dresser. No other shops! And infrequent buses. A village scarcely inhabited. But very pretty.
I gave after book 2 - enough was enough with 3.
2 stars average for this set.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Tangled in Dresses

The Tanglewood Wedding Shop Book Cover The Tanglewood Wedding Shop
Lilac Mills
Fiction
Canelo Escape
January 13, 2020
300

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something untrue… Edie has enough on her plate keeping her tyrannical boss happy at Moira’s Wedding Shop. So when society bride Tia begs Edie to design her wedding dress – and keep it a secret from the domineering mother-in-law to be – Edie reluctantly says ‘I will’ to making Tia’s dream come true. If her deception is found out, though, it would mean losing her job… Meanwhile best man James has his eye on Edie and he’s proving ever harder for her to resist. James is upper-crust and Edie’s one unexpected bill away from the breadline – they’re from completely different worlds and there’s no way it can ever work between them… right? A charming, feel-good romance for fans of Daisy James, Holly Martin and Portia MacIntosh.

A wedding shop story with difference.

We are not reading about the shop but the seamstress, who does not own the shop, but makes and designs the gowns – for a pittance due to a mean shop owner.

We have a cute village which emphasises just how remote some of our Welsh ( and Welsh Border) villages can be, lacking the amenities of travel if you don’t have a car, with rare and unreliable buses.

Overall a sweet story within the genre but no real bite and a rather wishy-washy heroine.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Renee George and books

Hex Book Cover Hex
Barkside of the Moon
Renee George
humour, mystery, cosy, paranormal
Barkside of the Moon Press

Pit Bulls are Sweet . . . and that’s no mystery! Shifter Lily Mason and her pit bull Smooshie are once again on the trail of a murderer and this time close to home! Sometimes, trying to be part of the human world can be a real killer. . . Cougar-shifter Lily Mason is ready to put down roots in the human town of Moonrise, Missouri. She only has two problems: her attraction and proximity to Parker Knowles, her boss at the Pit Bull Rescue Shelter, and her need to shift into animal form more than once a month. When she gets the opportunity to buy a “fixer-upper” outside of Moonrise with plenty of room to get wild without running into easily freaked-out humans, Lily jumps at the chance. Smooshie, Lily’s lovable pit bull and partner in chaos, is eager to participate with the home improvements. Unfortunately, Smooshie’s help includes digging out a mummified body from the living room wall. Lily is still recovering from the last murder investigation she got involved in–and she’s not looking forward to being in the middle of another one. The case gets even stickier when Lily’s landlord is murdered, rumors of a heist gone wrong run rampant, and Parker’s old high school buddies have returned to Moonrise, thus increasing the suspect pool. Lily’s attempts to become a bona fide citizen of Moonrise might well be thwarted by this newest complication–especially when the murderer sets sights on her. Murder & The Money Pit, Book 2 of the Barkside of the Moon Mysteries from USA Today bestselling paranormal cozy mystery author Renee George, is a gripping murder mystery that keeps you guessing from beginning to end!

I am reviewing here 2 series by the author Renee George. She writes humorous stories with fun heroines and cosy in style – not too graphic but..

I read 3 books in the Hex series. They were 4 stars but could have been 5 stars if they were longer. The opposite to other books – I found these too short! The story telling was sharp, funny with good characterisation and the story moved along at a good pace. Just needed some more events in the whole storyline..

I then read 4 Books in Barkside of the Moon series :

Really cute series. Cosy but plenty of murders, some suspense and romance – thwarted and unresolved.

So, 2 shifters move into a human town and try to conceal their differences. Buzz is a short order chef and Lily, his niece,  works part-time as an assistant in a pit-bull rescue centre and has a pit-bull softie herself.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What Engagement?

Engaged in Trouble Book Cover Engaged in Trouble
Enchanted Events Mysteries #1
Jenny B. Jones
Sweet Pea Productions; 1 edition
(30 Mar. 2017)

When a washed-up pop star inherits a wedding planning business, it’s all bouquets and bliss until a bride turns up dead.

Paisley Sutton shot to stardom as a teenage rock sensation, but ten years later that star has fizzled out, just like her bank account. When she unexpectedly inherits her aunt’s wedding planning business, Paisley leaves the glamour of Los Angeles for a charming small town in Arkansas. Thinking she’ll arrive in Sugar Creek and liquidate the moldy property, Paisley’s shocked to find Enchanted Events has experienced a major makeover and is now the place for brides. She’s got two months to keep Enchanted Events afloat if she wants to sell and rekindle her music career with the profits.

Paisley’s tossed into a world of vows and venues, but her most difficult challenge comes in the form of one demanding bride. When this Bridezilla’s found facedown in her cake, all fingers point to Paisley as the prime murder suspect. And she does not look good in prison orange.

This former pop princess will need the help of her gun-toting, ex-CIA grandmother and her handsome neighbor, Beau Hudson, to unravel the mystery and clear her good name. As she and her unruly posse dig into Bridezilla’s life, she discovers the woman had a long list of enemies. The closer Paisley gets to the truth, the more her own life is in danger.

Love is in the air this wedding season, but before Paisley can help the ladies of Sugar Creek say, “I do,” she’s got to unveil a killer. Or find herself the next target.

Engaged in Trouble is the first book in the long-awaited Enchanted Events cozy mystery series by award-winning author Jenny B. Jones. If you like laugh-out-loud adventures, small-town romance, unforgettable, sassy characters, and a mystery to keep you guessing, then you’ll love this new page-turning series.

I started reading this and found it quite enjoyable but by chapter 20 I was wondering if we were actually getting anywhere with the story. There was no humour in the story-telling and for me, the relationship between Beau and Paisley lacked tension.

The story dragged. Chapter 27 and still only 61% through the book.. and I lost interest in finding out the ending.

For me I thought that the central part of the story needed tightening up with a lot of editing and humour would have helped the story along. I failed to find what was included funny…

3 stars – just

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com