Books
0 Comments

What happened to the funeral? Book Blitz

FourWeddingsRevealBanner - What happened to the funeral? Book Blitz

USA Today bestselling author @michellemcleanbooks turns the Duke trope on its head with a witty, laugh-out-loud Regency perfect for fans of Eloisa James and Sarah MacLean.⁣

⁣⁣ Four Weddings and a Duke is coming on October 25th from @entangled_publishing: Amara

INSTA FourWeddings2 1024x1024 - What happened to the funeral? Book Blitz

AUTHOR BIO:

Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has degrees in history and English and is thrilled that she sort of gets to use them. Her novel Truly, Madly, Sweetly, written as Kira Archer, was adapted as a Hallmark Original movie in 2018.

Michelle - What happened to the funeral? Book Blitz

When Michelle’s not working, reading, or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found baking, diamond painting, or trying to find free wall space upon which to hang her diamond paintings. She resides in PA with her husband and two teens, the world’s most spoiled dog, and a cat who absolutely rules the house. She also writes contemporary romance as USA Today bestselling author Kira Archer.

For more info on Michelle and her work, please visit her website at michellemcleanbooks.com.

Author links:

https://michellemcleanbooks.com/

https://www.facebook.com/authormichellemclean

https://www.instagram.com/michellemcleanbooks/

https://www.pinterest.ca/michellemcleanbooks/_saved/

https://www.bookbub.com/profile/michelle-mcleanhttps://twitter.com/michellemclean

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4253087.Michelle_McLean

To Purchase Book

iBooks: https://books.apple.com/br/book/four-weddings-and-a-duke/id1608916869Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/four-weddings-and-a-duke

FourWeddings 682x1024 - What happened to the funeral? Book Blitz

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Wicked is what Wicked does: book review

Leagues and lives apart, Delaney and Sebastian navigate a world they’re not destined for together. Can Delaney let down her guard and learn to trust a WICKED Duke?

THE NEVERS + BRIDGERTON mashup! Historical romance with a sexy splash of the supernatural.

Tracy writes an excellent historical romance, with enough passion and joy in her stories and in these characters to make the reading easy and fun.
remembering of course, that this particular League has a paranormal 'bent' we get some interesting occasions and happenings when a rather nosy American comes visiting - after a husband of course, but not with the English Ton's mannerisms, language or behaviours - rather refreshing in fact and outgoing and exuberant in her behaviour. And then she meets a rather buttoned-up Lord...

Great series as it goes through the romances of the main characters and their strange ‘powers’ or magic. Each needing to learn how to control their power with the help of the others. So forming a tightknit group that live and learn together but also help each other ‘fight’ those who are frightened by these powers or who want to use them for nefarious means.

Nicely written and fun to read if not ‘high’ literature.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Not this duke

Share This:

Nora is our heroine in this Duke marries someone unexpected story.

So, we have another imprudent, unwise and generally lacking in financial sense father who manages to lose the family money. Miss Eleanor Lockhart, (Nora) discovers that her selfish – yes he is that too, has made arrangements to live in a very small cottage on the farm owned by his son-in-law – who dislikes him, and has left nothing for Eleanor to live on. A further sister was married to a parson who would not look kindly to taking on another mouth to feed. Which leaves Nora in quite a quandary. What does a gently bred lady in 1811, do to earn a living or put a roof over her head?  There are only 2 further possibilities. Become a Governess or a Companion – to a Lady – not the other sort! And Nora has a problem with her reputation – she was involved in a scandal when she was in her first, and only season. And the man concerned – we can’t call him a gentleman – refused to do the correct and gentlemanly thing and offer her marriage. So, her reputation was besmirched as they called it and thus she would have difficulty in both employments.

Luckily, the stepmother of the Duke of Kendal – Titus – a popular roman name meaning title of honour (I know right?)  would really like someone to go shopping with her, a companion in fact, and Nora is sent to her by the agency she signed up with and it is liking at first sight. Lady Satterfield knows about the reputation besmirch and doesn’t care. Titus also knows and is very cross with the ungentlemanly gentleman and decides to give his mother’s new companion a leg up in society. And so, the romance begins.

A nice and predictable historical romance by Darcy. With a light touch and gentle humour – but look out as the Untouchables meet the Spitfire Society and the Pretenders in the next 2 series related to this one.

4

Books
0 Comments

Always Hers: Book Review

The 12th book in the 12 books of Xmas series and the one that ties up the final Duke. The dule that holds an annual party for Xmas but never lives in Cressmouth at any other time, and as he is always hosting his arty, never finds out what other delights the town has to offer. Until he meets up with an ‘older’ spinster, who having endured many ‘Seasons’ and not having acquit=red any interest in marriage from suitors- and in fact rarely even been asked to danced – had decided that she could enjoy her herself in what would be termed scandalous pursuits if she were marriageable. She lutes the duke out of his party and into Cressmouth delights, but has a number of accidents with him as she does – including skiing and almost breaking his legs.

This was as always light, stylish and fun to read.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Shall we go to China? On a sail boat?

%2Fmethode%2Ftimes%2Fprod%2Fweb%2Fbin%2Ff8b299b4 c8ad 11e8 9259 db41e732e46f - Shall we go to China? On a sail boat?

Oh a woman who is not doing as Society expects – but has to do it in private because women can’t run businesses – of course. And then the business that she runs just happens to have an illegal side to it. Smuggling!

Well Society likes its fine linens, silk, alcohol and so on, but wants it a really ‘good’ price. And there are, as always, taxes to pay on imports.

So if you can be a profitable importer, it pays to add a cargo without taxes!

Eleanor has managed to buy a ship – The King’s Jewel – which is fast and travels into exotic locations like Japan and China and brings back artifacts from these countries for Prinny – the Prince Regent. Who likes exotica and has furnished his palace in Brighton with a marvel of artifacts that did not come in through the usual ports… If you supply the Prince, it would be difficult to accuse you of smuggling as that would implicate the Prince. But if you need income for the Crown to pay for wars etc then there is are in a dilemma.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTXVirZRY5PotTfG5IsoYfLkAxKsXuJYl65TQ&usqp=CAU - Shall we go to China? On a sail boat?
image - Shall we go to China? On a sail boat?

The Brighton Pavilion still stands mostly how Prinny furbished it and is really wonderful to go and visit.

This is a nice story, well written, with some solid economic and political points.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com